Customer Reviews


613 Reviews
5 star:
 (419)
4 star:
 (105)
3 star:
 (47)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


102 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Provides the inspiration to build a reputable business with loyal customers and dedicated employees
Simon Sinek's "Start With Why" is a must read for any entrepreneur or leader struggling to create a long-term vision and guiding principles for their company or cause. The book can provide just the inspiration needed to get started in the right direction. You'll learn that the most important thing you can do as a leader is to figure out why your company or organization...
Published on December 9, 2009 by Kal H. Shah

versus
807 of 828 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars At once a brilliant must-read and painfully redundant
I really had to struggle with what rating to give this. Simon Sinek's idea is astoundingly insightful, very helpful, and definitely worth the price of this book let alone the Kindle price. I'm inclined to think that the world would be considerably better off if more people lived by Sinek's simple idea.

On the other hand, the book is agonizing in its...
Published on May 28, 2010 by Morphenius


‹ Previous | 1 262 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

807 of 828 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars At once a brilliant must-read and painfully redundant, May 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really had to struggle with what rating to give this. Simon Sinek's idea is astoundingly insightful, very helpful, and definitely worth the price of this book let alone the Kindle price. I'm inclined to think that the world would be considerably better off if more people lived by Sinek's simple idea.

On the other hand, the book is agonizing in its redundancy, often repeating the same examples many times over to make precisely the same point as the first time the example was used. I'm inclined to think that virtually everything Sinek wrote could have been stated in a 20-page article without leaving out anything important. I daresay it might be possible to do it in five pages. That's part of the beauty of the idea: it's incredibly simple while still being astoundingly powerful. But Sinek doesn't seem to have bothered taking the time to distill the idea down into its essence for straightforward presentation in this book. It reads a little bit like he took articles from his blog, stuck them in a large word-processing document, did some minor editing, and submitted the thing as-is for publication in order to create this book.

So, the idea is worth the cost of the book and the time to read it, but the book itself is, in my humble opinion, very poorly organized and needlessly long.

I would advise those who are interested in Sinek's ideas save themselves a great deal of time and a little expense by first watching his TED Talk:

[...]

This covers virtually all the core ideas involved. The one thing Sinek never does either in this presentation or in his book is spell out what "HOW" is. It's a bit confusing in large part because it's different for each of the two communication structures. In the "WHAT --> HOW" structure, "HOW" is "how we're different"; for instance, Dell has to argue that its computers are somehow better than (say) HP's and therefore specifies HOW they're better in order to compete against HP. On the other hand, in the "WHY --> HOW --> WHAT" structure, "HOW" is "how we enact our purpose (i.e. our 'WHY')".

As far as I can tell, if you're reasonably intelligent you can glean pretty much everything essential to Sinek's idea based on his TED Talk together with this understanding that "HOW" means something different in each of the two contexts he contrasts.

What you WON'T get from that is his rather in-depth, incredibly clear exposé of why the "WHAT --> HOW" communication pattern requires manipulating people to some degree or another and why that is by necessity unsustainable in the long run. That's not core to his point but it's certainly a nice supplement.

So in short, the book is a reasonable buy, certainly at the Kindle price, but do consider benefitting from Sinek's wisdom for free in 20 minutes first by watching his TED Talk. If you want more details, you can get the book, but understand that you're not likely to learn much more than what you could have figured out on your own between the talk and what I mention above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 71 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant but laboured (and a little smug), May 21, 2012
This review is from: Start with Why: How Great Leaders Inspire Everyone to Take Action (Paperback)
Having watched the TED talk (last year) and just last week saw Sinek speak I was keen to dive into this book for a bit more wow - but was sorely disappointed. If you have seen the TED talk there is a little new illustration here - but no new content.

