Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The truth, the whole truth and nothing but.....
It is hard to imagine in the modern UK - blanketed as it is with CCTV, armed police units and security cordons that some students - who drove from Glasgow to London in the middle of the night just before Xmas 1950 - could break into Westminster Abbey, bungle things a few times and still get away with Scotland's ceremonial stone used to crown Scots kings in times past...
Published on November 7, 2009 by Graeme J. W. Smith

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very topical but wrong clothes
This movie has suddenly become very topical, because it is beginning to look as if Scotland might separate from England. The movie takes us back to a time when Scottish Nationalism was little more than a student movement; the "kidnapping" of the Stone of Destiny was a stunt to bring the movement to the notice of the media.

My sister and I were Glasgow...
Published on January 28, 2012 by Malcolm Baird


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The truth, the whole truth and nothing but....., November 7, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stone of Destiny (DVD)
It is hard to imagine in the modern UK - blanketed as it is with CCTV, armed police units and security cordons that some students - who drove from Glasgow to London in the middle of the night just before Xmas 1950 - could break into Westminster Abbey, bungle things a few times and still get away with Scotland's ceremonial stone used to crown Scots kings in times past. Innocent times indeed.

The film contains elements of the Keystone Cops - but if you have ever read Ian Hamilton's accounts of the recovery of the Stone of Destiny it was pretty much like the film portrays - even the scene near the end with the travelling people. Perhaps the only thing glossed over was the feeling of gross betrayal when the stone was voluntarily returned and the fact the authorities decided not to risk a trial and lose the case to Ian Hamilton's rather well argued points of law as to why he and his companions had merely recovered stolen property.

The film also stars parts of the City of Glasgow set dressed to look like 1950; a significant portion of the cars of the era from the Glasgow Museum of Transport; the real Westminster Abbey and Glasgow University. Also watch out for the real Ian Hamilton's 5 second, non-speaking, cameo appearance!

In this day and age it is hard to find safe family movies - but this one is - a REAL tale of derring-do and robbery which it is safe to let the kids watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Viva Scotia, February 3, 2010
By 
Scotsman (WY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stone of Destiny (DVD)
This is a great movie about nationalism and trying to right a wrong of history. The Stone of Destiny deals with idealistic university students driven by a strong sense of nationalism devise a plan to steal back the famed Stone of Scone from the English. With high hopes, little money and a sketchy plan, they set off for London to break into Westminster Abbey and grab the coronation stone of Scottish kings. With humour thrown in for good measure, it is an enjoyable film. A good cast makes the film work: Charlie Cox (The Merchant of Venice), Billy Boyd (Lord of the Rings Trilogy, Master and Commander, The Flying Scotsman), Robert Carlyle (Trainspotting, The Full Monty, Hamish MacBeth), and Kate Mara (We Are Marshall) headline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stone of destiny, August 11, 2009
By 
L. Morrison (Angus, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stone of Destiny (DVD)
Stone of destiny is a lovely film, capturing the mood and period well. It's a pity this wasn't a bigger hit at the cinema but it is well worth seeing, especially the scenes at the end which were shot in Arbroath Abbey where the Declaration of Arbroath was signed by Robert the Bruce. (The American Declaration is based on this document).

Heartwarming and exciting without guns or violence - perfect!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful movie, March 15, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stone of Destiny (DVD)
I can't tell you how much I enjoyed this movie. I had not heard this story before so that made it even more entertaining. Want a good movie the whole family can see? This movie is one everyone can appreciate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A charming, warmhearted, comic true story, December 24, 2010
By 
This review is from: Stone Of Destiny (DVD)
A true story of some Scottish university students, who decide to retrieve the Stone of Scone from Westminster Abbey and return it to Scotland in 1950. The "crooks" bungle, but somehow pull off the heist, becoming national heroes. There are some good comic bits, when things go wrong, and a bit of romance, too. The actors, particularly Charlie Cox and Kate Mara, are quite good, and the script and direction are competent (although overdone at times). Nice shots around Westminster Abbey, Glasgow, and the British and Scottish countryside add to the enjoyment. [Please note that I watched the film on cable TV rather than from the DVD.]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very topical but wrong clothes, January 28, 2012
This review is from: Stone of Destiny (DVD)
This movie has suddenly become very topical, because it is beginning to look as if Scotland might separate from England. The movie takes us back to a time when Scottish Nationalism was little more than a student movement; the "kidnapping" of the Stone of Destiny was a stunt to bring the movement to the notice of the media.

My sister and I were Glasgow University students in the 1950s around the time of the Stone incident. Although the movie takes us back to those exciting days, it is spoilt by anachronisms including the clothes worn by students. In reality, male students went around in suits and ties, plus woollen pullovers, and they looked very overdressed by today's standard. Female students also dressed conservatively and wore skirts, not pants. The moviemakers did not copy the typical student dress, although they did take the trouble to show the small, low-performance cars of the period.

Getting back to politics and economics. Scotland in the 1950s was very unlike today's Scotland. Then, unemployment was in the 2-3% range and any new graduate could expect a job, usually a choice of jobs. Today Scotland (like the UK as a whole) is in the grip of a recession and youth unemployment is a major issue.

A final note; in the UK this DVD is priced at the equivalent of $120 on amazon.uk. Is this because of overwhelming popular demand?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cute Movie, April 2, 2011
This review is from: Stone of Destiny (DVD)
I have a problem with movie sound and usually need subtitles in English. I could only understand about .5% of what the cast said in Scottish brogue. However, I got enough of it to follow along. This is a comedy based loosely on real events. Basically everything that can go wrong, goes wrong. I have been there on capers like that myself and it's no fun, but you just adapt and worry about it later. I recommend this movie, especially if you are of Scottish origin. The scottish characters are endearing. I rooted for them. The Brits are mean. I hoped they would drown in some tea. The redheaded heroine was heartbreakingly beautiful. It is 1950. We were still all free. We still all had a sweet morality that is lost now, until we destroy ourselves and begin over. What more could one ask for? :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stone of Destiny - GREAT, September 27, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stone of Destiny (DVD)
We visited Scotland this summer and saw the Stone on display in Edinburgh Castle. The attendant in the display room told us about the movie. She said it was a good lighthearted presentation of how the Stone got to Edinburgh. We weren't disappointed. The whole family enjoyed the movie. It also captured a sense of how proud the Scottish people are of their country - Scotland - not Britain. We loved our trip to Scotland and the movie gave us a better understanding of the importance of the Stone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stone of Destiny, April 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stone of Destiny (DVD)
Great fun! A "must-see" if you've got any Scottish blood flowing through your veins; and even if you're not even vaguely Scottish you'll still root for the gang.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth owning, January 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stone of Destiny (DVD)
Based closely on the true event of a group of Scottish college students stealing back the Stone of Destiny from Westminster Abby. Wonderful acting. Fascinating story. Marvelous movie! Get it and watch it - you'll want to own it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Stone of Destiny
Stone of Destiny by Charles Martin Smith
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.