Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding concert with Sting - exceptional quality & craftsmanship
As a longtime Police fan (since day 1), I've always liked to see Sting perform live, he's one of the world's top singers. What I like best about "Live in Berlin" is:

a) Showmanship, staging, arrangement and delivery are stunning... Sting's use of a full orchestra (who artfully move along w/the music in choreographed sequence while playing, brilliant), adds...
Published on November 25, 2010 by Kenneth Calhoun

versus
36 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great performance, Sharp but boring Picture quality, Poor 5.1 audio mix
Sting Live In Berlin [Blu-ray]

Saw this concert in person, so I looked forward to the same symphonic performance on BLU RAY. STING is great, and he re-invents his songs with the Philharmonic in wonderful ways. END OF GAME and ROXANNE are particularly wonderful. Also STING's voice sounds great and he delivers with range, power and endurance.

The...
Published on December 24, 2010 by Main Review


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding concert with Sting - exceptional quality & craftsmanship, November 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sting Live In Berlin [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
As a longtime Police fan (since day 1), I've always liked to see Sting perform live, he's one of the world's top singers. What I like best about "Live in Berlin" is:

a) Showmanship, staging, arrangement and delivery are stunning... Sting's use of a full orchestra (who artfully move along w/the music in choreographed sequence while playing, brilliant), adds layers of audio depth to his voice in a superbly complementary way.

b) Dazzling camera work, the dp did a great job in capturing the performance with a variety of shot angles, and technically this is one of the very sharpest reference-quality blu-ray DVD concerts I've seen, of dozens. Absolutely crystal-clear visuals... the camera work and image quality are outstanding.

c) Hearing Sting perform favorites like King of Pain, Roxanne, and Every Little Thing She Does is Magic, plus his top solo songs was a lot of fun, having Branford Marsalis on horns was a big plus as well, they always work great together.

d) Words that comes to mind after watching this last night are classy, brilliant, intense, fun and outstanding.

I've bought dozens of concert dvds this past year, this is one of the very best; nice to see Sting in world-class form with the backing of a top orchestra. This DVD sparkles. Absolutely highly recommended -- thanks to all who made it happen, and Sting especially thx to you for all you've added over the years. Your songwriting and singing skills continue to add so much to the "soundtrack of our lives". Great job. A++

To the craft,

Ken
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superlatives aren't enough!, May 7, 2011
This review is from: Sting Live In Berlin [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
After having spent over 35 years in the music industry as a player and audio equipment nerd. This in my humble opinion is absolutely the best (blu ray)audio, video, production, arrangements, etc. that I've ever heard and seen. To me this is the standard that all artists should strive for. You must have this. I listen to it over and over and never get tired of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great performance, Sharp but boring Picture quality, Poor 5.1 audio mix, December 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sting Live In Berlin [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Sting Live In Berlin [Blu-ray]

Saw this concert in person, so I looked forward to the same symphonic performance on BLU RAY. STING is great, and he re-invents his songs with the Philharmonic in wonderful ways. END OF GAME and ROXANNE are particularly wonderful. Also STING's voice sounds great and he delivers with range, power and endurance.

The picture quality of the BLU RAY is very sharp, very video sharp to be more specific and gives you a true "live" experience if you are into that. However, given that it was recorded in 60i, not 60p (or 24p), it is not a progressive recording and you can see a lack of resolution and depth because of this in under-lit areas and wider shots on stage; keep in mind that your 1080p TV will render the 60i material as 60p but it would be best if it were recorded progressively to start with. The camera work is slow moving or locked off and it works and the editorial is simple and seems to work as well. The color correction is very simple and they seem to have only relied on making everything look consistent rather than give the show a real "look" like the beautiful rich look JOHN MAYER got on his WHERE THE LIGHT IS Blu Ray for example.

The audio appears to be well recorded and of high quality. However, the 5.1 audio mix is very poor: it sounds like all the audio engineers have done is give us a 5-channel stereo mix rather than a true 5.1 mix. In a true 5.1 mix, STING's vocals would be mostly in the center channel and the instruments in the Front L/R and the ambiance and crowd reaction in the Rear L/R, with low frequencies in the sub/LFE. But in the 5.1 mix provided every single speaker has the same audio mix coming out of it which sounds muddy and causes STING's voice to sound layered and echo. For better, cleaner sound, stick to the 2.0 Stereo PCM mix for this Blu Ray. Again JOHN MAYER got a much better sonic result for his audio mix on his WHERE THE LIGHT IS Blu Ray which is a reference quality picture and audio quality Blu Ray shot in 35MM and HD.

Extra Features have an interesting interview with STING and Marsalis. All good here except they put some soft lighting filter (like a soap opera) all over STING's face for this interview which has been overdone for no good reason I can think of. I mean STING looks great and does not need a soft light to "glow out" his wrinkles!

Overall it is a good purchase for a STING fan. But I wish they had taken the time in the on stage lighting, color correction and I wish it had a much better 5.1 mix for what was an amazing concert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars no cd in blue ray version, December 16, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sting Live In Berlin [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
My only complaint is the blue ray version doesnt include a cd...the concert itself is really well done...no fancy editing, no obligatory shots of people in the audience mouthing the lyrics...a very nicely paced, extremely professional job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best BD in my collection, November 24, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sting Live In Berlin [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Hands down... this concert, recording, cinematography and video quality is a MUST have for any Sting fan. Really well captured. See

http://www.amazon.com/gp/cdp/member-reviews/AY9X308TJ3N9V/ref=cm_pdp_rev_title_1?ie=UTF8&sort_by=MostRecentReview#R18PRMREQK6BPB

for a well written review of which I completely agree with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a must-have for Sting fans, January 9, 2012
By 
Neil S. Rieck "Neil Rieck" (Kitchener/Waterloo, Ontario, Canada.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sting Live In Berlin [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a must-have product for Sting fans. It is a live recording of one (out of 130+) concerts given by Sting, and friends, while collaborating with local symphonies around the world. The video quality is stunning. The audio quality is near perfect and my only complaint was the slightly low audio level of female vocalist "Jo Lawry" during the duet "Whenever I Say Your Name". I counted 36 tracks on the Blu-ray which also contains bonus video interviews.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome- and I never liked Sting...., January 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sting Live In Berlin [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a GREAT Blu Ray...I bought it cause I like concert videos. I look for QUALITY in video and sound because its going on a 130" sceen :) I bought this from the reviews I have read here- They were right- it IS sweet. I was NEVER a sting fan, and to be honest, I probably won't buy any of his other stuff because I cant see how it would be better than this.
Video is great , sound is great. It kind of a mellow concert- not high energy.

Get it- you will see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, December 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sting Live In Berlin [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is by far the best blu ray concert I own. It is not often the picture sound direction and artist performance come together all at once to make the perfect concert video. Awesome job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gift for Father in law, June 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sting Live In Berlin [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
My father in law is a big music buff. He liked the Blue ray and said it was a very good concert. Quality is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent quality audio and video, May 29, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sting Live In Berlin [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Sting does everything first class, and this DVD is no different.

It's nice and long too. You get your money's worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sting Live In Berlin [Blu-ray]
Sting Live In Berlin [Blu-ray] by Jim Gable (Blu-ray - 2010)
$24.98 $21.38
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.