Starlight & Time and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 5 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Starlight & Time has been added to your Cart
Condition: Used: Good
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Starlight & Time Paperback – October 31, 1996


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$7.99
$3.42 $0.01
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"
$7.81

"Hit and Miss" by Derrick Jeter and Paul Mantell
Inspired by Derek Jeter’s own life, this middle grade novel is about what it takes to be a champion on and off the field. See more
$7.99 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 5 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.


Frequently Bought Together

Starlight & Time + Starlight, Time and the New Physics + Taking Back Astronomy: The Heavens Declare Creation
Price for all three: $33.24

Buy the selected items together
If you buy a new print edition of this book (or purchased one in the past), you can buy the Kindle edition for only $2.99 (Save 63%). Print edition purchase must be sold by Amazon. Learn more.


"Castle Hangnail" by Ursula Vernon
From the creator of "Dragonbreath" comes a tale of witches, minions, and one fantastic castle, just right for fans of Roald Dahl and Tom Angleberger. See more

Product Details

  • Paperback: 138 pages
  • Publisher: Master Books (October 31, 1996)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0890512027
  • ISBN-13: 978-0890512029
  • Product Dimensions: 8.4 x 5.6 x 0.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 5.6 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (115 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #160,268 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Dr. Humphreys was awarded his PhD in physics from Louisiana State University in 1972, by which time he was a fully convinced creationist. He has retired from Sandia National Laboratories, and continues to serve as a resource scientist for AIG to assist with questions and information concerning physics, astronomy, and cosmology

Important Information

Ingredients
Example Ingredients

Directions
Example Directions

Customer Reviews

Very compelling work yet easy to understand by a lay person like me.
M. Minkler
Would the earth survive the blast from the white hole, much hotter and much closer than the sun?
John H. Morrison
This book lays out both the biblcal and scientific cases against Ross' position.
wombatty

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

103 of 121 people found the following review helpful By Thomas Luttrell on January 17, 2002
Format: Paperback
I've been discussing this book with my Cosmology professor. I have to admit that this book is not universally accepted in the scientific arena, and there are obvious reasons for that--Humphreys attempts to prove that cosmological data can fit the Biblical interpretation of a young universe made only 6,000 years ago. However, it has to be admitted that Humphreys presents some things to at least seriously consider.

The goal of the book is the help resolve the apparent contradiction of starlight and a young universe. If light can only travel at a set speed, then how can we see stars made only 6,000 years ago when it should take a lot longer for us to see them?

Humphreys proposed that the theory of general relativity can allow for time dilation to slow down earth time in relation to the rest of creation, so that while the earth might have been created in six literal earth days, the universe was expanding for thousands of years. Time dilation is supported by Einstein's theory of general relativity. According to the theory of relativity, time slows down as objects approach the speed of light.

Regardless of whether or not the speed of light can change, as proposed by Barry Setterfield, Russell Humphrey's main objection to the Big Bang theory is that it is based on certain presuppositions, like whether the universe is bounded, which is fair to say.

Other scientists argue that the Big Bang cosmology predicts that clock rates change only about 10% to the furthest galaxies. However, the young-universe models do not follow the standard Big Bang(black hole) predictions to begin with. The question may not be "How much has the speed of light changed?" but "How fast has time changed?
Read more ›
18 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
324 of 392 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on May 18, 2000
Format: Paperback
The thrust of Humphreys' book is to come up with a modified cosmology that allows for a very young earth within a very old universe. His proposal is that gravitational time dilation accounts for this vast difference in ages between the earth and the universe. At the core of this proposal is a requirement for a great difference in gravitational force between that experienced at the earth and that experienced in the rest of the universe. This is due to the huge time dilation effect Humphreys requires. For he says that in one 24-hour day of Earth time, the distant stars age billions of years (page 126 of [1]). This requires a time dilation in the order of 10 raised to the 11th power. On it's very face this argument presents a serious problem. If we assume the gravitational force is normal in the rest of the universe, then the force at the earth is so high as to crush everything including the earth itself. If we assume the gravitational force is normal at the earth, then a high repulsive force is required in the rest of the universe, virtually eliminating any possibility that matter coalesces to form stars, planets, galaxies, etc. Put simply, the observable universe does not fit with Humphreys theory.
This is further borne out in the mathematics. Humphreys' theory relies heavily on a very large cosmological constant (which actually varies with time according to Humphreys, see pages 91 and 124 of [1]) for the rapid expansion of the universe during the first few days on earth. There are two main problems with this line of reasoning. One, a very large cosmological constant precludes Newton's theory of gravitation being approximately true. This is clearly shown in Humphreys' own references.
Read more ›
21 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
163 of 205 people found the following review helpful By samuelconner@hotmail.com on March 26, 1998
Format: Paperback
Starlight and Time proposes to solve the "light travel time problem" by postulating the existence of past gravitational time dilation in a bounded universe. This time dilation would, it is proposed, cause clocks to run slower on Earth than in distant galaxies, allowing light to travel billions of light years from distant galaxies during the passage of only a few thousand years on Earth. This is a very creative idea, but close examination of the physics shows that it does not work. Humphreys' time dilation proposal could work if the universe were static (that is, neither expanding nor contracting), but the universe is, in fact, dynamic --- it is expanding. More distant galaxies are receding from Earth more rapidly than nearby galaxies. This differential motion produces a differential time dilation effect ("moving clocks run slower") which exactly counterbalances the gravitational time dilation effect so that all clocks in the universe, whether on Earth or on distant galaxies, run at the same rate as the universe expands. There is no differential ageing of the outer parts of a bounded expanding universe compared with the center. This identity of the time-keeping properties of clocks on Earth and on distant galaxies is easily established by calculation of the relevant clock rates with respect to the expansion of the universe from the spacetime metric. Humphreys neglects to perform these calculations and ends up misleading himself and his readers. Starlight and Time was made public in 1994 as an attempt to reconcile "young-earth" recent creation theology with the evidences of astronomy that the universe is very large and very old. The theory has since attracted critical analysis which shows it to be false.Read more ›
3 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: galaxy s 4 update

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Starlight & Time
This item: Starlight & Time
Price: $7.99
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com