Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE QUINTESSENTIAL MEDICAL DICTIONARY...
This is a comprehensive, medical dictionary that is well organized and cross-referenced. Its use is made more interesting by the inclusion of etymologies. It is not, however, for doctors only. This veritable treasure trove of information is also a boon to lawyers. All who use it, however, should read the user's guide that is included with the book, in order to maximize...
Published on May 1, 2006 by Lawyeraau

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You can't trust a book by it's cover...
Good dictionary. However, there are better ones (particularly Tabers). I have less physically attractive medical dictionaries with no color and a boring cover that seem to have the definitions I am looking for when Stedman's doesn't. Adequate dictionary but perhaps Taber's in a better value.
Published on October 9, 2007 by J. Paxton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE QUINTESSENTIAL MEDICAL DICTIONARY..., May 1, 2006
This review is from: Stedman's Medical Dictionary (Hardcover)
This is a comprehensive, medical dictionary that is well organized and cross-referenced. Its use is made more interesting by the inclusion of etymologies. It is not, however, for doctors only. This veritable treasure trove of information is also a boon to lawyers. All who use it, however, should read the user's guide that is included with the book, in order to maximize its value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You can't trust a book by it's cover..., October 9, 2007
This review is from: Stedman's Medical Dictionary (Hardcover)
Good dictionary. However, there are better ones (particularly Tabers). I have less physically attractive medical dictionaries with no color and a boring cover that seem to have the definitions I am looking for when Stedman's doesn't. Adequate dictionary but perhaps Taber's in a better value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kendra's Review, July 30, 2007
This review is from: Stedman's Medical Dictionary (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book. The book is a good source for medical terms and their meanings. There are also nice color illustrations as well. The book also contained a CD-ROM which included a spellchecker and additional images. I highly recommend this book if you are planning to take any medical courses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE THIS BOOK !, January 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stedman's Medical Dictionary (Hardcover)
I've been wanting a new edition of this book for years. I am a nurse, and love it for references. It has everything and more that I have wanted in one great book. Although it is large, and a little heavy, it doesn't deter me from using it as much as I want.

Great purchase for a really great price! Arrived in mint condition, and arrived quickly. I am very satisfied with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the one to get, October 17, 2012
By 
Tom Bruce (East Moriches, NY) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stedman's Medical Dictionary (Hardcover)
I have just begun a course in medical billing and coding and decided I needed a medical dictionary. There are numerous volumes out there, so I asked my instructor which one she would recommend, and this is it. So, I ordered it and have since decided she was absolutely right. There are two many bonus features in this 2,300 page book to list them all, but they include symbols to help you create the proper medical terminology, terrific color photographs, illustrations and charts. I'm sure this book will be at my side throughout school and into my working career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a long-time standard biomedical reference book, September 7, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stedman's Medical Dictionary (Hardcover)
Stedman's is a great reference book with lots of up-to-date information. It's a necessity for anyone involved in any of the branches of biomedicine or the allied health professions.

The only disappointment is the accompanying CD. It is really worthless. It contains artwork and images that are mostly low resolution and add little of value to the written text. If the publishers want to give readers a useful CD or set of CDs, then provide a precis' with as much detail as possible from the entire printed volume in PDF format that can be loaded onto a PC or add some informative animations. But forget about the fuzzy still images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful illustrations and references, June 11, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stedman's Medical Dictionary (Hardcover)
I am not in the health-care field, but am a big health-care consumer, and read a lot of technical books on various diseases. This dictionary has been invaluable in looking up terms I've encountered in other books, and just for general information. I usually end up with four or five fingers stuck in the book as I read one entry and need or want to look up something from the entry, or just see an interesting page.

A lot of very useful charts, such as abbreviations, blood test descriptions, and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, July 15, 2014
This review is from: Stedman's Medical Dictionary (Hardcover)
I am not able to find all that I need in this book..updated book is needed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good quality, July 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stedman's Medical Dictionary (Hardcover)
good quality and fast shipping :) not bad for a used one ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars To big, To expensive, June 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stedman's Medical Dictionary (Hardcover)
Don't need this type of book now a days. Unless you are a medical professional with no web access, or unfortunately stuck in the maddening circle of college textbook profit rings, you just don't need it. Its expensive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Stedman's Medical Dictionary
Stedman's Medical Dictionary by Thomas Lathrop Stedman (Hardcover - December 6, 2005)
$50.95 $46.20
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.