Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars $4 free per account? Who can object?
I cannot thank Linden Lab enough for giving everyone $4 absolutely free. I don't know what they were thinking when they listed this, but the premise is you can get the equivalent of about $4 in in-game currency for basically nothing. With the one-per-customer limitation being on Second Life accounts, not Amazon accounts, you can imagine how this could easily be abused. I...
Published 18 months ago by Nelson

versus
51 of 60 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars unavailable!?
The text says
"From now until January 6, 2013, get a Vehicle Starter Pack for "Second Life" absolutely free. Normally $9.95, this pack includes 1,000 Linden Dollars (virtual currency) and a designer hoverboard. Use your virtual currency to customize your avatar with high-quality clothing or characters, weapons or other enhancements. Show off your moves with a unique...
Published 18 months ago by Brenda P


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 60 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars unavailable!?, January 4, 2013
This review is from: Starter Vehicle Pack - Soar: Second Life [Instant Access] (Software Download)
The text says
"From now until January 6, 2013, get a Vehicle Starter Pack for "Second Life" absolutely free. Normally $9.95, this pack includes 1,000 Linden Dollars (virtual currency) and a designer hoverboard. Use your virtual currency to customize your avatar with high-quality clothing or characters, weapons or other enhancements. Show off your moves with a unique hoverboard that lets you skim across land, water or sky. LIMIT ONE PER CUSTOMER. Learn more. "

It's Jan 4th and this is unavailable.

Not a happy camper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hoverboard sounded interesting, January 5, 2013
This review is from: Starter Vehicle Pack - Soar: Second Life [Instant Access] (Software Download)
Who turns up their nose at free money, right? Well when I read they were essentially giving away Linden Dollars, I admit that it did cause me to want to come take a look. Honestly, 1000L$ isn't worth that much (about $4 USD).. but as a longtime SL user, vehicles are often terrible, and in 6 + years I've never seen a decent Hoverboard. And $4 is $4.

It's a shame that this offer seems to have been pulled nearly 48 hours before it's scheduled ending time. I'm actually quite disappointed. Not so much for the free 4 dollars, but I was hoping it would be a great vehicle for a change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Works perfectly but not a great value, January 4, 2013
This review is from: Starter Vehicle Pack - Soar: Second Life [Instant Access] (Software Download)
I'm a long time resident of SL and am glad to see LL branching out into other marketplaces to find new customers and bring them into SL. I got the items without any trouble at all. This was a great thing while the free promotion lasted, but it's not a great deal overall.

L$1000 and a hoverboard is not worth almost ten dollars. There are many great hoverboards which can be gotten for free or cheap in SL, and the amount of Linden Dollars given is only worth about USD$4. If this cost five or six dollars it could be justified, but the price needs to fall for it to be a really good deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another debacle from Linden Labs, January 5, 2013
By 
D. Bradford (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Starter Vehicle Pack - Soar: Second Life [Instant Access] (Software Download)
Linden Labs really messed this one up. Basically, they gave away a bank full of Lindens (virtual currency that can also be converted into real-world currency!) to a few people who signed up for multiple accounts and gave each one 1000L. Then LL, realizing how badly they screwed up this promotion, ended it almost as quickly as it began. People who were planning on taking advantage of the promotion but not abusing it were left out in the cold.

How could Linden Labs mess things up this badly? If you have to ask that question, you simply don't know their track record. Let's just say this is part of a pattern.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Broken promises, January 5, 2013
This review is from: Starter Vehicle Pack - Soar: Second Life [Instant Access] (Software Download)
like most others I found out after it became unavailable, and feel once again LL has failed. They just don't seem to be listening. Premium sandboxes that you can't work with friends at so don't use as sandboxes are social places as well, not just places to build. Gifts every now and then that are mesh so not all of you can see them, usually hugely primy, and no mod so you can't deprim a bit either. The deals hear when you look at them are not good ones, last time I checked 5000L was about $20 US, take the $L out of each equation and see what you are paying for the various vehicles. Better off just buying you $L on the normal money exchange, none of the deals I see are value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars $4 free per account? Who can object?, January 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Starter Vehicle Pack - Soar: Second Life [Instant Access] (Software Download)
I cannot thank Linden Lab enough for giving everyone $4 absolutely free. I don't know what they were thinking when they listed this, but the premise is you can get the equivalent of about $4 in in-game currency for basically nothing. With the one-per-customer limitation being on Second Life accounts, not Amazon accounts, you can imagine how this could easily be abused. I imagine they only figured this out when they caught someone with 100+ accounts just pushing money into their bank account.

