Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Segway miniPro

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$27.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 10, 2012
When I heard this was going on sale I admit I immediately preordered, and having received it Monday afternoon and read it front to back I can honestly say I got my money's worth and more.

The Book itself covers several topics including The Republic, The Empire, seperate sections for the Jedi and Sith, as well as an entire section on the Hutts, Mandalorians and the criminal elements of the Galaxy. Towards the end of the book it covers all planets currently in the game with one planet every two pages.

As a Roleplayer this has provided me with valuable insight in to the era that The Old Republic is set in, as well as source material to fill in gaps in my information. It outlines Imperial and Republic military rank structure, the ideologies behind both the Republic and Empire, as well as philosophies and structure of the Jedi Order and Sith.

In addition to the above it includes several biographies of key figures we've seen throughout the game like Darth Malgus, and it also has a summed up play by play of the class stories and an overview of the class itself (So maybe skip over the classes you haven't played!)

All in All I've gotten every dime out of this book that I was hoping to.

Be warned, this book is a cofee table book and reads most comfortably resting in your lap or on a table.

The Dust Cover is removeable and the hardcover underneath is just as well designed and artistic as the dust cover itself without the writing getting inthe way of the art

Must Buy for any enthusiast of Star Wars interested in this Era.
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2012
I've been playing The Old Republic since launch last year, and one of my favorite aspects is the great storytelling, and enrichment of the Star Wars lore. On a whim I decided to check out this book (since Amazon had a great price) and overall I'm very impressed with the quality and content. The book is big and heavy with thick, quality stock paper and vivid imagery and art. The book covers everything from the history of the galactic conflict, to individual notes about the classes and races in the game. I particularly enjoyed the history background prior to the timeline in-game, and was previously only hinted at in the game's cinematics. The book adds more depth and explanation about the return of the Sith, and the sacking of Coruscant.

If you're a fan of the game you will love this book. It serves as a great companion to further enrich the story and characters you experience in the game. If you're a fan of Star Wars, but never played the game, this book serves as a great introduction to the timeline and what happened before the Prequels.

Overall I highly recommend this book to all fans of Star Wars. It's easily worth the money and should be a must have for players of the game.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2012
Star Wars: The Old Republic Encyclopedia is a massive book full of useful information. It covers history, game events, species, worlds, spaceships and more. Throughout the entire book is a wide array of artwork that's visually impressive. Quite simply, there's a lot to like in this encyclopedia.

First off, the book covers a lot of ground. Near the front, there is a timeline covering events from the reign of the Infinite Empire in 30,000 BBY all the way to the breaking of the Treaty of Coruscant in 3,640 BBY. At the end, there's a 24 page guide to alien species (18 pages for sentient species, 6 pages for non-sentient), a 4 page guide to droids, a 60 page guide to planets, and a two page teaser for where The Old Republic MMO will be heading next. In between is 230 pages of history and overview of every faction loaded with interesting details. There is information on ships, military ranks, important individuals, weapons, game events, unit sizes, etc. It's just about everything you need to know to be well versed in every aspect of the game. As a non-gamer, I found it to be extremely useful in familiarizing myself with what happens in the game and its impact on the greater EU.

Beyond all the information is a ton of artwork and imagery. Every page is littered with concept art, paintings, illustrations, and a lot of game stills and screen shots. Many of the pictures are in the form of full, two page spreads. It's worth noting that the artwork in the TOR: Encyclopedia is very different from the artwork in a book like The Essential Reader's Companion. For one thing, much of the artwork in the Encyclopedia is computer models and scenery, where as The Reader's Companion used extensive paintings. That's not to say there aren't any paintings or illustrations in the Encyclopedia, but it's only about 10 to 15% of the total. However a lot of the computer imagery looks very nice and isn't a loss at all. The negative factor would be the extensive use of computer models for the characters which don't come anywhere near the level of visual splendor of actual illustrations.

The format of the book is also worth mentioning. The Encyclopedia is big. It's actually bigger than The Essential Atlas and over twice as thick. The size is pretty much identical to The Complete Visual Dictionary (but thicker). There's also a similarity between the bindings of the two books. As an added bonus, the dusk jacket comes off to reveal a fully colored cover with identical cover art (minus the lettering). Overall the book's format and binding was very impressive.

For Star Wars fans who love reference books, The Old Republic Encyclopedia is a must buy. It covers a little of everything. Really, it's like your standard set of essential guides all boiled down into a condensed collection where everything relates to the MMO game. Since I haven't played the game, I can't speak for gamers, but I would imagine they might find it useful if they have any interest in learning more about the Star Wars universe. With a high level of visual quality, a very nice hardcover binding, and tons of info, it's a great book.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2012
I'll need to purchase another copy as I drooled all over my book when I flipped through it last night! I cannot think of any other book I've purchased that is as well put together. This book is a masterpiece! The book is big, thick and heavy. Each page is a work of art; well laid out and full of information. No space is wasted or purposeless. I could not read a lot of it due to spoilers since I have not read all the books and comics, and have only played the Imperial Agent in SWTOR. The Old Republic era is a fantastic period of Star Wars history with 1,000s of stories yet to be told through the game, books and comics. This book is a MUST for anyone who claims to be a Star Wars fan!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2012
Fans of the Old Republic rejoice!!! This book filled with many images, details and other goodies is the book you've been waiting for. This MASSIVE sized Encyclopedia will be the gem of your SW book collection. While I would have liked a few pages dedicated solely to the key characters of the game, this book really doesn't disappoint me in any way shape or form.

