Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be fooled by the 5 stars......
I gave this 5 stars based only on the quality of the music. I really wouldn't recommend this CD. Anyone who likes Stevie Ray should buy his albums instead. There are only four of them. If you have all of SRV's albums then this CD is worth keeping around only for the groovy version of the Beatles' Taxman. This is only a tiny sampling of the great music that Stevie Ray...
Published on March 28, 2000

versus
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great music, mediocre compilation
A really great compilation makes the artist in question seem better than he really is. Really, it does. It compiles all of the artist's best material, leaving out the fat and the gristle, thus making the albums it summarizes - and by extension, the artist - seem better than they actually are.

Stevie Ray Vaughan's "Greatest Hits" does the opposite. It gathers...
Published on June 19, 2004 by Docendo Discimus


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be fooled by the 5 stars......, March 28, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I gave this 5 stars based only on the quality of the music. I really wouldn't recommend this CD. Anyone who likes Stevie Ray should buy his albums instead. There are only four of them. If you have all of SRV's albums then this CD is worth keeping around only for the groovy version of the Beatles' Taxman. This is only a tiny sampling of the great music that Stevie Ray has to offer. This will leave you unfulfilled. You'll take this disc out of your player wanting more. I would recommend SRV's debut, Texas Flood, for anyone looking to get into his music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great music, mediocre compilation, June 19, 2004
This review is from: Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
A really great compilation makes the artist in question seem better than he really is. Really, it does. It compiles all of the artist's best material, leaving out the fat and the gristle, thus making the albums it summarizes - and by extension, the artist - seem better than they actually are.

Stevie Ray Vaughan's "Greatest Hits" does the opposite. It gathers several magnificent songs, but too many of these eleven selections, particularly the instrumental rendition of "Little Wing", "Crossfire", "Couldn't Stand The Weather", and his cover of "Taxman", aren't really among Vaughan's most memorable. They are not bad, far from it, but the track list just doesn't demonstrate how great Stevie Ray actually was. And besides, it's too short. They could have fitted another half dozen songs onto one CD.

Sure, "Pride And Joy", "Texas Flood" and "Cold Shot" are here, but way too many great songs are not: "Ain't Gone 'N' Give Up On Love", "Scuttle Buttin'", "Love Struck Baby", "I'm Cryin'", "Dirty Pool" and "Willie The Wimp" to name but a few.
If you are looking for a really good Stevie Ray Vaughan compilation, go for the double-disc "The Essential Stevie Ray Vaughan And Double Trouble", or go for the newer "The Real Deal: Greatest Hits" vol. I and II. This won't do at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SRV Rulz, November 14, 1999
By 
This review is from: Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I own all of Stevie's albums and although I listen to them all there are three albums I take with me everywhere: Greatest Hits Vol I, Greatest Hits Vol II (Real Deal), and Family Style (with brother Jimmie Vaughan). I have a set for the office, a set for home, and a set for the car, cause I can honestly say that I NEVER leave home without him. Stevie Vaughan is in a class by himself (the flagship of Blue Rock) with his own unique style of guitaring (not everybody can use 13s), throughly grounded in root blues as taught to him by the original masters, blended with his knowledge and understanding of many, many other venues of music (R&B, Jazz, Experimental, Country, etc.,) creating his own sound that is at once driving and sensitive. As one who studies music, I am always amazed at his touch, especially for one who prefered 10db! Stevie Vaughan truly deserves his legend status and anyone who can enjoy the blues will be enthralled by this genius' works. I highly recommend anything Stevie Ray Vaughan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "STEVIE'S PASSION AND HONESTY ALWAYS CAME THROUGH..., May 30, 2002
This review is from: Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
WITH HIS MUSIC." Doyle Bramhall (songwriting collaborator.)
This is a must own collection for all SRV fans but perhaps more so for someone who loves his music but doesn't own all his cd's. This is definitely for you! "Texas Flood," "Pride and Joy," "Tightrope," "Little Wing," "Crossfire," "Cold Shot", and "Couldn't Stand the Weather" and more. Wow, what a collection!
Stevie is someone that I highly regard--now and forever. There are few artists that have touched me the way he has; honestly, NONE like HIM. He was so Special. He played from his heart and touched so many people's lives. He had plenty of hard times and almost died but he overcame his problems. Stevie living on this earth and sharing his music was a GIFT to me and so many. Let his music touch you.
Stevie didn't believe in song lists playing live but hey, with an album, a list has to exist! Ha. I agree with the song list wholeheartedly--except I wish there were at least 2 more hits: "Mary Had a Little Lamb" and either the instrumental
"Testify" or "Wham!" It would be great if it were a box set then we could have more--but there is always "Real Deal Hits 2." The rest of his greats are on it. (Except for the 3 songs I mentioned above.)
In the cd's pamplet, there is a picture of the band, and a drawing of Stevie that is amazing plus an compliation of interviews by Dan Forte including comments from Eric Johnson, John Lee Hooker, Eric Clapton ("The first time I heard Stevie Ray, I thought, "Whoever this is, I've got to find out. Whoever this is is going to shake the world." It's going to be a long time before anyone that brilliant will come along again.") and quotes/interviews from the band members, Chris, Tommy, Reese and Doyle. Great job by Dan Forte.
I give this a my wholehearted recommendation; however I must say, you MUST see him play LIVE, working his magic, with your own eyes! Please check out his two DVD's with Double Trouble: "Live at El Mocambo" and "Live From Austin, Texas." You won't be sorry...
Stevie always makes me soar,
Soaring Heart
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SRV's music is not of mere mortals., December 26, 2000
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
And Greatest Hits proves my point. Only Jimi Hendrix could pluck a string like he did, but not even he could play the blues like SRV. Listen to the breakneck speed of Pride and Joy, or the slow blues jam of Texas Flood. The jam of Little Wing is pure genious, taking a bit from Lenny of his debut album.
When it came to playing blues, through adversity as well,Stevie Ray Vaughan has achieved a level of immortality. If you call yourself a true blues/rock fan don't go without this CD in your collection. In fact if you're a true blues/rock fan you shouldn't be without SRV period, end of discussion. So I also reccomend for beginners The Real Deal; Greatest Hits 2, Texas Flood, and Blues at Sunrise. Experienced SRV fans should buy this anyway in order to complete their collection with the unreleased Taxman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a complete retrospective, January 5, 2000
By 
Blues Lover (San Francisco, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I am a devoted Stevie Ray Vaughan fan, but I was disappointed with this CD. The CD had only 11 tracks and should (and could) have included many more. It contained most of his radio friendly songs, but missed some of his longer, more intimate works. I was much happier with SRV's Greatest Hits II, which was longer and a more complete retrospective of his career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Stevie Ray & D.T.'s best (1983 - 1989) & 1 rarity", October 7, 2003
By 
Alex Shuris (Princeton, MA. (USA)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This 11 track compilation of Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble's best work from "Texas Flood (1983)" to In Step (1989)" is highly essential. All of his four studio releases for Epic records are represented here, as well as a cover of Jimi Hendrix's "Little Wing" & the rare track "Taxman", originally by The Beatles. It's nice to have the tracks "Texas Flood", "Couldn't Stand the Weather", "Life Without You", and "Change It" collected on one convenient CD. Six great years of blues-based rock is represented here, and the inclusion of the radio staples "Crossfire" & "Pride & Joy" will surley make even the minor fans happy. NOTE: The import of this album, features three additional tracks: "Love Struck Baby", "Voodoo Chile (slight return) (hendrix)", & The Sky is Crying."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars RAVE ON?, November 17, 2005
By 
Jukebox Dave (RECORD TOWN, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
STEVIE RAY VAUGHAN-GREATEST HITS: Stevie Rave On may have been one of blooze-rock's most celebrated guitar slingers, but this is far from a truly "great" greatest hits package. Too much fire and smoke is left off in favor of lukewarm readings of George Harrison's TAXMAN and JIMI HENDRIX's LITTLE WING, when the latter's VOODOO CHILE would have been a smarter choice. Small wonder THE REAL DEAL: GREATEST HITS VOLUME 2 comes off as a sequel with no equal. Car crash classic WILLIE THE WIMP, turbo-driven instrumental PIPELINE with surf godfather DICK DALE, and HANK BALLARD's funk-fest LOOK AT LITTLE SISTER all should have easily made the first GREATEST HITS, but amazingly had to wait for that second outing. At least standout SRV piledrivers PRIDE AND JOY, TEXAS FLOOD, and THE HOUSE IS ROCKIN' are present and accounted for on this skimpy collection. Do yourself a favor...check out the late 90's re-issues of his four original four platters that matter, with bonus tracks and rare takes tacked on. This commonplace collection just gives me the blues.