The genius of simple and powerful ideas is that they are easy to get (if difficult to see until illuminated) and for this Sinek deserves 5 stars - but here he labours that beautifully simple nugget and tortures the reader with such repitition. We get it! (If there was a dollar for every time he says "people don't buy what you do they buy why you do it" you could buy many copies of the book! I actually have the audio book - read by Sinek and it all gets overlaboured and smug. How dumb does he think his audience is? My advice - watch the tead talk - skip the book - as it fails on his why - 'to inspire'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


102 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Provides the inspiration to build a reputable business with loyal customers and dedicated employees, December 9, 2009
By 
Kal H. Shah (Missouri City, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Simon Sinek's "Start With Why" is a must read for any entrepreneur or leader struggling to create a long-term vision and guiding principles for their company or cause. The book can provide just the inspiration needed to get started in the right direction. You'll learn that the most important thing you can do as a leader is to figure out why your company or organization exists and why that should be meaningful to customers and others in society. Once the answer to this becomes clear and you believe it in your heart, the rest of the decisions about what to do and sell and how to do it become infinitely easier.

For those faced with competition, price-war and customer churn, Sinek's book can provide great insights for developing a new long-term strategy to combat these issues once-and-for-all. Sinek explains that while your product's features may be replicated and commoditized, no one can copy the kinship and confidence that your customers feel when doing business with you. This is because those feelings come from intangible values and beliefs that only you share with your customers.

How does one create such kinship with customers? The book explains the Golden Circle concept, which shows business leaders how to inspire instead of manipulating customers or employees to act. Sinek explains that trust is built naturally when you target customers that understand and believe in your WHY. So, if getting repeat and word-of-mouth business is important to you, then use inspiration, not manipulation to get the sale. Also, when business leaders properly articulate their company's WHY to employees, it makes it easier for the employees to believe in what they are selling. When sales reps sound authentic, it builds trust and loyalty with customers. It all starts with WHY.

In light of the last decade of greed and short-term trading mentality with little regard for future consequences, I found myself wholeheartedly agreeing with Sinek's observations that there are no short cuts to long-term success. Manipulation may help achieve short term results, but long-run success is only achievable when leaders are ready to make short run sacrifices/investments and willing to account for long-term impact of their decisions from the start. There is much that our universities and MBA programs can do to teach these principles to the next generation of leaders. All and all, this book left me truly inspired. Beyond the tons of practical business insights, the mental framework that "Start with Why" provides can also make anyone a better communicator as a mother, father, husband, boss or just a decent human being.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Repetitive and poorly supported, October 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The content:

Sinek's "start with why" premise and catchy "golden circle" approach to business may sound great on the surface, but even minute consideration reveals that there is no underlying theory supporting his claims. Perhaps it's because "Begin with a deliverable company creed" is solid advice which requires no explanation or examples, but Sinek is stretching himself thin on a premise that cant be supported: He found a catchy slogan that relates to the majority of what he wants to discuss, and spends an entire book attempting to make his examples fit his theme. Needless to say, it doesn't work. Look no further than his attempt to correlate the diversity of Apple products with the success of the Wright Brothers under the universally simplistic heading of "why," and you will unequivocally understand that Sinek's premise needs some major revision.

The philosophy:

If you've come to this book looking for a business philosophy that will actually take you to the heart of why, you have come to the wrong place. Sinek, like most of the business world, has mistaken "what" for "why." Although Sinek will insist that he has not made this vital error by assuring his readers that "everyone knows what they do, but hardly anyone knows why they do it," it seems that Sinek himself doesn't even know how to find the why! Sinek is among the many, many writers and critics who ask - not why - but "What makes you different?" The Wright Brothers believed in the power of flight to unite the world. Apple believes in the power of the personal computing device to empower the individual, bringing the world and knowledge to each of us. These traits make them unique and powerful forces, but do not tell us why Apple employees wake up in the morning, why the Wright Brothers invested every bit of their time and money in the airplane, or - most importantly - why we should care. When we ask "why," we ask something far more fundamental than, "What distinguishes Apple from Microsoft?" Sinek does not deliver the answer.

The writing:

If you thought - correctly - that Sinek's TED Talk was repetitive, don't even think of torturing yourself with this book. Wrought with repetition, peppered with the occasional tautology, and edited by what I can only assume to be a very busy 8th grader, this book never should have made it to print.

