Customer Reviews


572 Reviews
5 star:
 (522)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


475 of 484 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most thrilling indoor toy ever with some drawbacks
As you might imagine, there are a few drawbacks to this toy. I'll list them before the praise.

First, kids under 3 are going to occasionally hurt themselves. It's recommended for children 2-5, but, let's be honest, if you have an 18-month-old that can walk, you're going to put them on it. They can ride it and will love it, but they will need help getting on;...
Published on February 22, 2005 by Rob Houser

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fun at first...
We have had this toy for almost a year. This was lots of fun for aboout a week. It just takes up space and I am thinking about donating it to Good will. If I had it to do over again I would never buy this item.
Published on March 3, 2005 by H. Hall


‹ Previous | 1 258 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

475 of 484 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most thrilling indoor toy ever with some drawbacks, February 22, 2005
By 
Rob Houser (Atlanta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Step 2 Up & Down Roller Coaster (Toy)
As you might imagine, there are a few drawbacks to this toy. I'll list them before the praise.

First, kids under 3 are going to occasionally hurt themselves. It's recommended for children 2-5, but, let's be honest, if you have an 18-month-old that can walk, you're going to put them on it. They can ride it and will love it, but they will need help getting on; they have to learn to hold their feet up on the car or out to avoid the wheels; and they occasionally forget the need to hold on to the bar. We use a loader and a catcher (mom and dad) for anyone under 3. Even a three-year-old will occasionally just fall off while getting on or run into another kid, if more than one kid present. But the toy is designed low enough to the ground that injuries should be more tears than actual bruises (unless you use it outside on your concrete driveway).

Second, the toy takes a lot of space if you use it indoors, or even if you just plan to store it someplace when it's not being used.

Third, this type of activity can often be short-lived. Don't buy this and expect it to be used every day for hours. My kids didn't play with it every day, so I started keeping it in the garage and bringing it out for special occasions like rainy days and visiting friends. They kids will play with the coaster for about 15-20 minutes each, at the most.

Fourth, you'll need to closely supervise the use of this toy, especially if there's more than one kid playing with it. For kids under 4, you may be doing a bit of work yourself in getting them on and pushing them back to the top. For the older kids, you may just referee and make sure that nobody stands in front of the track.

