Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sick and Twisted--Just The Way I Like It!
STARRBOOTY starring RuPaul is a sick, twisted, and utterly amazing film. As Starrbooty, RuPaul reminds that she is the real Supermodel of the World. She works it, pouts it, and pounds it--it's truly a sight to see. The plot? Well Starrbooty must save her niece from the clutches of Annaka Manners. Along the way there's a lot to do and be done...all with plenty of full...
Published on November 1, 2007 by A. Bennett

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hated it!
Sorry Ru!!! You could have done a lot better than this. Acting and fighting scenes were horrible, a few funny parts but not many. I was waiting so long for this to come out just to be disappointed.
Published 4 months ago by S scissors


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sick and Twisted--Just The Way I Like It!, November 1, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Starrbooty (DVD)
STARRBOOTY starring RuPaul is a sick, twisted, and utterly amazing film. As Starrbooty, RuPaul reminds that she is the real Supermodel of the World. She works it, pouts it, and pounds it--it's truly a sight to see. The plot? Well Starrbooty must save her niece from the clutches of Annaka Manners. Along the way there's a lot to do and be done...all with plenty of full frontal from some of gay porn's finest leading men.

The film is trashy camp--a wonderful genre of film for the freaks of the world. The dialouge is full on cheese, much of it pays hommage to films of the past, a true camp marker. The makeup and costumes are amazing, with RuPaul and cast wearing each with ease.

It's hard to disect this film, and it's essential un-reviewable. It's full of sex, violence, and is not suitable for the faint of heart. "Starrbooty" is also essentially gay cinema but hopefully out hetero counterparts will find some sense of humor in this camp coated masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starbooty Baby, October 30, 2007
This review is from: Starrbooty (DVD)
Hilarious and filled with tacky fun this movie is a good time good time. When I saw this at a film festival I was not expecting a good movie but I was blown away by their brand of humor, it worked. Love how the whole cast makes fun of everything including themselves. Love the air of innocence the movie has even though the actor(s) were not acting innocently there is something cute and cuddly about the movie after leaving I felt like I just saw THE GOONIES for the first time kind of reminiscent. This made me wonder why life is not simple and fun at the same time, who cares if people get offended. Also Rupaul looks gorgeous as always.

Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uncompromisingly, Uninhibitedly Campy Starrbooty, January 13, 2012
This review is from: Starrbooty (DVD)
Among the small but growing number of drag queen movies being released, one of my favorites is Starrbooty, a campy take on the Pam Grier blaxploitation films of the 1970s. RuPaul plays Starrbooty, a multi-talented special agent who goes undercover as a prostitute to infiltrate an evil cosmetics company. Crude and raunchy, it features some scenes that would basically be pornographic if they weren't played for laughs, revealing a different side of RuPaul, who is far more family-friendly on her show RuPaul's Drag Race. A couple of scenes, particular among the musical interludes and fights, were too long and perfunctory, but in general I loved the uncompromisingly, uninhibitedly campy and outrageous humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny as Hell, September 4, 2011
By 
00Dexter "00dexter" (houston, texas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Starrbooty (DVD)
paper thin plot, but this movie is hysterical ! OMG Love this movie. you can tell they did not have a whole lot of funding, but it turned out to be super funny, lots of nudity and Ru well she is just a star !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Camptastic!, June 4, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Starrbooty (DVD)
Definitely not an Oscar contender, but a great roll in the hay anyway. You have to love 70's blaxploitation with a little bit of softcore to really enjoy this movie. I laughted until I cried.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Come Get Ya Some-a Dis, November 16, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Starrbooty (DVD)
Starrbooty is a raunchy, outrageous, campy, offensive and completely hilarious b-movie. This is low budget gorilla filmmaking (don't expect an anamorphic image). The plot is paper thin, the acting can be spotty, technically the film is no where near the quality you'd see from an A-list Hollywood studio, but surprisingly none of that matters. The movie is a laugh riot! So much so that some of the jokes aren't heard on your first viewing because you are laughing over them.

All the low budget trappings fit perfectly with Starrbootys anti-establishment, middle finger gesturing attitude. Does any of this sound familiar? This is the kind of film John Waters would have made back in the day. What a thrill to see that spirit alive, kicking, screaming and demanding your attention.

This DVD includes deleted scenes, a blooper reel, music videos, snippets from a few selected film festivals as well as cast and crew interviews about making the movie. The interviews keep the campy spirit alive and are throughly entertaining on thier own. This is the DVD of the year for fans of counter cluture, camp and bootylicious humor. We can only hope that this is the start of a whole series of films from Ru and Company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hated it!, April 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Starrbooty (DVD)
Sorry Ru!!! You could have done a lot better than this. Acting and fighting scenes were horrible, a few funny parts but not many. I was waiting so long for this to come out just to be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, April 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Starrbooty (DVD)
Very funny Campy movie. It has kind of a sick twisted sense of humor and lots of male genitalia (not that I needed to see it all lol) RuPaul is amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jaw dropping, January 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Starrbooty (DVD)
This is a campy/old school + slight porn type themes. Takes a while to get into, but creative and sometimes enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars starrbooty, November 26, 2012
By 
black Mistress Eden of Los Angeles (los angeles, ca United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Starrbooty (DVD)
this is a really cool new blaxploitation movie starring candis cayne & rupaul featuring tons of full frontal male nudity.the best scenes are when ru decides to go undercover as a street hooker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Starrbooty
Starrbooty by Mike Ruiz (DVD - 2007)
Used & New from: $35.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.