Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Content, badly formatted
This book contains great questions and answers and will be a help in preparing for the operators exam. But the unusual formatting makes it difficult to use and is just plain irritating.

Writing this book required a significant amount of technical knowledge and I imagine it took a significant investment of the author's time. Unfortunately the same...
Published on September 1, 2009 by T. Marshall

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars formatted by monkeys
This book absolutely the worst when it comes to formatting. The pages are broken down into four columns. Questions and answers are then squeezed into these 1 inch narrow columns with the worst line and sentence breaks you could imagine.

The formatting is so bad, the table of contents comes between chapter 1 and chapter 2.

The only reason to get...
Published on July 1, 2009 by Specific Gravity


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars formatted by monkeys, July 1, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Steam & Diesel Power Plant Operators Examinations (Paperback)
This book absolutely the worst when it comes to formatting. The pages are broken down into four columns. Questions and answers are then squeezed into these 1 inch narrow columns with the worst line and sentence breaks you could imagine.

The formatting is so bad, the table of contents comes between chapter 1 and chapter 2.

The only reason to get this book is that there isn't anything else out there in the form of a test prep book.

The first two reviews sound like paid endorsements by relatives of the author, did the read they same book I did?

This needs to go back to the editor for serious reformatting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Content, badly formatted, September 1, 2009
This review is from: Steam & Diesel Power Plant Operators Examinations (Paperback)
This book contains great questions and answers and will be a help in preparing for the operators exam. But the unusual formatting makes it difficult to use and is just plain irritating.

Writing this book required a significant amount of technical knowledge and I imagine it took a significant investment of the author's time. Unfortunately the same professionalism and dedication is not evident in the publishing. It looks like some sort of proof version for the author to check the Q&A without using too much paper. And putting the table of contents after chapter one causes this reader to lose a little confidence in the quality of the answers.

However, setting aside the amateurish editing and publishing, the questions seem to be right on topic and it's the topic we are after in this kind of book anyway - it's not a treasured collectable, it's a tool for preparing for the exam. By that measure, it is a good value. So I would still recommend this book, but I also strongly recommend perspective buyers use the Amazon "Look Inside" feature to look at plenty of pages so you know exactly what to expect when the book arrives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Didnt end up needing the book but seller was great, October 19, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Steam & Diesel Power Plant Operators Examinations (Paperback)
I got invited to test for a Plant Operator Trainee Position at a oil refinery in my area. I looked all over for any type of study guide since i had no idea what was going to be on the test. unfortunately this book was not geared for my entry level exam. however it did have alot of helpful tips, practice test and answer explaination. The seller i bought it from was great as well. They were very responsive and helpful, especially since i was on a time crunch. At this point i do not need the book, but i am going to keep it, because should i get accepted to start trainging classes as a plant operator, then i think it will be a great tool when studying for my final exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars This book is helpful.., January 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Steam & Diesel Power Plant Operators Examinations (Paperback)
I bought this book because it was on a list of books that are purported to be helpful in studying for state exams. It's very difficult to get through, the technical writing is of poor quality, the author is not a technical writer. His writings and explanations are mostly accurate (in my opinion), the presentation, however, reminds me of some of the training I received in the Navy aboard ship from senior people that didn't really have much training in the realm of education. For a training manual to be effective, it should have some degree of professionalism, which extends to correct spelling, easy layout for reading, and less personal views on life in general (which includes not trying to sway the student to personal views of your religion and concept of God).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, December 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Steam & Diesel Power Plant Operators Examinations (Paperback)
The book and straight forward and to the point. One of the sections "Auxillaries 500HP" there were no answers for it in the back of the book. But overall it is good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, September 22, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Steam & Diesel Power Plant Operators Examinations (Paperback)
I was very impressed with our first purchase of this book and would like to take this opportunity to congratulate the Author on a fine publication. Our order for more manuals for our remaining Power Plant Operators must indicate to you that we have found this publication very useful. Thank you, Mr. Russell, for your time and effort in compiling an excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great "Power" tool, August 9, 2001
By 
Lawrence Butler (Nassau, NP Bahamas) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Steam & Diesel Power Plant Operators Examinations (Paperback)
An invaluable aid for me as a Power Plant Engineer. All questions are completely related to the Utility Industry. I have used this book repeatedly to test the knowledge of Plant Operators in our Power Station. Congratulations to Mr James Russell on a fine publication. Well Done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Steam & Diesel Power Plant Operators Examinations
Steam & Diesel Power Plant Operators Examinations by James Russell (Paperback - January 1, 2000)
$34.95 $23.35
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.