Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For those quiet evenings at home
This, the third CD from a somewhat different contemporary-style bluegrass group, is their best thus far. Having unusual sonority achieved through both cello and bass, which contrasts nicely with the banjo, fiddle, and the soft breathy vocals of Aoife O'Donovan, the group offers traditional songs influenced by named artists and, now, a couple of their own. Including more...
Published on June 25, 2008 by Dr. Debra Jan Bibel

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointed
So I waited awhile to do this review, as I wanted to wait for this album to sink in. The first 2 albums were 2 of my favorite 10-20 albums of all time, any band, any genre. Then something happened between the 2nd and 3rd albums: Rushad Eggleston, the original cellist, left the band.

For me, Rushad is who drew me to the band in the first place. Someone said...
Published on May 4, 2010 by Andy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For those quiet evenings at home, June 25, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Still Crooked (Audio CD)
This, the third CD from a somewhat different contemporary-style bluegrass group, is their best thus far. Having unusual sonority achieved through both cello and bass, which contrasts nicely with the banjo, fiddle, and the soft breathy vocals of Aoife O'Donovan, the group offers traditional songs influenced by named artists and, now, a couple of their own. Including more ballads and storytelling than rousing dances, the CD is fine for the late evening or after dinner relaxation. The musicianship is excellent. I happen to be a cello freak and appreciate that instrument's contributions to the sound. I recommend listening to the CD with a good stereo system that allows a brighter, clearer sound, as on lesser equipment the recording, oddly, seems energetically flat and dry in tone, perhaps the fault of a too efficient sound-absorbing studio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extraordinary album from a truly original band, July 14, 2008
By 
Woland (Brooklyn, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Still Crooked (Audio CD)
I discovered Crooked Still entirely by accident at the Grey Fox bluegrass festival two years ago. After enjoying a few sets of traditional bluegrass music played by well-established bands that have been together for decades, this ragtag group of 20-somethings came on the stage -- one with a double bass and another with a cello -- and blew the audience away. I've been hooked ever since.

Still Crooked is the perfect name their latest album, since it's the first since the departure of their wildly spectacular (and spectacularly wild) original cellist Rushad Eggleston. As a great fan of their first two CDs -- Hop High and Shaken by a Low Sound -- I know I wasn't the only one who was worried about the future direction and quality of the band. But from the very first track it's clear that there's no need for concern. The new incarnation of Crooked Still is very much Still Crooked and still creating music of the highest order.

While the album has a few fun up-tempo tunes (Poor Ellen Smith is a blast all the way to the very end, with its surprise final violin flourish), overall it's definitely quieter and more intense than their other CDs. It opens with the extraordinary Undone in Sorrow, a heartbreakingly plaintive song that showcases the entire band's strengths, from Aoife O'Donovan's breathy vocals to the fine playing of new cellist Tristan Clarridge and new violinist Brittany Haas. Another real standout is Low Down and Dirty, an original song of painful love, vengeful murder, and a touch of cowardice written by O'Donovan that brings visions of Tim Burton's movies to mind. Two of the finest songs on the CD are almost lullabies -- Captain Captain and Florence -- and honestly, there isn't a weak song on the entire CD.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great recording from a brilliant band, August 21, 2008
By 
Fearless Heart (Great Black swamp) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Still Crooked (Audio CD)
OK, imagine, if you will, an old wooden railroad bridge across a deep chasm somewhere in the wilderness. Two trains approach from the opposite directions: one is carrying a brilliant string quartet of the finest young classical musicians from the most demanding music schools. The other train is bearing a fantastic bluegrass band with one of the greatest banjo players of the time.

They collide head-on.

And yet miraculously and mysteriously, out of the inferno strides five young survivors. Somehow spared by a higher power of both darkness and light to create a sound greater than the sum of the parts.

That's Crooked Still.

Think about this-- when The Boss was putting together his Seeger Sessions band, he called Greg Liszt to play banjo. Aoife O'Donovan is the daughter of Brian O'Donovan. Guests include Tim O'Brien and Casey Driessen.

My favorite track is the very VERY scary "Did You Sleep Well?" "Murdergrass" at it's finest (Hmmmn, or is it?)

I grant you, some people won't get it. OK, the title is too precious (It should really be called "Undone in Sorrow" a GREAT song from Olla Belle Reed, a GREAT American musician)

These cats are in the very forefront of the incredible revival of world class stringbands such as the Carolina Chocolate Drops, The Duhks, Uncle Earl and Old Crow medicine Show.

Yes, they recently have some new members, but they didn't rebuild, they reloaded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best yet!, June 29, 2008
This review is from: Still Crooked (Audio CD)
I agree- this is the best CD yet released by this group. and it's awesome. nuff said.

stellar musicianship-
amazing arrangements-
great track selection-
and more notably- this CD flows much fore smoothly from song to song than do the other two crooked still releases.

highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cconsistently surprising their audience, July 9, 2008
This review is from: Still Crooked (Audio CD)
Their latest album has pumped up some traditional american music. This time they did it with two new members. A new cellist replacing the old one. And a new fiddler Ms. Haas. She gives the Crooked Still so much more sounds and variations. Her solo part on the tunes are just amazing. Fans love it.

Quality of sound is up to the standard like the previous two albums. The songs that they've chosen on this album is not what i've anticipated. It's always a 'growing' thing. You've to listen to it a few more times to understand the composition of the songs. But it's for sure that the variety of tunes are very limited on this album. I'm giving a four star rating because of that. It's worth listening and a great introduction to the new generation of bluegrass music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Band- Awesome Music!, April 23, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Still Crooked (Audio CD)
I first heard this band on a cable music channel and ordered the CD right away. Every song is as good as the last, and I have to say for a bunch of kinds from Boston, they can play bluegrass as good as any down home southern group! I have had this album for less then a week and have already listened to it so much (literally about 50 times) it is starting to skip in the cd player.

I highly recommend this album, it has a lot of character and a great sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Dutch review, February 5, 2009
By 
R. H. K. Pohlmann (The Hague, Holland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Still Crooked (Audio CD)
Wile writing this review I am listen to the CD. And one thing that struck me, is the quality of the musicans. They are realy good and one get's the feeling that they are enjoying themselves while making very good music.
The singing is dreamy but get's the message trough.

Excuse my poor Englisch, feel free to correct where necessary.

Richard H.K. Pohlmann
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gorgeous music, September 19, 2008
By 
Totoro (California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Still Crooked (Audio CD)
the poignant vocals float over a lively and rhythmic wave of instrumentation. the ballads are lovely and there is good variety in terms of the moods of the different pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bluegrass Fan, October 14, 2008
This review is from: Still Crooked (Audio CD)
Blue grass with an edge. Has a modern touch, but not too much to ruin the traditional flavor. Thoroughly enjoyed almost every track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Music!, November 14, 2008
This review is from: Still Crooked (Audio CD)
I had never heard of this group until I heard them on you tube. I love them! Great talent! Inspires me to play better!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Still Crooked
Still Crooked by Crooked Still (Audio CD - 2008)
Click for more info
In stock on February 2, 2015
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.