Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginning to explore animal careers!
As an animal career consultant and author of the on-line Unusual Animal Career Series, I am always on the lookout for career texts for those interested in working with animals... This book serves a specific niche for those who are enamored with the thought of working with marine mammals. It presents a good overview of marine mammals, what the job entails and answers many...
Published on December 2, 2002 by Ark Lady (Diana L Guerrero)

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Starting your career as a marine mammal trainer
It's a very concisely written book. It contains useful, but basic information (however it's sometimes the basics that are overlooked). This book would probably be suited more toward early high school-aged people or those who are keen to understand a little more about what is involved in marine mammal training (other than surfing dolphins for shows which is extremely...
Published on February 24, 2011 by Gem


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginning to explore animal careers!, December 2, 2002
This review is from: Starting Your Career as a Marine Mammal Trainer (Paperback)
As an animal career consultant and author of the on-line Unusual Animal Career Series, I am always on the lookout for career texts for those interested in working with animals... This book serves a specific niche for those who are enamored with the thought of working with marine mammals. It presents a good overview of marine mammals, what the job entails and answers many of the questions most people ask.
The text also includes suggestions as to what type of education is needed, how to plan and research, and what is the proper etiquette to use in contacting people in the industry. It even touches on applications, resumes and interviewing. Finally, the book also includes a resource directory of a variety of facilities and organizations involved with marine mammals.
If you are just starting your quest for a career or are besieged by questions regarding this type of career I highly recommend this book...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book after my own heart!, March 16, 2004
By 
This review is from: Starting Your Career as a Marine Mammal Trainer (Paperback)
Finally! A book that was written after my own heart! I've had the same dream to one day work with marine mammals since I was 7 years old. I'm 18 now, and that dream has still not changed. But because it is such a competative and unique job, it's not every day you run into a dolphin trainer and therefore, it's difficult to get direct information about just how to go about doing this. Of course I've researched many different books about these beautiful animals, but it's not every day that you find a guide on how to actually achieve this dream career! Imagine how thrilled I was to find this book! It's an inside look at working with marine mammals, by a senior trainer himself. Terry gave me tips and suggestions that I would never have thought of, nor realized until it was perhaps too late. Preparing youself with the proper experience is one of the most important things, and with the help of the "aquarium guide" I discovered that there is a small marine aquarium, not 40 minutes from me, where they have volunteer programs that involve the rescue and rehabilitation of dolphins, otters, and sea turtles. Thank you to Terry Samansky for this wonderful book! I'm sure I will be referring to it throughout my continued career search!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for preparing for this career!!!!, April 1, 2004
By 
Sara Nieb (Wilmington, NC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Starting Your Career as a Marine Mammal Trainer (Paperback)
This book is an easy read and gives simple explanations. However, it is packed with valuable tips! I recently had an interview for an internship in marine mammal training and every question that they asked in the interview was on the list of questions that were in this book. It gives great tips on how to prepare for the career and what the employers are REALLY looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great look behind the scenes from someone who's been there!, June 15, 2011
This review is from: Starting Your Career as a Marine Mammal Trainer (Paperback)
As a mom of two teens, I can tell you that they are constantly looking at every job as a potential career. The problem with that is that they only see the end results, not the years of schooling or behind-the-scenes "pay your dues" type of work that goes into most careers. This book peels away at the glamour that we all see when visiting parks like Sea World and tells it like it is: Working with whales and dolphins takes years of training and hard work that is far from glamorous. I read the book along with my kids and I can tell you they both thought twice about whether or not they'd be happy to be prepping frozen fish at five a.m. or jumping into cold water in December. These are things no one ever thinks about when in San Diego or Florida in July! Mr. Samansky, who has worked at several aquatic parks and consulted at parks all around the world, tells it like it is! Being a killer whale or dolphin trainer IS glamorous and prestigious but it is also hard work. He explains some very basic truths like thinking twice before getting that tattoo and minding your manners on social sites like facebook. These are the little but often overlooked details that most adults forget to include when writing a career guidance book for teens. While the book is directed at the teen and pre-teen group but is also eye opening and informative for their parents. If your kids are at all considering a career in the marine mammal field, this brief but fact-filled book is a great place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what she needed, July 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Starting Your Career as a Marine Mammal Trainer (Paperback)
My daughter wants to train dolphins, and this book was great. It told her things she needs to know, and things to considered. I would recommended this book to any one who wants to get into this field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Starting your career as a marine mammal trainer, February 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Starting Your Career as a Marine Mammal Trainer (Paperback)
It's a very concisely written book. It contains useful, but basic information (however it's sometimes the basics that are overlooked). This book would probably be suited more toward early high school-aged people or those who are keen to understand a little more about what is involved in marine mammal training (other than surfing dolphins for shows which is extremely appealing in itself).
I found that the information given on further readings as well as the contact information for many marine parks and other institutions was the most useful and I will definitely be looking into many of those.
A good starting point, but if you want detail, this is not the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars obvious but good, August 6, 2005
By 
Janey Harper (boulder co usa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Starting Your Career as a Marine Mammal Trainer (Paperback)
If you're just beginning to think about a career with marine mammals than this is a great book, that might change your perspective and help you decide if being a marine mammal trainer is really what you want to do. However if you're already on your way to becomming one than most of it you have probabily already figured out your self. I did however find the directory of marine mammal facilities, including specifically what animals they have, extremely helpful. especially the international section. I do have a few corrections however, first the pittsburg zoo no longer has an amazon river dolphin, it passed away in 2002 and to the best of my knowledge the brooklyn aquarium does not have dolphins, only belugas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Helpfull, January 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Starting Your Career as a Marine Mammal Trainer (Paperback)
I have been wanting to become a trainer since I can't remember and this book gave me tons of new information that really helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Accurate and Informational - but it could be so much more, July 7, 2013
This review is from: Starting Your Career as a Marine Mammal Trainer (Paperback)
This is a difficult review to write - there's so much good here, but I also found myself disappointed as well.

