Customer Reviews


350 Reviews
5 star:
 (182)
4 star:
 (103)
3 star:
 (35)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Six Degrees of Stir of Echoes
This movie was truly a surprise, and a victim of bad timing. It was eerie, suspensful, funny, and somewhat similar to and released around the same time as the Sixth Sense. The mammoth success of Sixth Sense truly wounded this film's potential.Kevin Bacon does a great job as playing a madman driving by those subliminal movie messages like "Dig". He opens up...
Published on January 21, 2000 by Michael Lloyd

versus
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A little disapointing...
Although I loved this movie, the picture quality is one of the worst I've seen on Blu-ray to date. The picture was very soft, and grainy in parts. Despite these facts, it is still visually superior than its standard dvd counterparts but no match for most of the Blu-ray disc I've seen. The sound faired much better, there was lots of separation and bass.
Published on January 5, 2007 by Ronald S. Flowers


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Six Degrees of Stir of Echoes, January 21, 2000
By 
Michael Lloyd (Midland, Texas USA 300 miles W. of Dallas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stir of Echoes (DVD)
This movie was truly a surprise, and a victim of bad timing. It was eerie, suspensful, funny, and somewhat similar to and released around the same time as the Sixth Sense. The mammoth success of Sixth Sense truly wounded this film's potential.Kevin Bacon does a great job as playing a madman driving by those subliminal movie messages like "Dig". He opens up a pathway into the paranormal world after being placed into a hypnotic spell by Ileana Douglas(Fox's Action). From there he finds that he not the only one in his family with the "Shinning", yes the Shinning. Do you want to get sued lad! Sorry, Simpson's reference after he sees his son talking to "imaginary" dead friends as we all tended to do from time to time. While the movie was overshadowed by Sixth Sense it had more action, and moved at a faster pace. The only thing that Sixth sense had over the films was it's incredible ending. The movie would have you jumping one minute and laughing the next, but not in the predictable way most horror movies do. It was truly well done, and had a great sex scene where the wife wakes the husband(Bacon) for some loving. It's true in movies dreams can come true. Go see it or buy it either way you shouldn''t be disappointed unless you one of the people that likes to ruin a movie by saying that's a rip-off from Sixth Sense or that doesn't happen in the Sixth Sense. Also, look for the microwave burrito on the nightstand. I'm still not sure of the symbolism, but I'm sure it's something genious. Take care, go get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please check your pants after viewing this movie!, March 18, 2000
This review is from: Stir of Echoes (DVD)
WOW! This has to be the most underrated movie of 1999. This movie is guaranteed to freak you out. The visual effects, although low tech, are extremely well done and provide a very eerie look into the world of the paranormal. The plot is also done very well. Elements that are introduced throughout the film are tided together quite nicely in the end. The acting is superb, with Kevin Bacon giving the best performance of his career. He really makes you believe in his character, which is one of the elements that makes this movie work so well. I have the DVD edition, listening to this in 5.1 format is a must. The ghostlike voices that come from the rear speakers gives new meaning to the DVD experience, especially in a dark room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget Comparisons, This Movie Is GREAT, April 29, 2000
By 
A. Fultz (Santa Barbara, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stir of Echoes (DVD)
It seems this movie will forever be compared with "Sixth Sense". The unfortunate timing that had Sense opening first seemed to push this movie off to the side. That is a terrible shame, because this movie is as good as any around. Comparing Echoes to Sense is like comparing DaVinci to Michealangelo. Both are great in their own distinct ways.
The story of an ordinary working class guy (Kevin Bacon) living in his version of a safe, ideal neighborhood whose world is throw out of whack when he is hypnotized by his ditzy sister-in-law (the always good Illeana Douglas). When he starts to experience strange things, it turns his and his family's world upside down. It would be a shame to say more and possibly spoil the suspenseful plot, but the twists and turns this tale takes are wonderful.
This movie will keep you on the edge of your seat and give you a good half-dozen or so jump out of your skin scares. Well acted (Bacon and Douglas are the "big" names, but Kathryn Erbe, Kevin Dunn, AJ Oto lead a great supporting cast, and Zachary David Cope does an amazing job as Bacon's son) and written, this movie should have been a much bigger hit. The second life it has received on video/DVD is well-deserved.
If you missed this one when it was first out, grab a copy. It is a GREAT film, and worth adding to your DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Frightening Thriller That You Will Never Forget!, January 12, 2002
By 
Michael Crane (Orland Park, IL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stir of Echoes (DVD)
Talk about a nail-biting thriller, "Stir of Echoes" is a supernatural journey into the unknown. Brilliantly written and directed, this is a movie that shouldn't be missed by anyone.
Kevin Bacon stars as Tom. Tom is an ordinary man who loves his family and is devoted to his job. The only thing he wishes is that he wasn't so ordinary. Everything drastically changes at a neighborhood party when Tom is hypnotized for a brief period of time. After that unforgettable night, Tom starts seeing things; haunting and violent images that he can't stop or ignore. He hears things that he cannot block from his eardrums. Later on, he discovers that what he is witnessing are possible puzzle pieces to an unspeakable crime that took place a while back. As Tom starts losing it and is determined to solve the unbearable puzzle that haunts him day and night, the more danger he puts him and his family into.
In a way, this was the movie that "Sixth Sense" was trying to be. I felt that this movie was a lot more shocking and haunting. The movie has great acting and a fabulous screenplay. This is a movie you may not want to watch late at night, unless you don't mind a nightmare or two. It's too bad that this movie came out the same time that "The Sixth Sense" did, otherwise it would've gotten more recognition; well deserved recognition at that. There are a few extras on the DVD for those of you who enjoy what special features DVDs have to offer, including a behind the scenes feature, a music video, and a couple of trailers.
This is a great thriller that should've gotten a hell of a lot more recognition. Rent or buy this one as soon as you can. If you love a dark thriller, then you will not be disappointed. Be warned; there are some shocking and disturbing images that may be hard to stomach for some; not for those who get disturbed easily. "Stir of Echoes" is filled with thrills and surprises that you won't want to miss. It also has an excellent plot with a surprising climax. An easy 5 out of 5 stars, without question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as 6th sense, February 21, 2000
This review is from: Stir of Echoes (DVD)
The new Hollywood player "Artisan Entertainment" offers up its second outing in the wake of the "Blair Witch Project".
The "Stir of Echoes" is based on a long out of print novel which has been adapted by screenwriter/director David Koepp. Koepp is responsible for writing such huge hits as both "Jurassic Parks", "Mission: Impossible" and "Men In Black." His last directing effort was 1996's "Trigger Effect" which told of paranoia erupting during a mass blackout in LA. In "Stir of Echoes" we encounter more paranoia and its effects on a Chicago-based family. The cause of the paranoia comes when the head of the family (Kevin Bacon) is hypnotized by an unlicensed hypno-therapist (Illeana Douglas). The hypnosis opens an unlocked chamber of Bacon's mind and unleashes a long kept secret come to life.
"Stir of Echoes" is a very light and subtle ghost story thriller. How can a film like this overcome the flooded horror genre market? Well the standout performance by Kevin Bacon is probably a good start as he gives one of his best in recent years. His protective nature towards his boy, his obsession with trying to solve his polluted mind and his reactions with the supernatural phenomenon bring out every reaction in Bacon. The portrayal reminded me a lot of Craig T Nelson in the classic "Poltergeist" as an every day man trying to battle the unknown. Other evidences of "Poltergeist" were in the "little boy" who knows more than his parents and seems to be in tune with the corporeal world. One aspect of Echoes which is never fully explored is the "open-minded" underground where the wife learns that only 8% of the population have the ability to see the corporeal world. Begging for help this intriguing subplot could have been the key this supernatural thriller needed. Except the story takes the obvious road and we end at the conclusion. Was this fully explored in the novel? We may never know. So if you are a Kevin Bacon fan see "Stir of Echoes" and if you want to see a good ghost story then see this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Scary and Suspenseful, January 9, 2005
This review is from: Stir of Echoes (DVD)
There was so much press over "The Sixth Sense" when it came out that critics and audiences generally ignored "Stir of Echoes;" too bad, because "Stir of Echoes" is actually scarier than "The Sixth Sense." "The Sixth Sense" is slower-paced, and relies on a couple of plot devices to give viewers slowly growing chills with a couple of jumps along the way, leading to the final revealing moment where you have to re-evaluate everything that you saw. "Stir of Echoes" is an in-your-face ghost story.

Tim Witzky (Kevin Bacon) is a blue-collar worker who has recently moved to an older urban neighborhood. The house he is renting is a beautiful home. The neighborhood seems normal and friendly. Initially you wonder what could be so scary about this neighborhood.

Son Jake (Zachary David Cope) talks to someone who obviously is not there. Of course, many children have invisible friends and we chalk the experience up to what we know. What becomes unusual is when Tim is hypnotized during a party. Suddenly, Tim experiences unusual and bizarre nightmares, including situations where he not only sees things, but experiences things physically.

Tim tries to have the hypnotist undo whatever she did, but she is unable to do so, because she really does not know what she did. Tim's visions increase as he becomes obsessed with more than finding out the source of the visions. For some reason he is being compelled by a ghost to do something, for a reason that he has yet to understand. As Tim's obsession/compulsion grows, his wife Maggie (Kathryn Erbe) begins to think that Tim is either insane or heading in that direction.

As we follow Tim's descent into madness, a number of occurrences convince us that either his insanity is quite vivid (for the skeptics among us), or he truly is seeing a ghost. Eventually we are convinced that he is seeing a ghost, which makes his situation even more frightening, because the ghost becomes insistent to the extent of putting Tim and possibly Jake's life in danger.

This movie contains sufficient psychological thrills in combination with jump out from behind the corner scares and an ending that I did not see coming to give it advantages over "The Sixth Sense." This movie is not necessarily better than "The Sixth Sense" because it is a different kind of movie. However, it is its equal in setting up an eerie atmosphere and superior in providing several moments that gave me a nice jump (when was the last time you saw a dead girl unexpectedly sitting next to you on the couch?).

Kevin Bacon provides an incredible performance in this movie. I consider Kevin's performance superior to Bruce Willis's because of the intensity of Kevin's character, and the need to play someone who appeared on the borderline of being insane yet knowing that he was under a terrible compulsion that he did not control. The combination of emotions Kevin attained was more difficult than Bruce Willis's rather staid role.

The supporting actors completed the rather mundane scenario, which could have been acted out in your neighborhood, just around the corner. The people seemed so real, so normal. Their dreams and actions were those of people that likely you know. It is their very normalcy and that this story takes place in a suburb rather than an isolated location that makes this story scarier.

This movie is one of the best ghost stories I have watched, and I consider it to be one of the best ghost stories of all time. Well worth watching more than once and having in your horror movie collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intense psychological thriller, September 30, 2004
Although it was branded as a variation on "The Sixth Sense", "Stir of Echoes" (based on Richard Matheson's terrific novel "A Stir of Echoes" I guess the "A" got lost on the way to the box office)focuses on what director/writer David Koepp does best. Koepp's film createa an intense psychological thriller where everyone believes the main character is crazy except us. We know what he knows and, as a result, we fear for his sanity almost as much as his loved ones because we know he isn't insane.

Kevin Bacon gives a startling and powerful performance as a Tom Witzky a regular family guy who, after being hynotized by his sister-in-law (Illeana Douglas) begins seeing visions that suggest a murdered girl's ghost is trying to communicate with him. He's driven to try and uncover who committed the murder but, more importantly, help put her soul to rest before he loses his mind and his family. Koepp's film eschews conventional "horror" film conventions because it isn't a horror film at all.

Overlooked when it was first released, "Stir of Echoes" has one of Bacon's best, most intense performances. The imaginative, sharp direction also highlights Matheson's haunting ghost story. This new special edition has most of the features of the earlier release plus a number of new featurettes including "The Mind's Eye: Beneath the Trance", "Sight of Spirits: Channeling the Paranormal", "Special Effects Featurette" plus deleted scenes, a production design featurette and other extras. We also get Director David Koepp's original commentary track from the previous edition, the music video "Breathe" by Moist and the two making of featurettes.

The transfer itself appears to be a new transfer with slightly better image quality than the previous edition. The exceptional soundtrack also has a new 6.1 DTS commentary plus a Dolby Digital 5.1 EX remix of the soundtrack as well. The sound is crisp without a hint of the compression that frequently mars most transfers. Overall, a terrific transfer plus some nice extras. There's also a booklet with the chapter stops and some interesting trivia on the making of the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Open Your Mind ... Now, December 6, 2004
As a hypnotist, the main attraction for me in this movie were bits dealing with hypnosis and Kevin Bacon did a great acting job.

All the fun begins after Kevin Bacon, unhappy with his life, becomes hypnotized, just as an experiment and is given a suggestion to open his mind. He begins having visions which won't leave him alone, until he chooses to do something about them. He doesn't like this new gift and would be happy to get rid of it, but there is no way out than to go ahead and get to the bottom of it and follow what he's instructed to do. With each new step, he unveiles the crime that was done many years ago. The movie is a suspenseful horror movie, but it does have some humorous elements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of 1999's best, March 22, 2002
By 
This review is from: Stir of Echoes [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I've heard all the comparison's between Stir of Echos and The Sixth Sense and I don't really think it's fair. They have some similarities, yes, but the storyline is totally different. Kevin Bacon is fantastic in this film. he is hypnotized by his sister-in-law at a party and begins receiving horrifying and eerie images in his mind of a shy girl named Samantha Koufax. He only sees bits and pieces of these images and he tries to place them together to figure out what they mean. He will stop at nothing to figure out this mystery whether it means tearing apart his house, his marriage or his life. It's a non-stop thriller that will keep your interest peaked and keep you guessing throughout the film. This is a good movie to watch in the dark!!! Maybe it doesn't get the accolades of The Sixth Sense but I believe it's just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SLEEP! DIG! GREAT HORROR MOVIE!, February 3, 2000
By 
Joe (Gulf Shores, Al) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stir of Echoes (DVD)
"Stir of Echoes" was a major surprise. Big time. I wanted to see it since I first saw the trailer in July but I never got around to it. I waited for video (Which most of you have probably done also) and was thoroughly impressed. So impressed in fact, that I went out and bought it the next night. It's sort of a mish-mash of "Poltergeist", "The Shining", "Rosemary's Baby", "The Sixth Sense" and whatever else ghost movies are out there for that matter. Kevin Bacon gives the performance of a lifetime and the movie has dazzling surprises that truly surprise. On the DVD, I LOVED that creepy cool menu beginning. All those flash cuts and stuff FREAKED ME OUT! If you LOVE good horror flicks, this one is for you! It's pretty scary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Stir of Echoes
Stir of Echoes by David Koepp (DVD - 2000)
$14.98 $11.94
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.