Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon St Lucia Bose SoundLink AE All-New Amazon Fire TV Luxury Beauty Valentine's Day Cards Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now DOTD

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars20
5 star
75%
4 star
25%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$16.23+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 5, 2006
This book is a must for parents that have experienced daily challanges that few discuss. I appreciate the easy directions and the equipment I already have on hand that is called for. My son used to take flour and pour it on everything for a 'snow day'!Little did I realized what he needed. Thank you Bonnie , for your time spent in understanding the sensory needs of so many and equiping me , as a parent to help my son.
0Comment20 of 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2009
I love this book! It is filled with simple, easy activities to engage your child's senses. The directions for each activity are very straight-forward and include helpful hints to save on cleanup and mess. While this is an invaluable resource for a parent or teacher of children with sensory issues, the activities are fun and would appeal to most kids. Another great thing about the book is that it groups together familiar songs and games when appropriate to stimulate a sense, such as movement or touch. Ms. Arwine includes stories and anecdotes about children with sensory issues to illustrate ways the activities can aid such children. Great resource!
0Comment12 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2011
Children with sensory needs tend to have two reactions to stimuli. Either they can't get enough of a particular form of stimuli or even the slightest form of stimuli causes them to scream on contact.

Often children with sensory issues have both reactions - and often to similar types of stimuli. For example, a child who can't stand the touch of a certain type of fabric may excessively crave the touch of a teddy bear made from a different fabric.

Sensory exercises play a critical role in helping these children adjust to stimulii and can usually reduce or even remove sensory issues.

From the outside, "Starting Sensory Therapy" looks like a textbook on the subject. It's not. The cover and title of this book are very misleading.

This book is a collection of over a hundred different activities to stimulate the senses of children with sensory difficulties.

The activities are loosely grouped by the sense they stimulate; for example there are sections on visual, auditory, smell, tactile and taste senses. The book doesn't stop at "the five senses" though and also contains chapters on gross and fine motor movement.

The activites themselves are in sub-groups, such as "tissue paper fun", "balloon fun" or "No-Cook Cooking" within each chapter and the book has a good index too. All in all, it's a very well laid out book.

Each activity starts off with a list of what you'll need and then provides a brief description of how to do it. The activities usually also include ideas on how they could be extended.

The activities are suitable for children of various ages, from babyhood right through to the very early teens and they're suitable for individuals or groups. My wife has taken a lot the ideas in this book to Joey scouts this term, so they're all very adaptable and useful - even when children don't have sensory issues.

The activities include; ice cream making, play dough making, rocket tag with torches, singing-games like "the wheels on the bus", making a bird feeder, paper mache, making shaving cream paint, playing "hamburger", marshmallow sculptures, making musical instruments and much more.

The only gripe (apart from the cover and title) that I've got with this book is that it uses some brand names. For example, there were several references to "Graham Crackers" which we don't have in Australia. I had to look them up on the internet just to figure out what type of biscuit they were. The book could probably benefit from with a glossary with pictures to explain what some of these items are.

Other than that, it's a great book which parents, teachers and community workers will get a lot of benefit from.
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2007
I have found this book handy for coming up with new ideas for a "sensory diet" for my son. Most of the materials are easy to find if you don't already have them around the home. I recommend it for parents who are their child's primary "therapist." Does not replace a good occupational therapist, but I consult with one and once I learned about my son's sensory profile, we picked some activities together that would be helpful.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2009
This book is full of fun things to do with kids to have fun and stimulate sensory motor skills and facilitate language, motor, and cognitive skills in the very young child. I use the activities with my grandchildren and while working with developmentally delayed children through our early intervention program. The activities are so engaging and simple to implement. I am glad that I ordered this book.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2009
This book is a nice activity based book for parents who are needing suggestions for home or teachers who are needing classroom activities. I like the way that it gives a simple implementation idea and then expands upon that activity to incorporate more skills. A very nice parent and teacher resource. Very practical.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2006
This book has great ideas for activities that are simple to do at home! It's straight forward and a must have for anyone wanting to help their child with sensory issues.
0Comment13 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2011
I think this is a great book for anyone who is around a child with sensory processing disorder. It is full of great activities for both indoors and out, and gives you a few more options to help fill in the wholes in your childs sensory diet that you may have thought were to hard to fill at home.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2006
WHO would know that just simple things around the house along with some brilliant ideas can help you get your child throw a sometimes ruff difficult day. What an "EXCEPTIONAL BOOK" when in your heart of hearts your seaching for answeres and need HELP this book offers a wealth of information.

Ardith
0Comment13 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2006
this is a great book for parents who have autistic kids.the activities are easy to do. I highly recomend it
0Comment7 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse