Customer Reviews


158 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for applying to steampunk stuff
My son wanted these gears for his costume. They are made of metal and vary in color. Some are silver, some brass, and another steampunk color I can't identify. The gears vary in size also. Some are smaller than a dime and some are as big as a silver dollar. There seemed to be at least two of each kind of gear, so that is good for symmetrical designs.

They look...
Published on May 3, 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
64 of 66 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Max Diameter: 1 and 3/8 of an inch (1.375 inches)
The bag contains 20 gears and the gears look like cast metal brass and sheet metal brass.

There are 10 cast metal gears (1/16th of an inch thick) and 10 sheet metal gears (paper thin).

The bag contains 2 gears for each of the following sizes: (Units are in inches)

Cast Metal: 1 and 3/8, 1 and 3/16, 1, 3/4, 3/8 (in 16ths: 22/16, 19/16,...
Published 14 months ago by Scott Suhmann


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 66 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Max Diameter: 1 and 3/8 of an inch (1.375 inches), July 15, 2013
By 
Scott Suhmann (Vineland, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The bag contains 20 gears and the gears look like cast metal brass and sheet metal brass.

There are 10 cast metal gears (1/16th of an inch thick) and 10 sheet metal gears (paper thin).

The bag contains 2 gears for each of the following sizes: (Units are in inches)

Cast Metal: 1 and 3/8, 1 and 3/16, 1, 3/4, 3/8 (in 16ths: 22/16, 19/16, 16/16, 12/16, 6/16)

Sheet Metal: 1 and 3/8, 3/4, 7/16, 3/8, 5/16 (in 16ths: 22/16, 12/16, 7/16, 6/16, 5/16)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for applying to steampunk stuff, May 3, 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Broomfield, Colorado) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Steampunk Bag of Gears Standard (Apparel)
My son wanted these gears for his costume. They are made of metal and vary in color. Some are silver, some brass, and another steampunk color I can't identify. The gears vary in size also. Some are smaller than a dime and some are as big as a silver dollar. There seemed to be at least two of each kind of gear, so that is good for symmetrical designs.

They look nice. I doubt that you could actually use them to build a functional something, but they are great for costuming, which was the intent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At least it's better than Incubus, June 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Steampunk Bag of Gears (Toy)
I had just got this product in the mail today and am satisfied as to what it gave me compared to the customer reviews.

Pros:

Realistic look
Variety
Each gear has a double
Gears are very durable
Package arrived like when Gandalf arrived, exactly when it meant to.
__________________
Pro or con:

Light weight
Gears are metal
Gears are very hard to bend (Amon would be satisfied)
__________________
Cons:

Package may break, thus some parts may be discarded or fallen out of package
To follow on that last one, the packaging was open (the bag, not the box) and most of the gears were fumbling around inside the shipping box. Luckly it had only lost one, the smallest piece.
The gears mostly don't fit in eachother (even though it's fake, it would be a nice feature)

Overall I rate this a 4/5, it's good, not great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bag of Gears, June 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've ordered gears from several different places, and this is one of the first places I've found with a consistent product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick Shipping and Just what I needed!, October 26, 2011
This review is from: Steampunk Bag of Gears Standard (Apparel)
In putting my costume together for this Halloween I ran into some problems with other sellers taking a VERY long time to ship items that obviously are needed for a specific deadline. I ordered these two days ago and have them in hand. (please keep in mind that both times I used 2nd day air shipping)
Thanks again. My costume is going to rock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gears galore!, December 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I do quite a bit of Steampunk art (and gears DO not make Steampunk what it really is) and these various gears were just what I needed for a couple of the projects that I was doing. They are nicer than just getting the watch parts, which I have been using for years as they are larger and more tactile. I am sure I will be ordering these again soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent, but not great, November 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Steampunk Bag of Gears Standard (Apparel)
Not many gears in the bag for what you pay. not really functional but heavier than what I've found in the craft stores around here. The paint looks a bit cheap, will have to use rub n buff on several pieces before showing them off in public. The filigree and smaller gears are quite nice though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for Crafts, March 6, 2012
This review is from: Steampunk Bag of Gears Standard (Apparel)
I didn't buy these off amazon, instead I bought them at a store near me. They're good metal gears that come with both small, tiny pieces and bigger pieces. the bigger pieces are about the size of a quarter and a little bigger for a couple of them.
Only reason I didn't give it full stars is because there's small imperfections in some of them. I would like to buy more in the future for more crafts :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, November 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I wish I could find bigger cogs and gears, but these were the largest I could find and they did work very well for my Steampunk costume and accessories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, May 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Steampunk Bag of Gears Standard (Apparel)
Better than I expected. I can't wait to put these on everything. I like that there were really really tiny ones. You should definitely buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Steampunk Bag of Gears Standard
$9.99 $5.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.