Customer Reviews

258
4.3 out of 5 stars
State of Emergency: The Third World Invasion and Conquest of America
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$13.23 + Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

74 of 79 people found the following review helpful
on September 4, 2006
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
This is the first book by Buchanan I have read. In the past I viewed him as correct on the immigration issue but too focused on the cultural aspect and not focused enough on the anti-labor and anti-environmental effects of immigration policies touted by those who fradulently define themselves as "pro-labor" and "Green".

But from reading this book I believe he does have a valid point to make.

I believe perhaps the biggest intellectual contribution he makes to these issues is his discussion of what is the nature of American nationhood. He makes some compelling arguments that the Neocon notion, which is the intellectual underpinning of right-wing open-borderism, that the nature of American nationhood is simply one of ideas, is incomplete at the least and perhaps downright false. His view of the core of nationhood is, as he quotes from someone on the other side, rooted in "blood and soil".

I am not totally convinced, but he does provide powerful supporting arguments for his point of view based on a mountain of examples from throughout the world.

As far as I can tell, Buchanan does not say that there is necessarily anything meritorious about nationhood being defined by "blood and soil" rather than "ideas", but, his core point is, that is the way the world works, and those who wish our nation to be governed based on a falsified view of reality are planting the seeds of disaster.

Of course, as it relates to immigration policy, the notion of what is the nature of our "nationhood" is not necessarily a central issue, because the open borders policies adovcated by the "axis of extremism" (my term for the open borders coalition of the radical left and radical right) are fatally flawed on so many levels that they would be disastrous even if the flood of illegal aliens entering our country were amenable to becoming supportive members of a society based upon the ideals our nation is intended to aspire to- such as equality, justice, and tolerance.

All in all, there are many books which have come out recently that relate to the illegal alien invasion of America, and Buchanan's is one of the better ones, and, equally important, it has achieved a popular following that puts it in a good position to serve as a strong positive force in advancing the popular uprising around the country that is demanding a more progressive and sustainable immigration policy for our nation.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
63 of 67 people found the following review helpful
on September 7, 2006
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
It really does not matter on which side of the argument you fall on; you need to read this book. I did not agree with everything Mr. Buchanan said, nor will most. The great thing about this book is the overwhelming amount of statistics, history and other people's opinions (like JFK's) that are included. That is the meat of the book. The seemingly unending amount of shocking statistics (from trusted sources) is what hit me the most. He also brings up topics of the illegal immigration debate I had never thought of (i.e. the up swing in certain diseases brought in by the illegals and the increasingly bloody black v. Hispanic gang battle).

I can see why some people have said this book is racist. That being said, they are wrong. Mr. Buchanan just plain refuses to be politically correct. For that, he does deserve commendation.

In the end, whether you agree or disagree with Mr. Buchanan's opinions, the statistics and history are not up for debate. Sparing the multiple details, I can tell that this book has changed my stance on the issue and I can see why people like Juan Hernandez (arguably the slimiest most underhanded bum-pimple involved in illegal immigration) are not holding back in trying to slap it down.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
127 of 143 people found the following review helpful
on August 28, 2006
Format: Hardcover
I am a person who hass worked in national politics for 12 years and always on the Democratic side of the aisle. I have, however, woken up to the reality that BOTH parties are afraid to say what Pat Buchanan says so well in this book : we are being invaded by criminal illegals, and we have to act now to stop our country from being taken over by uneducated, poor criminals who have no desire to become part of America.

Pat Buchanan says what Bush and the rest of our national politicians - in both parties - are afraid to say. Facts are facts, and the truth is that this country is being turned into a Mexican barrio full of illegals with their hands out.

If you doubt Pat Buchanan or think he is a nut... take a drive through Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Antonio, Miami or NYC. We are importing over 5,000 illegal poverty-stricken people into this country every day and it will be our downfall. Buchanan is right and he simply states the TRUTH.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
on February 11, 2007
Format: Hardcover
I keep hearing previous reviewers constantly babbling about "Oh, well this is what happened to the Irish and the Italians and the Polish when they came here blah blah blah....your ancestors were immigrants too blah blah". Can someone please tell me what year this is? Is this the post-Civil War Industrial Revolution America? No, I'm pretty sure this 21st Century 2007 America. Are we still a fledgling former British colony in need of a new immigrant workforce? Do we really need more people? I mean, our population is what...something like, 300 billion?

Remind me again, didn't President Reagan already grant mass amnesty to a previous horde of illegal Mexicans in the 80's? So we should just keep taking in more because....?

