Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


183 of 188 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent read for any human being, regardless of age
Self esteem is absolutely essential in dealing with the challenges of life. Feeling good about yourself because of who you are rather than who your friends think you should be is what will help your child (and you) deal with peer pressure and making positive decisions. This book offers examples and suggestions that will help you develop a healthy and secure sense of...
Published on March 24, 2000

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A useful resource
Suggestions and anecdotes in _Stick Up For Yourself_ are helpful for opening discussions with little ones, particularly those who may be socially sensitive or (too) highly adaptable. I don't agree with all its suggestions, but the basic premise is sound -- that to develop personal integrity and firmness of resolve requires thoughtful practice -- and overall, it's a nice...
Published on August 6, 2008 by Marynna L. Lindsey-Kerce


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

183 of 188 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent read for any human being, regardless of age, March 24, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Stick Up for Yourself: Every Kid's Guide to Personal Power & Positive Self-Esteem (Revised & Updated Edition) (Paperback)
Self esteem is absolutely essential in dealing with the challenges of life. Feeling good about yourself because of who you are rather than who your friends think you should be is what will help your child (and you) deal with peer pressure and making positive decisions. This book offers examples and suggestions that will help you develop a healthy and secure sense of yourself and your world. I bought it for my kids, but found it a great read for myself and a great resource for helping my children feel good about themselves and easing the pressure they often feel from their peers. It tells you not only how to take responsibility for your feelings, needs, and behaviors, it explains why that's important. A great find. Our whole family will benefit from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST SELF-HELP BOOK FOR KIDS ..., October 8, 2005
This review is from: Stick Up for Yourself: Every Kid's Guide to Personal Power & Positive Self-Esteem (Revised & Updated Edition) (Paperback)
A teacher at school recommended this book to a neighbor. Her son was having trouble with bullies, and with guidance from this book, he learned a lot about self-esteem, self-confidence, and the power gained by sticking up for himself.

What a joy to see the change in this young man. I recommend it for every parent. It's not only helpful in handling school-yard bullies, it also trains the children to have the confidence to handle bullies in the workforce and other situations throughout their lives.

This author is to be highly commended for the help she's giving children, enabling them to have better, happier, more productive lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Susan Ashley, Ph.D. Author of The ADD and ADHD Answer Book, October 31, 2005
This review is from: Stick Up for Yourself: Every Kid's Guide to Personal Power & Positive Self-Esteem (Revised & Updated Edition) (Paperback)
As a child psychologist who has been helping children with their social skills for over 20 years now, I use this very book in my social skills group therapy. Parents can read this with their child or give it to their child to read alone. Great for children with AD/HD, ODD and Asperger's....all of whom get teased and rejected by their peers. If your child needs this book he or she would probably benefit from a social skills group too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeping Your Nose Clean, March 21, 2005
This review is from: Stick Up for Yourself: Every Kid's Guide to Personal Power & Positive Self-Esteem (Revised & Updated Edition) (Paperback)
I love this book and wish I had had it as a child. It is an excellent and empowering tool that helps readers develop esteem and assertiveness skills.

For me, there are fewer things more irksome and distasteful than brown nosing. Taking command of oneself and being assertive, that is declaring one's needs without infringing upon the rights of others is a major accomplishment and does a lot to keep one's nose from becoming brown and clogged with wasteful residue caused by sycophantic servility.

This book provides excellent examples of developing assertiveness skills which feed and lead into higher esteem and is helpful for ALL ages. There is a strong positive correlation between assertiveness and esteem - that is, the more assertive one is, the higher one's self esteem is and the more positive their self image is.

I wish I could rate this work even more stars. It is a book for everybody!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Help during difficult times, February 22, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stick Up for Yourself: Every Kid's Guide to Personal Power & Positive Self-Esteem (Revised & Updated Edition) (Paperback)
My six year old son has been struggling with his father's military deployment. He needed some positive tools to help him communicate exactly what he is feeling and what he needed from the adults around him. I am so glad that I found this book and started reading it with him. We do the journaling together and I have also learned a lot. I have seen a big difference in his attitude and behavior. It really does give kids the power they need to feel secure. I have plans to buy several copies of this book and give them as gifts to my closest friends. It is a great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good book for kids, March 3, 2009
This review is from: Stick Up for Yourself: Every Kid's Guide to Personal Power & Positive Self-Esteem (Revised & Updated Edition) (Paperback)
Ever since this book arrived, my little guy (9 years old) has been more assertive with his sister who is a bully, and not so babyish in his responses to others in his life. He seems to have more confidence. I see him reading through the book on his own initiative and he says it is "good". This book seemed the best to me as it talks to the child in child-speak and seems to be written for the child - not for adults trying to empower the child.
I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Homework, August 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stick Up for Yourself: Every Kid's Guide to Personal Power & Positive Self-Esteem (Revised & Updated Edition) (Paperback)
I loaned this book out to my elementary school students to read, especially the students who were being bullied. The students loved this book. They found it a helpful and easy read. It's a great book to have as you build your resource library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for small children, April 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stick Up for Yourself: Every Kid's Guide to Personal Power & Positive Self-Esteem (Revised & Updated Edition) (Paperback)
I just started reading this to my children who are 7 and 8 years old. They love it. I was amazed how they automatically started following some of the tips in the book. Very easy reading for me, i'm not a book reader, and easy for kids to understand. You can't go wrong getting this book. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A useful resource, August 6, 2008
This review is from: Stick Up for Yourself: Every Kid's Guide to Personal Power & Positive Self-Esteem (Revised & Updated Edition) (Paperback)
Suggestions and anecdotes in _Stick Up For Yourself_ are helpful for opening discussions with little ones, particularly those who may be socially sensitive or (too) highly adaptable. I don't agree with all its suggestions, but the basic premise is sound -- that to develop personal integrity and firmness of resolve requires thoughtful practice -- and overall, it's a nice resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very useful book for the adult as well as children, February 22, 2007
This review is from: Stick Up for Yourself: Every Kid's Guide to Personal Power & Positive Self-Esteem (Revised & Updated Edition) (Paperback)
Recently i read this book. Firstly i bought it for my little sister, but on reading i found that my mind has been healing gradually.

Generally speaking, it's fact that 'feeling' is ignored. Although our feeling is hurted, try to get away from it or calm down for oneself. But i realize that it may cause to be some problems for me. Hurted feelings absolutely have to be solved. someone who be same to me need to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Stick Up for Yourself: Every Kid's Guide to Personal Power & Positive Self-Esteem (Revised & Updated Edition)
$12.99 $9.05
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.