Customer Reviews


467 Reviews
5 star:
 (353)
4 star:
 (76)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The right time to end a fantastic show
As much as I would love SG-1 to go on forever, I know that ending at the landmark tenth season is the right thing to do in order to make sure such a wonderful series goes out with the dignity and respect that it deserves. SG-1 broke the mold in terms of special effects, production values, and sheer entertainment. It was able to look at the sci-fi genre in a different...
Published on June 13, 2007 by Jamie

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Terrible episode 11 is missing on Prime why?
Really? The Quest, Part 2 [HD] is missing wtf gives Amazon get your shit together, enough with this fail changes hurry and fix it I am bored!
Published 20 months ago by Ani K


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

79 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The right time to end a fantastic show, June 13, 2007
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 10 (DVD)
As much as I would love SG-1 to go on forever, I know that ending at the landmark tenth season is the right thing to do in order to make sure such a wonderful series goes out with the dignity and respect that it deserves. SG-1 broke the mold in terms of special effects, production values, and sheer entertainment. It was able to look at the sci-fi genre in a different light, much like Farscape was able to do. It could make fun of itself while retaining its integrity, and it wasn't so dark and self-righteous as shows like Battlestar Galactica that it couldn't have a goofy episode here and there.

With the promise of at least two movies and the open door for more, the tenth season ends quietly and perfectly. Looking back, I realize that after O'Neill left, it just wasn't the same show. It was a lot of new characters, a new enemy, and a completely different angle. And while this did a lot to freshen up the storylines, it just wouldn't have held past two seasons of Mitchell leading the team. What was wonderful about the tenth season was Vala. She was a truly unapologetic character with a great storyline, and even though her bombastic character had the potential to be a scene-stealer, the amazing Claudia Black knows how to give as much as she takes. Her relations with each member of SG-1 and General Landry are incredibly entertaining and brought season 10 up to a whole new level.

Overall, the stories remained entertaining and meaningful, and the wonderful characters that we've know for ten years remained true to themselves while the newer characters remained true to the Stargate universe. Season ten feels like a good time to wave goodbye to an old friend without ever regretting a single moment of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The End of an Era, July 1, 2007
By 
MagicBill (The Atomic City, TN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 10 (DVD)
I remember the original Stargate SG-1 movie and while it was good, I think Richard Dean Anderson and Daniel Shanks made a better team than Kurt Russell and James Spader. Stargate offered an exciting journey to distant lands in a blink of an eye and the journey was usually quick, saving more time for adventure.

But after season 8, Stargate got too familiar, always fighting the Gu'ald. The addition of Ben Browder and Claudia Black seemed too reminiscent of Farscape. But the addition of the Ori as a new formidable opponent made the series sizzle again!

Season 10 continues Stargate SG-1's battle against the Ori, one of the most powerful enemies ever concocted. The search for Merlin's weapon against the Ancients that would also destroy the Ori leads one on a quest where even the Gu'ald team up with the SG-1 team to help defeat the Ori. The Ori can transform humans into their oracles and spokesmen and it is interesting to see Daniel Jackson as an Ori. But buy the DVD and see what happens next!

Stargate SG-1 may not be the cleverest series, but it offered quality entertainment to the family for 10 years. I doubt if StarWars could continue as good a series for 10 years. Even though the 100th and 200th episodes were campy and goofy, the 200th episode did have references to Farscape and a tongue-in-cheek view of the show. Stargate offered a look inside each character and although we hoped something would happen between Jack O'Neal and Samantha Carter, it was nice to see Daniel Jackson and Vala as a couple. The show's ending was bittersweet but it's nice to know that there will be movies following.

The series finale did not go out in a bang, or a whimper. It was tastefully done and unexpected. There was a LOT of loose ends and I hope the movies will resolve these. I will get Season 10 to finalize my box set collection. You should too because it will become a SciFi classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular final season of a great series, May 23, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 10 (DVD)
Season 10 marks the final trips through the Stargate for our beloved characters. Season 9 marked a change to the series with the departure of a major cast member and the addition of three. As well as a new enemy. It's a shame we won't have any more regular adventures on Fridays with SG-1 but you won't be disapointed in these final 20 episodes. Many series arent given a proper ending, (Farscape anyone?) but SG-1 got it. You won't be disapointed. It has been one hell of a ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


248 of 310 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fun and dignified final season to Sci-fi longest continuously running series, May 17, 2007
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 10 (DVD)
Warning! Many spoilers!

