Stink and the Midnight Zombie Walk and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy Used
$3.34
Condition: :
Comment: Eligible for Amazon's FREE Super Saver/Prime Shipping, 24/7 Customer Service, and package tracking. 100% Satisfaction Guarantee. Dust jacket in Has dustjacket condition.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Stink and the Midnight Zombie Walk (Book #7) Hardcover – March 13, 2012

Book 7 of 9 in the Stink Series

See all 14 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover, March 13, 2012
$7.97 $0.01

Marvel The Avengers: The Ultimate Character Guide
An encylopaedia of Marvel's Avengers characters with features such as rankings of fighting skills, origin stories and vital stats. Good for hours of entertainment. See more Dorling Kindersley books for eight-year-olds
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Kindle FreeTime Unlimited
Beyond Parental Controls
Try this book and get unlimited access to thousands of kid-safe books, apps and videos, for one low price, with Amazon FreeTime Unlimited. Get started for free. Learn more

Product Details

  • Age Range: 5 - 8 years
  • Grade Level: Kindergarten - 3
  • Lexile Measure: 510L (What's this?)
  • Series: Stink (Book 7)
  • Hardcover: 160 pages
  • Publisher: Candlewick; 1St Edition edition (March 13, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0763656925
  • ISBN-13: 978-0763656928
  • Product Dimensions: 5.9 x 0.6 x 7.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 9.6 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (51 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,068,698 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

An all-zombie-all-the-time zombiefest, featuring a bunch of grade-school kids, including protagonist Stink and his happy comrades… McDonald's feel-good tone is deeply encouraging for readers to get up and do this for themselves because it looks like so much darned fun.
—Kirkus Reviews

Gross, creepy, and hilarious, the latest simple chapter book about the young, mischievous grade-schooler Stink has even parents, teachers, and other grown-ups joining in the nonsense as they all celebrate the joy of reading... Kids will love the gruesome wordplay, and the digital artwork extends the uproar with spooky shadows like giant cobwebs and body parts, while zombies in school uniforms lurch down Main Street. Perfect for Halloween, this will make fun reading all year round.
—Booklist

About the Author

Megan McDonald is the creator of the popular and award-winning Stink and Judy Moody series. She is also the author of three Sisters Club stories, Ant and Honey Bee: A Pair of Friends at Halloween, and many other books for children. She lives in Sebastopol, California.

Peter H. Reynolds is the illustrator of the Stink and Judy Moody books and the author-illustrator of The Dot, Ish, So Few of Me, and Rose's Garden. He lives in Dedham, Massachusetts.

Customer Reviews

The Stink book series is great for 3rd grade boys!
Joyce
This book was really fun to read, and young readers will get a kick out of the story and comedy in it.
Steven R. McEvoy
We had to read it to him many times, now of course he corrects us since he remembers the whole book.
Fizyka Pomaga

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By KidsReads on May 29, 2012
Format: Hardcover
Stink's school is working hard to reach one million reading minutes --- and what better way to contribute to that total than reading the latest Nightmare on Zombie Street book? Stink and Webster are thrilled about the upcoming book release party for Creature with the Cootie Brain. They love the series that makes them laugh and also shudder in fear. There is just one tiny problem --- you have to be able to buy the book to attend the Midnight Zombie Walk at the bookstore, and the boys do not have $12.99 each.

Luckily, Stink has a plan. He and Webster will have a fantastic yard sale. They'll get plenty of money for their old toys, like the action figures they no longer enjoy. But Stink over-estimates their ability to discard their belongings. Each of them has only a few measly toys for the sale. That's when Stink comes up with a Plan B to earn money. His plan lives up to his name --- they concoct "smell cups," loaded with pleasant odors such as peppermint, cinnamon, gum, dirt, dish soap, and pinecones. Each customer is to pay 50 cents a sniff. The plan seems like a winner, but there are no customers. All passersby decline the offer, and one boy even says he can smell things at home without paying a penny.

A discouraged Webster is ready to throw in the towel, but Stink comes up with another creative brainstorm. He decides to turn their little business into a "Smellatorium." After all, who could resist taking a whiff of Zombie Toe Jam or Zombie B.O.? Well, things don't go exactly as Stink predicts, but the boys do manage to rake in four dollars, a cough drop, and a purple paper clip.

Back at school, the students are anticipating the costumes they will wear to the Midnight Zombie Walk. There is exciting news from Ms.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Steven R. McEvoy on March 15, 2012
Format: Hardcover
For a few years now I have intended to read one of the Judy Moody novels by Megan McDonald and Peter H Reynolds. It is definitely my loss that I have not made the time to do so yet. Stink is Judy's little brother and each has their own series and a few carry-over novels. If the Judy Moody or the other Stink books are as good as this one, I am in for a lot of good reading.

This book was really fun to read, and young readers will get a kick out of the story and comedy in it. Stink and his friends are desperately awaiting the release of Nightmare on Zombie Street Book 5, Creature with the Cootie Brain, a book in the Zombie series they have been reading. Their school is trying to get to a million minutes read and maybe they even get a little scared. The chapters are:

Vomitocius
The Smellatorium
What about B.O.B.?
Curse of the Zombie Baloney
Zombie Lunch Lady
Nightmare on Croaker Street
Cruella De Zombie
The (Ten O'Clock) Midnight Zombie Walk

In 153 pages of text and illustrations, Reynolds and McDonald tell a hilarious tale. This book was a great read and has hooked me so much I am planning on reading both series soon. Check them out; great book for young readers or to read with young readers.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover
For full synopsis please see above.

As a big fan of Stink and Judy Moody books I was not surprised to find that I loved this book. What I was surprised about was that it was scary! Not in a bad way, in a good way. My students are always asking for scary books and now I can point them in the direction of Stink and the Midnight Zombie Walk. This can also serve the purpose of introducing them to Megan McDonald's wonderful books and terrific characters.

The word play is fabulous. The illustrations by Peter H. Reynolds are awesome and help move the story along. There is enough humor to offset the scary parts. The siblings relationship is authetic and the parents offer just enough support. Recommended for fans of Judy and Stink or readers new to these books, students asking for scary books, second graders and up and reluctant readers. Every school library should have this one and it's on my wish list! Read as an ebook arc courtesy of Candlewick Press via Netgalley.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover
Reason for Reading: Next in the series.

Ds loves this series of books. This is the first time he did the reading aloud as his reader. They are a little hard for him and halfway through a chapter I'll take over and read a few pages for him to take a breather, then he'll finish up the chapter himself. This one was a lot of fun with the zombie theme but not having any actual supernatural events. The reading theme and the excitement over a new book in a popular series was fun as well. Not a lot to actually say in this review as we happily received everything we expected in a Stink book and enjoyed it to the max. These books are keepers on ds's shelves, which is a very highly coveted spot indeed; only a select few make the cut. Looking forward to the next book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover
Stink and the Midnight Zombie Walk by Megan Mcdonald is a fiction book about a mischievous and creative boy who likes to play with his friends and draw comics.

Stink Moody likes to do things he enjoys the most. He has a big sister named Judy who he doesn't really like. He goes almost everywhere with his friends, Webster and Sophie. Together, in this book, they are trying to earn money to get into the Midnight Zombie Walk event.

I thought this was a good book. I would recommend it to people who enjoy funny stories. I enjoy having this book and will read it again.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

More About the Author

10 THINGS YOU MAY NOT KNOW ABOUT ME

10. The first book I ever wrote was about a hermit crab, inspired by a pet I once owned.

9. My favorite color is purple.

8. I love to read mysteries. When I was Judy's age, I read all 56 classic Nancy Drew books . . . in order! Jeepers!

7. I used to collect scabs so I could examine them under the microscope that I got for my 8th birthday.

6. My four sisters and I often made up our own language, which included the words "Hoidi Boidi", "oogey", "retzel crummypuss" and "poony-poony".

5. My favorite TV show is JEOPARDY!

4. To research my Sisters Club book, THE RULE OF THREE, I toured San Francisco in search of the ultimate cupcake. The winner: Sleepless in San Francisco. Think chocolate + coffee.

3. When I was a kid, I fell down a hill from chasing the ice-cream truck and had to get stitches.

2. When I was a librarian, I used to tell stories in sign language. That's how I got the expression "same-same" for Judy.

1. I share a birthday (February 28) with a famous princess, race car driver and gangster, a Rolling Stone, a French tightrope walker, and a winning racehorse named Smarty Jones.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?