Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny.
This book is hilarious! As a guy, I can't argue with the situations and thoughts the author has included in his book "Still A Nice Guy". I am sure that all men have had these thoughts at some point in their lives, some are still having them. This book is written from the male perspective, and this male thinks he is quite a catch.

It is refreshing to see the...
Published on May 10, 2010 by Michael Harrison

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You gotta have a great sense of humor for this.
I must say, for me, as a woman, I did not enjoy this book very much. The stories were well written and good. There were some funny parts. However, the sense of humor is crude, rude, and a bit chauvinistic. I would recommend this book to any of my male friends. I think they would have a better appreciation for the book than I did. I recommend you have an open sense of...
Published on June 2, 2010 by Amethyst


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Not For The Light Hearted But In A Good Way, April 21, 2010
This review is from: Still a Nice Guy (Kindle Edition)
Women already assume that men are pigs and think sexual and dark thoughts throughout their lives. The book, still a nice guy, only confirms these assumptions! This book is viewed through the eyes of a recently divorced male who thinks he is a great catch.

In the book there are several references to dating experiences that he completely did the wrong thing. In all instances this is the story of the typical guy, the one's we expect to see when we are on a date. This book is good in that it does show an uninhibited view from the male perspective which is very direct, to the point, and perverse at times. This book is not for the light hearted or those who don't want to hear the truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Your Time!, June 7, 2010
This review is from: Still a Nice Guy (Kindle Edition)
You do not have to be a man to enjoy this book. Both men and women will be entertained by this straight-to-the-point group of essays written by a former strip-club owner and wine fiend. The author is similar to shock-jock, Howard Stern. He was nowhere near shy about sharing details and his opinions on important issues, such as $8.00 beers and his attempts to get lucky with women. Still a Nice Guy can be taken as rude, offensive and perhaps even sexist, but it is all in good nature and quite funny to those that appreciate these type of topics. It will grab your attention and keep you hooked from the first page until the last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Will Keep Your Attention!, June 7, 2010
This review is from: Still a Nice Guy (Kindle Edition)
This book is sure to keep you wanting more! You will find advice in just about every topic you can think of, along with the author's own personal experiences. This is not advice you would find on an episode of Oprah. Expect the author's advice to be from a single man's perspective. Both men and women will enjoy the author's funny insights on dating, money, and Father's who accidentally poop their pants. Yes, you read right. No topic is too offensive to be left untouched. Some of the topics may make you cringe, but will most likely have you laughing at the same time. It is definitely worth a read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun Read, May 12, 2010
By 
This review is from: Still a Nice Guy (Paperback)
"Still a Nice Guy" by Phil Torvicia is a great fun read. It is an easy read and very entertaining. This relationship book is written from the male point of view, which you do not find often in relationship books. It is from the recently divorced man's point of view. It is a breath of fresh air. It has many short situations which makes it easy to read and pick up later to read more without getting lost. It is very funny in parts. You may not agree with his thoughts but read it with an open mind if you are a female. This is a well written book and very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's more than just gas!, September 13, 2010
By 
This review is from: Still a Nice Guy (Kindle Edition)
Um forget laughing out loud, how about laughing your A** off?? Regardless of the fact that im female, I found this book hilarious and totally relate-able. Not to mention the fact that im pretty sure I know the "guy" from the first story. "Still A Nice Guy" is so full of laughs it should come with one of those "Do not take while ingesting alcohol" stickers that come with certain prescriptions, only it should specify any liquids period because you'll be laughing so hard you wont be able to contain yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, June 2, 2010
This review is from: Still a Nice Guy (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. He has a great sense of humor and he loves his life. There is something to be said for people watching, considering that is how the book came about. Although, I tend to believe the places he visits helps the stories. I can see how a woman may not enjoy this book. You have to be able to take the male perspective in with rude/crude sense of humor. If you can't do that, you won't enjoy it. For those of you that have an open mind, you will enjoy this book. Good stories and laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amusing Perspectives, June 7, 2010
This review is from: Still a Nice Guy (Kindle Edition)
Still a Nice Guy is written by, Phil Torcivia, a middle-aged divorcee who has an amusing way of sharing his insight about every day situations. From hosting parties, and gossiping, to dating advice, Phil adds a humorous touch from a male's perspective throughout the entire book.

This book is great for both men and women, but watch out ladies because some of the author's views can be deemed offensive. It is best to have an open mind and good sense of humor when reading this style of book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Different, Good for the Strong of Humor, June 1, 2010
This review is from: Still a Nice Guy (Paperback)
Well, I did enjoy this book. I think this book is more suited for the male persons. The sense of humor is male oriented and the stories are as well. I grew up with humor and worked with a lot of persons who had rude and crude ways of saying things. So, this book was fine to me, however, I think most women will find this book not as enjoyable unless the have the easily offended walls strong. Overall great stories and good humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hysterical!, May 24, 2010
This review is from: Still a Nice Guy (Paperback)
"Still a Nice Guy" made me laugh out loud as I was reading it! This is a book of short stories, about escapades involving men and women. This book is not for the light of heart, all the stories have some semblance of dark sexual humor, sometimes eye opening. The author has an easy to read flow that makes each story quick and easy to read.
Great book to carry along for those times you need a laugh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, June 1, 2010
This review is from: Still a Nice Guy (Paperback)
I love it when someone has a sense of humor, can write good people watching stories, and can be brutally honest. I enjoy this book greatly. Phil enjoys his life and it is obvious by his stories. If you are looking for something that has a crude and rude sense of humor and great short stories this is the book for you. I enjoyed the stories and chuckled quite a bit. That is how you know a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Still a Nice Guy
Still a Nice Guy by Phil Torcivia (Paperback - April 14, 2010)
$11.99 $10.24
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.