Customer Reviews


139 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Black Egyptians
An anonymous reviewer who calls himself "A reader" asked the question, "If Egyptians were black, why aren't they black now?" The answer is, much of Egypt's modern population IS black (Malcom X noted that the people of Egypt were blacker than he). Those Egyptians who are not black are the product of Roman and Arab invasions centuries ago that resulted...
Published on December 13, 2000 by Khufre

versus
300 of 358 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This book is terrible but I understand the purpose
Hotep, I first read this book when I was 11 or 12 and I really liked it then. Unfortunately, this book is hideously flawed with regard to accuracy. As I grew older and increased my personal knowledge of Kemet/Egypt the inadequacy of this work became ridiculously obvious. James' representations of Kemetic thought are completely erroneous. That being said, I do not...
Published on December 4, 1999 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

300 of 358 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This book is terrible but I understand the purpose, December 4, 1999
By 
Hotep, I first read this book when I was 11 or 12 and I really liked it then. Unfortunately, this book is hideously flawed with regard to accuracy. As I grew older and increased my personal knowledge of Kemet/Egypt the inadequacy of this work became ridiculously obvious. James' representations of Kemetic thought are completely erroneous. That being said, I do not side with James' other critics on this page. I appreciate what he attempted to do for African people and I understand the brutality of the environment in which he operated. I honor him as an Ancestor. At the same time I am not pleased when I see people (particularly Black people) using this inaccurate work in their attempts to combat the well armed and well entrenched Eurocentrists and Neo-Eurocentrists. Neo-Eurocentrists and Eurocentrists find this book incredibly useful to their cause. Stolen Legacy is used to dismiss a diverse Afrocentric movement as a bunch of dreamers, demagouges, and ill prepared romantics. Another note: I found it very amusing how certain contributors to this page confidently stated or implied that "the Egyptians are not Black" or that "Egypt had no connection to Sub-Saharan Africa." (smile) Very cute, however one might actually want to study Kemetic religion, history, language, and culture before opening their mouths to make such inane statements. This is particularly the case with regard to Egyptian history, language, religion, and culture. The "Blackness" of this African people is not really an issue for me (I'm sure Kemet was not absolutely homogeneous)but it annoys me when silly people confidently assert that these AFRICANS were not Black. Another note: Kemet/Egypt is not the only great African civilization. Those who truly want to study Africa, live as Africans, and or assist in her ressurection cannot allow themselves to be confined to to a single branch of the African family. One more VERY IMPORTANT thing. Black/African people, particularly those who call themselves "Afrocentrists" need to stop focusing so much upon our relationship to Greece and other European civilizations. 1. We need to study Africa and our people in our own right and through our own eyes. "Proof" of our contribution or relationship with a European Civilization should not be viewed as a way of legitimizing or increasing the status of a given African Civilization. 2. Greece and European Civilizations can stand in their own right. Eurocentrists and Neo-Eurocentrists do not usually view themselves as such. They view themselves as "orthodox", "careful", "OBJECTIVE", and "SCHOLARLY" (whether they are or not). The fact is they are the established camp and they hold a greater following upon the masses. We must put works such as "Stolen Legacy" to rest and make sure that in our pursuits we are commited to accuracy and truth. This is the only path towards victory. The multitude of African Civilizations are interesting, wonderful, and legitimate without any fantasy and romanticism added to them. Di en ek ankh udja soneb (may there be given to you life, prosperity, and health)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Black Egyptians, December 13, 2000
By 
Khufre (The Original Home) - See all my reviews
An anonymous reviewer who calls himself "A reader" asked the question, "If Egyptians were black, why aren't they black now?" The answer is, much of Egypt's modern population IS black (Malcom X noted that the people of Egypt were blacker than he). Those Egyptians who are not black are the product of Roman and Arab invasions centuries ago that resulted in intermarriages. The modern Islamic Egyptian culture was imported by light-skinned Arabs. Many historians agree that even until the time of Arabian invasion, the vast majority of egyptians were black(negroid). I hope that this was helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More important for the questions it raises than answers, February 2, 1999
By A Customer
Any book that can render this kind of reaction by intellectuals and regular folk alike should be on everyone's reading list. Even in today's polemical culture of complaint, where people hide bad art and cheap sensational ideas behind political/ideological fads or automatic public reactions to their support or refutation, one must look at the thought provoking questions that this book arises- and the near automatic emotions that go with them. I read this book several years ago in college. Though I didn't particularly like the preachy style, it successfully started me on an intellectual journey through a plethora of authors of the past two centuries and a spiritual awakening. This book, I am reminded, has such power, because it raises more uncomfortable questions than it answers. In the spirit of such work, the raison detre of all scholarship, I'd like to ask all others past, present and future who have or plan to review this book: have you read inki_snkm@yahoo.com's review of this yet? Were you aware of the facts he brings to light and refers to- more importantly, the intellectual paradigms he used to formulate his opinions, as those are (linguistics specifically)part and parcel of the methods, principles and practices of all Western scholars? Why do you think all architecture schools across all of Western civilization through the centuries to today begin their students' studies with the Pyramids? Have you seen the pyramids of the Sudan and Nubia, some predating those of Giza, recently unearthed by German archaeological teams? And what do you think our Founding Fathers (Washington, Jefferson, et al) would have thought of such a work (and think of the back of the dollar bill before you answer)?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dedication/Review From the Internet by RUNOKO RASHIDI, November 29, 2006
This review is from: Stolen Legacy (Paperback)
THE GLOBAL AFRICAN COMMUNITY

H I S T O R Y N O T E S

By RUNOKO RASHIDI

DEDICATED TO DR. PETER DAWSON AND DR. ALFRED M. LIGON

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
The following information will be of interest to all who appreciate the work of George G. M. James. As we all know, very little is published about Professor James. The following information came to me via the Internet. I have decided to republish it here because it has some precious information about Prof. James.
This information is quite appropriate to describe the book that i first reprinted in 1989 - long after the death of Mr. James. But since i was the first publisher to 'mass' produce, and satisfy the great demand for the book, it is the only one in print that also has a photograph of the Author. [...]
"The term Greek philosophy, to begin with, is a
misnomer, for there is no such philosophy in
existence."