They're going to have a fun time explaining this to the shareholders. I can't imagine what they're doing behind closed doors if this is the sort of insane recklessness they show publicly... did ANYONE take a step back and consider how this could go embarrassingly, catastrophically wrong?

Here's some of the people that could have raised a red flag on this whole deal:
- Someone had to think up the idea in the first place
- Someone had to do the cheesy listing images (really, can you get any lazier?)
- Someone had to write up the descriptions for these listings
- Someone had to implement an API to pay out the L$ bonuses
- Someone had to design, build, script, texture, etc. the hoverboard
- Someone had to be in contact with Amazon to set up this system
- Someone had to approve this whole system (hopefully at least one manager)
NONE of these people even stopped to think before putting this plan into action. This is frankly terrifying. I have always stood by my conviction that Linden Lab has the worst management bar none (even worse than the War Z incident) but this really just takes the cake. How do you screw up your management THAT BAD?

Oh well. Paid for a burger with it. Thanks for the free lunch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bait and Switch? Classy., January 5, 2013
This review is from: Starter Vehicle Pack - Soar: Second Life [Instant Access] (Software Download)
Supposedly this promo was advertised to run through the weekend. Thought it was a great idea, came to see if it was legit or not and I guess I shouldn't be surprised to see the free starter vehicle kit is "Unavailable", yet the drastically overpriced Premium and Deluxe vehicle kits are, of course, still available. Lame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Linden Lab shoots itself in the foot again, January 5, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Starter Vehicle Pack - Soar: Second Life [Instant Access] (Software Download)
What can I say? They finally figure out "Hey let's go to Amazon" and the first thing they do is make it so exploitable a five year old could figure it out.

At least someone at Linden Lab is paying attention to the money, if nothing else.

Interesting thread on this at SLUniverse: "SL deals on Amazon".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bait and switch much?, January 5, 2013
This review is from: Starter Vehicle Pack - Soar: Second Life [Instant Access] (Software Download)
So you tell me that you're going to give away free lindens till a certain date, but pull the promo when people actually try to take advantage. Bad move. Why change the date without notice? Yeah it's $4 but the amount is not the issue. The fact that you set up a promo & pulled it prematurely is just sad. Sad sad sad...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars LL - experts on taking bad plans and screwing them up worse, January 8, 2013
By 
allen kitchen (webster, tx United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Starter Vehicle Pack - Soar: Second Life [Instant Access] (Software Download)
LL wanting you new folks to join in on the fun that is SL, made a free Try It offer of 1000L (inworld currency) and a free hoverboard to try to entice you to give Second Life a try.

On the surface, that doesn't sound so bad. But since LL had no way to ensure a person didn't just create 100 alternate accounts for a day and just collect all the cash together in their main avatar, this was quickly abused.

I would like to say that you newcomers should pay attention and take note, because this is how Linden Labs operates. They take the worst possible idea and screw their implementation up terribly, THEN blame the customers (you) for their screw up. While Second Life (SL) is fun, it is not a video game and it has many fundamental faults that gamers won't tolerate. For example, that hoverboard will crash when you try to cross a region line (called a sim crossing) from one server to another -- a fault that has stymied vehicle creators/builders since day one.

SL is a fun experience if you like to create your own stuff or like to roleplay. Live musicians enjoy playing live music to crowds here as well. But if you want to get rich quick or expect LL to keep to the same rulebook month after month, you will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.