Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the Best Book on Developer Startups Ever Written
I'm a programmer. I really love writing software, both personally and professionally. I've always wanted to start my own software business, but have never had the willpower in myself to make it happen.

Rob's book has totally changed that.

This book is an excellent resource for any developer who wants to start their own business. I feel like Rob was...
Published on October 15, 2010 by Randall Degges

versus
16 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for niche products, not otherwise
As some other reviewers stated, most of the advice in this book boils down to:

1) You're not Facebook, so stop dreaming and find a niche market for your product. Advertise using niche keywords, in niche magazines, etc.

2) Outsource tasks that aren't worth your time. If you're worth $50 an hour, a Virtual Assistant at $6/hour is more...
Published on December 8, 2011 by Yoraf Shiraz


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the Best Book on Developer Startups Ever Written, October 15, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Start Small, Stay Small: A Developer's Guide to Launching a Startup (Kindle Edition)
I'm a programmer. I really love writing software, both personally and professionally. I've always wanted to start my own software business, but have never had the willpower in myself to make it happen.

Rob's book has totally changed that.

This book is an excellent resource for any developer who wants to start their own business. I feel like Rob was writing directly to me when he wrote this, as he answers my questions one at a time in order, and leaves me wondering nothing.

The book contains practical advice for planning your business, starting it, marketing it, and running with it post-launch. It also discusses what to do once you've grown your business (do you want to automate it? sell it?).

After reading Rob's book, I couldn't help but feel empowered. The practical, logical advice presented in this book is a great tool for any programmer who wants to start their own business. Follow these principles, use your skill set, and you can't go wrong.

Rob, if you're reading this, thanks for writing this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars To all developers: stop developing, November 15, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The main thing I got from the book: stop writing code.

The author explains in a convincing way why an Internet startup is not about coding but about founding a great niche, building a product that executes at a plateau and make it run automatically. And repeat this proces to be serial startup founder. Nr 1 lesson: Out-source your manual tasks to virtual assistants.

The book goes into depth, how to build sustainable traffic for your website and how to validate your businessplan before spending months building.

The book is written in a blog-like reader friendly style. Short paragraphs and without unneccessary fluff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read For Getting Your Software Product Started Strong, June 24, 2010
If you've ever looked into turning a software idea into a viable product, this book is a great guide. Clear and simple descriptions with a little humor mixed in make it easy to turn a few pages into action items. You'll read through once to know what you are in for and then use the book as a constant reference to keep you moving in the right direction. This book won't tell you what the right decision for your product is, but it will help force you to ask yourself good questions to make decisions with better information. With so many unknowns in launching your own product, it makes it a little less scary to have a simple blueprint to follow to make sure you stay focused, spend your time wisely, and don't miss important facets to make your product successful. Even if you decide to wait on launching your own product, the advise in the book will be helpful as a consultant, employee, and even in your life outside of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Move from developer to entrepreneur the realistic way, June 24, 2010
By 
Phil Derksen (Fresno, CA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book goes against the common thinking that you have to build the next big web app, receive millions of dollars in funding, and then get bought out by Google. Instead of an all-or-nothing approach, Rob describes from his real-world experiences how a portfolio of niche software products and websites added up can allow you to make a great living doing what you love. As developers, many ways of how we think are challenged, but make sense when focusing on profit and freeing up time. Emphasize marketing before product development. Test a market before investing too much on building. Outsource to virtual assistants and possibly other developers. Rob has around 10 products at any given time himself, each with their own unique situations on how they were built, bought and/or managed, and he uses them as case studies throughout the book. If you're like me you'll be taking tons of notes and referencing the myriad of links and resources it has as you start building out your software ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very practical and worth it's price in ideas alone, February 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Start Small, Stay Small: A Developer's Guide to Launching a Startup (Kindle Edition)
Great read. The author does a nice mix of adding the basics of marketing with specific information for software developers. But don't shy away from this book if you are not selling software online. This book is a must read for ANYONE who is starting a small online business and needs to market their product/website. Period.

I have made many notes and plan on going back through this book a few times to squeeze out every idea and work it into my business plan(s).

And when I say the author has added the basics of marketing - it is distilled down to something actionable. This information is very similar to information that I personally have learned in those very expensive 4-day marketing workshops. Little things like dollarizing your product's worth / your time. Settings goals. Writing them down. And many other classic teachings condensed into something fun to read.

Add to that [solid marketing info] modern examples and tool referrences and you have a book that very current. Specific current online marketing techniques are reviewed. He even breaks down effective ways to design your website for maximum conversion.

If you're still not sure... Google the book's title and you will be able to download/sample the first chapter for free. That's what hooked me! Or save yourself the hassle and buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for the developer startup, February 22, 2011
Like other reviewers, I'm a big fan of the 37 signals' books like Rework. But what sets Rob apart is providing actionable advice to get started on. He lays out how to get started and actual steps to take. I sincerely appreciated the focus on marketing and getting started early. For those of you that assume that you're going to launch your product and just wait for sales, think again! I can't recommend this book enough. The audio version on Rob's website is excellent as well!

For those that look to further their education, I also highly recommend checking out the podcast by Rob Walling and Mike Taber titled "Startups for the Rest of Us".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are a developer and you are thinking about launch your own company this is the book you have to read first., August 19, 2010
By 
Jorge Tomé Hernando (Manzanares El Real, Madrid Spain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Start Small, Stay Small: A Developer's Guide to Launching a Startup (Kindle Edition)
In this book you will find a lot of *useful* information about the real process of launching a new company/product/software this days. It is clear that Rob has first hand experience about this matter and also that he knows the developers' mindset :-). I can only highly recommend this book to anyone that it is thinking about start his/her own online business and has a technical background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Find a Niche, Find a Product, Build, Launch, August 6, 2010
By 
The author of this book, Rob Walling, speaks from experience in his advice on self-funding a software startup. He manages ten software products that he's built or acquired in the last ten years. To me, this makes his directions and lessons invaluable and worth learning for those who want to succeed as a self-funded software or application entrepreneur or micropreneur.

What encouraged me in this book were the examples of everyday workers with a regular day job who started their own software programs and earn regular revenues and income from their companies. Walling explains the right and wrong reasons for wanting to be an entrepreneur and makes the reader think about his or her goals. I enjoyed reading this book and am still interested in working on my own startup, even after reading about the difficulties that one can experience in this business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Startup Guide for Self-funded Entrepreneurs, August 5, 2010
By 
Rob Walling's Start Small, Stay Small: A Developer's Guide to Launching a Startup is an essential bible for self-funded software entrepreneurs. Instead of waiting or wishing for a venture capitalist to come to your aid with the funds to launch a new application or software product, this book teaches you how to use your own funding. The author walks the reader through the steps needed to launch your idea (how to find an idea, how to test it, etc.) and how to bring exposure to your start up (such as start a website, build an email list, convert site visitors to purchasers). This book is like an entire semester's business course bound neatly into 212 pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roadmap for Application and Software Developing, August 5, 2010
By 
I'm an iPhone fan and have always wanted to develop my own iPhone application. I have a few ideas, but don't know where to start. I bought Rob Walling's book for several reasons: I plan on working in the job I already have while developing my app, I don't have start up funds from venture capital or angel investors, and I will also need to outsource the actual coding to someone else. This book was perfect for my needs. I learned of how the author launched his own products with no outside funding. I also appreciated the tips on how to test your product idea before investing too much time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.