Customer Reviews


434 Reviews
5 star:
 (351)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


215 of 234 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stargate SG-1 Season 6
Another great Season of Stargate SG-1. If you are here, then I don't have to tell you that! I always search everywhere on the internet and try to get some advance notice about DVD releases. As with the prior seasons, the format is Widescreen anamorphic - 1.78:1 and the audio is Dolby Digital 5.1. Disappointingly, MGM's site had very little information. I especially...
Published on January 26, 2004 by cyclista

versus
23 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can I give 5 stars to 3 episodes?
I'm a purist. I don't apologize for that. For me the sixth season of Stargate wasn't Stargate SG1. I own three disks containing the episodes Abyss, Changeling, and Full Circle. The team of SG1 isn't a team without the four characters of Jack, Daniel, Teal'c, and Sam. Season six failed to capture my interest with the rebuild of the team. There simply wasn't any chemistry...
Published on August 27, 2004 by Mother Goddess


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

215 of 234 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stargate SG-1 Season 6, January 26, 2004
By 
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 Season 6 Boxed Set (DVD)
Another great Season of Stargate SG-1. If you are here, then I don't have to tell you that! I always search everywhere on the internet and try to get some advance notice about DVD releases. As with the prior seasons, the format is Widescreen anamorphic - 1.78:1 and the audio is Dolby Digital 5.1. Disappointingly, MGM's site had very little information. I especially wanted to find out what the "Director Series" is in the extras. I could not find out too much. Only one website had this description: The Director Series features give insight into the working day of the director on issues such as script development, prop and set creation.
Here is an episode guide, with a tiny description.
1. Redemption - Part 1: The Stargate malfunctions and threatens to destroy all life on Earth.
2. Redemption - Part 2: Teal'c and Ryac decide to destroy the weapon that has turned the Stargate into a bomb.
3. Descent: After being ambushed, Carter and an SG-1 team crash into the Pacific Ocean.
4. Frozen: A woman who has been frozen for thousands of years is thawed and returns to life, infecting the others with a deadly virus.
5. Nightwalkers: Immunitech is implanting Gou'ald symbiotes into the citizens of an Oregon town.
6. Abyss: Jack is captured and tortured by the Gou'ald. Daniel Jackson's ghost returns to help him.
7. Shadowplay: The Kelownans, who are from Jonas's home planet, negotiate for Earth's superior military technology. Dr. Kieran, a Kelownan scientist, tells Jonas that he is part of a resistance movement trying to save the planet.
8. The Other Guys: Felger and Coombs try to rescue an SG-1 team, who was taken captive by the Gou'ald.
9. Allegiance: Artok is suspected of Ocker's murder, and then is murdered himself.
10. Cure: The Pangerans offer to trade the secret of a miracle drug for instruction in how to use a gate. However, there is a problem with the drug.
11. Prometheus - Part 1: Operatives posing as camera crew hijack a new spacecraft that combines human with alien technology.
12. Unnatural Selection - Part 2: Replicators have overrun an Asgard world and created a time distortion there.
13. Sight Unseen: An ancient artifact from another planet is responsible for the spread of a contagious "disease" on Earth.
14. Smoke and Mirrors: Senator Kinsey is assassinated by a man who looks like Colonel Jack O'Neill.
15. Paradise Lost: Colonel Maybourne and Colonel O'Neill end up on a planet that Maybourne says is a secret alien paradise.
16. Metamorphosis: Gou'ald queen, Nirrti, may be creating a race of super human warriors through the manipulation of DNA.
17. Disclosure: The U.S. and Russia disclose the existence of Stargate to the United Kingdom, France, and China.
18. Forsaken: SG-1 finds three human survivors on another planet that are under attack, seemingly without a reason.
19. The Changeling: Teal'c believes he has lost his symbiote.
20. Memento: The SG-1 team hear of a mythical Stargate on an inhabited planet.
21. Prophecy: The citizens of an alien planet believe that the SG-1 team have arrived to fulfill an ancient prophecy to free them from tyranny.
22. Full Circle: The ghost of Daniel Jackson tells O'neill that Anubis is scheming to steal the Eye of Ra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still the Best SciFi, despite getting off track, June 4, 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 Season 6 Boxed Set (DVD)
Stargate SG-1, to me, wasn't exactly what I'd come to expect from my favorite show. The loss of Daniel Jackson was, of course, a large part as was the way the introduced Jonas Quinn. Throughout the season they kept telling us point blank how great he was and how he was needed. <shrug> That, in itself, made me dislike the character just like O'Neill did.
But the real disappointment for me was the dark, X-Files-like direction the show took. Gone was wonder of the 'Gate and the excitement of new worlds and cultures. It became too mottled down in Earthbound stories of corruption and conspiracies.
Abyss was an excellent episode for the fact that Richard Dean Anderson and Micheal Shanks share a rare chemistry. It's apparent they enjoy playing off one another. That's SG-1 at its best. The byplay between the characters, with cool special effects thrown in!
Changeling was also a great episode because it dealt with the interaction of the characters trying to help each other.
With Richard Dean Anderson decreasing his part, and with Micheal Shanks absent, it fell to Amanda Tapping and Chris Judge to carry the season. They did an admirable job, but the team dynamics are what made this show what it was and you can't keep those dynamics with only 50% of said team.
I have all the seasons, so I had to have this one, But I'm anxiously waiting for Season 7!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent season, only with a number of significant changes, July 11, 2006
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 Season 6 Boxed Set (DVD)
The first five seasons of STARGATE SG-1 were notable for their remarkable consistency not only in quality but in style and substance. There was, in fact, little actual variation. But Season Six brought some major changes. First, Michael Shanks took a year off from the show to pursue his own projects, though he did reappear in a few episodes either as Daniel Jackson or as the voice of Thor. Second, Daniel Jackson's place was taken by Corin Nemec as Jonas Quinn, who had appeared in a Season Five episode as a denizen of another planet. Third, for much of the season the show abandoned episodes that involved them exploring new planets. They didn't completely skip visiting other worlds, but they did far less than in previous seasons.

