Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning finish to the Sun Witch Trilogy
Isadora Fyne finds herself captured and held captive by Emperor Sebastion. Only the favor of the Empress Liane keeps her alive. Now Liane is pregnant with twins and both know the Emperor will kill one of the babies to prevent a contest for the throne. Isadora who knows she must not fall in love because of the curse on her family, meets and desires Lucan Hern...
Published on February 16, 2006 by Elaine C McTyer

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The final tale of the three cursed witches.
A fair fantasy romance. The last entry in a trilogy.
Isadora is the eldest of three witches cursed to lose their husbands to death before age 30. The youngest sister, Sophie, believes that if united the three sisters could finally break the curse. So the quest for witch sister re-unification is on.
As the novel opens, widowed Isadora is the prisoner of...
Published on November 30, 2008 by Zou Zou


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning finish to the Sun Witch Trilogy, February 16, 2006
This review is from: The Star Witch (Fyne Witches, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
Isadora Fyne finds herself captured and held captive by Emperor Sebastion. Only the favor of the Empress Liane keeps her alive. Now Liane is pregnant with twins and both know the Emperor will kill one of the babies to prevent a contest for the throne. Isadora who knows she must not fall in love because of the curse on her family, meets and desires Lucan Hern.

Lucan is Captain of the warriors of Bacwyr, when he sees Isadora he asks the Emperor for her favors. Ordered by the Emperor to attend Lucan, Isadora must find a way to save not only the babies of the Empress but Lucan because every man who is loved by a Fyne woman is destined to die before he reaches 30, and Lucan who is 36 will be forced by the curse to deny the good in Isadora and turn from her.

Full of excitement, romance and magic this is one of the best trilogys around. Don't miss the SUN WITCH and THE MOON WITCH. I really enjoyed each of these books and each has a different fasinating story to tell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bewitching Fyne Witch tale, January 3, 2006
This review is from: The Star Witch (Fyne Witches, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
In Colubyana, the Fyne witch rejected the wizard making him so angry he cursed the Fyne women so that their love will always die. Over the next three centuries any Fyne witch who married for love watched either their mate die young or ultimately hate them. Of the three current generations of Fyne siblings, the oldest Isadore watched her spouse die. She and her sisters vow to never marry or fall in love until the youngest Sophie breaks the pledge (see THE SUN WITCH) and Juliet follows (see THE MOON WITCH).

While the prisoner of Emperor Sebestyn, Isadore contemplates whether the trio can actually end the Curse. Meanwhile Captain Lucan Hern is stunned that he cannot get the prisoner out of his mind; his desire for her is that strong. This is out of character for the duty bound soldier, who has spent his life in training to fulfill his destiny as Prince of Swords. Rebels led by the other two Fyne witches are coming to attack the Emperor, who sends Isadora to a hell where no one has ever returned. Isadora sees this as the chance to finally lift the curse even if it takes her death to do so while Lucan risks his life to rescue the woman he loves.

The final tale of the bewitching Fyne Witch trilogy is a fabulous climatic romantic fantasy. The story line is more complex than before filled with fascinating twists beguiling the unsuspecting reader. The lead couple, the emperor, and the other sisters and their spouses lead to a magical enchantment that grips the audience wondering if the Curse can truly be lifted or will a three-peat tragedy strike as Linda Winstead Jones beguiles her fans.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic conclusion to a great series!, February 28, 2006
This review is from: The Star Witch (Fyne Witches, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
Isadora is without her sisters for the first time in her life, and a slave in the Emperor Sebestyen's strange and formidable palace. Having killed two men, she finds her magic all but gone. Acting as Empress Liane's personal witch, she decides to choose to protect Liane in order to try and regain the power she has lost.

Having lost her first husband Willym to the Fyne Curse, Isadora refuses to ever love another man. However when Lucan Hern from the Circle of Bacwyr visits the palace, Isadora becomes Sebestyens pawn. Forced to go to Lucan bed, it is his gentleness that eventually melts the hard shell around her heart, but she dare not fall in love for Isadora doesn't think she could survive loosing another man to the curse.

