Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 micron is small, but....
In some water sources, even the 4 micron filter is insufficient to filter some of the suspended particles, leaving the water somewhat turbid. I use the SteriPEN Classic Handheld Water Purifier. It provides instructions for dealing with turbid water. Have not run across any flocculating agents that are not combined with a chlorine treatment which kind of defeats the...
Published on May 11, 2010 by remote camper

versus
4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy this product.
It is absolutely impossible to use this product as advertised. It does pre-filter dirty water if you have a widemouth water bottle- Nalgene or Gatorade 32 oz, but it has a smaller funnel which should attach to the larger funnel to accommodate smaller neck drinking bottles. Jesus Christ, or more contemporary, David Blain could not pull of this miracle. I tried with...
Published 23 months ago by Gerald Swindler


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 micron is small, but...., May 11, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Steripen FitsAll Filter (Sports)
In some water sources, even the 4 micron filter is insufficient to filter some of the suspended particles, leaving the water somewhat turbid. I use the SteriPEN Classic Handheld Water Purifier. It provides instructions for dealing with turbid water. Have not run across any flocculating agents that are not combined with a chlorine treatment which kind of defeats the purpose of using a Steripen.

This system is vented to allow air displaced by the water to escape as the water container is filled. Remove the vented cartridge to insert the Steripen. READ THE DIRECTIONS for the Steripen!!! Just remember to press the button on the Steripen for the required dosage FIRST before inserting into the filter housing...once for 32oz, twice for 16. I've seen some reviews that get that wrong! Also, your container needs to be full enough for the water to make contact with the 2 electrodes on the Steripen while its in the filter housing. Get the procedure down before you go in the wilderness! In daylight or with a non see-through container, this filter housing and the Steripen, you won't be seeing what's going on. You'll have to pay attention to the LED on the Steripen to know when the treatment is finished. If you are using something like Katadyn Pocket Water Microfilter, you won't need this prefilter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lightweight and works, June 30, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Steripen FitsAll Filter (Sports)
Length:: 1:19 Mins

First off, it works. It filters out the sediment from the stream and does a pretty good job of it.

The only drawback I can see is it can be a bit troublesome to assemble. This video shows you how to get the pieces together with a minimum of fuss.

The white filter needs to be backflushed or blown out every 2 liters or so. I just put it up to my lips and blow hard (and fast) and it's clean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazon's product description is wrong on filter size, February 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Steripen FitsAll Filter
This filter is *40* microns, not 4. That's a pretty significant difference. It's true that a human hair is about 100 microns, but when you're trying to water out of streams or rivers, a 36 micron difference lets in a lot of extra stuff. This filter will still let in a fair amount of fine particulate matter, and, of course, all the microbiological agents you want to avoid. The 40 micron size is clearly stated on other literature, so I'm not sure why Amazon's product description is wrong.

The filter itself is just a soft funnel with a removable filter canister. It fits well into a standard nalgene bottle. I stuck it in a regular 16 oz soda bottle as well, and it seemed to make a good seal with the long adapter part. I don't plan on using it, but it's good to know it works.

As a warning, you can only use certain models of Steripen with this filter. With the round base models (like the Journey), you can remove the filter canister with a twist, and stick the Steripen in. Then you can turn the bottle upside and let the Steripen do it's work. The the square base ones aren't compatible with this feature, so you'll still be sticking your Steripen in the regular way.

If you own a Steripen or use purifying tablets, this is a good way to get the "chunky" stuff out of your drinking water. But if you want crystal clear drinking water, you're going to want to buy a real pump filter with a less-than-one micron filter. This would work as a good, lightweight prefilter for a pump filter, which will save some life on one of those devices.

Weight is decent. Filter seems a little flimsy, I expect it would last a few years of moderate use. Overall, this is good for people who use other purifying methods and just want mostly clear water to drink. This is a good product for it's cost and intended purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars STeriPen Filter, March 28, 2010
This review is from: Steripen FitsAll Filter (Sports)
This product has proven indispensable in our travels to Vietnam, not as a filter but use of the cup as a seal between our classic steripen (see separate review) and the varied water bottles. It is easy to pack and carry. Glad we got it at the same time we bought the steripen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great product, August 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Steripen FitsAll Filter
I ordered the FitsAll with my Steripen. While I have yet to actually take it into the backcountry yet, I ran a few tests in my kitchen using coffee grains and potting soil. I essentially made muddy water and filtered it with the FitsAll. I still had cloudy water but it actually tasted fine after treatment with the Steripen and my little trial run was probably not even close to the water most people would filter though.

The whole process timed (to get an idea of what to expect on the trail) took about 3.5 minutes to setup the filter, filter 1L of water and treat it with the Steripen. Compared to activated carbon pumping water purifiers, that's pretty slow but the saved space and setup time of the Steripen offers a real advantage.

The FitsAll fits Nagene, Sigg, and many other water bottles including most disposable water bottles. Just make sure you read the directions to using both this and the Steripen and stir the water with the Steripen during treatment, especially with 1 liter bottles. I only rated it 4 stars because the filter does not create a great seal when used with Sigg bottles. Needless to say though, this product does a great job of removing large particles. You can always use a coffee filter as well to filter out particles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steripen FitsAll Filter, October 1, 2009
By 
GKMac (Hickory, NC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Steripen FitsAll Filter (Sports)
Very functional and stows away well in my backpack. Before purchasing this product, I used a coffee filter to initially filter the water (for sediment) but I like not having to carry the coffee filters in and out and this product is more stable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very handy, January 6, 2010
By 
This review is from: Steripen FitsAll Filter (Sports)
I got this as part of the Journey combo set. It fits snugly into every bottle I have. It consists of two pieces which you can use individually or connect together, which gives it the wide size range. The material is soft and flexible. All this allows you to push it snugly into your water container then submerge it to fill up. You can also remove the filter part and insert the Steripen, then insert it into your water container, and you can shake vigorously and turn it upside down to make sure everything's getting exposed to the light, without water splashing out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SteriPen prefilter, November 6, 2010
By 
Irishman (Eastern Ct, U.S.of A) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Steripen FitsAll Filter (Sports)
Works perfectly for removing extraneous matter where all those little critters that want to spoil your fun are hiding
I recommend it for anyone who is into back-country camping and doesn't want to floss after drinking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good prefilter, March 1, 2011
By 
Rosc (Northeast Pa.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Steripen FitsAll Filter
I use this as a 2nd stage prefilter, after my fine mesh and paper filters, to reduce the amount of sediment for the final filtering through a ceramic 1-micron filter. I would NOT trust this unit by itself- it is not intended to be used by itself - it is a pre-filter for using with the Steri-pen UV sanitizer.

Also, as far as using chlorine, it is ineffective against protozoa, like cryptosporidium (sp?) so do use the Steripen to neutralize the critters that a filter cannot catch - and NO filter catches most viruses and most chemicals don't get all of the protozoans, so there ya have it - use the steripen or other UV treatment (solarizing, etc.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Camping, July 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Steripen FitsAll Filter (Sports)
High Mountain campout. Worked well as a prefilter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Steripen FitsAll Filter
$16.71
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.