Despite these changes, though certainly not because of them, the show remained steady and solid throughout the season. There were a number of truly superb individual episodes and the show generally maintained the quality that had distinguished it for several seasons. Corin Nemec did the best he could to fill the gap left by the departure of Daniel Jackson. To compensate for his lack of education compared to Daniel, the writers gave him an unusual ability to absorb new knowledge. There were also hints that his physiology was unique in some way that felt as if it would have played a major role in future seasons. Unfortunately (or fortunately, I suppose), the return of Daniel Jackson to the show precluded the need for Jonas, and he was with only a tiny bit of ceremony shipped back to his home planet very early in Season Seven. I personally had mixed feelings about Jonas's presence and departure. He never really meshed with the other characters and never seemed to be a part of the team the way that Daniel had, but on the other hand the way he was so obviously just jettisoned the second he was no longer needed was rather bothersome. As it was, any attentive fan could sense the abandonment of future plot lines.

The absence of Daniel Jackson in Season Six was definitely felt. Daniel functioned as the conscience of SG-1, the unapologetic idealist. He adhered unrelentingly to classic liberal ideals of fairness and justice and was unsparing in his efforts in support of those ideals. Without him, the team sometimes seemed to be without the focus they had had earlier. Not that the show ever flagged in quality or interest. It just felt like a different show. In many ways, the show felt his absence more than it would feel the absence of other characters who left in Seasons 8 and 9. There were many good things in Season Six, but Daniel Jackson's absence defined it as much as the more specific things that happened. The season also increased the number of references to the Ancients, which would lead to major things in subsequent seasons.