The rebels are growing stronger and threaten the safety of the Empress Liane and her unborn children. Having sworn to protect her, Isadora hopes to be able to help her deliver the children and then sneak out of the place. Only getting thrown into the pit of Level thirteen changes her plans as well as Lucans.

Lucan is at the palace for dual reasons: first to decide if his brother should be able to marry his pregnant mistress and secondly but the more important reason, to regain the Star of Bacwyr - and he thinks he has found it on Isadora's finger.

Linda Winstead Jones has written an awesome conclusion to the WITCH sisters trilogy. In the final installment, she still masterfully juggles the lives of the three sisters as well as the events around Liane who has become a very important character to me.

Emperor Sebestyen surprised me as a character the way he developed into a person. I would actually like Liane to have her own story, but this may just be wishful thinking of a reader.

Isadora has had a lot of tragedy in her life as well as the responsibility of her two younger sisters. She is a very strong woman, and I think that being forced to do the will of another was probably good for her because she ended up with Lucan. A man, strong of character who wanted her to really come to him of her own free will so he didn't abuse her. Instead he was able to reawaken Isadora as a woman rather than just a living human.

THE STAR WITCH was an excellent book in a fantastic series. Honestly, I think my favorite was the second book, but that may also have something to do with the fact that this is the end and I don't like having a good story reach its conclusion! I would highly recommend reading this trilogy in order because each book does build one the previous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Series! Ms. Jones' Voice is Unstoppable!, March 9, 2007
By 
Janalee Ruschhaupt (Fresno, California U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Star Witch (Fyne Witches, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
The emotional wealth that lies within a woman does not change when powered by spells and wizardry. Love is no more or no less, it is just that, love. It can create kingdoms and bare fruit, but it can also destroy and corrupt. Behold the magical writing of...The Star Witch!

A boy will grow into a warrior destined to become the Prince of Swords. Trained by a wizard, Lucan has honed his mind and body to master his emotions and the elements around him. He is truly one with his mighty sword! But, he will have to find the Star of Bacwyr, before he can become the Prince of Swords.

It is in this journey to find the Star of Bacwyr that Lucan finds himself taken with the presence of Isadora. She shines with an inner beauty he cannot resist. A woman he does not realize is a witch! Lucan was warned as a young boy to beware of witches. What will happen when these two unite? Is Isadora a good witch or has darkness overtaken her soul?

The Star Witch is the newest release by author Linda Winstead Jones. This is the third book in the trilogy, following in the footsteps of The Moon Witch and The Sun Witch. Ms. Jones wielded the magic in her pen and flung it to the winds, landing back upon the pages, creating a spellbinding story of magical lovers! The premise is so fresh; the angels in heaven might even weep. How refreshing! In a field saturated with middle of the road paranormal novels, this one commands respect and she has this reader's wholeheartedly. The characters are filled with emotional realism and fortitude. It is not enough that this book is exciting to read, but when you cast in an erotic presence - it kicks this tale up to a fever pitch. It is obvious this author put her heart and soul into each and every word.

This book is so well written, it could easily be a stand alone, but from the first page you will be heading out to get the rest of this trilogy.

Isadora is the oldest of the Fyne sisters. A curse has robbed this family of love for three hundred years. It has touched her life by taking her husband, Willym. She has vowed to never love another man like she loved Willym. Isadora is now a prisoner and she is caring for a pampered queen whose husband is cruel and deviant. From the moment she looks upon Lucan her body responds to the sensual creature that he is. His handsome exterior hides the predator and warrior that lurks close to the surface waiting to strike! Yet, when he takes Isadora it is calculated - overtaking her with patience and passion!

The Star Witch is one of the best paranormal novels this reviewer has read this year! This is the type of love story that will mark the reader's souls and stay with them long after the book has closed. There is a lingering essence of a sequel. This reviewer cannot wait for Ms. Jones to pick up the threads to weave another crafted tale of arousing and mystical love. Ms. Jones truly is the mistress of magical wordplay! Do not think or hesitate, just buy! The Star Witch by author Linda Winstead Jones.