Mexicans and Latin Americans come from very poor impoverished backgrounds and are ignored by the corrupt Spanish oligarchies that rule over them. So that justifies them invading my tiny North Carolina town and turning it in a gang-infested third world slum because....?

Can someone please tell me why I'm a racist for wanting my country's borders defended when ethnocentric Latino organizations called National Council of La Raza(the race) are not?

Oh, and would someone mind telling me why the Irish and the Italians did not hold disrespectful marches in US cities, chanting slogans in Italian and Gaelic, marching under the flags of their countries and demanding rights they didn't deserve in the first place. Oh wait, I remember that they did deserve those rights....because they were citizens.

Political correctness, not Islamic militants, will be the death of this country.
77 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
146 of 168 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon August 22, 2006
Format: Hardcover
Civilizations die by suicide, not murder, says Patrick Buchanan, and liberalism is the ideology of Western suicide. Its ideas, pursued to their logical end, will prove fatal. And none of those ideas is as certain to bring our civilization to an unhappy end as the proposition that America's borders must be open to any and all comers, legal and illegal. In State of Emergency: The Third World Invasion and Conquest of America, Buchanan explains why the very life of our nation is at stake in the immigration debate. If immigration and border controls aren't reintroduced, it will be the end of America as we know it -- and soon.

Buchanan explains why the massive influx of illegal immigrants into America is nothing less than an invasion -- and yet the Bush White House and GOP-controlled Congress appear disinclined to do anything about it. He details how our current policy of "open borders" and nearly unrestricted immigration have brought a stream of criminals and thugs into our nation -- for the benefit only of an entrenched political establishment that couldn't care less about the good of the American people. He explodes myth after myth about illegal immigration -- including President Bush's notorious statement that illegal aliens "do jobs Americans won't do" and the idea that foreigners somehow have a natural right to come to America.

Nor will all this be an easy problem to solve. Buchanan demonstrates that any presidential candidate who speaks out against the Hispanic onslaught in the American Southwest will now lose the electoral votes of California, Arizona, New Mexico, and Texas. Soon, electoral realities will make it impossible for any serious candidate to speak out against unrestrained immigration. Yet, he points out, if it wanted to, the U.S. Government could secure the Mexican border within weeks -- and details the political reasons why this won't happen, despite the fact that immigration control measures have consistently won large margins of support from American voters.

State of Emergency also lays bare the roots of our immigration crisis, providing a capsule history of U.S.-Mexican relations and explaining Mexico's long-standing grudge against the United States. Buchanan exposes the long-term goals of radical Mexican and Chicano groups that want to erase not only American sovereignty over the Southwest, but also American sovereignty altogether. He warns against the balkanization and tribalism that threaten our future as a nation, and, for those who have forgotten (and there are many), he gets back to basics -- explaining what a nation actually is and should be.

America, says Buchanan, could soon be facing its last chance to stave off national suicide. In State of Emergency, he provides a comprehensive primer for all politicians, activists, and concerned citizens who want to stop the flood of immigration before it's too late.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
on October 3, 2006
Format: Hardcover
Before this book I had little respect for old guard conservative Pat Buchanan, but now I come to see him as someone who has both a significant grasp of the larger scope of history, and the personal courage to write a socially-unpopular opinion. Buchanan begins this, his plea that Americans act to save an internally-declining America, by quoting the greatest theoretical historian ever to live, Arnold Toynbee, who, with his sound observations about the forces of history as they relate to the rise and fall of nations and civilizations, has never had an equal. Buchanan herein compares the plight of the United States in circa 2006 with that of the Roman Empire in the period right before its descent toward cultural implosion. A parallel is drawn between the east-central European "barbarians" of seventeen centuries ago, whose infiltration of Rome's imperial borders in the form of economics refugees swamped Roman welfare programs and pushed aside the more successful Roman citizenry, and the inundating populations of Hispanics who are illegally invading this nation today. (As many Hispanics have illegally entered the United States as the sum total of all legal immigrants from colonial times thru the Presidency of John Kennedy.) Buchanan argues that this invading force has no sympathy with America and little grasp of the ideals and customs or even the language that all encompass an American identity. Unwilling to assimilate into the melting pot that has made America so strong, these outsiders---ever Mexicans, never to become Americans---seek a nation within a nation, and have been vocal about this desire. Whatsmore, there is a deeply-held sentiment among most Mexican illegal aliens that Americans are an ancient enemy, and the land within US borders is rightfully theirs.

Buchanan delivers some shockers, such as the little known or reported news that the Mexican army frequently makes armed incursions into the United States, in some instances even going so far as to open fire on American customs and immigrations agents. Buchanan also cites some dire forecasts that project that by the mid-point of this present century, presumably within the lifetimes of most of my generation, Hispanics will account for in excess of one-third of America's population, and that all across the western world, from Europe into Russia, progressive democratic nations will be overrun by a veritable army of Third World foreigners whose questionable values will replace much of that which has lifted the west to global prominence. It is a dark scenario, and recognizing that this literal invasion will be and has been at great cost to America's deserved greatness is only pragmatism and patriotism, a desire for survival, not bigotry. And to solve our plight, illegals need not be "shipped home" in boxcars as many claim. Buchanan makes the sound case that if our government would simply cease with those economic incentives and entitlements which draw illegals here in the first place, the tide could yet be reversed.

I thought this was an extremely well-written book that courageously tackled one of the most pressing threats to America's future well-being. There was nothing prejudiced in State of Emergency, and I hope this work succeeds in getting the word out that things in America today are not as healthy or stable as they might on the surface appear. We are being invaded, and we need to protect ourselves.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
60 of 67 people found the following review helpful
on August 30, 2006
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
Buchanan really irritates the heck out of me. I cut my conservative teeth on his writings in the old St. Louis Globe Democrat. Now he has metamorphosed into a sort of populist demagogue. I disagree strongly with Buchanan on some critical issues, particularly his stance on Israel and his obdurate refusal to recognize the threat posed by Islam. Last week I actually heard him refer to Islam as "one of the world's great religions" thereby tacitly elevating this political cult to a status equal to that of Christianity and ignoring Islam's 1400 year history of violence and barbarism. But in this book Buchanan manages once again to get it right and raises the level of his game to that which he enjoyed as a young firebrand at the St. Louis Globe Democrat. The "business as usual" and "all that counts is the economy" Republicans and "anything for a vote" Democrats are selling our country's sovereignty down the road albeit for different reasons.

Buchanan says, "From Gibbon to Spengler to Toynbee and the Durants, the symptoms of dying civilizations are well known: The death of faith, the degeneration of morals, contempt for the old values, collapse of the culture, paralysis of the will. but the two certain signs that a civilization has begun to die are a declining population and foreign invasions no longer resisted. . . . With the Immigration Act of 1965, the nation began to import another electorate. . . . Third World immigration is drowning the Republican base. . . . Mass immigration pushes politics to the left. . . Democrats will never secure the border. They may play the patriot card against Bush, but they are running a bluff. . . . America is being invaded, and if this is not stopped, it will mean the end of the United States."

In his chapter on the "Roots of Paralysis" Buchanan does an excellent job of examining the motivations behind the reluctance of the Democrats or Republicans to tackle an issue whose solution the Constitution, the law, politics and duty overwhelmingly support. Buchanan's answer: Political correctness, political cowardice, political opportunism, a sense of guilt for America's sins and the twin ideologies of "economism" and international liberalism.

Scholar John Attarian gave a name to the cult that has captured the party of Goldwater and Reagan: "economism." To the "economite," the true believer in economism, sovereignty, independence, industrial primacy, the values of community and country, must be sacrificed, should the gods of globalism so command. What's the dominant religion of the past 100 years? Not Christianity! It's the idea of economic growth, the Church of GDP. The belief that EVERYTHING should be subordinated to our economic interests. And of course the Democratic Party sees immigrants, legal and illegal, as future voters who will bury the Nixon-Reagan coalition.

Ours is a nation and culture steeped in and paralyzed by guilt. Prior to the '60s we did not feel the need to apologize for America's past, but took pride in all she had accomplished. That there were sins in our past, no one denied. But Americans did not obsess over wrongs done by previous generations, for compared with all other nations and cultures, America'a history was relatively benign and merited the gratitude of mankind. For the first one hundred and fifty years of her history, America represented one end of the continuum of liberty. We were that "shining city on a hill." Our forefather's kept that light burning brightly but we have failed to be good stewards of our sacred legacy. Worse, we have failed to even understand much less appreciate that legacy. The gradient of values leading to liberty were unambiguously evident to the whole world as long as Americans remained true to their traditions and values. But we have stumbled and succumbed to the false promises of the left. Leftist verisimilitude and deceit has been substituted for that which is authentic and good. Meretricious nonsense masquerades as legitimate thought. And America's beacon of light becomes dimmer and dimmer. Confusion abounds where once there was confidence and certainty. A culture marinated in guilt and self doubt cannot inspire its own people much less the world.

Paradoxically, an America bent to ends of the multicultural Utopians will ultimately be of no good to those who are storming our borders. For the America that they inherit will not longer possess that essence which made our country great to begin with. The relativists and multiculturalists have grossly misunderstood that which made and continues to make America great. For at their core they are materialists and are unable to appreciate any value or tradition more sublime than counterfeit wealth. They have never understood that real wealth inheres not in the superficial manifestations of material well being, but in the wellspring of American values and traditions.

And so these leftist materialists as well as the so called conservative "economites" having stumbled across the greatest wealth ever devised by man, our American constitutional form of government, have failed to recognize this majestic gift and now have set about to destroy it.

This book tells a gut wrenching horror story that will leave many of those who rarely venture from their protective enclaves in disbelief. This is not a pretty story. Many of the facts are unpleasant and fly in the face of political correctness. But our liberties, culture and very lives are at stake. It appears that we are willing to fritter away, in just one generation, the greatest legacy ever confered on a population - all in the name of political correctness. Fortunately, Pat Buchanan is not willing to bow and scrape before the gods of political correctness. I have no doubt that such books as his will in short order become illegal to publish in the USA just as they are now illegal to publish in Europe.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
on October 8, 2006
Format: Hardcover
...those who support illegal immigrants. Ethnic pride, not truth or logic or reason, are the crux of their movement. Ever heard of National Council of La Raza? What is La Raza, you say? It translates to the race, so who is making this a racial matter? A common slogan used by La Raza groups translates in English as "For the Race, everything. For those outside the Race, nothing.", kinda Nazi-esqu wouldn't you say?

Would someone mind telling me why its racist to defend one's country and borders and culture, but apparently it isn't racist to march in American cities and have people who have SPANISH ancestry carrying signs that say "whites go back to Europe?". Fill me in, because I'm confused about this.

Actually, I'm not that confused. It took me a while to realize that the irrelevant word "racist" is used to describe white people and white people only.

Even if our current invaders got their wish of a bogus "Aztlan" nation in the Southwest and California, the entire area would fall under the same economic and infrastructural stagnation and corruption that is throughout Mexico. Then the children and grandchildren of these angry ethnocentric radicals would go "Ohhh so THAT's why we jumped over the border...to live in America! D'oh!". Of course, they would probably spread into Idaho and Oregon and spew a bunch of jibberish about how they are one in the same as Native American Indians and that this is "their" land. Right.

Also, according to Aztec mythology, Aztlan is actually a cave inside a mystical island that floats in the sky, which I haven't seen hovering around Arizona or Texas. Have you?
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
70 of 80 people found the following review helpful
on August 29, 2006
Format: Hardcover
Buchanan has alot of good numerical data that can be used for talking points with family, friends, and strangers. For example:
- The number of illegal aliens in the US right now is bigger than all the German and Italian immigrants (two of the biggest immigrant groups) who ever came to the US in the entire history of America.
- One in every 12 illegal aliens who comes to America is a felon.
- 100,000 whites are leaving California each year. The only comparable exodus is that of the Dust Bowl in the 1930's. This is the first time since the Spanish arrived in California that native-born Californians are leaving in large numbers.
- Hispanics now outnumber blacks in California about 5 to 1, and now rival black gangs are joining together to protect themselves against hispanic gangs. In some schools, black kids are told not to come to school in Cinco de Mayo, or they will be shot by hispanic students.

He does a good job of re-examining what it means to be American, both from a historical perspective as well as a theorhetical perspective.
- Historically, American leaders were very concerned about who was allowed to come here and who could become an American. They did not just want workers for the economy, which is today's standard, rather they only wanted people who could assimilate and shed their allegience to their home country and culture. In contrast to today's standards, they would not have accepted immigrants who pledged primarily allegience to their home culture and language. He has many good quotes from Washington, Madison, Jefferson and many other founding fathers, as well as former presidents such as Harding, Coolidge, and Kennedy. You never realized how thoughtful they were about the definition of American and who should be allowed to come here. You realize that today's leaders have nowhere near the same level of thoughtfulness.
- He looks at two schools of thought about American nationality: Creedism - the belief that everyone can equally become American, that being American is nothing more than believing in democracy and freedom. And, opposed to that, what I would call people-based citizenship, which, contrary to Creedism, says that it is history, ethnicity, shared faith, culture, shared stories, heroes, experiences, and shared language, that make any nation a nation. The latter is what Buchanan argues for, and he attempts to show that third-world immigrants, as opposed to the European immigrants of the past, do not share these nation-making traits with Americans, nor do they have any desire to.

He talks about how the US declared a near-moratorium on immigration from 1920 to 1965, and how this successfully allowed the US to assimilate the millions of immigrants who had come in the decades prior. Reading the perspectives of the politicians from that time makes you realize that they had alot more balls and foresight than the ones we have today.

He gives an excellent history of Mexico-US relations, how the US came to acquire Texas and the Southwest, how Mexico believes it was stolen from them, and how Mexicans are taught from a young age that it is theirs and they have a right to reclaim it. The Mexicans call this "La Reconquista", and the plan is to "reclaim" the Southwest US as their own.

He talks about how the Mexican government uses illegal immigration as a deliberate tactic both to spread their influence in the US, as well as a safety valve to let out the poorest and the criminals out of Mexico and into someone else's lap. There are quotes from Mexican officials saying that if these poor Mexicans had to stay in Mexico instead of leaving for America, Mexico would not be able to handle them and there would be riots and unrest.

He talks about the elites supporting uncontrolled immigration in order to create a North American Union, which would reduce the sovereignty of America and make it easier to control.

All in all, an excellent book with viewpoints presented that you probably haven't thought of, and excellent points to use when discussing this issue with others. Highly recommended.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
72 of 83 people found the following review helpful
on August 31, 2006
Format: Hardcover
Before people go off smearing Pat Buchanan and his book with some pretty harsh words, they should pick up a dictionary and check what those words actually mean. But because precision in words and thoughts has vanished from the pathetic public discourse of modern America, I will undertake that daunting task for all those who are unwilling to do it.

The four main definitions of racism are 1) the belief that a particular race is superior to others, 2) discrimination or prejudice based on race, 3) the prejudice that members of one race are intrinsically superior to members of other races, and 4) discriminatory or abusive behavior towards members of another race. Bigotry is defined as stubborn and complete intolerance of any creed, belief, or opinion that differs from one's own (that's a precise description of the thinking of the 1- and 2-star reviewers). Four definitions of xenophobia are 1) an unreasonable fear or hatred of foreigners or strangers or of that which is foreign or strange, 2) fear and contempt of strangers or foreign peoples, 3) fear and hatred of strangers or foreigners or of anything that is strange or foreign, and 4) an irrational fear of foreigners or strangers.

Thus, it does not logically follow that one is a "racist," "bigot," or "xenophobe" if he opposes the cultural transformation of his society - and that is the most important argument of all against mass immigration. It is not "racist," "bigoted," or "xenophobic" to wish foreigners well (as Pat Buchanan does) and even admire them without wanting so many of them to come into your country that they completely change its way of life. When the definitions of the aforementioned words are altered to "opposition to the cultural transformation of one's own society," or "opposition to the decline of one's own civilization," then, yes, Pat Buchanan will be a "racist," "xenophobe," and "bigot," but with those new definitions those words would cease to be meaningful insults against civilized people.

It's also very relevant that Mr. Buchanan has, time after time, demonstrated that he does not hold immigrants in contempt. Here are just three examples:

1) In his August 23 appearance on "Hannity and Colmes" he stated the following in regard to Mexican immigrants: "They love Mexico. They love the music, they love the culture. They don't want their kids to become Americans. They're proud Mexicans. They march under Mexican flags...What we've got to say to them is, `Folks, we've got nothing against Mexico, but immigrants we want here are people who want to become Americans.'" How awful - he wants immigrants to want to become Americans!

2) During his presidential campaign of 2000 he remarked in California that "I am awed by the achievements of many recent immigrants...The contributions that immigrants make in small businesses and hard work in tough jobs that don't pay well merit our admiration and deepest respect. And many new immigrants show a visible love of this country and an appreciation of freedom that makes you proud to be an American." Sound like the words of a hateful, racist, bigoted, xenophobe, don't they?

