Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
20
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$46.17+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 9, 2009
Steve McCurry's latest book contains images that are haunting and evocative. I spent hours pouring over the images with my daughter. Each picture tells a story, and offers an intimate glimpse of the human soul.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2009
Had the chance to see Steve's works at an exhibition he had, and was totally blown away by his works. One of his fortes is in capturing shots of people - however,to term his works as portraiture is an understatement. Steve sees into the heart and the character of the person or people he shoots, and his photos are composed in exactly the right way to bring out the person's character in the strongest possible way. Be it a close up emphasizing the lines borne of years of work on a farmer's sun baked face, or a shot of a boy holding a french loaf in front of a pushcart selling bread, the shots are evocative and tells the viewer a story - or rather, it leads the viewer into asking more questions on the people in the photos. Evocative, and a must read for photographers.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2011
This is not a book of "how to". He provides no tips or techniques here.
It is simply a book of magnificent photographs.
One can gaze upon each and every single photo, and just wonder in awe of McCurry's talent.
The photos are mezmerizing, and I, for one, cannot keep from going back to the amazing photos in his book week after week.
The book is somewhat expensive, but if it does not "break your bank", then you will find it worth every penny.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2010
McCurry's specialty is the quick, unposed, snapshot of people otherwise occupied in getting along with their lives: here is the child at play, the fishermen casting their nets, people at work, fighting against the elements. This is what he calls the unguarded moment - the moment when people are at their most unselfconscious and natural. In short, here are people going about their everyday business in extraordinary circumstances and settings.

The key to McCurry's work is his ability to see fascination in the scene, and then the ability to frame his pictures to get just the right view. And this he has to do in mere moments to capture the instant when his subjects are at their most interesting. Then, in real life they go on to completing their task, the fisherman's net hits the water but the storytelling moment has been captured.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2009
Steve McCurry just blew me out of my chair with his new book.

The book is unique in that its intended to be viewed sideways, each page have one picture sideways, the picture is not damaged by the center of the book in any way, the book is HUGE... wow, you are tempted to start tearing pages out and hang them on the wall.

Each image is a story, a reality, much more than the famous 1000 worth in a picture. the book is a experience.

The images is Steves typical clean compositions, rich colors and involved, photographed mostly with wide-angle lenses, Steve were THERE when he photographed these images, not from across the street, right in the middle of the image.

Highly Recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2015
Steve McCurry, known for his famous afghan girl image. While that is a fantastic photograph, I think his other work are way better and under appreciated. Hes famous and known for his portraits but I love his photo journalistic pictures more. There is way more to his work than afghan girl. This book is represents that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2014
Excellent photography! I actually purchased it because I liked the photo on the cover. If I remember correctly, it would have cost in the thousands. At that price, the book was inexpensive!!! People often pick it up from my coffee table; and after perusing it, indicate to me how much they enjoyed it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2012
Another excellent collection of photos from the master Steve McCurry. Yes, it's 'typical McCurry', the same as he's been doing for decades now -- but that's so phenomenally perceptive and technically excellent that one can only hope he keeps it up! Mostly photos from southern Asia (India, Afghanistan, Bangladesh), East Asia, and Africa. Some from more familiar places (France, Croatia). All just excellent. Book is large format, well produced. Sits prominently on our coffee table.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2009
THE UNGUARDED MOMENT is a top pick for both arts libraries and college-level holdings strong in world cultures and images. It captures, in full color on oversized pages, the daily portraits and scenes of people around the world, collecting the photographer author's best works from over thirty years. The oversized, full-page format makes for an unparalleled presentation highly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2015
I love McCurry and probably I would buy it again (the cover is gorgeous, and actually that's one of the best photos in the book), but it's not as stunning as South Southeast. Same size, great paper quality, however most images are not as sharp as one would expect. They appear as if they were blown up too much and the end result is grainy photos. Interesting subjects.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.