Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Subscribe & Save Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer starwars starwars starwars  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now Learn more

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 30, 2013
I love the simplicity Amanda writes with in this book. She has taken all the things I knew I needed to do, but was too overwhelmed to even get started on, and broken the tasks down into bite size, do-able activities. By breaking the process down into 34 days, Amanda has helped me have some organization to my plan and to feel so much less overwhelmed! I can now focus on one day's goals and not worry about what comes next until it's time. I'll be taking more than one day to meet each of these goals...after all, the day job and other life obligations just seem to get in the way, sometimes! ;-) BUT, just seeing this plan becoming mine has been a real motivator. I can't wait to see the final result!

I would absolutely recommend this book to anyone wanting to start their own photography business, or any small business, for that matter (just switch out the tasks specific to photography to tasks specific to your business. Easy peasy!
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2013
Have been wanting to start my own photography business for sometime, and after reading this 34 day success book, I have finally found a way to get my business started and off the ground. The book is very informative, with life lessons on the do's and do nots, and is very practical.
Reality, there is no sure way of success in starting ones own business, but, this book gives you the tools and knowledge in plain understanding on how onw should approach photography as a business.
Highly recommend. Have started putting some of the practices in place that are suggested and, they have been favorable. With this book in hand, and your own determination, I believe you can succeed in your endevor.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2013
I love photography and have been using cameras for almost four decades. I encouraged many to take up photography as a profession during this interval, and today many of them are successful commercial photographers in great demand. I myself remain an amateur photographer with a good track record.

The moment I saw this book I felt that this might be a good guide I can pass on to people whom I encourage, and I was not wrong. This turned out to be an exhaustive book on how a person can definitely get into commercial photography in about 5 weeks.

The book explains the "planning" stage in great detail. Nothing is left to chance or to guesswork and the author has done a great favor to those who are looking to go into business. In 34 chapters all the information that one might need is given in great detail and with great care.

Observations:
*** A must-read for anyone who wishes to pick up commercial photography
*** All essentials are explained

Recommendation:
*** I highly recommend this ebook
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2015
Okay, you can't do this in 34 days. Possibly not even in six months. This should be titled something like "Starting a Photography Business in 34 Steps". Especially since the techniques discussed won't guarantee success. This book seems more like a formula book pumped out by an author who repurposes information under new names for every work, hoping that the total weight of all the Kindle books they publish will earn a respectable living.

This book is more a coaching tool to get you off on the right foot for starting your business, any business, than it is a how-to text. Many of the steps are more a set of questions the prospective new business owner needs to consider and none of the advice in the book is something that you can't find through the Small Business Administration or your local chapter of SCORE for free.

For example, one day this book tells you to get the business name registered but doesn't explain how or go into the vagaries of local ordinances, zoning and business licensing. The following day you open a bank account in the business name. In real life, it can take a month or more to get the business name registered, especially if advertising in a legal notice is required. Since you need the business documents to open the bank account, you cannot simply walk in the day after applying for those documents and expect an account to be opened.

In another day's step, you "curate" your portfolio, with advice to take photos to fill in holes where needed. The next day, you create the web site with that portfolio, whether or not you even have one. The suggestion to use DIY web site builders will never make your work stand out and will lump you with any other business that spends the five bucks a month and clicks similar buttons. Not the way to set yourself aside as a successful creative worker. The following day you ask your friends if they like the web site. In business, NEVER ask your friends for opinions, you're asking them to choose between friendship and business coaching. It's not pretty.

The book leaves holes in financial planning, legal strategies and studio management and spends several days on creating your own logo (hire that out, you're not a professional designer), creating your own business cards (ditto) and creating advertising pamphlets (again, if you're not in advertising, don't think you're capable of doing this with any success). The marketing ideas are fairly broad and can be found in any marketing web site, this isn't an MBA you're earning in 34 days.

Now, the bottom line is that this book may have a valid place. If you have been thinking of starting a creative business, and this book provides you with the motivation to do so, then it's worth the entry fee. The author seems to know what they are talking about (though I suspect the author's name is faked) and the writing is actually pretty solid. But if you're after the information contained in this book, you can find it elsewhere cheaper and with more authority.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2014
I'm surprised at how much information was packed into such a small book. It is definitely a great book to have if you are looking at starting your own business and guides you through many of the steps. Highly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2015
Great ideas in a well written form. I am using this book to enhance my current photo business. Lots of new ideas i never thought of. I highly recommend this book to anyone wanting to turn their photo hobby into a profitable business
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2015
Bought as a gift. I was happy to receive this product quickly. When I asked how they enjoyed the book they said it gave some great insight to certain things but for someone who has experience already it wasn't as helpful for him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2014
Most say that I highly recamend this book! There is no way you can do all this in 34 days but in 34 you could have everything planned and be ready to start with a good foundation. This book takes you step by step in everything you need to have ready. Things that I never thought about. Its not just put your name on the photo amd charge its more then that and by the time you do all these tasks you will not only have a good start but you will look professional and it will seem like you been doing it for years. Saves you money on business coruses. ;) Thank you Amazon
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2014
It is a comprehensive structure that nudges you towards the goal of starting a business. It is photographer specific with insights into how to best start from scratch. Amanda ensures that all angles from insurance to branding are covered.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2015
This book contains nothing that can't be found with a precursory glance of a simple google search of "How to start a business."

Far from the comprehensive guide most reviewers are claiming this book to be, this humble 98 page tome is actually just the most bare bones basic and vague plan for business you could ask for. Be prepared to research the actual steps inherent in each of her steps to the point that you should have just bought a different book, maybe one that has a fuller scope of information in it.

This book is marketed to would be start up photographers, sold with a neat cover page, and given wing by a selection of quotes from successful photographers, but is subjectively worthless when compared to most other texts about starting any kind of business at all.

Do not be fooled by the good reviews, buy a real book on entrepeneurship that covers a larger scope of business education.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse