Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


117 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and Helpful!
Dr. Haas has put together one of the most complete nutrition books that can be enjoyed by the average reader. From what I have read, he makes no outrageous claims, though he does believe nutrition can offer health benefits (which would distinguish this book from a standard nutrition textbook). While the price may seem a little steep, there are 1140 pages that contain a...
Published on June 19, 2000 by David Bennett

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oddly Written and Somewhat Biased
I am studying dietetics and nutrition, and am always eager to read a different slant on things and explore various reference books. I was so, so excited to read this book, as it seemed from the other reviews that this author leaned in very much the same direction as I do in terms of considering the "optimal diet."

Unfortunately, my enthusiasm was short-lived. I...
Published 12 months ago by Megan


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

117 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and Helpful!, June 19, 2000
By 
Dr. Haas has put together one of the most complete nutrition books that can be enjoyed by the average reader. From what I have read, he makes no outrageous claims, though he does believe nutrition can offer health benefits (which would distinguish this book from a standard nutrition textbook). While the price may seem a little steep, there are 1140 pages that contain a wealth of information. The first 353 pages list virtually every popular nutrient (vitamins, minerals, fats, etc) and food category (such as beans, citrus fruits, etc). He even gives relevant information on the pseudo-vitamins such as Pangamic Acid (B15), amygdalin (B17), and Vitamin U. He also lists many of the popular diets and their benefits and drawbacks.
He also includes a very helpful section on "the Environmental Aspects of Nutrition." Possible pollutants and common food additives are discussed. He lists "88 Survival Suggestions."
Over 100 pages are dedicated to a Seasonal Cookbook. The foods are healthy, but possibly difficult for the average reader to obtain. It is possible with a little work however. There is a section on "Nutritional Application," which has special diets and suggestions for people with cancer, heart disease, yeast syndrome, and other disorders. He also includes suggestions for executives, adults, children, alcoholics, and adolescents. Overall the Nutritional Application section is very complete.
Finally he includes around 80 pages of health questionnaires that test health knowledge and actually intend to estimate one's health level. I use this whenever I have general or specific health questions. I recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


94 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be everyone's nutrition bible., November 27, 2000
Dr Haas has written an exhausting, thorough and informative "bible" about everything from what carbs, proteins and fats are and how they work to every vitamin, mineral and supplement you can imagine to special diets for different stages of your life or special needs to recipes...it just covers everything. I especially have to rave about a Western doctor who recognizes the validity of things like food combining and Candidiasis.
This book is over 1,100 pages and it's just jam packed with more information than you will think you need, but then you'll be surprised to find how many sections you'll flip to for info that pertains to you and your family.
I have a huge library of nutrition books and references that are really useful and well-written, but I'd toss them all just to have this one. If you are hesitant about the price or the size of the book, don't be. You will find it to be incredibly useful, easy to understand and beneficial when applied to your own daily life. I know I did.
This is far and away THE best nutrition book out there, I can't see how anyone could top this, unless he releases it with more information one day (and I can't see how there could be more.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive comprehensive nutrition reference, July 7, 1999
By A Customer
For those looking for the omnibus, cover-all reference book on nutrition, this is it. It is a thoroughly comprehensive examination of nutrition from just about every possible facet. Dr. Haas incorporates most of the more modern and alternative thinking on nutrition, even going so far as to examine environmental and spiritual issues, while avoiding the extreme, faddish ideas either of the medical establishment or the alternative fringe. He really does seem to have taken the time to weigh the value of studies done in both the mainstream and alternative research communities and brought together the clear, probable truths from both camps. And by the same token, he provides warnings against the doubtful claims of both sides.
This is not a book, however, for those looking for a quick, capsule synopsis of a dietary approach. Those people might be better served with Patrick Holford's "Optimum Nutrition Bible" which provides much of the same information in a condensed form. Rather this book is ideal for those looking to make an informed decision based on their own choices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Valuable Book, April 19, 2001
By 
B. A. Saunders (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
I keep picking this book up and referring to it for information I need about health, diet, supplements, etc. It's big alright, but eventually I've been to all the sections. It's a sensible, reasonable book with no hype.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best, most comprehensive nutrition summary I've come across., July 20, 1999
By A Customer
Not only does this summary provide a comprehensive review of traditional nutrition, it also provides information on less traditional supplements and discussion of current nutritional issues. I highly recommend this book for both lay people and professional nutritionists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent reference book., February 18, 1999
By A Customer
This book is absolutely one of the best nutrition books I have ever read. It is thorough and offers a great deal of information on vitamins, minerals, herbs, proper nutrition, various detox diets, why and what type of water should be consumed and much more. A must for anyone who wishes to study holistic nutrition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Encyclopedic, January 2, 2008
This review is from: Staying Healthy with Nutrition, rev: The Complete Guide to Diet and Nutritional Medicine (Paperback)
I use this book as a desk reference. As a wellness coach with a specialty in nutrition I refer to this book as well as others, like Paul Pitchford's Healing with Whole Foods and The New Optimum Nutrition Bible by Patrick Holford. I like the scientific and integrative nature of this book. When I quote information from this book I can say this is by an MD. This book is the most comprehensive among the other ones I use. I have yet to use it more to suggest any area of improvement. So far I am very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value - Add it to Your Library!, October 26, 2007
By 
This review is from: Staying Healthy with Nutrition, rev: The Complete Guide to Diet and Nutritional Medicine (Paperback)
My doctor recommended this book because he knows I like to treat health issues naturally when at all possible. A nice blend of sound nutritional science and natural health care. If you want to live fit and stay healthy as you age, check out this book. An excellent reference for treating specific health issues, but so much more. If you only reach for it when you are looking for a remedy for a particular health problem, you'll miss a lot. It's a great book - even better with Amazon's price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is very thorough and interesting!, May 22, 1999
I am glad to see that someone is telling the public the dangers of synthetic, processed foods. We all need to get back to the basic when it comes to nutrition. Elson Haas does a masterful job of explaning in detail everything you need to know about nutrition. The only nutrition book you will ever need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good Holistic view on Nutrition, July 14, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Staying Healthy with Nutrition, rev: The Complete Guide to Diet and Nutritional Medicine (Paperback)
Written by a physician and a Registered Dietitian, these authors obviously did a lot research writing this book. They have included scientific information from both alternative and traditional nutrition camps but unlike the standard nutrition books written by most university trained dietitians, this book does show that nutrition can be used both to maintain health and help heal from disease. Tons of information about fats, carbs, proteins, vitamins and minerals and more are in this book. The authors tell you how the vitamins and minerals work in your body, what co-enzymes contain them, and even how they help your body function and heal. They even tackle the topics of additives and poisons in foods and the environment as well including sections on different diseases and conditions from alcoholism and cancer and how nutrition can help. I do disagree with some of the information on some of the nutrients such as the extremely small amount of vitamin D recommended and some of the views on Fluoride, and other items but it does not detract from the overall usefulness of the book

Having said all that, reading a standard nutrition textbook first will greatly help with the understanding of the contents of this book. The author does seem to assume that most people have some basic understanding of how enzymes and cofactors function in the body and all that, and the reader has a basic understanding of the. metabolic pathways, and that is obviously not the case

Overall, however, do yourself a favor and purchase this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xd8a43b20)

This product

Staying Healthy with Nutrition, rev: The Complete Guide to Diet and Nutritional Medicine
$39.99 $26.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.