Starship: Mercenary and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $26.00
  • Save: $2.84 (11%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Starship: Mercenary (Star... has been added to your Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by ezekial3
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Excellent Condition.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Starship: Mercenary (Starship, Book 3) Hardcover – December 31, 2007


See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$23.16
$9.95 $0.61
Take%20an%20Extra%2030%25%20Off%20Any%20Book

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Take an Extra 30% Off Any Book: Use promo code HOLIDAY30 at checkout to get an extra 30% off any book for a limited time. Excludes Kindle eBooks and Audible Audiobooks. Restrictions apply. Learn more.

  • Get a $100 Amazon.com Gift Card: Get the Discover it card and get a $100.00 Amazon.com Gift Card* after your first purchase within 3 months. Learn more.

Frequently Bought Together

Starship: Mercenary (Starship, Book 3) + Starship: Pirate (Starship, Book 2) + Starship: Flagship
Price for all three: $62.56

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Year
Best Books of 2014
Looking for something great to read? Browse our editors' picks for 2014's Best Books of the Year in fiction, nonfiction, mysteries, children's books, and much more.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 323 pages
  • Publisher: Pyr; First Edition edition (December 31, 2007)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1591025990
  • ISBN-13: 978-1591025993
  • Product Dimensions: 6.3 x 1.1 x 9.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.4 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (16 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #772,417 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

"[J]ust the kind of easygoing and unabashedly old-school space opera romp for which we've come to know and love him...whip-smart, fast-paced pure entertainment...simply pure escapism, impossible to resist by anyone who still remembers that good old fashioned sense of wonder." -- SF Reviews

About the Author

Mike Resnick has won an impressive five Hugos and has been nominated for thirty more. The author of the Starship series, the John Justin Mallory series, and the Weird West Tales, he has sold sixty-nine novels and more than two hundred fifty short stories and has edited forty anthologies. His Kirinyaga series, with sixty-seven major and minor awards and nominations to date, is the most honored series of stories in the history of science fiction. Visit him online at www.mikeresnick.com.

More About the Author

Mike Resnick is the author of numerous science fiction novels and short stories, including Dragon America, Lara Croft: Tomb Raider: The Amulet of Power, Mutiny, Return to Santiago, and Santiago. He is the editor of This Is My Funniest and has won five Hugo Awards and the Nebula Award. He lives in Cincinnati, Ohio.

Customer Reviews

Well written, excellent story line and fun to read.
Jimmy J. Shaw
He takes you on a ride far from home, but makes you feel like you are there!
Mike Gayon
Highly recommended for any space opera or military science fiction fans.
Steven Woodcock

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful By Lost In Kansas VINE VOICE on December 23, 2007
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
You have to have read the first two books to read this one. This is an on going chess game between Resnick, the author, and you, the reader. The first tdwo set up the story line of a wandering Navy hero without a country with a ship and crew of dedicated followers roaming the edges of space looking for a purpose. You had the story of them getting kicked out of the navy and then the story of them trying to be "good" pirates. Each of the first two books has the the hero and the crew evolving to ... what? Ah now that is the question or hooked that is used by the author. There are just so amny jobs in space for a noble hero and crew without a country and a whole navy after their heads. MERCENARY is the next step for this group. Here they do what they think is thier best, being a mercenary. However ethics and morals keep getting in the way and this line of endeavor soon wears out. An the author has athe reader set up for thenext evolutionary step. The book is like a Gary Grant screw ball comedy in the way the characters talk and like FIREFLY is the excution of the schemes. However I like to think of it as "book candy" for your literary sweet tooth. It is fun and a fast read. The cast of characters is charming and expanding. This time the author tells no one story but several stories leading to the next book. The character of Val is what the author or leading character Wilson seem to want to build around or rarther use to teach the moral of the story. Oh yes their is a moral to this story and it is brought out in the lst ten pages. If you are looking for high concept or mind bending ideas this isn't for you. It is entertainment that makes you laugh and want to read more. Hey that is pretty darn good thing for a book to do.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful By David Keith on January 13, 2008
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
The cunning Captain Wilson Cole and the cast of the Starship Teddy R. are back in the third novel in this vastly entertaining series. Easily accessible to non-science fiction readers, its larger-than-life, witty and mythic-sized characters propel the book through snappy dialog and clever plotting. I loved this book and it surely will win a spot on my 2008's best list. (C'mon Hugo award givers, isn't it about time Renick won a best novel award?) Fans of Joss Whedon's Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Firefly really should be reading this. Highly Recommened!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Harriet Klausner #1 HALL OF FAME on December 17, 2007
Format: Hardcover
Three thousand years from now, man created the Republic; many alien races joined it. Now the Republic is at war with the Teroni Federation. Commander Wilson Cole of the starship Theodore Roosevelt relieved a captain of her command and in doing so saved a planet and millions of lives. As a reward, he was arrested and awaiting a court-martial, but his squad freed him and they jumped to the Inner Frontier. They became pirates but for law abiding men and women used to a command structure they found out they were not good at piracy.

They become mercenaries selling their services to the highest bidder and found that a bit more honorable. They save lives including that of freeing a client who is held on a warlike isolationist planet; get the patients out of a hospital before an enemy warlord and his armada bears down on them; stopping a warlord from exterminating an entire planet; and saving a space station that is in neutral territory and where all species are welcome. Cole uses his brains to come out the victor especially since one of his most trusted of crew joined forces with their enemy.

Filled with action, brilliant planning for the success of a mission and characters that readers really care about STARSHIP MERCENARY like its predecessors PIRATE and MUTINY is a fabulous outer space saga. The hero is an honorable man treated dishonorably by the Republic he swore to protect but he is not bitter. He spends his time on missions he chooses and caring for each member of his team; and in return they give him their undying loyalty. Val, the pirate who become Cole's Third Officer, doesn't comprehend how the crew of the Teddy's R can care for one another without demanding more in return. Mike Resnick is a great galaxy-builder as he describes alien species so readers believe they will exist in the future.

Harriet Klausner
9 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By ilbob on September 2, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I actually paid full price for the 3 sequels to the first book in this series because I liked the first book so much.

I am not sure I got my money's worth.

This is not a great book. Just mediocre.I kept reading hoping it would eventually live up to the promise of the first book, but it didn't.

Cole just has it too easy. he turns into some kind of tactical genius who somehow figures out exactly what to do, but the stry is never clear about why that is, or how he comes to those decisions. it just happens as much as anything else.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Steven G. VINE VOICE on November 27, 2010
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I started this book with hope that the action would be mnore interesting and take up more pages then the previous books in the series, but unfortunately, this book followed an almost identical pattern. Very slow at the start, a few interesting moments in the middle, and a very quick action packed ending.

The progression is very much on how strategy computer games are played; start out with one ship/planet, conquer a second, etc

It is still an enjoyable read, but a very quick read and definitely not something to go back too.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?