No fan of SG-1 would want to miss this season, but it was the harbinger of things to come. Namely, each season from here on out would bring major changes in the show, with at least one major character disappearing in each of the next three seasons. The uniformity of Seasons One through Five would give way to an evolving cast of characters. In a way, one could divide the series into Seasons One-Five and then Six onwards. This isn't necessarily a bad thing, just very different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hello, Stargate SG-1, Good-bye Star Trek, January 18, 2004
By 
John Michael (Dorr, MI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 Season 6 Boxed Set (DVD)
Having grown up with the original Star Trek TV series, plus all of the subsequent movies and other Star Trek television series, I must say that the storyline in the Stargate SG-1 episodes puts Star Trek to shame.
Can any Sci-Fi afficionado not be impressed by the originality of the entire Stargate setup, from the effect of seeing a starship come out of hyperspace to the warm feeling one gets when the Asgard (usually represented by Thor) show up and that special music starts playing?
This is probably the only TV series in which I'll purchase every season's DVD boxset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stargate SG-1 Season 6 Boxed Set, December 23, 2004
By 
Melissa Messenger "SG1 Tragic" (West Wyalong, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 Season 6 Boxed Set (DVD)
I found that SG-1 just keeps getting better as it goes along. However in Season 6 we do not see Daniel Jackson and although I think Jonas Quinn is a good character, there did seem to be a void left when Daniel departed.
I do like Corin Nemic as Jonas but his character does not have the passion that Daniel did when it came to finding relics, ancient dialects and well just in general.
Overall though, the season is great. Some fantastic acting by the whole cast. I think Stargate is unique in the fact that it has a very strong ensemble cast and none are really weaker than the other.
I really look forward to getting my Season 7 boxed set for Christmas and really cannot wait for Season 8 to wrap up and come out in the boxed set.
Stargate SG-1 lives on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST TV series ever !, April 7, 2004
By 
Sunshine Hillbilly "cpa4601" (Fort Myers, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 Season 6 Boxed Set (DVD)
Not being a Showtime subscriber, I had never heard of Stargate until a couple of years ago. While channel surfing I came across reruns a few times. Since I love good Sci-fi, I watched a few minutes each time. I was totally unable to understand what was going on, it always seemed as though I was coming in at the middle of the story without knowing who, what, where or when. Fortunately, my son started watching some of the earlier shows and began to get hooked. He asked me to get the original movie and year one of the series, which had just come out. Knowing him to be a young man with good taste, I bought them the next day. He and I started watching, then my daughter and finally my wife. Within 2 weeks we were all hopelessly addicted. We since have purchased and watched years 2 through 6 and watched year 7 on the Si-Fi channel. I'm the type of person that sees a movie and doesn't want to see it again for about 10 years, but this program I can watch over and over again. I said it is the BEST TV series ever and it is, nothing else even comes close. I don't mean just the best science fiction series, I mean the best series of any genre. It has a perfect mix of action, drama and comedy. The character development has been excellent, you begin to feel you know Jack, Sam, Daniel, T'ealc and all the characters personally. The plot lines have evolved throughout the series, continually building and developing. That is why I couldn't pick up on the show and appreciate it in the beginning. In our instant society few if any other programs have any real depth. I have begun to evangelize my friends, offering to lend them my DVD's. So far everyone who has taken me up on my offer has become equally hooked. I hope that this show runs forever and that the rumors about season 8 being the last are false. I'm also hopeful that Stargate Atlantis will be of the same quality. If it is a tenth as good, it will be the second best program on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent season, only with a number of significant changes, July 11, 2006
This review is from: Stargate SG-1: Season 6 (DVD)
The first five seasons of STARGATE SG-1 were notable for their remarkable consistency not only in quality but in style and substance. There was, in fact, little actual variation. But Season Six brought some major changes. First, Michael Shanks took a year off from the show to pursue his own projects, though he did reappear in a few episodes either as Daniel Jackson or as the voice of Thor. Second, Daniel Jackson's place was taken by Corin Nemec as Jonas Quinn, who had appeared in a Season Five episode as a denizen of another planet. Third, for much of the season the show abandoned episodes that involved them exploring new planets. They didn't completely skip visiting other worlds, but they did far less than in previous seasons.

Despite these changes, though certainly not because of them, the show remained steady and solid throughout the season. There were a number of truly superb individual episodes and the show generally maintained the quality that had distinguished it for several seasons. Corin Nemec did the best he could to fill the gap left by the departure of Daniel Jackson. To compensate for his lack of education compared to Daniel, the writers gave him an unusual ability to absorb new knowledge. There were also hints that his physiology was unique in some way that felt as if it would have played a major role in future seasons. Unfortunately (or fortunately, I suppose), the return of Daniel Jackson to the show precluded the need for Jonas, and he was with only a tiny bit of ceremony shipped back to his home planet very early in Season Seven. I personally had mixed feelings about Jonas's presence and departure. He never really meshed with the other characters and never seemed to be a part of the team the way that Daniel had, but on the other hand the way he was so obviously just jettisoned the second he was no longer needed was rather bothersome. As it was, any attentive fan could sense the abandonment of future plot lines.