Additional Warning: Thanks to Canadian and British television, the final episodes of STARGATE SG-1 have already been shown through much of the world. The following review is based on having seen everything including the series finale.

And so after an amazing ten year run, STARGATE SG-1 comes to a dignified end. Sorta. Plans for a couple of TV movies are already in the works, so the plot ends that are left somewhat open at the end of the series will probably be resolved at that time. It is hard at this point to know what the show's legacy will be. It never received the critical acclaim that series like FARSCAPE, BATTLESTAR GALACTICA, FIREFLY, or even BABYLON 5 received, and one can't point to specific ways that it has altered or molded other Sci-Fi series, but simply being around for a decade is unprecedented in Sci-fi. Yeah, DR. WHO has been around longer, but its presence has been far more episodic and it has sometimes been prey to a budget smaller than a kids' show (though certainly this is not the case for its present incarnation). It certainly did a number of things right. The writing remained strong throughout. The production values were strong from beginning to end. And if it never scaled the peaks of brilliance of other series it still managed to produce many memorable moments. Perhaps its legacy is something to be set aside for a decade or so.

What is amazing is that the tenth season was a largely successful effort at self-recreation. Season Nine had been plagued by pregnancy. Both Amanda Tapping and Claudia Black (and some of the outfits Ms. Black wore in Season Ten reveal that she has fully recovered from having given birth--the highlight of Season Ten might have been the outfit she wore in the high school reunion episode from near the end of the season) had children during that season. I'm a huge fan of kids and having babies, but it doesn't mesh well with making TV shows. Tapping was missing for the early part of the season and Black for most of the middle. Both were present for the entirety of Season Ten. Black's real life pregnancy fed into the plot of Season Ten, with her giving birth to a mystical child who became the super-empowered leader of the Ori. Adria (played by Monica Baccarin, Inara from FIREFLY) grew into a full-grown woman with overwhelming powers in a matter of weeks. Throughout the season SG-1 has to struggle against their most powerful foe yet, who nonetheless harbors affection towards her mother, hoping to convert her to a belief in the Ori.

What makes Season Ten work for me above all else is Claudia Black as Vala. Although I have long been a fan of the show, I've long felt that there was a central problem in the core cast. Though Richard Dean Anderson's Jack O'Neill was ever the wise cracker, there was a lack of genuine humor at the core of the show and despite the implied attraction between O'Neill and Samantha Carter, no real romantic chemistry. But Vala is really, truly funny and a real sex post as well. And it was brilliant to team her with the wound-too-tight Daniel Jackson rather than Col. Mitchell (which would have been expected, since Black and Ben Browder portrayed what was perhaps THE great romantic couple in all of TV Sci-fi, Aeryn Sun and John Crichton on FARSCAPE). Vala and Jackson are great together, with the unconventional and free-spirited Vala both appealing to and threatening the Boy Scout Jackson. As a huge fan of Claudia Black's Aeryn Sun, who was a stern and serious character, it was delightful seeing her be such a goofball on this show. All in all, her character brought a bit of anarchism that was frequently lacking on the show. If I have a regret with the series coming to an end, it is in not knowing what happens to her next. In one of the most endearing touches of the season, the Stargate program only very gradually decides to allow Vala to become a part of the SG-1 team. The season's opening credits start off with the main four marching through the gate, but the week after she is allowed to join, just as the four start to walk through, Vala scampers up to join them.

The main plot for the final season focused on the ongoing struggle against the Ori, a group of ultra religious fanatics. With religious fundamentalism dominating both domestic and international news, with both Christian fundamentalists in the US trying to force public opinion to conform with their beliefs and Islamic fundamentalists trying to force the rest of Islam to conform with their violent and intolerant readings of the Koran (readings that the vast majority of Muslims do not agree with), nothing could be more relevant than intolerant religious zealots who are willing to kill those who do not agree with them.