RATING: THREE COLD SHOTS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Inadequate, January 1, 2004
This review is from: Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
A really great compilation makes the artist in question seem better than he really is. Really, it does. It compiles all of the artist's best material, leaving out the fat and the gristle, thus making the albums it summarizes - and by extension, the artist - seem better than they actually are.
Stevie Ray Vaughan's "Greatest Hits" does the opposite. It gathers several magnificent songs, but too many of these eleven selections, particularly the instrumental rendition of "Little Wing", "Crossfire", "Couldn't Stand The Weather", and his cover of "Taxman", aren't really among Vaughan's most memorable. They are not bad, far from it, but the track list just doesn't demonstrate how great Stevie Ray actually was. And besides, it's too short. They could have fitted another half dozen songs onto one CD.
Now, the new "Greatest Hits 2" goes a very long way towards rectifying this, but this album by itself just doesn't do it. Sure, "Pride And Joy", "Texas Flood" and "Cold Shot" are here, but way too many great songs are not: "Ain't Gone 'N' Give Up On Love", "Scuttle Buttin'", "Love Struck Baby", "I'm Cryin'", "Dirty Pool" and "Willie The Wimp" to name but a few.
If you are looking for a really good Stevie Ray Vaughan compilation, go for the double-disc "The Essential Stevie Ray Vaughan And Double Trouble".
That one costs less than "Greatest Hits" and "Greatest Hits vol. II" put together (and features 33 songs, as opposed to 27), and if you really want to limit your SRV-collection to just one or two discs, "The Essential Stevie Ray Vaughan And Double Trouble" should be the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We all speculate and wonder....., September 24, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
....what Hendrix might have sounded like, had he stayed with us through the years. Listen to this collection, and hear a guitarist who embodies the pure essence of Hendrix, and takes that musical genius, the technical ability, and the soul, and magnifies it many thousands of times over.
Hearing SRV's early tunes on the radio, I always assumed the guitar work was the result of much studio dubbing work. Until I saw him live in Santa Fe. He was playing it all at once, sounding like three guitars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.