Customer Reviews


834 Reviews
5 star:
 (673)
4 star:
 (108)
3 star:
 (34)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


184 of 193 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally...
SG-1 is crazy good, and Season 2 was arguably the best season so far. As with many TV adaptations, the sophomore year is when a series tends to truly expand its horizons from the original, and this is certainly true with Stargate SG-1. Season Two lays the groundwork for many of the key storylines of the series, so it is a must for any viewer. I've been awaiting this...
Published on June 1, 2002 by Grant Ferley

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality control
Very poor quality control!
I just bought some of the Thinpacks and have problems with discs on season 1, 2, 3, and 8.
I have yet to watch other seasons.
Some episodes are simply unwatchable due to defects in the discs.
I checked each disc carefully and they are not scratched, but there is a manufacturing defect in them that causes these problems...
Published on December 27, 2010 by Brad


‹ Previous | 1 284 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

184 of 193 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally..., June 1, 2002
By 
Grant Ferley "buh?" (Winnipeg, MB Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
SG-1 is crazy good, and Season 2 was arguably the best season so far. As with many TV adaptations, the sophomore year is when a series tends to truly expand its horizons from the original, and this is certainly true with Stargate SG-1. Season Two lays the groundwork for many of the key storylines of the series, so it is a must for any viewer. I've been awaiting this since the first box set, especially with the Region 2 DVD's being up to Season Four.
I cannot stress to anyone enough who has not watched the TV series that it is superb. If you would have asked me over a year ago about SG-1, I would have dismissed it easily as a cheesy Made-In-Canada (don't fret, I'm Canadian) Sci-Fi series. True, a lot of that would have been from my bias from the movie, and that it starred Patty and Selma's hero MacGyver ;-), but after only seeing a few shows, I became quickly hooked. I was blown away by the unbelievable chemistry of the cast, the great story writing, and the quality of the special effects. We truly need more advocates for the series, as good TV is often hard to find. I'm about to preorder my copy now...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for all Stargate fans, June 3, 2002
By 
"qu0s" (NSW, Australia) - See all my reviews
Although it has taken a long time for them to be released, these DVD's have definitely been worth the wait. Stargate SG-1 is one of the best sci-fi shows that has been around in years, taking an original and interesting premise (originally introduced in the Stargate movie, although expanded and changed a little) and weaving it into a detailed and complex storyline that continues to entertain.
The second season sees Stargate SG-1 really come into it's own, finding it's feet after a mostly hit-and-miss first year. Among other things, we see the introduction of some new characters (both good and bad) this season, which adds a whole new dimension to the show and sets up some brilliant story arcs. The mythology behind the Stargate is explored a little deeper as well, allowing for some interesting discoveries and character development.
Featuring such memorable episodes as The Serpent's Lair, A Matter Of Time, Holiday, 1969 and The Fifth Race, this is a collection that I will be re-watching and enjoying for a long time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very happy day for SG-1 fans in the states!, October 3, 2002
By 
Danny (Rock Springs, Wyoming United States) - See all my reviews
Stargate SG-1 is one of the best sci-fi series ever created, perhaps even one of the best TV series *Period*. Yes I know it's a bold statement, but it has merit. Season 2 is where the series really starts to take off, and lay ground work for some of the series key storylines. (Thor's Chariot, The Tok'ra, The Fifth Race, etc.) Argueably one of the best seasons, Season 2 packs a startling number of high quality episodes into one short 22 episode season.
Quality: 4
Almost all of the episodes are high quality, must see episodes, and those that are not are at the very least decent.
Video: 3 1/2
Picture quality is great, Wide Screen, very little distortion.
Sound: 4
Boasting Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround sound, these DVDs sound great. Crisp and life-like, the sound is superb.
Packaging: 5
The Box Set comes with a very attractive and useable case, each DVD is seperatly boxed with all of the information you need on the episodes, and more.
Special Features: 3