Good: This book presents an accurate assessment of the pros and the cons of making a career as a marine mammal trainer. (In fact, that assessment is a little narrow - based on my experiences, this book accurately assesses making a career out of working with any exotic animals at a public or private facility.)
Bad: The author does not delve deeply into the more mundane aspects of the job. Yes, the book states that the trainer must spend time preparing meals for their charges. It does not adequately provide a feel for just how much time this particular task takes, nor how it and other mundane tasks are far from glamorous in most folks' eyes.
Bad: The book does not adequately explain the physical risks of working with some of these animals, on the rare occasion leading to the serious injury or even death of the trainer. While it is doubtful that anyone would not know of the risks and appropriate precautions before being permitted in the presence of such an animal, this risk should be noted more clearly in print.

Good: The author provides a directory of facilities that have marine mammals and, as such, require staffing to care for the animals.
Bad: This information will (and has) inevitably fall out of date. For example, it omits the Texas State Aquarium and Aquarium du Quebec, which did not display any marine mammals at the time of publication but do as of this review (2013). Other facilities have changed hands and names (public to private, mostly), or have changed the species that they exhibit - the aquarium at West Edmonton Mall has had to replace their dolphins with California Sea Lions.
Bad: This directory takes up 50 of the 144 total pages in the book. In fact, when directories of other related facilities, such as scuba organizations and appropriate educational institutions, and things like title page and index are also factored into the equation, the applicable prose is only 62 pages long - some of that photographs and illustrations.

As such, I'm rating this book right down the middle at 3 stars. With a unique combination of both the highest recommendation AND the sad shaking of this reviewer's head ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A+, April 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Starting Your Career as a Marine Mammal Trainer (Paperback)
It is in great shape definately a good read! Thanks!
Can't wait to pass this book on to a friend to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Starting Your Career as a Marine Mammal Trainer
Starting Your Career as a Marine Mammal Trainer by Terry S. Samansky (Paperback - July 1, 2002)
$16.95 $15.06
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.