Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Step Up [Blu-ray]
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon August 12, 2006
This is one of the most delightful films we have seen in a long time. The story is warm, and meaningful, with excellent character development, plot, acting, dancing, and music. And it teaches morals and ethics, to boot.

Tyler Gage (Channing Tatum) is a down and out, teenage foster kid, stuck in a family with a harried foster mom, struggling to support the family; a beer guzzling, TV-addicted, couch potato "dad" and two younger foster siblings, just as lost as he is. He hangs in his run down Baltimore neighborhood with Mac Carter (Damaine Radcliff) and his little brother Skinny (De'Shawn Washington), whose mother works at night, which is when the boys routinely get into trouble.

Tyler and Mac regularly jack cars and sell them at the local chop shop. On Saturday nights, they drop in at a neighborhood night club, populated by the occasional gunslinger, but with the best break dancing anywhere. And Tyler is a natural.

One weekend night, after being threatened with a gun and fleeing the club, Tyler, Mac and Skinny run through the streets, kicking cans and carelessly tossing refuse. Then one of them accidentally hits the window at the Maryland School of the Arts. Skinny decides to smash the window completely, and before long, the boys are in. They ogle the halls and showcases until Tyler finds the auditorium and heads for the stage, awed by the costumes, sets and props, which which the boys are soon dancing--and smashing.

Tyler takes the rap for his friends, who flee into the night. Sentenced to 200 hours of community service, he at first wants nothing more than to finish his time, mopping floors, changing lights and collecting trash.

But while making repairs on a ladder one afternoon, he witnesses a series of inept male dancers trying out as the partner for Nora Clark (Jenna Dewan). They trip, they fall, they drop her. They stink. She goes through them all, and then wonders what to do. She needs a stand in until her regular partner recovers from his sprained ankle. Tyler offers to catch her. She hesitates, but when he convinces her that he's serious, she is surprised to see that he not only can catch her--but do it gracefully.

An appeal to school director Gordon (Rachel Griffiths) wins her hesitant support for Tyler to temporarily take the role. Over the next few weeks, he helps her to rework the piece, jazzing it up, and adding several more dancers he has recruited from around the school. He also convinces her to let her talented friend Miles Darby (Mario), revise the music, after Nora's erstwhile boyfriend Brett Dolan (Josh Henderson) drops Miles from his group to sign a New York recording contract.

There is some really original music here, some great dancing, and a wonderful plot, emphasizing the importance of friendships. It's a heartwarming story of success in the face of adversity, and tragedy. A great family film that teens especially will love.

--Alyssa A. Lappen
55 comments|124 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Another worthwhile teenage film

That's set around a dance

A guy who grew up the hard way

And gets a second chance

He's basically a smart-mouthed punk

Just headed for disaster

By picking fights and boosting cars

He's gonna get there faster

While cleaning up at the Art School

He notices this girl

As luck would have it, he's the man

She needs to help her twirl

She's a driven dancing queen

Who needs to get it right

On and off and off and on

They practice, feud and fight

I'm sure you've guessed how this one ends

With dancing and romance

But something in it strikes a chord

It's worth more than a glance

Amanda Richards, January 20, 2007
66 comments|81 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2006
I expected good things from this movie, and i was completely blown away! Channing Tatum and Jenna Dewan are spectacular dancers! Channing Tatum is also a feast for the eyes, but we knew that after She's the Man. The movie had a great plot and a beautiful love story. I hope everyone enjoys it as much as I did and I highly suggest going to see it!
11 comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2006
The movie's plotline it is as 'cliche' as you can get. A troubled teenager who lives in a foster home gets himself in trouble (yet again!) but this time meets a gorgeous girl, falls in love, and also finds the meaning of life. I must also mention that the script and the direction of the movie was not so impressive, either. So, artistically, two stars would be a very generous rating for this movie. However, this is a movie about dancing. And to rate the movie's depiction of dancers 'dancing' I give it five stars. I would also give the casting director credit for casting the two main characters of this movie, Channing Tatum and Jenna Dewan. Their vibrant and sexy nature completely draws us, the audience, into the screen and makes it a little more bearable for us to watch the weak plotline unfold. And then when they dance, it is simply amazing. The dancing, on its own, makes the movie worthwhile to watch. Unlike other movies about dancing, these actors both come from a dancing background and you can clearly see that in their performances in the movie. I also liked that the movie allows the actors to break into dancing a few times before the big finale, unlike other movies where you have to wait 'til the end to see the actors show off what they can do. Lastly, I read that Channing Tatum was one of the top 10 most googled people in the recent months. I think that is enough to tell you that he is sizzling HOT in this movie. ;-)
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2013
I bought this movie as it was on sale. Stars Channing Tatum as Tyler Gage, a rough and streetwise hunk who is doing community service at a school for the performing arts, after being caught in a robbery. While there he meets Nora, a beautiful and privileged classically trained dancer played by Jena Dewan, who is seeking a replacement for her injured dance partner. Seeing Tyler dancing, Nora decides to take a chance on him as her dance partner. As the began training, tension builds, tempers flare and the differences in their backgrounds explode-igniting this electrifying tale about not giving up on your dreams.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2006
Here it is. My favorite movie star is Ginger Rogers. Anybody seen a Rogers & Astaire movie? Their films go like this...boy meets girl, boy dances with girl, boy loses girl, boy dances with girl (again), boy gets girl. Put all that in a movie with slammin' beats, an ambitious dance student (Jenna Dewan) and a freak at freestyle street dance (Channing Tatum) and you got "Step Up". You'll enjoy it. Like I did.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon February 7, 2015
This was a purchase for our daughter who loves this movie. It arrived in a timely manner and in excellent condition. She has watched this movie repeatedly and shared it with friends. All in all a satisfactory purchase.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2014
The story is as you'd expect: Bad boy meets good girl; dance conquers all. The role suits Channing Tatum as a young actor - a bit awkward and out of his element, but it's easy to see why this was a stepping stone to the bigger roles that followed for him.

A good watch on a lazy day.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2014
One of my favorite dance movies. Plot is predictable but it's still fun to watch, which I've done over and over. You can't ever get tired of looking at Channing Tatum, come on now. True fans will know that he married his co-star and they now have a child.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2013
The choreography in the final dance routine was beautifully in sync with the music, which in itself was a great piece. Channing had the greatest challenge in adapting his style to the traditional dance routines and he accomplished it well. I would have enjoyed being in the audience to watch the entire routine play out across the stage.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.