3) In one of his previous books, "Death of the West," Mr. Buchanan wrote the following: "There are...millions of...hard-working, family-oriented, patriotic Americans of Mexican heritage, who have been among the first to answer America's call to arms. And any man, woman, or child, from any country or continent, can be a good American. We know that from our history."(p. 128)

It is also worth pointing out that all of the reasons Buchanan goes over for opposing mass immigration have nothing at all to do with race: increased poverty rates, destruction of the middle class, increased tax burden on American workers, wage reductions of American workers (especially native unskilled workers), Americans losing jobs, crime, overcrowded hospitals and schools, environmental strain, terrorism, diseases (such as tuberculosis and Chagas disease), blacks being kept in underclass status due to drastically increased job competition, degraded quality of the U.S. workforce, more underclass problems (Hispanics have the highest teen birthrate of all groups in America, the highest high school dropout rate, and the highest level of gang crime), the likely loss of any semblance of constitutional order at all (consider John Jay's prerequisites for a free society in Federalist 2: common language, common political consensus, similar customs and culture, common ancestry, and common experience), strain on the welfare state, gangs all over the country - in Arizona, Southern California, Chicago, New York City, Washington, D.C., Miami, and Virginia, cultural transformation of regions of America, and Balkanization because of that transformation. So there are a whole lot of reasons for opposing immigration that don't have anything to do with race.

I'd also like to address one of the more stupid arguments made for mass immigration and against Buchanan's thorough presentation of the problems resulting from current immigration: that past immigrants, notably the Irish and the Italians, struggled to assimilate early on and Americans whined and complained about problems they were causing, but everything worked out, and therefore we should totally expect current immigrants to do the same. First of all, as Mr. Buchanan has shown, the scale of recent Latin immigration is far greater than the scale of past European immigration, and when you're talking about assimilation, scale is crucial. Second, and this is most important, the main reason those past immigrants assimilated was that there were lulls in immigration (notably during the period 1924 to 1965) that prevented those immigrants from having their cultural separatism reinforced. If there weren't periods of low immigration that came after the periods of high immigration, the concerns of past Americans about immigrants changing America would have become real and the immigrants would not have assimilated. Imagine if, say, an average of 3 million mostly poor Russians came to the United States every year between 1870 and 1950 (that's pretty close to what the Mexican immigration 1970 to 2050 will end up being); America would have been a completely different place; that doesn't mean it would have been better or worse; but it would have been different, and there would have been nothing "bigoted" or "xenophobic" about Americans opposing that immigration. Wanting to sustain a culture does not make one a "racist," "xenophobe," or "bigot."

Some people may also say something like, well, when Buchanan expresses concern about white people being a minority by 2050 that sure sounds like "racism." Quite simply, it is not. As it is clearly palpable to anyone who opens up a dictionary that "racism" cannot be equated with opposing the cultural transformation and decline of one's own society, it is also clear that "racism" cannot be equated with opposing an enormous racial revolution within one's own society. Most people, including whites, blacks, Latinos, and probably the 1- and 2-star reviewers, mostly prefer to be around people of their own race; they don't hate people of other races, they would just rather not live with many of them. There is nothing evil about this. Of the four definitions of "racism" I listed above, the only one that could potentially be used to argue that preferring the company of people of one's own race is "racist" is #2: discrimination or prejudice based on race. But even if you say that this is a form of racism, it is benign and utterly negligible. Until racial prejudice carriers over into how people of different races treat each other, there is nothing wrong with it (low rates of intermarriage are not evil). Moreover, the whites-will-be-a-minority-by 2050 figure is meant to show that America is in the process of a massive cultural change due to immigration. One of the facts of our world is that, while different races can certainly get along and cooperate, race does parallel culture, so if there is a wholesale racial revolution in a society, its way of life will probably be altered drastically, and that is why the figure of white minority status is very significant. You will not find in any of Buchanan's books or articles the argument that non-white immigrants should be kept out of the country because they are non-white.

All that the ad hominem smears of Buchanan demonstrate about the people who use them is that they are nothing more than dupes of the Frankfurt School and America's horrible educational system (frankly it doesn't even deserve to be called an "educational system"; the only one in modern Western history that may have been worse was that of the USSR). Though most people who read State of Emergency are impressed and alarmed by it, there are a good number of people - and this group includes all of the 1- and 2- star reviewers - who just scream "racist" as soon as someone says that there are negative consequences of mostly non-white immigration. This is not rational thought; it is simply puerile stupidity as well as exactly what many people fallaciously accuse Buchanan of: pure bigotry.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Suicide of a Superpower: Will America Survive to 2025?
Suicide of a Superpower: Will America Survive to 2025? by Patrick J. Buchanan (Hardcover - October 18, 2011)


 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.