Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Step Up To The Plate
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars9
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 22, 2015
I am a professional and I thought it a great attempt to explore culinary history within one family. Cinematography great but if you are expecting a film all about food, this will not measure up in that regard. But over all an excellent filmography.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2015
Unless you know these people personally, there is no point in watching this relentlessly boring, bland, beige snoozer. Even the food segments were unbearable. Fussy, overly precious preparation of dishes that were absurd in their lack of appeal, done in complete SILENCE. I got so irritated, I started blurting out phrases like "Are you kidding me?!" "Is this some kind of a joke?" and "You couldn't pay me to eat that B.S.". The best looking food in the whole thing were the cheese and jam sandwiches the woman made at the very end of the film. What a waste of my time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2014
Ever wondered what it's like inside the world of a 3 star Michelin restaurant? This will begin your journey.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2014
I think it was Jean Luc Godard who said he wanted to make a movie about the space between people. This is a documentary about the space around a subject. It is good effort at originality, but originality doesn't entertain or inform by itself.

On the plus side, the director spared us the usual tiresome foodie clichés: Food porn, people going into orgasmic eye rolls over some desert, or other common devices. Unfortunately, he has nothing to put in place of the worn out ideas. We get a very quiet look into the lives of a father and son chef team that isn't very interesting and doesn't get very deep.

I came away thinking it was a wasted opportunity to do an original food documentary.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2013
Never having working in a family business, let alone shared my kitchen professional with my family I cannot understand parts of the exchanged, but this moves shares the difficulty that I have experienced many times in the handing or taking over the reins in restaurant
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2013
Michel Bras is a master, and turning his restaurant over to son Sebastian is a huge leap. This film provides a real look at the people behind the restaurant and captures the intensity and dedication of both men (and their colleagues). The outtakes/extra footage provided is absolutely worth viewing (they take up as mach time as the finished film) as they take you even deeper into what makes this one of the most respected restaurants in the world.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2013
While there was plenty of culinary eye candy, especially with the creation of some signature dishes such as the "Gargouillou", this was more about the relationship between father and son during the transition of the Bras restaurants. One obviously conjures up "Jiro Dreams of Sushi" which offers a interesting contrast with this film for the food and relationship. Ironically some of this film is devoted to the Bras restaurant in Japan.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2013
Watched it and thought it was boring. Not much cooking involved. Time spent between family and the restaurant. Kept waiting for some outstanding cooking and presentation but there is very little of both in this film.
22 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2013
MICHEL BRAS, the inventor of the Molten Lava Cake, This chef and his son
Sebastien passion for food goes above beyond perfection. Good and Long I didn't want it stop, also the deleted scenes are over an hour, and gives a rich history on Bras started.. I'm excited talking about now, I'm about to go watch again.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$16.59

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.