Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this conversion top!
I ordered this conversion top to use on our pool table and it works great. Very pleased with the shipping and service from this vendor. My husband & his friends play pool and now me and my friends can play ping pong.
Published on May 28, 2009 by Thelma Lou

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Low end table, poor description, Cheaper elsewhere
This table appears to be one of the lower end products from Stiga, where the ends are unfinished. The exact model isn't listed, so it's possible for Amazon to send you more or less anything made by Stiga. The unfinished ends aren't smoothed or covered and can snag clothing and skin. If you decide the table is acceptable, a quick search shows no less than two retailers...
Published on January 14, 2012 by Lefty


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this conversion top!, May 28, 2009
This review is from: Stiga Table Tennis Conversion Top with Net and Posts (Sports)
I ordered this conversion top to use on our pool table and it works great. Very pleased with the shipping and service from this vendor. My husband & his friends play pool and now me and my friends can play ping pong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for the money. No net or posts!, February 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stiga Table Tennis Conversion Top with Net and Posts (Sports)
Please note, this particular item comes without net or posts! Somehow the seller database links their bare table item to this description.

That said, it is some $20 to buy net and posts elsewhere, and they attach fine to the table. The table material looks cheap - the edges are not polished - just painted. It is dark green color - maybe a bit darker than I'd like. I have only installed it recently and have no comment on the quality of the surface, i.e. how well it will keep up with time.

Also, while it's nice to have rigidity attachment in the center, it prevents from putting the two halves tight against each other, leaving about 5-7 mm gap. I was still able to install a net over that, so it is not a big deal.
The resulting surface is not 100% flat. It seems to bend a bit towards edges. Ping-pong ball won't roll, but if you try pool ball, you will see. I could not adjust the table height to eliminate this, but it is probably not a big deal anyway.

The soft pads are large enough and seem to create sufficient friction for the boards not to move around, although I am yet to see how it handles the impact during the game excitement. I was thinking I could add velcro pads, which should make sure it doesn't move. Attaching the pads wasn't hard, and the instructions are sufficient.
Overall, I think it is a good deal for the money, if you are not too picky on the materials and other things I described above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Sturdy, February 4, 2011
By 
Baystaging (California U.S.A) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stiga Table Tennis Conversion Top with Net and Posts (Sports)
After reading the glowing reviews on this product I went ahead and purchased this item as an Xmas gift.
Easy to assemble and heavy which one would expect from a quality item. That said because of the weight shape and size it has sadly had only a couple of uses since December.
Remember you need lots of space around the table and somwhere to store it when out of use. Otherwise fantastic product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Low end table, poor description, Cheaper elsewhere, January 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stiga Table Tennis Conversion Top with Net and Posts (Sports)
This table appears to be one of the lower end products from Stiga, where the ends are unfinished. The exact model isn't listed, so it's possible for Amazon to send you more or less anything made by Stiga. The unfinished ends aren't smoothed or covered and can snag clothing and skin. If you decide the table is acceptable, a quick search shows no less than two retailers selling this or a comparable table for $75 less. Based on my bad experience with Amazon (Expected delivery 23 December - actual delivery 13 January), I recommend buying a different product from a better supplier who understands product description and service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The easiest assemby ever!!!, February 1, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stiga Table Tennis Conversion Top with Net and Posts (Sports)
This table tennis is perfect if you already have a pool table and want a ping pong table but don't have the space for both!! We just took it out of the box and put it on the pool table and the kids were playing in a matter of minutes!! Best purchase ever!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Scratches, November 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stiga Table Tennis Conversion Top with Net and Posts (Sports)
The table itself was good and easy to assemble, however, there were quite a few scratches and really was not happy about that. It would have been too much of a headache to try to return a 150 lb. table tennis package and repack it. So I really have no choice but to keep it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stiga Table Tennis Conversion Top with Net and Posts (Sports)
perfect for the top of my pool table. very heavy and well made..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A decent table tennis top, August 26, 2014
By 
Jackson "Lews" (Mountain View,CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stiga Table Tennis Conversion Top with Net and Posts (Sports)
It is a decent table tennis top at this price, having the similar bouncing capability as the normal table tennis tables. I don't see warping so far, may be it is due to the metal attachment design in the middle of the top. Hope it won't. It is not that heavy if installing by two people so it should be easy to remove it for normal play of pool table and re-install it for play of ping pong. But once installed, it is heavy enough in terms of keeping the cover not moving around.
The corners of the top is sharp, better to protect them from being damaged by wrapping them with some felt pads with 0.5 inch width and several inches length (playing at home for fun, adding some extras on the top should be OK).
Overall, my family can play table tennis every day and have lots of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good value but cumbersome to put on and take off., August 31, 2014
This review is from: Stiga Table Tennis Conversion Top with Net and Posts (Sports)
Fits well. Had to add my own foam protectors because the ones provided were not thick enough to protect the pool table. The top is VERY heavy so two strong people needed to put on and off.

We've had ours for months now and the table top has slightly warped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Stiga Table Tennis Conversion Top with Net and Posts
Used & New from: $179.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.