There were some significant farewells in Season Ten. Samantha's father, who had seen his life extended several years by accepting a symbiote and becoming a member of the Tok'ra, finally did die. And not only Thor, but also the entirety of the Asgard died as well.

Although STARGATE SG-1 was noted for its huge, epic, cliffhanging finales, the series finale was surprisingly subdued and quiet. But also, I thought, remarkably appropriate. I'm sure there was the temptation of a "Big Ending," but instead they decided to focus instead on a relatively unspectacular, intimate episode in which time is essentially frozen for a few decades. The main five simply spend some time together, while Vala and Daniel actually live a life of romantic bliss. Typically, they manage a brilliant scientific solution to their dilemma at the end, with only Teal'c retaining any memory of the preceding decades. As the show ends he smiles bemusedly as Vala and Daniel fall into their bickering ways. But we know the potential that remains.

So, a classic series comes to an end. It wasn't the best Sci-fi series ever. It wasn't the most ground breaking. And it isn't likely to be one of the more influential. But it was the longest running uninterrupted Sci-fi series in the history of Sci-fi and introduced us to a host of memorable characters. Yeah, it had some unpleasant quirks. It used "Science as Magic" to such a degree that it almost became a parody of itself. It reused plots endlessly. I mean, just how many alternate universe episodes did we really need? And how many times were there multiple copies of the same character? (I suspect that BATTLESTAR GALACTICA's refusal to use the same plot device twice or to EVER employ science in magical fashion owes a great deal to the abuse of both by SG-1.) Still, the show took us to a host of wonderful places, introduced us to some wonderful enemies, and continually managed to entertain and delight. And we got to know the core group of characters quite well. Not many shows get ten seasons; even fewer manage ten seasons so well. The show was starting to seem a bit old by the end, but it managed to do what almost no series ever gets to do: last ten years and still have something left in the tank at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wistful that a great series is ending., July 7, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 10 (DVD)
The series was getting to seem a bit long in the tooth but features solid writing, great characters and the usual stellar production values. I'll of course own this DVD and will continue to enjoy the series, a fine blend of pulp sci fi and space opera that always surprised, entertained and will never get old. I'm glad to see that the story lines will hopefully be wrapped in the movies to come. I look forward to a more focused writing team for future SG Atlantis seasons and some interesting evolution's of SG in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STARGATE-SG1, July 15, 2007
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 10 (DVD)
How can anywone deny the greatness of this series from the beginning to it's end.. Yes i know i sound like too much of a fan, however to a lot of guys out their like me it was memorable series one in which i spent every single year of it's existence looking forward to the next episode true they did a lot of parody's of themselves and quite frankly parts of the series did at times seem to languish in it's own greatnes... I know, I know it sounds too much of a ringing endorsement of this series, but truth be told the series was pretty consistent and most of it's theories seemed to be based on plausible theories... Well for the most part, it did everything one could imagine for a series it had a great beginning, well put together center and by that i mean the middle years of the entire series. To which it develloped all the possible characters of that particular universe...Also it had the sort of ending fitting that of a great series... Leading one to want more... Unlike another famous series that ended, well horribly to say the least... Hmm let me think which one could that be that ended horribly during that period...

P.S.. A mark of a truely great series is to be able to generate a spin off series while the main series is still on going.....

I can honestly say i was completely satisfied, I just wanted more...and by that i meant another season, I really wanted to see the entire thing resolved or something from the other sides perspective.... Sort of like what if they actually won and by that i mean the ORI.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It was the best of times, it was the worst of times..., August 5, 2007
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 10 (DVD)
and everything in between during the 10th season of "Stargate: SG-1". By the way, this ISN'T the end of SG-1 as two direct-to-video TV movies are due in 2008 with stand alone storylines. During the 10th season we get to see the resolution of the conflict between the alliance and the Ori, the end of the Asgardians and the continuing blossoming romance between Dr. Daniel Jackson (Michael Shanks) and Vala (Claudia Black). The show went through a lot of change during the last three seasons as storylines were wrapped up, new storyarcs developed and new characters such as Lt. Colonel Cameron Mitchell (Ben Browder well known to sci-fi fans from "Farscape")and Vala (Claudia Black anther "Farscape" alum)providing the show with an additional injection of energy. Beau Bridges came on board adding spark to the show as well. Richard Dean Anderson is missed during the 10th and final season but his spirit is kept very much alive by Browder and Black in their roles. Michael Shanks, Amanda Tapping and Christopher Judge proved to the the strongest link in the chain between the old Stargate and new.

