Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic testimonial to the Olympic rivers and their fish
Doug Rose has written a beautiful tribute to the West End rivers and the spectacular fish of Washington's Olympic Peninsula. Three parts conservation, one part natural history, with a bit of how-to fly fishing; Rose's passion for his subject comes through on every page. What makes this read particularly enjoyable is how easily he makes good writing seem effortless...
Published on February 16, 2005 by J. Barney

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars I don't enjoy reading but finding the next fishing hile
I was looking for a book to find general Steelhead water in the Olympic region. This is more stories then details. He includes no maps or where to go for out of towners. This is basically a book for someone to read. I don't enjoy reading but finding the next fishing hile. I have had better luck with Flyfishers Guides for each state. They tell you fly patterns, where...
Published 17 days ago by Brian Savoy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic testimonial to the Olympic rivers and their fish, February 16, 2005
This review is from: Steelhead Fly Fishing on the Olympic Peninsula (The Color of Winter) (Paperback)
Doug Rose has written a beautiful tribute to the West End rivers and the spectacular fish of Washington's Olympic Peninsula. Three parts conservation, one part natural history, with a bit of how-to fly fishing; Rose's passion for his subject comes through on every page. What makes this read particularly enjoyable is how easily he makes good writing seem effortless.

Rose comes across as a dedicated naturalist and astute observer of riverine habitats. These observations extend to the Peninsula's geography, climate, local history, local Tribes and conservation politics. Absent is the grandious bravado of many angling writers and their simple 'catch-and-tell' naratives. He presents solid arguments for protecting wild fish, particularly the remaining wild winter steelhead, from harvest and further habitat destruction. Most notably, he shares with us what these fish and rivers mean to him on an intimate level. Rose paints an image of the Olympic rain forest landscape that is both unique and precious; and outside National Park boundaries, remains in desparate need of protection.

I began reading this book to learn more about winter steelhead fishing from a technical perspective. While there are several sections relating to technical aspects, they are few and somewhat short on detail. Illustrations are limited to so-so quality photographs of West End riverscapes and many (but not all) of the flies described throughout the text. One small complaint concerns a number of typos remaining that the editor failed to catch. Admittedly though, my gripes are nominal.

I highly recommend this read for those wanting to enjoy an eloquant tribute to the remarkable anadromous fisheries of the Olympic Peninsula rivers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful, Colorful, Story Of The Steelhead, May 31, 2005
By 
ron P. swegman (New York, NY, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Steelhead Fly Fishing on the Olympic Peninsula (The Color of Winter) (Paperback)
Doug Rose has authored an authoritative, entertaining, and artful narrative about one of the most amazing gamefish -- the sea run rainbow trout known as The Steelhead -- and one of its most pristine habitats: Washington state's Olympic Peninsula.

Rose writes in a colorful narrative style that brings the Olympic Peninsula's winter palette to life. He also introduces the reader to the people who live their lives in pursuit of, and in support of, this great sport fish. Within the story he weaves the important ecological issues regarding the management -- and mismanagement -- of this wild, fragile, natural resource. A series of color plates in the middle of the book bring the reader even closer to the subject.

This book is a fine read: a "literary fishing book" in the tradition of Roderick Haig-Brown and Harry Middleton; a book that should be -- and will be -- read and reread by lovers of fly lines and literary lines alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Color of Winter, October 25, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Steelhead Fly Fishing on the Olympic Peninsula (The Color of Winter) (Paperback)
This is a really, really good book. And is very fun to read. You learn a lot about the history of the OP, and obviously a great deal about the fly fishing for steelhead in that area. I find some of the most interesting parts of this book are the chapters about the history of certain rivers and fisheries, and other subjects. Deus Ex Machina, Maximum Sustained Harvest, and The Creeks are a few examples. This is a great book, and so are Doug Roses' other books as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I don't enjoy reading but finding the next fishing hile, December 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Steelhead Fly Fishing on the Olympic Peninsula (The Color of Winter) (Paperback)
I was looking for a book to find general Steelhead water in the Olympic region. This is more stories then details. He includes no maps or where to go for out of towners. This is basically a book for someone to read. I don't enjoy reading but finding the next fishing hile. I have had better luck with Flyfishers Guides for each state. They tell you fly patterns, where to go, hatches etc. This book will be sitting on my book shelf collecting dust
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, April 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Steelhead Fly Fishing on the Olympic Peninsula (The Color of Winter) (Paperback)
Doug Rose is a true icon amongst winter steelhead fly fishers. His knowledge and deep passion for the rivers and fish of the west end will be missed. A classic book full of stories and local information on the Olympic Peninsula.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasure to read., April 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Steelhead Fly Fishing on the Olympic Peninsula (The Color of Winter) (Paperback)
Although I have not finished the book yet, it is a pleasure to read. Shortly after it arrived, I learned that Doug Rose had died, which adds poignancy to his recollections and observations.

I recommend this book for any fly fisher who has an interest in steelhead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars steelhead fly fishing on the Olympic Peninsula, June 26, 2010
By 
ronald c. fenton (ocean shores, washington, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Steelhead Fly Fishing on the Olympic Peninsula (The Color of Winter) (Paperback)
The book had a lot of fishing stories but not much on how to fish for steel head.
My favorite was Fishing the Hoh River. More how to & where in that book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Steelhead Fly Fishing on the Olympic Peninsula (The Color of Winter)
$15.95 $11.84
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.