Reviewed by Janalee Ruschhaupt, 2007
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The final tale of the three cursed witches., November 30, 2008
By 
Zou Zou (cape cod,ma) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Star Witch (Fyne Witches, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
A fair fantasy romance. The last entry in a trilogy.
Isadora is the eldest of three witches cursed to lose their husbands to death before age 30. The youngest sister, Sophie, believes that if united the three sisters could finally break the curse. So the quest for witch sister re-unification is on.
As the novel opens, widowed Isadora is the prisoner of unscrupulous, conniving Emperor Sebestyen. The pregnant Emperess Liane has saved Isadora's life by assigning her to the position of royal midwife/slave.
Liane is a former courtesan who married the Emperor. Liane is hiding the fact that she is carrying twins. She believes that her husband would destroy one of the babies.
The Chosen Warrior, Captain Lucan Hern, is on a quest to find the mysterious Star of Bacwyr. He becomes convinced that a borrowed ring on Isadora's finger is the coveted, magical Star. He has been informed that possession of the Star will make him the Prince of Swords. Did I mention that he is a perfect male specimen?
** Spoiler **
He demands Isadora's sexual services in exchange for pledging to fight for Evil Sebestyen against the Rebel forces. Lucan fears witches, and is unaware of Isadore's true nature. He is attracted to her and intends to bed her and seduce the ring off of her finger. After all, even with no choice, she will enjoy it. All women love him.
Now any intelligent reader knows that the powerful Star, is nothing as straight forward as a simple ring.
Isadora must choose between the Dark, using her power to destroy, or the Light, using her power to heal and protect. There is no suspense, the reader knows what Isadora's decision will be. For a witch she is downright powerless.
Isadora is forced to attend to Lucan's desires but swears to remain true to her beloved, dead husband. After two orgasmic sessions with the studly Lucan, we find Isadora sneaking through secret passages to join him in some satisfying bed action.
This is a - Yes!, Yes!, Yes!, vs. no, no , no - struggle that Isadora speedily surrenders. Heroines who are slaves to lust and their nerve endings do not supply any sexual tension.
This is a predictable read. The characters are not sympathetic, the love scenes are uninspired and the world building is cursory and incomplete.
So Big Evil is destroyed, minor evil is vanquished and Good carries the day. Will the Rebels win? Will the witches lose another young husband? Will the infants survive their Emperor father? The answers are obvious.
Not recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Series!!!, December 3, 2006
This review is from: The Star Witch (Fyne Witches, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
I bought this entire series based upon the rave reviews and interesting premise that I saw here on Amazon. I was not at all disappointed. In fact, because I bought them all at one time in ebook format, I spent a sleepless weekend devouring one book after another..actually biting my nails in anticipation!

This is an excellent series and I heartily suggest that you purchase all three books at once. (The first book, The Sun Witch, is my favorite. It sets the stage in an edge-of-your-seat manner that is maintained throughout the series.) The characters in all three books are wonderfully full-bodied and the separate but intertwined stories of all three sisters flow together one right after the other through the second and third books.

There is not much more that I can add about this series that has not already been said before; however I do agree with one of the other reviewers that I would like to see Lianne have her own book. I found the evolution of the relationship between Sebestyen and Lianne to be just as intriguing as, and definitely more sad than, the three heroines. Even though Sebestyen was a horrible character I found myself wishing that there had been some way to save him from himself and redeem him.

There are so many rave reviews and I agree with them all that this entire series deserves 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Battle to the end!, February 15, 2010
By 
This review is from: The Star Witch (Fyne Witches, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
I really like this third and last series to the witch trilogy.. I'm kind of sad we don't get to see more of juliet. My favorite of all three is still Juliet story. It was nice however to see Isadora's story. You don't hate her after learning all about her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, March 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very good read and entertaining. Well written. I read it in 24 hours I couldn't put it down. Must read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome!!!, January 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Star Witch (Fyne Witches, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
I was so happy with this book, the story was again incredible, I couldn't put it down, I would recommend it to anyone who loves stories like this one, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Issadoria, January 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The oldest sister trapped in a messed up situation makes the best of whats presented to her despite her reservations. A great romance novel with a bit of magic to boost the mode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Star Witch (Fyne Witches, Book 3)
The Star Witch (Fyne Witches, Book 3) by Linda Winstead Jones (Mass Market Paperback - January 3, 2006)
$7.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.