Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not perfect.
I purchased this after completing the campaign on casual (I didn't want to risk the story line being ruined) in order to go back and pick up the extra achievements I skipped out on, as well as to read about unit strengths/weaknesses. Overall, I rate this as a worthwhile purchase, however I was a little upset when I began to actually get into the specifics of the...
Published on August 21, 2010 by Tom

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful guide, sloppy editing
This guide covers the campaign elements decently. The maps and mission briefings are useful, though you can get much the same thing free on the Web. Don't count on it to help you with the achievements, since all the Hard ones are much more difficult than anything this guide covers. The multiplayer section is interesting but again won't replace real experience. The game...
Published on October 31, 2010 by David T. Gay


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not perfect., August 21, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (Bradygames Signature Guides) (Paperback)
I purchased this after completing the campaign on casual (I didn't want to risk the story line being ruined) in order to go back and pick up the extra achievements I skipped out on, as well as to read about unit strengths/weaknesses. Overall, I rate this as a worthwhile purchase, however I was a little upset when I began to actually get into the specifics of the campaign.

Although my qualms with this product could certainly be due to Blizzard tweaking the game through updates or last minute changes after this book was published, it is still worth pointing out there will be some slight changes/omissions which I would have assumed were included/accurate. Two which I will point out for reference, are to the "Piercing the Shroud" level, the achievements have the wrong difficulties associated with them, and the maps don't always include locations for all of the achievements (ie, all of Tosh's units for "The Devils Playground").

Overall, it is worthwhile since Amazon is selling it cheaper than all my local competitors, just know that you will still have to google certain things if you don't want to explore everything on your own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful guide, sloppy editing, October 31, 2010
By 
David T. Gay (Carmichael, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (Bradygames Signature Guides) (Paperback)
This guide covers the campaign elements decently. The maps and mission briefings are useful, though you can get much the same thing free on the Web. Don't count on it to help you with the achievements, since all the Hard ones are much more difficult than anything this guide covers. The multiplayer section is interesting but again won't replace real experience. The game gets hard quickly, and this guide is relatively basic.

You'll also find plenty of instances of sloppy editing. Sentences are strung together with commas all over the guide. The editor really did a bad job. But on the bright side the visual layout is great. The color photos may inspire you to fight great battles. It's just that nowadays a paper guide has to really shine to out-compete the stuff that's freely available online. That's why I give this one 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Resource for New Players, September 26, 2010
This review is from: StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (Bradygames Signature Guides) (Paperback)
There's no shortage of info on-line to play SC2, but it's helpful to have it in one spot and be able to reference it occasionally while you play. The information on the campaigns is decent but more specific step-by-step guides are available from Starcraft 2 Liquipedia. Nevertheless, the campaign sections are well laid out. However, the multiplayer section of the book is excellent. It has some helpful pointers on how to play better. I've found the Tech trees very helpful to have in front of me while I play each race randomly in the Co-operative and 1vAI games. Playing Zerg, Terran and Protoss is important to properly understand their strengths and weaknesses. Eventually you won't need it but for new players this book is easily worth the money. As you play, many of the pointers and suggestions it provides will resonate with you better the more you've played, so I find myself referring back and re-reading the player vs player section. I think anyone other than an expert will find the book helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I was looking for, August 17, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (Bradygames Signature Guides) (Paperback)
So glad I purchased this! First of all it looks beautiful--lots of pretty screenshots--and second of all the content is great. The single player guide is what you would expect--shows how to get all the bonus objectives, etc--but the multiplayer guide really stands out, going in to a lot of detail on general strategy and featuring guides to every unit in the game. There are also strategies for specific builds and analysis of some maps, which are less about the specific maps and more about just knowing what to look for. Overall, very high quality. I'd recommend it especially for the rookie Starcraft 2 player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost Perfect Starcraft II Guide, September 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (Bradygames Signature Guides) (Paperback)
The only thing holding me back from a 5 star review is the fact that the guide doesn't give you tips on getting any of the harder achievements in the game. Other than that it is a very in depth guide to everything else you need to know about the game. Gives good generalized tips on the single player missions, but nothing specific. It's also a great introduction to multi-player. Quite comprehensive in the multiplayer aspect with helpful "Starcraft Pro" tips. Worth picking up overall, especially for those that are newer to starcraft/RTS games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game. Good Guide., September 7, 2010
By 
Necrosis "Necrosis" (Gainesville, GA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (Bradygames Signature Guides) (Paperback)
Found this guide on Amazon for nearly 10$ less than in local stores, and figured I'd check it out seeing as I've been avidly playing SC2 since early beta. While the advice included for multiplayer it somewhat generic (which it has to be for any Blizzard game where patches are released frequently to balance game mechanics) it is good and helpful advice, even more so for players who aren't veterans of the original Starcraft. The campaign guide is fairly comprehensive as well, providing most every detail you need to achieve victory in the missions. Overall better than all the Brady guides that I've seen in the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent guide for campaign or rookies to multi, December 27, 2010
By 
Bill C (Orlando, FL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (Bradygames Signature Guides) (Paperback)
With about 60% of the guide dedicated to completing the campaign and obtaining achievements, the guide seems to be targeted towards rookies. There was some good info on multiplayer strategies, and the unit breakdowns were informative, but only available in summary format. One thing that this guide lacked was a unit stat/counter in spreadsheet format. Not being able to quickly reference this guide while playing to find out a units strengths/weaknesses without having to read a 2-3 page summary is a serious drawback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good guide for getting started with Starcraft 2, October 1, 2010
This review is from: StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (Bradygames Signature Guides) (Paperback)
For single player the guide really comes in handy. For multiplayer it's not as much help. You'll get better help for that on the Battle.Net forums. I picked this up when I got Starcraft 2 though, and I do not regret it. A good guide for anyone wanting to get a quality start on Starcraft 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (Bradygames Signature Guides) (Paperback)
This book is what my son wanted thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, March 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (Bradygames Signature Guides) (Paperback)
A large strategy guide with a wealth of information. It has detailed mission walkthroughs, tips from pro players, unit strenths and weaknesses, etc. Basically, anything you could want to know about playing the game. Good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (Bradygames Signature Guides)
StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (Bradygames Signature Guides) by Rick Barba (Paperback - July 27, 2010)
Used & New from: $1.13
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.