The absence of Daniel Jackson in Season Six was definitely felt. Daniel functioned as the conscience of SG-1, the unapologetic idealist. He adhered unrelentingly to classic liberal ideals of fairness and justice and was unsparing in his efforts in support of those ideals. Without him, the team sometimes seemed to be without the focus they had had earlier. Not that the show ever flagged in quality or interest. It just felt like a different show. In many ways, the show felt his absence more than it would feel the absence of other characters who left in Seasons 8 and 9. There were many good things in Season Six, but Daniel Jackson's absence defined it as much as the more specific things that happened. The season also increased the number of references to the Ancients, which would lead to major things in subsequent seasons.

No fan of SG-1 would want to miss this season, but it was the harbinger of things to come. Namely, each season from here on out would bring major changes in the show, with at least one major character disappearing in each of the next three seasons. The uniformity of Seasons One through Five would give way to an evolving cast of characters. In a way, one could divide the series into Seasons One-Five and then Six onwards. This isn't necessarily a bad thing, just very different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The season that picked it all up...., January 13, 2004
By 
John (Lockport, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 Season 6 Boxed Set (DVD)
For some reason, each season of StarGate, IMO, gets better as a lateral, one being my least favorite, up on and so forth getting better. Season six was no exception. The opening three episodes were some of the best in the series, and the finale was nothing short of amazing. The addition of Jonas' character was great as a team member, and further plot lines in the show itself grew. Finally some results from the shows original main premise, aquiring technology to fight the Goa'uld, is shown in the F-302 and F-303.
The story of the Asguard vs. Replicators comes to an end, and at the end of the season, we get a new sense of direction for the plot of season seven. And as for season seven, while some of its episodes are mediocre, most of the newer ones are awesome(like Grace and Evolution part II), and the finale is going to be like watching a theatrical movie, becuase that is what it was intended to be.
The DVD looks great, plenty of these "Directors" featurettes, whatever they are, and audio commentary on each episode. Widescreen is still looking good also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can I give 5 stars to 3 episodes?, August 27, 2004
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 Season 6 Boxed Set (DVD)
I'm a purist. I don't apologize for that. For me the sixth season of Stargate wasn't Stargate SG1. I own three disks containing the episodes Abyss, Changeling, and Full Circle. The team of SG1 isn't a team without the four characters of Jack, Daniel, Teal'c, and Sam. Season six failed to capture my interest with the rebuild of the team. There simply wasn't any chemistry to get me past the weaker episodes or to allow me to ignore the hole where Daniel belonged. The hammer to the head push of the new character just made things worse. So, for me, season six consists of three episodes where SG1 was all present and accounted for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard for the casual fan, but a good DVD set nonetheless., April 4, 2004
By 
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 Season 6 Boxed Set (DVD)
The 6th season of SG-1 has some great episodes, but is more for the hardcore fan than the casual one given the advancement of several plotlines at once. I say this as someone who didn't start watching the series until midway through season 5; until I'd had a chance to catch up through the DVD sets and SciFi network marathons many of the plots just didn't make much sense as standalone work. Comprare this to the first few seasons - where the team is more intent on exploring the galaxy, and as such the producers must give you enough background information in the episodes to keep up - and it's the primary reason I take one star off on this year.
That said, there are some classics in the season in which actors finally get to act - one of the few valid critiques of a great series in which plot has usually taken precedent over individual accomplishment. Abyss is the first episode in seasons in which Richard Dean Anderson, confronted with being killed over and over again, has to show depth in his repeated encounters with Michael Shanks as his one potential escape route. The Other Guys probably made many scifi fans cringe as they saw a little too much of themselves in the geeky guest stars (John Billingsley, Dr. Phlox of Enterprise fame) rescuing the mighty SG-1 team. The Changeling gives a great acting platform to Chris Judge as Teal'c confronts an alternate universe for himself - and you finally get to see what Chris Judge acts like when he goofs off. And of course, Full Circle is one of the outright best episodes of the series as two or three plotlines finally resolve themselves and Michael Shanks returns.
I'll echo what has been said elsewhere - the media quality on this set is actually quite good, especially compared to season 1, where my DVD player has had problems. My only gripe - one that I've had for several of the DVDs - is I wish they'd included more outtakes and behind the scenes work.
Net net, clearly worth a buy if you're a decent fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Stargate SG-1 Season 6 Boxed Set
Stargate SG-1 Season 6 Boxed Set by William Waring (DVD - 2004)
Used & New from: $1.81
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.