Perhaps the DVD's biggest weakness, is lack of special features. If Special features are what your in it for, this may not be the box set for you. All DVDs come with Promotional trailers, and 3 of 5 DVDs come with a special featurette on a cast member or Producer.
Overall: A Solid 4
Lack of Special features keep this Box set from getting a perfect 5, other than that this set is very very good, and I reccomend it to ANY SG-1 fan, new or veteran to the series.
I can't wait for season 3!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, we get some answers!, June 24, 2002
By A Customer
Stargate SG-1 has been among the highest rated and most viewed sci-fi shows on televison. On Showtime, on Sci-fi, or on some local channel like FOX, millions of viewers have tuned in each week to follow the adventures of sci-fi greatest heros. They're not great because they have advanced technology or they're futuristic. They're great, because they are ordinary and they exist now, and deal with today's problems. This is a convention that sci-fi fans have not seen properly utilized in a long time. In Stargate SG-1, the environments, the conflicts, are as new and exciting to the characters as they are to the audience. This fact, combined with great story telling, numerous extensive story arcs, and an awesome cast, provides for a powerful and original series.
However, for people like me, who were unfortunate enough to get hooked on the series pretty late after the premier date (try a season and a half too late) many questions remain unanswered, especially on the several-episode-long story arcs. That's why owning these early seasons is so great. In a show where one episode like 'The Fifth Race' can make a huge difference in the rest of the series, being able to go back on my own time and see any missed episodes is the greatest thing since sliced bread and recording VCRs.
Anyway, Season One may have introduced the characters, but Season Two is where most of the extended plot lines begin, such as the Tocrah. If you're like me and you missed a few, okay a lot, of the old episodes, this DVD pack is the ultimate place to catch up. And if you've never seen an episode, well then, I say buy the packs, sit back and enjoy the ride. I promise you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season 2 builds on Season 1..., March 19, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
That is one of the best advantages of Season 2 - it can build on the events and characters, the history, developed within Season 1. Not only do such great characters as Bra'tac, Apophis and Hathor return, but new Goa'uld System Lords such as Heru-ur and Sokar can now be brought in. Also, we meet the Asgard and the Tok'ra, who will play major parts on later Seasons. Season 1 set the rules, gave us a detailed setting and even ideas for future plots. Now Season 2 has mined those ideas and taken them farther, making a foundation for Season 3, 4, 5 and so on. Nothing stays the same in this series - everything changes. The balance if power is always changing and Earth is always in danger. But if it was too easy the characters would never develop and there would be no action, no adventure, no cool battle scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best si-fi shows out there, May 14, 2002
By 
Marky Mark "Mark" (North Haberbrook Farm Road, WA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For those of you (me) who missed it the first time around (on the si-fi channel), this series is a must have, it expands on the shoddy movie and takes the genera of science fiction to unprecedented levels of excellence. I just bought season one, and am drooling to have the other 11. :-) Cast your vote now so that those wonderful -cough- we've waited long enough -cough- MGM folks will realize their error and make this happen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stargate finds its legs with Season 2..., June 6, 2002
Season 1 of Stargate was their "tryouts". They did well in a lot of places, slipped up a little, but eventually were allowed on the team.
Season 2 is where Stargate finds its legs and really begins to get interesting. I live in Australia, and have had all of Season 2 since last year, so I can review this...
The Serpent's Lair - Very cool episode, great way to start a season.
In the Line of Duty - BIG episode. Sets up many future events.
Prisoners - Interesting episode with consequences that reach into Season 3.
The Gamekeeper - Before there was The Matrix, there was The Gamekeepers World, although this one is more traumatizing!
Need - Michael Shanks, who plays Daniel Jackson, really shines in this one. That guy can act!
Thor's Chariot - Follow up to Season 1's "Thor's Hammer" and the introduction of the true Asgard, a very important race. Excellent ep too.