Now that may sound like a lot of negatives for a toy that I rated a 5, but you simply cannot have this much active fun inside the house without a trampoline or a really big ball pit. For children ages 2 and 3, this toy is more exciting than most adults would expect. The coaster is a solid construction and easy to put together and take apart in seconds. It even holds an adult should you want to test it out for yourself. Even older kids 5-6 love it, but you have to watch them a little as they try to increase the fun by doing more daring things like going down backwards. Finally, the editorial review was exactly right-the car does get used separately from the track and (when I kept my track out all the time) the kids played on it with matchbox cars and balls on a daily basis (it just took too much space in our play room). I wish they made toys like this when I was a kid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional Toy!, April 26, 2002
By 
T. T. Barney (Morgan Hill, Ca) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Step 2 Up & Down Roller Coaster (Toy)
I bought this Roller Coaster for my niece's first Christmas. It took less then a couple of minutes to set up using no instructions. My niece was 11 months old at the time and could just hold on while we walked along side her. She loved it!!! Now almost 5 months later, it is still in perfect condition. She can now ride it by herself, she pushes the coaster back up the track climbs on and goes again. She still loves it!
Good for up to age 7 or 8. My friend tried it and liked it and she weights around 130+ pounds. The older ones can ride on it and enjoy it as much as the younger children. The track is also fun to roll things down such as balls and toy cars. The car can be used without track also. As a side note the car makes a clicking sound as you push it back up the track which sounds like a real roller coaster. (its darling) Well worth the money and the amazing thing is that it is so durable it will be something that can be used for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent toy for any kid, June 16, 2005
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Step 2 Up & Down Roller Coaster (Toy)
I BOUGHT THIS TOY FOR MY SON ON HIS FIRST BIRTHDAY, HE ABSOLUTELY LOVES THIS TOY. IT KEPT HIM OCCUPPIED AND NOT BORED AT ALL, NOW I HAVE A SECOND SON WHO IS 3 AND HE TOO HAS BEEN RIDING THIS TOY FOR 2 YEARS. THEY CANNOT GET ENOUGH OF IT. GREAT TOY & VERY REASONABLE AT PRICE. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TOY TO ANYONE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for toddlers, November 19, 2001
By A Customer
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Step 2 Up & Down Roller Coaster (Toy)
This toy is great!! I love it for rainy indoor days and for parties. It keeps our toddler entertained for hours. This is a must have. Besides, how many kids can actually say they have their own "Roller Coaster". It was worth every dime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Step 2 Roller Coaster a Hit!!, March 12, 2002
By A Customer
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Step 2 Up & Down Roller Coaster (Toy)
My 3 daycare children all 3yrs and under have been having more fun than I could have imagined with this toy. It is very easy to put together (about 2 minutes for me) and we were having FUN!
The kids ride it frontward and backwards and have fun just pushing the ride-on toy by itself down the track. They love it.
It is easy to take down for the night and store. I have a large yard so space is no problem for me but you might want to take a look at the measurements. You will need about 3-5 feet extra at the end from where the ride ends. This was worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All kids love this toy, June 26, 2004
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Step 2 Up & Down Roller Coaster (Toy)
I work at a day care center and all the kids I watch love this track. They giggle when the ride ends and the are still coasting on the wood floor. One of the more easy toys to put together. I also like that you can use the car to ride on without the track. Great item for all kids under 80ish lbs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exercise! Balance! Turn-taking! (and no batteries), March 15, 2004
By A Customer
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Step 2 Up & Down Roller Coaster (Toy)
We bought this for my daughter's second birthday because she is cautious and not very physical and we wanted to encourage her. What a hit it has been! She loved it from the first ride, squealing "whee!" each time down. She learned quickly how to go up the stairs, push off, ride down and push the car back up the ramp herself. This takes balance, coordination and toddler level agility. She has taken a few tumbles but the track is only 4-15 inches high, so she has only been surprised, never hurt. She has just learned to jump and loves jumping off the low parts of the track. She likes running up and down the track, trying to balance on the steeper parts and rolling cars and balls down the track. Our quiet, reticent little daughter has become much more physically daring and accomplished on this toy. She uses it for an hour straight, riding and pushing, until she finally lies down on the track and says "want to sleep." We try to take her to bed and she says "No! Sleep HERE!"
This toy snaps together like magic in 10 seconds, takes apart as quick and can be stored in a corner. It was worth the cost and is perfect for this age. However, things to consider before you buy: 1) When it is set up, you need a lot of space (on low pile carpet minimum 22 feet including the rolling distance after the track). 2) Children this age don't understand about staying out of the car's path so if more than one child is playing in the room you have to pay attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The kids love it!, February 13, 2003
By 
Deanna Hockey (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Step 2 Up & Down Roller Coaster (Toy)
My children (3.5 and 2 years) received this from Santa this past Christmas and love it!
The toy is bright and colourful and very durable. We've had the roller coaster inside on our tiled hallway and outside on pavers, a cement garage floor and a grass area. Obviously your choice of surface will determine how far the coaster will continue rolling after you leave the track. And the speed at which you go will be determined by how big a push you give yourself (or someone gives you). We are able to control the speed for younger riders while the older ones can go as fast as they like.
The car you ride on is easy to climb on to with the wide steps at the top of the track. The wheels make a great wooden roller coaster sound as it goes along "clickety clack, clickety clack". The seat has a high back so your child has no chance of falling off backwards, with a good sized handle to grip and a space for feet to be placed so they are off the ground as you go "whooshing" down the track.
It is so easy to put together - my three old can do it (but I always check she's lock everything together properly) and the children worked out straight away how to ride it and how to push the car back up the track and put the wheels in the little wheel holder up the top so it's ready for the next rider.
The children love it! They have so much fun sharing it with each other and their friends. It teaches them to take turns as well. But it's just not used as a roller coaster. They use the track to walk along practising their balance, they use the car to ride around the yard. The walk up and down (and up and down) the steps. I've also seen cars get zoomed up and down - everything from Tonka trucks, matchbox cars and Little People.
Highly recommended! Your children will have a ball!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have - for all ages, June 28, 2005
This review is from: Step 2 Up & Down Roller Coaster (Toy)
I have a 1 yr old, 3 yr old, 5 yr old and 9 yr old - all boys. They ALL love it. In fact, all kids, boys or girls, of all ages that come by here and play on it, love it! The teenage babysitter next door will even borrow it for the kids she is babysitting.

1 & 2 yr olds need a little help getting on and the older ones tend to be more daring (try is backwards, standing up, etc.) and will drag it out to the driveway, which goes down hill and extend the ride. You have to watch closely, because the little ones then want to try that.

But the giggles, laughes and smiles on their faces show just how much they all love this toy. They also use the car as just a regular ride on toy and the coaster for pushing their hand held cars on or racing hot wheels, and rolling balls down it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun for all, January 22, 2002
By 
Jan Gifford (Mayfield, NY United States) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Step 2 Up & Down Roller Coaster (Toy)
I bought the roller coaster for my 3 year old grandaughter. she was thrilled to death. It is not only used by her, but her 18 month old, 4 year old, and 7 year old sisters. There is a lot of sharing going on. This is super durable. It says up to age 5, but the 7 year old has no trouble using it at all. It is big, so plan on a lot of room for the car to travel. An excellent toy, and worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 258 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Step 2 Up & Down Roller Coaster
$119.99 $99.99
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.