Customer Reviews


318 Reviews
5 star:
 (270)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly fascinating...
As a linux enthusiast I've always been a bit contemptuous of apple products - oversimplified, restrictive, too proprietary. And while much of this is true and while apple has changed dramatically over the years, watching this interview, I have a much greater respect for the vision and character of a man who has unquestionably altered the course of personal...
Published 18 months ago by Christopher Kuttruff

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting documentary
Steve Jobs before the returning to apple! Very genuine interview.
Interesting to understand what he thought about sculley an the tech world in 1995.
Published 13 months ago by R. Bronzini


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly fascinating..., December 27, 2012
As a linux enthusiast I've always been a bit contemptuous of apple products - oversimplified, restrictive, too proprietary. And while much of this is true and while apple has changed dramatically over the years, watching this interview, I have a much greater respect for the vision and character of a man who has unquestionably altered the course of personal computing.

Jobs elegantly describes his passion and drive to create digital environments that are both aesthetically unique as well as functional. Very curious to learn more about how things evolved at Next and more of the history of how apple initially grew - Jobs and Wozniak in a basement hacking on hardware and ideas that would revolutionize an industry that was just beginning to be introduced to the general public.

This is absolutely worth watching (and I imagine one of the best interviews of Jobs in existence).

Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You're in for a treat..., October 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Steve Jobs: The Lost Interview (DVD)
This is an hour-long interview of Steve Jobs in his younger years, long before the iPhone. I wasn't sure what to expect at first, having read everything already. It turned out to be extremely captivating as you get an unedited glimpse of the man's raw intelligence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The overall best Steve Jobs interview, October 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Steve Jobs: The Lost Interview (DVD)
This interview (as a movie) played in my area last year, in Atlanta, and I went with my wife and some friends. We all thoroughly enjoyed it and I knew that I wanted to own it on DVD. It's very thought provoking and Steve Jobs shines light on what he felt went wrong at Apple when he left, and what was going wrong at the time in 1995. Robert X. Cringely did a fine job as interviewer too. There were a number of good documentaries made on Steve Jobs after he died, but I would recommend this simple interview as the best to own. It's mostly all just the man answering questions and talking, and that is mighty stuff from this particular man.

I received the DVD fast too! Great service from Amazon.com as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prophetic, not that I'm surprised by that..., January 9, 2013
By 
Michael B. Cowan (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I guess the thing that struck me most - well there were two, actually - was Steve's keen inquisitiveness and as a result his ability to clearly see how something in the present could have a resounding, future impact.

Early in the interview, he was talking about business and he said (and I'm paraphrasing here) that he would always question "business as usual," and offered the example of cost accounting and inventory control while at Apple in the days of the Apple II. He was told that the accountants would estimate inventory costs and then adjust the estimate at the close of a quarter when the actual results could be calculated. When he asked why it was done that way, they said, "... because that's the way we've always done it." And, when he pressed further, they explained that they didn't have accurate data because system controls weren't very good... and that was the real reason. This segment was part of a longer monologue about thinking and how critical thinking were brought to bear to produce the MacIntosh and, now as we know, future Apple products.

One of the things that was so useful about this particular interview was Bob Cringely's own curiosity and a willingness to just let Steve riff. Simple questions: why'd you do that? what happened when? etc. So unlike Walter Isaacson's biography that seemed so filtered by the author's desire to overly dramatize the events of Steve's life, this was just Steve enriching each answer like a skilled raconteur, imbuing them with anecdotes and his own pointed opinions.

Towards the end of the interview, when speaking about NeXT, he begins to speak about the Web and Internet. I had to remind myself this was 1995. Arpanet email had only been introduced in 1970 or '71. Microsoft's first MS Mail client was released for the Mac in 1988. Tim Berners-Lee wrote the first web browser using a NeXT computer in 1990. All of this stuff was very, very new! But, in this 1995 tape, Jobs was speaking about the Web as if it was going to be this remarkably powerful networking tool because it could be used so that people could communicate and (again I'm paraphrasing) he spoke about things like printed catalogs and product distribution and the billions of dollars of business that would, relatively soon take place on the web. In hind sight, this acknowledgement was ridiculously prophetic. It was either a great guess or demonstrated a remarkably thoughtful mind at work in developing an extremely plausible hypothesis.

