Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear a space in your CD case for this one!
Move on over, let P.M. Dawn, Beck/Seal, the Cure, Body Count, Buddy Guy et al., take over. An eclectic tribute album of Hendrix's greatest tunes featuring rockers, rappers and R&B artists. The Cure's cover of "Purple Haze" or Body Count's "Hey Joe" or P.M. Dawn's "You Got me Floatin' is worth the purchase price alone. Even if you didn't...
Published on May 9, 2000 by silverstone@bearvalleylodge.com

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good, some bad, some generic
I agree with a lot of what has been written about this album. At 43 cents you are getting a bargain. Clapton does sound mailed in; Nigel Kennedy, well lets not get too personal; Buddy Guys, great guitar work but I have never been a fan of his vocals (that is just a personal feeling, if you like his vocals then you will like this song). With that being said, there are some...
Published on March 12, 2006 by R. Leon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear a space in your CD case for this one!, May 9, 2000
This review is from: Stone Free: Tribute to Jimi Hendrix (Audio CD)
Move on over, let P.M. Dawn, Beck/Seal, the Cure, Body Count, Buddy Guy et al., take over. An eclectic tribute album of Hendrix's greatest tunes featuring rockers, rappers and R&B artists. The Cure's cover of "Purple Haze" or Body Count's "Hey Joe" or P.M. Dawn's "You Got me Floatin' is worth the purchase price alone. Even if you didn't grow up with Henrix as a staple diet for your rock n roll body, this offering is a fourteen course meal of his musical buffet. One is left with the feeling that this collaborative group of muscians, aside from their own creative interpretative presentations, have given great reverence to a man and his music that has enormous staying power. Two thumbs and eight fingers up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its a Hendrix Tribute, not a Hendrix record., November 10, 2005
This review is from: Stone Free: Tribute to Jimi Hendrix (Audio CD)
There are more Hendrix fans buying this almost expecting Jimi to be channelling his spirit from the other side through these musicians. This is not a seance, its a tribute album. If you're looking to hear Hendrix play, put in an Experience disc, or Band of Gypsies, or one of the hundreds of bootlegs that have been released by now..

If you are in the mood to hear Hendrix's work show why it was so good, and how it lives up to different interpretations, 12 years later, this disc is still one of the best you can put in, and in my opinion, it stands up to Hendrix's own work itself.

There are two tracks that surpass the originals by leaps and bounds. PM Dawn's "Got me Floatin'" takes a filler track and makes it completely unique and soulful, and MACC (Really just Temple of the Dog) covering "Hey Baby (Land of The New Rising Sun)". These two tracks make this disc worth buying if nothing else.

The Cure revitalize "Purple Haze" giving a trippy, Gothed-out rendition that shows how versatile a song Hendrix really wrote, Living Colour give "Crosstown Traffic" a genuine feel without just carbon copying the original, and Pat Metheney's "Third Stone From The Sun" and Nigel Kennedy's "Fire" give a pretty good idea of areas Hendrix may have gone himself with his music had he not died so young.

There are some surprising deadweight songs, such as Buddy Guy's version of "Red House" and Clapton's dry version of "Stone Free" almost make you wonder if Hendrix wrote those songs FOR those guys to play, because theres nowhere for them to go inside those songs, except where Jimi had already been. Personally, I found the Spin Doctors "Spanish Castle Magic" and Jeff Beck and Seal's "Manic Depression" to be Hendrix impressions more than innovative covers, but are enjoyable tracks nonetheless, and while on any other day of the week I loathe Chrissy Hynde and the Pretenders for their absolutely charisma-less style of Rock, their version of "Bold as Love" is actually more visual and evocative than the original, although not better, I would call that track a tie.

Overall, the reviews here give this album a bum rap. If you can find it in you to skip two legends like Guy and Clapton, and you aren't looking to hear Jimi playing these songs, but would like to hear some damn good tracks, buy this disc. It holds up, just like Hendrix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jimi's Tribute CD, August 31, 2002
By 
El Basso (Lincoln, NE USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stone Free: Tribute to Jimi Hendrix (Audio CD)
Stone Free is as good of a tribute recording as you will find. You can take any style of music and change it's genre to make a new sound but this CD was able to keep the vibe and make it fresh. All the performers were able to put their mark into the heart of each song. When I first heard The Cure doing Purple Haze, I thought "this won't work" but now I find it has all the colors and textures that Jimi was famous for. Jimi was always the first to explore new ways to get the "Love" into his music so it would be appropriate to let these artist do the same. Buddy Guy just belts out Red House, Clapton nails Stone Free just as the rest give their all to create a total package. I can listen to this entire CD and not want to stop. Jimi would play music with everyone he could so he could keep creating new ideas and in many ways that is what he has done here. I can imagine all these great musicians working with him and coming up with this experience. Jaco, Beck, Chrissie, Buddy and Jimi all jam'n up good times sure works for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good, to those with open musical tastes, November 29, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stone Free: Tribute to Jimi Hendrix (Audio CD)
This is NOT your typical tribute album. For this reason it is often times excels ( the Cure's cover, Jeff Beck/ Seal cover)

and other times I didn't find it particularly interesting. But what this album does that most don't is allow a large array of musical styles to pay tribute to one of the most influential rock musicians ever. That's the beauty of Jimi's music, not only was he an excellent and creative guitarist, but he made great music and wrote timeless songs (check out two completely different covers of "Little Wing" by Stevie Ray Vaughn and Sting, respectively).

To the typical purists and guitar nuts, this is NOT your album.

To those who can appreciate varying types of music and appreciate that Hendrix' music can be interpreted and presented in so many different ways - this is a really nice effort and a nice tribute to a great musician.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprises At Every Turn, February 2, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Stone Free: Tribute to Jimi Hendrix (Audio CD)
You don't have to be a fan of every contributor to this tribute album to enjoy the effort and end results that were achieved. You don't even have to be a tremendous Hendrix fan. What you get is an eclectic set of interpretations of the songs of a very talented individual. Of course, it helps if you can play guitar, which I suspect is why the strongest tracks involve Eric Clapton, Jeff Beck, and Vernon Reid (Living Colour). Even so, this collection goes a long way to proving just how far ahead of his time Jimi Hendrix was. Maybe that's why his music doesn't sound as dated as some others from that era, and maybe that's why this compilation of talent works so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Nice Collection, May 19, 2006
By 
This review is from: Stone Free: Tribute to Jimi Hendrix (Audio CD)
Nobody's a bigger Hendrix fan than I am, and I still think this is an excellent collection of updated arrangements. Purple Haze by the Cure and Bold as Love by the Pretenders are superb. In fact, the numbers that are closest to sounding like the original--Stone Free and Manic Depression--are the least interesting. The musicians did a great job on this recording, and I'd recommend it to anybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive �tribute� album., March 19, 2002
This review is from: Stone Free: Tribute to Jimi Hendrix (Audio CD)
This disc delivers what the listener can only dare to hope for: a stellar collection of Hendrix covers that don't attempt to reproduce the originals, but manage to stay true to the classic feel of Jimi's versions of the songs. While it does help to be a Hendrix fan and possess a familiarity with the original recordings, it's not necessary to be a Hendrix officionado to appreciate the fine work done by this impressive collection of disciples. From the opening track, the Cure's danceable, unique interpretation of "Purple Haze," notice is immediately served that this disc is something special.
Highlights? There are plenty. Eric Clapton's "Stone Free" is, in many ways, an improvement on the original; smoother, more polished, and yet still packing an emotional punch. The same can be said of Body Count's rendition of "Hey Joe", which is probably the most powerful, well-done track on the entire album. Tanya Donnelly and her band Belly recreate the psychedelic feel of "Are You Experienced", and the lead female vocal works extremely well. Likewise, Chrissy Hynde's strong, clear voice on the Pretenders' cover of "Axis: Bold As Love" gives one an entirely new appreciation for the song.
The handful of all-star team efforts is also a collection of gems. Seal and Jeff Beck do an urgent remake of "Manic Depression" that is true to the original. Paul Rogers (Bad Company lead vocalist), Slash (Guns N Roses guitarist) and the Band of Gypsys (one-time Hendrix backers) turn in a kick....interpretation of "I Don't Live Today". And M.A.C.C. (guitarist McCready and bassist Ament of Pearl Jam, drummer Cameron and singer Cornell of Soundgarden) bring the disc to a thunderous close with a high-energy, crunching cover of "Hey Baby (Land of the New Rising Sun)".
For a couple of the tracks, the perfect artist seems to have been chosen to cover that particular song. "Crosstown Traffic" had to be covered by Living Colour and guitarist Vernon Reid; like Hendrix, Reid and his band are black artists who can rock. "You Got Me Floatin'" was tailor-made for P.M. Dawn, and their cover does not disappoint, even if you would not normally listen to their brand of music. After listening to the Spin Doctors play "Spanish Castle Magic", you'll have to agree that they were a natural choice to cover this tune. And nobody will be surprised that blues legend Buddy Guy turns in a signature rendition of "Red House", or that jazz wizards Pat Metheny and Nigel Kennedy perform stellar renditions of "Third Stone from the Sun" and "Fire", respectively.
If you like covers and tributes; if you are a fan of Hendrix music; or if you enjoy all-star compilations, you'll find this CD well worth the price. It's a cherished disc in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Yet., May 17, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Stone Free: Tribute to Jimi Hendrix (Audio CD)
If you collect cover versions of Jimi Hendrix, this is the album to add to your collection. The artists obviously loved the songs that they recorded. Clapton, Pretenders, Buddy Guy, P.M.Dawn do outstanding tracks. The others do an excellent job and you cannot take that away from them. Overall this album can be bought just after hearing one or two tracks and is not like a various artists album where a few tracks are there to pad out the 70 odd minutes of listening time. You can buy with confidence. For a unique album, not exactly cover version as such, look out for Beautiful People's If sixties were ninties, to hear some inovative work on Hendrix material. The second cd has some great P.M. Dawn mixes. I do not have much time for trashy covers as it really is hard to complete with Jimi's work, he was a musicians musician. This album Stone Free is the best I have heard in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funky rendition of Purple Haze by The Cure, March 21, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Stone Free: Tribute to Jimi Hendrix (Audio CD)
I bought this album for the funky rendition of Purple Haze by The Cure. I love that rendition. In this tribute album, the artists give their own renditions to the songs, not trying to imitate Hendrix. I like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good, some bad, some generic, March 12, 2006
By 
R. Leon "ebob61" (Morristown, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stone Free: Tribute to Jimi Hendrix (Audio CD)
I agree with a lot of what has been written about this album. At 43 cents you are getting a bargain. Clapton does sound mailed in; Nigel Kennedy, well lets not get too personal; Buddy Guys, great guitar work but I have never been a fan of his vocals (that is just a personal feeling, if you like his vocals then you will like this song). With that being said, there are some versions which I love and for that go out and buy the album. Chrissie Hynde's version of Axis is fabulous, MACC adds soul to an already great song, Belly has taken a throwaway and has created something special. Overall it is 3 out of 5. The highs are great but the lows (EC you know you could have done better) are generic, which is probably the worst thing you can ever say about a classic artist - especially one that you revere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Stone Free: Tribute to Jimi Hendrix
Stone Free: Tribute to Jimi Hendrix by Stone Free (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.