Dr. George Granville Monah James was born in
Georgetown, Guyana, South America. He was the son of
Reverend Linch B. and Margaret E. James. George G.M.
James earned Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Theology
and Master of Arts degrees from Durham University in
England and was a candidate there for the D. Litt
degree. He conducted research at London University
and did postgraduate work at Columbia University where
he read for his Ph.D. Dr. James earned a teaching
certificate in the State of New York to teach
mathematics, Latin and Greek. James later served as
Professor of Logic and Greek at Livingston College in
Salisbury, North Carolina for two years, and
eventually taught at the University of Arkansas, Pine
Bluff.

Dr. James was the author of the widely circulated
Stolen Legacy: The Greeks Were Not the Authors of
Greek Philosophy, But the People of North Africa,
Commonly Called the Egyptians--a controversial text
originally published in 1954 and reprinted a number of
times since. Professor William Leo Hansberry reviewed
Stolen Legacy in the Journal of Negro Education in
1955, and noted that:

"In Stolen Legacy an author with a passion for justice
and truth champions a startling thesis with which most
of the little volume's readers--Hellenophiles in
particular--will no doubt strongly disagree. In this
work Professor James dares to contend and labor to
prove, among others, that 'the Greeks were not the
authors of Greek philosophy', that 'so-called Greek
philosophy' was based in the main upon ideas and
concepts which were borrowed without
acknowledgement--indeed 'stolen'--by a few wayward and
dishonest Greeks from the ancient Egyptians."

Stolen Legacy was written during Dr. James' tenure at
the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff. As of
today, there is not even a copy of the book in the
University library. There is no statue or bust of Dr.
James on the campus. There is no plaque of Dr. James
adorning the campus walls. There is not even a
certificate to note Dr. James' existence or that he
even lived. This is at an historically Black college!

Dr. James's tragic death, under mysterious
circumstances, reputedly, came shortly after Stolen
Legacy's publication. To date, no significant
biography of James has been presented.

SOURCES:
Stolen Legacy, by George G.M. James
Nile Valley Contributions To Civilization, by Anthony
Browder
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The full truth, January 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stolen Legacy (Paperback)
It's a read of entertainment, but enlightenment.
Knowing your past is a great and powerful skill to own, simply because it becomes a resource.

No matter your ethnicity, this book will inspire you to rethink your truth.

We're still taught that Christopher Columbus discovered America. Yet, we celebrate a lie annually. Especially in the face of many Native Americans whose presence alone justifies the dishonor in the celebratory actions.

This book needs to be in every school.

Middle, High and College. As basic, fundamental reading. Lies shouldn't be part of our tradition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unsubstantiated thoughts, Look to more scholarly work, November 8, 2000
I think there is little doubt among Egyptologists and students of Ancient Greek thought that Egypt heavily influenced the Ancient Greek paradigm and may have influenced the conception of certain Greek deities, particularly Athena. The Immortal Principle, for example, very well may have originated in Akhenaten's attempt at monotheism before the Greek dark ages. However, the argument is very poorly constructed and largely unsubstantiated. There are very clear divergences in Egyptian and Greek thought, as well as many progressions in Greek Philosophy which can not possibly be attributed to Egypt except by the most dillusional and tenuous thinkers.
People who are interested in truly scholarly work on the afro-asiatic roots of Greek thought should check out The Black Athena and Isis in the Ancient World. Although both have been questioned, especially The Black Athena, they are certainly more substantiated than this book, in which the authors prance around like elephants in a china closet trying to interpret history to suit their own liking. Cool for the lightweights, but if you want the real I suggest you turn to the aforementioned titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You gotta know!, August 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stolen Legacy (Paperback)
Most people don't know. Some think they do. Read this and you'll come close to discovering most of what you don't know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Man, know thyself, April 29, 2013
This review is from: Stolen Legacy (Paperback)
Stolen legacy has given me insight into my African history. The author gives us descriptive teachings from the Egyptian culture. This book must be read more than once. It has a plethora of information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening, April 6, 2013
By 
Consumer57 (VA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a must read for a true seeker of various types of information. No one book can achieve all things, but this is definitely a good read for information you may not have been intrigued about previously. Definitely would recommend for some of the insight it gives to the past that could put you on track to finding more information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STOLEN?, March 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stolen Legacy (Paperback)
I read this book about 25 years ago lost and it purchased it again. This is a reminder black people that your, mine legacy is not just one of subservianthood as the evil powers that be would want you to believe. They had a vested interest in keeping us ignorant. That's why for a lot of years black people knowing how to read was a crime punishable by death. Ignorance is not bliss. This is a must have for anyone's library. Both black, white and anyone else wanting to know truth and not the manufactured truth that has been spewing out of the media for years. Yes our history was stolen. STAY BLESSED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Stolen Legacy
Stolen Legacy by George G.M. James (Paperback - March 17, 2012)
$8.99 $8.09
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.