Message in a Bottle - Maybe not the greatest ep in the world, but has a great suspenceful begining.
Family - More with Teal'c family.
Secrets - Another big ep with far reaching consequences, even in Season 5 & 6!
Bane - More Colonel Mayborne antics!
The Tok'ra Part 1, The Tok'ra Part 2 - Important, if not terribly interesting eps.
Spirits - Quite a funny ep. Sees Captain Carter in command for the first time.
Touchstone - More Colonel Mayborne antics!
A Matter of Time - Very cool ep, introduces series semi-regular Major Paul Davis, played by Colin Cunningham
The Fifth Race - Another biggie as far as plot arcs go
Serpent's Song - The death of a great adversary!
Holiday - Funny ep. Quite nice with Shank's acting again coming out on top, and not just as Daniel Jackson this time!
One False Step - Interesting plot, great Jack/Daniel interaction
Show and Tell - Although the writers haven't latched onto this plot thread since, it's a great set up and a great episode
1969 - Time Travelling SG-1!!
Out of Mind - You'll never guess who shows up this time around. A great set up for Season 3's "Into the Fire" season opener!
Get this Boxed set, even if it's just to avoid having to buy the DVD's from the UK (which cost almost twice as much).
BYE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best SciFi on TV, August 25, 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Like many others, I have recorded every single episode, and watched many episodes repeatedly. Finally, two seasons are available on DVD - naturally I'm snapping them up. 22 episodes for around 50 dollars - in digital quality with extras like behind the scenes commentary and interviews with the actors - It would be foolish for me to pass this up. I highly recommend this to anyone who appreciates SciFi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Finest of SG-1, November 13, 2002
By 
It's my opinion that Stargate SG-1's second season was its best. It was a huge step up over the first year, and would set up many plotlines that continue well into the show's current sixth season. Among my personal favorites this season:
The Serpent's Lair: A slam-bang, take no prisoners action-packed follow-up to Season 1's cliffhanger finale.
Prisoners: SG-1 are imprisoned unjustly and must escape with the help of a kindly old woman who is not what she seems.
Thor's Chariot: SG-1 returns to Cimmeria, and must try to contact the fabled Asgard to stop a Goa'uld invasion.
Secrets: A reporter threatens to expose the Stargate project to the world, Sam tries to reconcile with her estranged father, and Daniel reunites with his Goa'uld enslaved wife Sha're.
The Tok'ra: An epic and moving two-parter that introduces the Goa'uld rebels called the Tok'ra.
Touchstone: Someone on Earth is stealing valuable relics from other worlds, and SG-1 is blamed.
A Matter Of Time: Earth is in danger of being sucked into a black hole - through the Stargate!
The Fifth Race: After an alien encyclopedia is downloaded into his brain, Col. O'Neill undergoes a strange transformation that leads to contact with new allies.
Serpent's Song: SG-1's archenemy, Apophis, seeks sanctuary on Earth, but one of his foes will stop at nothing to retrieve him.
Show And Tell: A mysterious, invisible alien race threatens the destruction of all human life in the galaxy.
1969: A lighthearted romp through the Summer of Love ensues after SG-1 is thrown back in time.
This set should be at the top of any SG-1 fan's wishlist. With first-rate writing, acting, and special effects, Stargate SG-1's second season is TV science fiction at its finest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why did MGM wait?, July 9, 2002
By 
"giluxis" (Central Florida USA) - See all my reviews
.....so long to release the 2nd season box set?
Fact: Rabid region 1 SG-1 junkies have been scratching their arms in anticipation for close to 2 years. The first 4 seasons of this Sci-Fi classic are a must for any DVD library.
From "Serpents Lair" to "Out of Mind" this collection contains all you need to become SG 1 savvy. You find the introduction of the Asgard, aka the "cool little gray guys" and the "anti- Goa'uld" Tok'ra. We meet Teal'c's family and Sam's father. My favorite episodes happen to play with time. "A Matter of Time" and "1969" are excellent.
If you are completely lost among the varied plot points of the latest season. This collection should answer most questions.
If not. Well...

I guess we'll all have to wait for MGM to release Season 3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 284 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Stargate SG-1: Season 2
Stargate SG-1: Season 2 by Richard Dean Anderson (DVD - 2006)
$39.98 $9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.