The only thing that would have made it better is if they gave a few more pages to the KOTOR games of yesteryears that set up this grand series. Once can only hope they do one for that era.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2014
For anyone curious about the game Star Wars: The Old Republic (SWTOR), Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic (KOTOR), Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic II: The Sith Lords (KOTOR II), or any of the media from that time period in the Star Wars universe, this is a must have. It only collects and presents the various information in an easily readable format, but provides so much background for SWTOR.

If you are fan of SWTOR or are curious about the game, pick this up, you will not be disappointed. This book provides a lot of background for the game, but expands on the game with more details that while available, you don't have be looking at computer screen. You can be curled up in bed with a nice cup of hot chocolate and read about the vast universe of Star Wars 3,500 years before the movies and the epic game created by BIoWare, Electronic Arts (they can do things right at times people), and LucasArts.

This book is truly a must have if you are serious about SWTOR as it expands your knowledge, making you stronger. Remember "[t]here is no ignorance, there is knowledge" or "knowledge is power" depending on your side.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
i bought this book after watching this trailer https://youtu.be/adZR-Pp_JO0 and wishing that the story could be made into a movie.
The book feels solid filled with information, from what has transpired since the knights of the old republic game until this very point. This book provides information on the Sith Empire, The Jedi and the Republic, it had detailed explanations of the many character classes from the game as well details of the starships, weapons, alien races.
the book is a masterpiece of star wars, if only this story line would be picked up to be made into a movie, it would be fantastic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2013
Never before has such a reference tool given so much joy and pleasure and sense of wonder to so many people. Sometimes I get lost in a Star Wars book and I have to take a deep, deep breath and remind myself that IT IS NOT REAL. But then I slap myself and jump back right in like the good, true, loyal fanatic that I am.

Seriously, this book is amazing. It is massive in size as well as scope. It is beautifully presented by the publishers DK and he price itself made it a screaming bargain. I love books. I love my kindle but there is no way that any e book reader - no matter how powerful - can do justice to a tome of this quality. For a start there is the smell. Of brand new, unopened paper and the ink that has not seen the night of day since it was printed and merged with the DNA of the paper itself. The book itself encapsulates and represents everything that SW is about and so there are countless tales of valour, treachery, death and destruction both hidden and easily found across very page, just as there is to be found on every planet across the Old Republic itself. The artwork found inside the book is also extraordinary. The depth and scope of its references too are breathtaking - who knows how many man hours went into its production?

This review alone won't do the book justice. It covers the history of the Republic, the Jedi order, the Sith empire, the Sith itself, the Mandalorians, the Hutt cartel, prominent species in the galaxy as well as the major systems and planets contained therein.

Like I said at the start of this review, never before has a work of reference given so much joy and wonder to so many people. To extrapolate this thought, never before has a single book led to so many OMG moments as this one has. This book is amazing. Simply amazing.

Greggorio (LR)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2012
I am a long time Star Wars fan and a big The Old Republic fan, and I can say this product will certainly appeal to any of these types of fans.

The book presents all you need to know about The Old Republic timeline, keeping the narrative very much like other reference Star Wars books. Don't expect to read a lot of game terms or rules or advise, this book centers on the story of this time, on its personalities and the role of the heroes at the time.

The book follows a simple structure. It dedicates a section to the Republic and explores the story of the Jedi from their very beginnigs to the point where they are during this timeline. It explores the personalities (NPCs) you meet and also explores the classes you can play from a scholar point of view. Don't expect statics on abilities, but you can expect very good insight on the nature of the Jedi Order and their role in the conflict at hand.

Another section is dedicated to the Sith Empire, centered again on its key players. Here, Sith classes and the Imperial Agent are explored as part of a vast net of roles set up to battle the Republic. There are great insights about the Emperor and its servants as well as the plots behind ths story of the War.

A third section is dedicated to the neutral characters that have chosen sides, like the smuggler and the bounty hunter, but it is done in a way as to explore how the conflict is tearing the galaxy and how certain individuals are falling through the cracks.

What I didnt expect to see is a short treatise on all sentient species in the galaxy, an exploration on all the planets in the game and a bestiary of all the creatures you encounter.

The book pretty much links what happened before during the time of Tales of the Jedi and Golden Age of the Sith, the Knights of the Old Republic games and the SWTOR timeline. This is a marveluos job and the book is crammed with amazing information.

It also does a great job with the art. It features conceptual art from the games, graphics from the game and images from the cinematics in such a great way that you are never bored with it.

The only way this book was better is if when you open it, the Star Wars Main Theme music started.

With such a reduced price on Amazon, I strongly recommend this as a gift for any Star Wars fan, I am sure they will appreciate it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2013
SWToR's Encyclopedia fills in the gaps of story between KoToR 1 and 2 and the MMO while also embellishing of the history of the Jedi and Sith and expanding on the 8 class stories played through in the game. There are some spoilers through out the book but now that the game has been out a year, much of the class story twist and turns are pretty common knowledge.

This book is large, with a hard cover and beautiful dust jacket. The art is lovely. A great book to have on a coffee or end table.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse