Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great spanish translation, Great book.
This is an excellent read for an inside look of a man that changed world history with his way of thinking of technology and his decisions to bring his vision to life. This is THE book if you want to know about Steve Job's life. I was impressed how fast the Spanish translation was released, in less than three weeks the english version was in stores. I hope to see soon the...
Published on November 1, 2011 by Excursioner

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Jobs would have killed the translator! (es:Jobs hubiese matado al traductor!)
:en/ The translation made by J. David González-Iglesias González/Torreclavero is not only bad, but to Jobs regret, looks like it was done using Google Translate!
It is obvious that neither the translator nor the editor, are native Spanish speakers... and if they are, they aught to go back to school or at least get their money back.
I have never...
Published on January 13, 2012 by Gaston Draque


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Jobs would have killed the translator! (es:Jobs hubiese matado al traductor!), January 13, 2012
By 
Gaston Draque (Buenos Aires, Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
:en/ The translation made by J. David González-Iglesias González/Torreclavero is not only bad, but to Jobs regret, looks like it was done using Google Translate!
It is obvious that neither the translator nor the editor, are native Spanish speakers... and if they are, they aught to go back to school or at least get their money back.
I have never read a book that matches this one in the amount and variety of wrongly translated expressions and basic grammar errors.
If you are an English speaker and are attempting to improve your Spanish by reading this book, please try somewhere else. If on the other hand, you are a Spanish speaker, then be warned your eyes will hurt.

Despite the editors and translators enormous efforts in destroying this book, Mr. Walter Isaacson does a great job in describing the complexities that helped shape the genius that once lived in Steve Jobs...

To confirm what I thought to be obvious, I ordered the English version of the book and compared them.
I am sure Steve Jobs would have killed the translator!
___________________________________________________________________________________

:es/ La traducción de J. David González-Iglesias González/Torreclavero no solo es mala, sino que a veces, y muy a pesar de Jobs, parece haber sido hecha por Google Translate! Es evidente que tanto el traductor como el editor, no hablan español nativo, y si es así, tienen que volver a las aulas o al menos pedir que les devuelvan el dinero.
Nunca había leído un libro que tuviese esta cantidad y variedad de errores de traducción y gramática básica.
Si Ud. es angloparlante y quiere leer este libro para mejorar su español, mejor elija otro para sus ejercicios idiomáticos. Si en cambio, Ud. es hispanoparlante, le advierto que le dolerán los ojos.

A pesar del intento por parte de sus editores de destruir el libro, Walter Isaacson hace un trabajo excelente al mostrar las complejidades que han dado forma al genio que habito en Steve Jobs...

Solo para confirmar lo que pensé que era obvio, ordené una copia en inglés del libro y los comparé.
Estoy seguro de que Steve Jobs hubiese matado al traductor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Spanish version does not have the same images as the english version / Edición en español carece de algunas imágenes, December 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a nice book, my only complaint is the lack of photos that appear on the english version. Why the Vintage Spanol didn't put all the images???

Este est un libro muy interesantes, mi única queja es la falta de fotografias que la versión en ingles sí posee. Por que el editorial Vintage Espanol no publico el mismo contenido que la versión en inglés????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great spanish translation, Great book., November 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is an excellent read for an inside look of a man that changed world history with his way of thinking of technology and his decisions to bring his vision to life. This is THE book if you want to know about Steve Job's life. I was impressed how fast the Spanish translation was released, in less than three weeks the english version was in stores. I hope to see soon the spanish edition in hardcover, just like the english one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Muy buen libro, muy mala traduccion, August 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Una historia muy interesante, de un tipo obsesivo, antipatico sin un sentido de compasion por los demas, pero un genio en los negocios, y la innovacion. Al parecer los locos son los que cambian el mundo. Que vision tuvo y como logro hacer una diferencia.
Si lles ingles, compralo en ese idioma, esta traduccion es muy pobre. Ademas esta en espanol de espana con frases que no tienen sentido.. Terrible...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steve jobs - español, December 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
El libro sobre la biografía del genio Steve Jobs es realmente un testimonio de la espectacular carrera creativa e inventiva de una persona sin igual, gracias a su visión y pasión por sus sueños nos beneficiamos de la tecnología mas avanzada del mundo, de igual forma como se ha recopilado y redactado la información es una completa aventura, este libro es un hit en la historia del mundo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor bookbinding, January 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The bookbinding is not good quality.The print is so small that it is difficult to read.They should give an option on purchading larger print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steve Jobs Espanol, January 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Gave this to my dad for christmas, he loves it. Takes it everywhere with him. I hear its a great book! I look forward to borrowing it when he's done. This particular edition is in Spanish. My dad is a native spanish speaker and says the book is written well. I'd buy it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellents book (Steve Jobs (Espanol), January 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellents book (Steve Jobs (Espanol)---You must read this authorised biography that offers a lot of insight into the driving force behind Apple and everything that you would like to know about him :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelente, January 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Me encanto mucho conocer algunos aspecto personales de Steve Jobs y de la forma y filosofia de trabajar, realmente un libro que me inspira a mejorar como persona y tomar en cuenta siempre, siempre los detalles de nuestro trabajo, incluso hasta aquellas partes ... donde no son visibles, lo recomiendo altamente y estoy seguro que disfrutaran de esta lectura.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Al fondo de la persona, January 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Un muy buen intento de acercarse a la complejidad de la persona detrás de cámaras. Sin negar nunca sus grandes dotes humanas y de liderazgo, la biografía muestra la complicada psicología que conformaba a Jobs. Como tantos otros genios, sus maravillosas creaciones van acompañadas de muchos momentos de dolor para ellos, y para las personas que les rodean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Steve Jobs. La biografía (Spanish edition)
Used & New from: $9.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.