The story arc episodes are among the best while some of the stand alone episodes are (with the exception of a few) probably the weakest of the 10th season seeming like filler at times. The stand-alone episodes may or may not appeal to you like those on "The X-Files" and "Farscape" these episodes stand or fall based on the strength of the plotting and how realistic the wrap up is within 45 minutes. Some episodes as a result are better than others with some abrupt resolutions using the old ex deus machina (represented as help from Stargate Command or other sources sometimes unexpected)where more time could have been devoted to the story expanding it over more than one episode. As a long time "Farscape" fan I was happy to tag along after the cast changes and found that if you gave the final two seasons a chance, they were extremely good at the best of times.

The show experienced a lot of change during the last three seasons which would make one expect them to be lesser seasons than the previous 7. Nothing could be further from the truth. The new characters were perfect additions to the show adding after the departure of Richard Dean Anderson as Colonel Jack O'Neil. The addition of Beau Bridges as Major General Hank Landry to replace long time cast member Don Davis (Davis' character was promoted and he appeared in a couple of episodes during season nine)who played Major General George Hammond and various guest stars (Fred Willard, Robert Picardo a regular on "Star Trek: Voyager" started appearing in season 9) helped spruce up the last season of the show. It also helped that the Ori story arc was nicely resolved during the last season as well.

The show looks pretty good but there are some digital artifacts evident in the transfers. Most of you won't notice them or care but for those that do keep in mind the amount of information packed on each disc. The 10th season has been packaged in the slimline packaging that was rolled out with season 8. I'm sure these will show up on Blu-Ray but the show looks fine here and is well priced.

The DVD has commentary tracks for every episode except one (and I suspect that was probably an accident as one episode has TWO commentary tracks. They probably scheduled the wrong episode for the second commentary track), deleted scenes, featurettes in the Director's Series focusing on 1 director for 1 episode of each disc. We also got the usual assortment of photo and production galleries included as well. There is a trailer that for the first of the two Stargate direct-to-video movies "Stargate SG-1: The Ark of Truth" (the second one also coming in 2008 is "Stargate SG-1: Continuum" involving time travel and reportedly will feature Richard Dean Anderson).

The 10th season varies but overall it's a good one that SG-1 fans will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A noble end to a great SF series, September 6, 2007
By 
mcerner "mcerner" (Princeton, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 10 (DVD)
It's hard to believe that the science fiction channel cancelled Stargate in favor of shows like Who Wants to be a Super Hero, or the geeky Dr. Who. Stargate was one of the best SF series, ranking with Babylon 5, because of its humanity. People came first, after which the stories were dramatic, exciting, and always tied in to our best human values. They had great villains, excepting the Ori which took the series in too spiritual a direction. If you watch from year one to the end, the character development is incredible. Of course, when RDA left the series, it wasn't the same. The newcomers from Farscape weren't able to take his place -- which was obvious when the producers had to bring two characters, Cam and Vala, to replace one. The series ended well, although I do think that Daniel and Vala should not have gotten together. They were too much of a mismatch on a moral scale. However, it was all done well, and I will miss it. Occasional TV movies just aren't enough. I think now that the original Stargate is off the air, fans will realize how poor a spinoff is the Atlantis series. This DVD set was very high quality, as usual, with a crisp colorful picture and great sound. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More real then most, June 15, 2007
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 10 (DVD)
This show was the best scifi show ever, I am not one for science fiction, it's boring and unrealistic; however Stargate was something of anomaly it was actualy entertaining and seemed realistic. I think it had a lot to do with the Air Force's influance on the show and how the characters were writen. Stargate SG-1 will be missed Immensely by many people including me. I hope that the dvd movies are a success so there will be more in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Terrible episode 11 is missing on Prime why?, November 19, 2012
Really? The Quest, Part 2 [HD] is missing wtf gives Amazon get your shit together, enough with this fail changes hurry and fix it I am bored!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.