Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, terrible packaging...
This volume presents many rare photos of Steve and plenty of great product photography, along with well written copy on the genius of Steve Jobs. I caution potential buyers of this book, and any other products from Amazon, to accept that you "get what you pay for" when dealing with them. My copy of "TIME Steve Jobs' arrived with dented corners, a scratched dust jacket,...
Published on April 13, 2012 by Tim

versus
32 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother with this despicable piece of crap from TIME!
Don't bother with this despicable piece of crap. It is not worth your TIME or money. It's just another example of people trying to make money off of the death of Steve Jobs. There is nothing new here, either in the photos or the text.

But what is totally UNFORGIVABLE, in my opinion, was the careless way it was produced. TIME took my all-time favorite photo of a...
Published on November 10, 2011 by DEBRA LEE


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother with this despicable piece of crap from TIME!, November 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Don't bother with this despicable piece of crap. It is not worth your TIME or money. It's just another example of people trying to make money off of the death of Steve Jobs. There is nothing new here, either in the photos or the text.

But what is totally UNFORGIVABLE, in my opinion, was the careless way it was produced. TIME took my all-time favorite photo of a young Steve Jobs and enlarged it to cover a 2-page spread. But TIME didn't even bother to account for the binding of the pages at the spine where the two pages meet, and a substantial portion of Steve's face is completely missing! Book binding is not rocket science, but this mess didn't even bother with typical STANDARD PUBLISHING PROCEDURES, WHICH SHOULD ALWAYS INCLUDE PROOFING & ACCOUNT FOR THE GUTTER AREA ON SPREADS!!

How utterly disrespectful to Steve Jobs to cut off his face like that. I hope TIME doesn't make a dime off of this shoddy, ill-conceived, greed-motivated, poorly produced mess!

Shame on TIME Magazine.

I WANT MY MONEY BACK!

Debra Lee,
Rocklin, CA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, terrible packaging..., April 13, 2012
By 
Tim (Orlando, FL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This volume presents many rare photos of Steve and plenty of great product photography, along with well written copy on the genius of Steve Jobs. I caution potential buyers of this book, and any other products from Amazon, to accept that you "get what you pay for" when dealing with them. My copy of "TIME Steve Jobs' arrived with dented corners, a scratched dust jacket, and black soot covering the entire book. Amazon needs to redesign their packaging to better protect its contents from damage. If you care about the condition of your books, I would suggest buying from a place that cares about delivering products in excellent condition even if you have to pay full price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to Read Memorial Piece -, November 13, 2011
Words that could be used to describe Jobs include perfectionist, self-confident genius, innovator, great - but not nice, controlling, artistic, and seeking simplicity. He's appeared on 8 covers of Time magazine, yet it's still difficult to summarize what he brought us. The original Apple computer was designed and built by co-founder Wozniak, who also provided the software. Pixar was entirely the work of software and animation geniuses already there before Jobs acquired it. There were cell phones, music players, and tablets on the market before Apple entered those markets. As for Apple retail stores revolutionizing the industry, I doubt it; the 'secret sauce' in those stores is the large number of enthusiastic Apple fans.

Time makes another attempt to explain Jobs in this memorial issue. Readers learn he was a difficult child (not hard to imagine) and fortunate to have supportive adoptive parents, that he learned very little in college - even in the months that he attended Reed College informally, that he was sometimes inconsistent - denying paternity of daughter Lisa, despite resenting being 'abandoned' by his birth father, that he made the bulk of his fortune from the sale of Pixar to Disney for $7.4 billion in 2006 (Disney had the opportunity to buy it for $10 million, but Katzenbach nixed the deal - maybe this was why Disney paid Katzenbach 'only' $250 million after being forced out of the company). He was also always learning from others - eg. original Apple investor Mike Markula and John Scully, even though they later became opponents, those on Apple's board (especially Jerry York, former CFO of Chrysler and IBM, and Larry Ellison, Oracle CEO), and others (eg. Andrew Grove, former Intel CEO). Jobs also had a knack for attracting and usually retaining 'A' players.

Another inconsistency - though famous for micromanaging, Jobs had the good sense to leave the people at Pixar alone. 'Toy Story' took four years to make, including some traumatic time when the creative team started over after everyone realized Katzenbach's initial direction would have killed the movie. (So why did Katzenbach get that $250 million?) Actually, Pixar was a major Jobs 'mistake' - he had seen it as a computer hardware creator; reality is that its computer division was unsuccessful, sold off, and then failed.

Still another inconsistency, and most unfortunate - Jobs were very meticulous about diet and his health, yet delayed cancer surgery out of reluctance to have himself 'opened up.'

The 'real' value of Apple turned out to be the innovative products added after it established itself as a maker of attractive, 'cool' computers. Apple clearly lost the 'PC war' to Microsoft, IBM, and the IBM clones. Jobs also lost the early battle for the business market, making clear his disdain for that segment as well as CIOs in general. Recently, however, businesses have warmed to Apple products, and it to their interests - it even bosts that 92% of Fortune 500 companies are testing or deploying iPads and iPhones. Eg. Lowes has bought about 42,000 iPhones for employees on store floors - they no longer need to find a computer to check inventory, pull up how-to videos, and help customers estimate costs for projects. United, Continental, and Alaska Airlines have given iPads to over 12,000 pilots - printed aircraft flight manuals, navigation charts no longer have to carried on board and updated manually. Siemens plans on equipping its wind turbine technicians with 5,000 iPads, replacing bulkier laptops and allowing pictures to be taken and sent directly to experts elsewhere. Standard Chartered is moving 11,000 workers off BlackBerrys to iPhones. So, Apple has really become 'the computer for the rest of us.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Could Have Been Tied Together Better., November 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Each article was great, but after reading TIME-LIFE’s Edison with the richness of material available it could have been tied together better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mother, December 6, 2012
By 
Billy R. Ramsey (Waco, Texas - USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
really enjoyed this book about Steve Jobs. She wanted to see how he had changed our lifes even though she is not computer literate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It Is An Interesting Product, October 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love my book i like to read it alot i mostly like the pictures this is a great book to learn about the electronic genius who changed the world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book Great Person !, September 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book about Steve was Wonderful !

I had known Steve and worked for him for many years !

A good person with Great Ideas and Company !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collectors item if you admire this genius ., December 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have already read this book and passed it through 3 or 4 family members. I'm sending this from my IPad 2. Thanks, Steve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I havent receive my book yet !!!, February 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I order this book more than a month agao and have not received it yet while I already received all the other books !!

where is it ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How do you not love Steve, November 29, 2011
Who could not be touched by this beautiful man, OK, perhaps not Bill Gates, but, Steve did so much for all of us in so many ways. I hope his new world is a better one for him, he made this one better by just being here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.