Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An invaluable resource for anyone in the debt-collection industry
This book is an invaluable resource for anyone in the debt-collection industry, particularly those that are thinking on opening a collection agency. It is full of practical recommendations and organized in a very detailed and systematic way from a list of considerations before you commit to your idea down to samples of the important documents you will need once you...
Published on April 11, 2012 by Sergio Seplovich

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic Introduction and Overview
Michelle Dunn provides a very basic overview of what it takes to start a collection agency. It's a starter book - and is probably most useful for identifying areas for further research, as well as loads and loads of useful links, resources, tips and reference suggestions. After spending nearly a decade in the ARM industry, I've come to recognize just how challenging it...
Published on August 29, 2009 by Edward J. Barton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic Introduction and Overview, August 29, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Michelle Dunn provides a very basic overview of what it takes to start a collection agency. It's a starter book - and is probably most useful for identifying areas for further research, as well as loads and loads of useful links, resources, tips and reference suggestions. After spending nearly a decade in the ARM industry, I've come to recognize just how challenging it is to stay on top of the latest trends, legislation, regulation and techniques. Some of the specific data in the third edition is already out of date, but Michelle does a nice job of identifying key sources for updates (as well as a caveat that it is all subject to change). The book is probably a bit too basic for an industry veteran, but is worth the freight as a reference and referral source.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An invaluable resource for anyone in the debt-collection industry, April 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Starting a Collection Agency, how to make money collecting money (The Collecting Money Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book is an invaluable resource for anyone in the debt-collection industry, particularly those that are thinking on opening a collection agency. It is full of practical recommendations and organized in a very detailed and systematic way from a list of considerations before you commit to your idea down to samples of the important documents you will need once you embark. If you are entertaining the idea of your own shop, this is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book Excelente Manual for Debt Collections, May 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Starting a Collection Agency, how to make money collecting money (The Collecting Money Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
If you're starting this is the best way to start and get the initial basic orientations for your activity. That's a real Bible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Few people know the collection business as well as the author, April 3, 2012
This review is from: Starting a Collection Agency, how to make money collecting money (The Collecting Money Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Michelle Dunn has helped make access to the collection business to many people through her books and her work. She has been a helpful and reliable source of useful information to us in writing columns and books for years. You can't go wrong with Michelle's guidance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Info!!, October 16, 2009
Michelle Dunn has once again out done herself in writing this book. I have her original version of Starting a Collection Agency found it to be extremely basic. Her third edition has so much new information and goes above and beyond the basics. Thank You Michelle for writing such an excellent book for us to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very solid first step, September 13, 2009
Whenever somebody asks me for advice concerning their interest about acquiring or starting a collection agency (and it happens quite often,) I generally spend the next several hours doing all I can to dissuade them from taking a step that is sure to rock their world, and not necessarily in a good way.

This is a big, complicated, closely-watched and highly regulated industry. Hardly the place for a beginner. But if they can withstand my efforts to talk them out of this endeavor and still seem excited, I know they are a good candidate.

As a former collection agency owner, I already know firsthand much of what I read in this book. I have to say, though, that Michelle does an excellent job of taking all of the important first steps involved in entering this business and presents them in a way that even the most novice reader can get a good grasp of the task at hand.

If there is a downside, I would say that she is not emphatic enough about all that can go wrong if one is not adequately prepared for the enormity of this business.

Running a collection agency isn't like running any other kind of business. It takes a thick skin, a quick wit, and a good head for business, marketing, numbers and regulations.

But if you have all of that, I would suggest arming yourself with Dunn's book and enough time to not only absorb all it has to offer, but to follow it's many leads to other resources - many of them very useful and free.

If you are serious about considering this business, buy the book. It delivers a great amount of solid experience for a nominal price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starting a Collection Agency, How to make money collecting money Third Edition, October 20, 2009
Having brought several of Michelle's books over the years I was excited to see the newest edition of Starting a Collection Agency, How to make money collecting money. While this provides the basic information needed to start up an agency, it also provides new information for the seasoned pro. This book while small in size is pack with ideas and new editions to this publication. I find myself going back to review it to make sure that I'm doing things right. Michelle is a wealth of knowledge in the field and knows how to present it in a way that's easy to understand.
As in all of her works she comes right to the point in her classic writing style which is appreciated by the many people who use her works. Starting a Collection Agency, How to make money collecting money Third Edition, is just another of her common sense books on the subject. I consider this a "must" read for anyone who is not only starting out in the field, considering starting their own agency, presently working for an agency or the long time collection professional in the field. Michelle does it her way and her way has helped many of us in this line of work. Another fine piece by Michelle Dunn and one that should be on every collector's book case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Complete How-To Guide for anyone in the Collection Industry, October 29, 2009
Michelle Dunn's has again outdone herself in preparing what I like to call a Complete How To Guide for anyone contemplating entering the debt collection industry. As an agency owner myself and a debt collector for over 8 years I have found information in this book that I found as a learning tool for example the author provides to the eager reader all the information that should be included in a business plan. I wish I had access to this information when I paid a large amount of money last year for a consultant to prepare a business plan in my attempt to secure a business loan from a commercial bank.
This book is a powerhouse of information and is an easy read. The information is comprehendable for the reader and is almost presented in a step by step guide. I would highly recommend this book to collection professionals, anyone considering getting into the collection business as well as people who are employed as debt collectors. The book expresses the importance of a strong working knowledge of the FDCPA and this is information that many debt collectors need to have as a handbook on their desk. I plan on purchasing a copy of this book for my office as a reference guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starting a collection agency? Begin here..., October 24, 2009
As a credit professional with over 25 years of industry experience and the owner of a collection agency that will celebrate it's 100th anniversary in 2010, it would be easy for me, already knowing most of the information provided in "Starting a Collection Agency, How to make money collecting money", to write this book off as basic, without depth. On the contrary. When I first entered the industry years ago, I had aspirations of starting my own business doing collection work. I searched everywhere for a "how to" book on on the subject but, unfortunately, could find none. If a book like this had existed then, I would have purchased it in a minute! For the novice, especially, this book is packed with helpful and necesssary information, laid out in a methodical, easy to follow format. The content covered includes everything from basic, first step ideas and suggestions to must know, legal dos and don'ts. The author also provides many helpful links throughout. Although a good read for anyone already in the industry, (I learned a few things myself) I would most certainly recommend this book to anyone interested in starting their own business in the collection industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read for Anyone Considering Getting Into the Debt Collection Business!!, July 13, 2010
By 
Ross Alan Dodwell (Raleigh, NC United States) - See all my reviews
I just finished reading my 2nd book written by Michelle Dunn, Starting a Collection Agency (3rd addition). I am simply amazed at the breadth of information provided in the book for anyone interested in starting a career in private collections. From creating a marketing plan, finding customers, developing a web presence, the various laws and legal aspects of collecting, working with credit reporting agencies, sample forms and letters, hiring staff, it's all in there. She also provides potential responses to "tricks" used by people in debt to delay payment. Michelle writes very clearly and concisely and it will be obvious to the reader that she knows this subject well. This book is a must read for anyone considering opening a private collection agency, or even someone interested in buying bad debt for potential investment profit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.