The conclusion:

Writer, editor, publisher...someone should have stopped this book from being published. Please don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 78 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Just A Self-Help Book, January 4, 2010
By 
Steve Smith (Patagonia, Arizona) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Fortunately, this book is not one in the long list of books with simplistic and universal formulas to master and follow for success. This book is about knowing yourself and looking within before moving forward in a professional career or at the beginning of some endeavor. What I saw as a weakness in the book, however, was the continual reference to the same companies or personalities, often stating the same point, throughout the book. A reference to other companies would serve as an indicator that Sinek is aware that other companies such as Patagonia, Mountain Hardware, PerotSystems, etc., also began with "Why" and have a loyal following. Sometimes I felt I was reading an extended version of a seminar but again, I still enjoyed reading the book in spite of that feeling. For individuals or companies that have lost their way this is a good book to begin with in order to reestablish your purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A great idea undeveloped and buried under fluff, November 25, 2012
This review is from: Start with Why: How Great Leaders Inspire Everyone to Take Action (Paperback)
The book is a treaties on virtues of value (as in principle) driven organization. It would have been a good book if it was 80 pages instead of 250. As others have pointed out, it is painfully redundant.

The central message of the book is that if you are the kind of leader or organization that clearly stands for something, then you will gain loyal following and you can "market" anything so long as it is compatible with the value you stand for. On the other hand, if you are defined by what you do (e.g. making copiers) then you will have a hard time breaking into new markets and more importantly will not be able to connect with your customers. There are *tons* of examples in the book about people and companies to illustrate the above point, where only a few examples would have sufficed.

Aside from too much bloat, the book is short on analysis as to when this "ideological" stance on organization is better than other approaches. He makes it sound as if it is always better to stand for something. But in business, this is not always feasible. Personally I think the approach he advocates is great if you are marketing something that is a game changer. But it is not necessarily more fruitful to try to be like Apple or Harley Davidson if you are in pluming supplies business.

The great idea is buried under a ton of fluff and not allowed to develop. Apple for example paid a very heavy price in terms of market share during the mid '80s to mid '90s. Its fanatical customers kept it alive, but the company did not prosper...and no, it was not because Jobs was ousted. Jobs was ousted because Apple did not reach its target. Nor did Steve Jobs' follow up computer business, NeXT, achieve greatness. So there are times that the advocated approach works and other times that it does not. There is no discussion in the book as to when it does or what the right mix is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Simplistic, May 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Start with Why: How Great Leaders Inspire Everyone to Take Action (Paperback)
Start With why is a bit too simplistic and repeats it's self. Several times I thought I lost my place while reading the same passage in different chapters. Just watch the Ted talk for a inspirational talk.
One more book with an "all you have to do is do it like Apple" message. If the messages were backed up with research (instead of opinion) you would really have something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good concept; redundant reading, March 15, 2012
By 
Daniel (Dover, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Start with Why: How Great Leaders Inspire Everyone to Take Action (Paperback)
I did not "read" this book but listened to it through Audible

I really like the concept of the book but I have two complaints.

1) Referenced Apple entirely too much. While I think Apple is a pretty remarkable company, and it may be the best example for his thesis, using it so often starts to wear on the credibility of the author's statements.

2) The author too often speaks about widely known "facts" that are neither widely known or facts. If you are going to try and ground your sociological ideas into science, use science, not inference.

Overall it's actually one of the better leadership books out there. Unfortunately there isn't much competition out there. Hopefully some of those authors starts to step up their game and actually bring innovative thoughts and ideas out, instead of reprinting the same quotes from motivational posters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tell us how?, September 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book and video's are very inspirational. I think this belongs in the same category as "Marketing Myopia" by Theodore Levitt and the more recent "Who Do You Want Your Customers to Become?" by Michael Schrage. Great inspiration ... but! The trouble with books like this is they give examples (often based on the same successful companies, like Apple, that everyone uses) great examples, but they do not or can not tell you how to discover your own Why. So for me, that was rather disappointing, to say the least.

So, if you look for inspiration, get the book. If you look for answers to the question, "how to discover your why?"... look elsewhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New idea, writing doesn't do it justice, August 3, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book has made me think about things very differently. Unfortunately, I arrived at the message after watching the video on TED and by examining the case studies/examples. The book is not succinct, wanders and seems to repeat itself and ramble which is unfortunate as mastering the central theme "Why" is really a life changing event. Maybe it just needs to be re-edited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 262 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Start with Why: How Great Leaders Inspire Everyone to Take Action
Start with Why: How Great Leaders Inspire Everyone to Take Action by Simon Sinek (Paperback - December 27, 2011)
$16.00 $9.07
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.