Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it set out to do extremely well
The very first review I ever wrote for Amazon.com was for this book's predecessor: The Star Wars Action Figure Archive. I liked the original quite a bit, so I immediately pre-ordered this book when I first saw it. I have spent the last couple of days carefully reading some parts and an quickly thumbing through others (for now) so I could write this review and let folks...
Published 24 months ago by El Tonio

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great book for the begining toy collector
Very vibrant and up to date, my younger brother loves. I did expect it however to mention the estimated value of each figure but wirth or without that feature its still a pretty cool book.
Published 10 months ago by Emily McPherson


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it set out to do extremely well, November 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Ultimate Action Figure Collection (Paperback)
The very first review I ever wrote for Amazon.com was for this book's predecessor: The Star Wars Action Figure Archive. I liked the original quite a bit, so I immediately pre-ordered this book when I first saw it. I have spent the last couple of days carefully reading some parts and an quickly thumbing through others (for now) so I could write this review and let folks know what to expect. All things considered, I think this book is as good as the the original in most ways and believe it easily deserves at least 4.5 stars (rounded up to 5 stars since fractions were not an option). Here's why.

First, this is a reference book and not a price guide (so, it contains tons of timeless information, but no prices that are quickly outdated). Second, it shows a picture of every figure released as off the time the book was set to the publisher, including most variations and many more obscure figures (with nearly 340 pages containing 6 or more photos each, I have no doubt the author covers at lest the 2300 figures mentioned in the intro). On a related note, all of the pictures are nicely sized so you can easily see the detail for each figure. For example, there are 54 Darth Vader figures covered over eight pages, and 89 Luke Skywalker figures covered over 11 pages. Second (at least for the vintage figures and probably for the rest, too, though I can't say for sure because I don't collect those), it shows each figure holding/wearing all of the weapons/accessories it originally came with. Third, it shows at least one still photo for a vast majority of the figures from the movies, TV shows, and/or comics (this is a wonderful way to see how the figures compare to the character they represent). Fourth, there is a brief commentary on every figure, and a slightly more in depth commentary on more important figures. Fifth, everything is in full color and on high quality semi-gloss paper (the book is an inch thick and weighs over 3.5 pounds). Finally, on p. 10 it shows a sample photo of the card/packaging from each of the 29 production lines included in the book (I mention this as it was one of my favorite features of the book).

That said, this book is a reference guide for the figures themselves and therefore does not deal with packaging of each figure in any meaningful way (so, if that is what you are looking for this may not be the book for you). This is too bad as it was a great feature in the original book (and my primary reason for giving it 4.5 rather than 5 stars). But, it does what it set out to do exceptionally well, is very fun to go through, and contains a lot of useful information that is not readily available elsewhere (especially all in one place), and I'm happy to round up to 5 stars. So, I think most Star Wars action figure collectors will find it to be a worthwhile reference for their library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great guide to an epic toy line, November 25, 2012
This review is from: Star Wars: The Ultimate Action Figure Collection (Paperback)
This book is everything a long-time fan, like myself, wants from a reference book about the Star Wars toy line. This covers the entire line, up to the present, with excellent photos showing figures with their accessories. Even though I am a reformed collector, this will have a space on my bookshelf for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference book for Star Wars figures., May 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Ultimate Action Figure Collection (Paperback)
Length:: 4:10 Mins

This is a great reference for vintage and modern figures. Most of the figures in the book are modern, but they do include all the vintage figures. All the pictures in the book are of OPEN figures, nothing MOC. Please see my video review for details. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive & extensive but falls well short of The Star Wars Action Figure Archive, November 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Ultimate Action Figure Collection (Paperback)
Tony the Toyman provides a great summary of the positive aspects in his review, "Does what it set out to do extremely well." However, as a serious collector and fan of Sansweet's previous reference book, The Star Wars Action Figure Archive, I was disappointed.

For starters, almost every figure is represented but many entries don't show all the accessories that came with the figure - this is painfully apparent in the "clones" section. You get one picture of each figure, no multiple angles and some of the special features aren't properly called out. Also, some figures that came packed together are never pictured on the same page making it difficult to grasp which figures came in a set - have I mentioned the "clones" section yet?.

The introduction section shows an example of the packaging for each figure series covered, but following sections never show the packaging for individual entries let alone the packaging of sets. None of the vehicles, playsets, or other toys that are part of the Star Wars action figure line are shown or properly discussed to help give context to certain figures - see "Snaggletooth (blue)" for example, it would have been nice to show a picture of the Cantina Playset the infamous figure came in. Also, some figures come with accessories that work with vehicles and playsets but that is never discussed because a lot of accessories aren't shown and vehicles and playsets are absent.

I also don't understand the book's logic for what qualifies as a figure for inclusion. Imperial Probe Droid from the 1980's Hoth playset qualifies but not the Dianoga trash compactor monster that came with the Death Star playset, let alone a Rancor or a Wampa.

Despite my negative review I recommend this book because it is a great reference guide and fun to browse, but it lacks the level of detail necessary to be truly helpful to the collector community.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth its weight in Action Figures, November 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Ultimate Action Figure Collection (Paperback)
This weighty volume contains photography of all the 3 3/4" SW Action Figures, highlighting the best example of each with a larger photo and verbose description. A great reference for collectors as well as an entertaining book to review all the thousands of characters that Hasbro & Kenner have produced into figures over the years. Its 352 large pages are filled with images and highlighted features of interest for each figure. If you collect figures this will be a great reference for your collection. I thoroughly enjoy this masterpiece. Great job Steve!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want every SW Action Figure without buying any of them? Well, here they are!, December 9, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Ultimate Action Figure Collection (Paperback)
I bought this because I can't afford to actually collect all of these figures. Excellent coffee table and great little reference to the phenom that is Star Wars Action Figures! There are other books out there, but this one I found was just right for young and old to just marvel at the vast universe that Star Wars has created with their action figure line and guaranteed you will enjoy looking at them all! Fun book to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly the Ultimate Action Figure Collection Book!, June 12, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Ultimate Action Figure Collection (Paperback)
Really love what this book offers. You have every iteration of each character ever made. It displays great quality pictures and tons of them! Nice descriptions on every page, and nice backgrounds about all figures, when produced, if it was a special release, and much more. Well done Steve Sansweet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars May the force be with you., May 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Ultimate Action Figure Collection (Paperback)
A great book for a couple of kids who love Star Wars and their Star Wars figures. They've been engrossed in it for days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome price, April 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Ultimate Action Figure Collection (Paperback)
I got this as a gift at Christmas for a Star Wars enthusiast. It was $20 cheaper than Barnes and Noble! This is the most current book for SW collectors. Amazon shipped quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book!, April 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Ultimate Action Figure Collection (Paperback)
Absolutely one of the best books out there for Star Wars action figures and very glad I finally purchased it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Star Wars: The Ultimate Action Figure Collection
Star Wars: The Ultimate Action Figure Collection by Stephen J. Sansweet (Paperback - November 28, 2012)
$40.00 $28.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.