Lots to be learned by this interview and so well worth watching!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prelude to a Legacy, July 12, 2013
This was an extraordinary interview, and to put my opinion in perspective, I have never nor will ever own an Apple product in my life. That's just how personal and revealing this interview was. Genius.

The most fascinating aspect of the interview was seeing the seeds in the mid 90's that would eventually germinate into modern day Apple. For example:

1) Steve's focus on product over process ensured that quality and user experience was never compromised.
2) The sadness he felt when he said Apple was being destroyed led to the cash hoard the buoyed the stock during the great recession
3) Steve's love of the liberal arts and admission that Microsoft has 'no taste' led to artful devices
4) It only seems natural that after his hacking into phones as a child, his mission to alter humanity was executed through a phone
5) His belief that for every hardware hobbyist, there were 1000 hobbyists that would prefer the Apple 1 hardware pre assembled led to the development of the ecosystem and Apple telling consumers what they need rather than the converse
6) His divestiture of control that ultimately led to his firing from Apple was recouped in a 'Top-Down' leadership style for his next tenure there
7) NeXt and Steve's exposure to the internet and software led him to make comments in the tail end of the interview that proved to be very true regarding e-commerce, free thought, and the experience of communicating...5 years before the dot com boom
8) Steve's mastery of factories, tooling, and understanding the process from idea to product led to a vertically integrated Apple
9) His witness of the failure of Xerox to capture the entire computing market when they had a chance led to Steve's focus on hiring and promoting highly skilled employees rather than generalists
10) Steve's own admissions of mistakes he made, while candid, were ultimately too painful for him to share. Some mistakes were even irreversible; this is a man whose passions and brilliance ultimately allowed the world to experience life as it never has before, at the cost of his own.

I highly recommend every employee, CEO, investor, consumer, passionate soul out there watch this modest yet powerful interview. 5 stars. RIP Steve Jobs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really great historical view on life in computers in the 90s., January 13, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Steve Jobs: The Lost Interview (DVD)
I'm kinda sick of the fan-boy mentality around Jobs. But what I did really appreciate about this documentary is that you get to see the thought process of someone who isn't just a 'me too' player in computing, but really wanted to make a difference. Where quality matters. Its also great that the interview is done by one of the early staff members at Apple Corporation (Robert Cringley), so Jobs has no trouble opening up to him on camera since he's the guy who employed him in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, fascinating, insightful, touching, January 10, 2013
I could not possibly have enjoyed this documentary more. His stories of his past and how Apple came to be were very interesting, his comments on life and technology were spot on, and as a viewer I could not escape the fact that I was watching something really special happen. Do yourself a favor and watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Age 12 Steve Jobs Called Bill Hewlett and Ask Him for Spare Parts, January 5, 2013
And so it began. This is an amazing look into the life of a motivated and driven man. There are many quotable moments in this film. I plan to watch it again. Inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and insightful, December 30, 2012
What an inspiring interview. Mr. Jobs articulated very well on where John Sculley failed and what the essence of running an innovative technology company is. Enjoyed it totally. I happened to watch the 1990 interview on Youtube (free) after this one and noticed Mr. Jobs reused some of the materials in this 1995 interview. I guess he did better after the 1990 practice :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just watch it, December 29, 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (New Orleans, LA USA) - See all my reviews
Don't read the reviews. Don't even think about it. Just watch it. This is powerful stuff coming from someone who clearly had unparalleled foresight and vision to shape and create products that forever changed society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Steve Jobs: The Lost Interview
Steve Jobs: The Lost Interview by Paul Sen (DVD - 2012)
$13.97 $12.28
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.