Customer Reviews


177 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stone Temple Pilots baby!
Well I can see alot of ppl dissing this record saying it's not heavy STP and so on, but if you let the material sink in after a few listens you'll get the genius that is Stone Temple Pilots. Personally I love this album from start to finish - it's mostly straight up rock n' roll with poppy melodies, of course STP songs have always been about the melodic hook that makes...
Published on May 25, 2010 by Howlin' Wolf

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wow
This is not STP. This is a bad 70's cover band. What in the world happened to these guys. From Core all the way to NO.4 STP has made solid, catchy tunes. Even more so, music with an edge. This is just not the sound of STP. This is soft and worse over, mediocre music. I love STP. I always have. Even their slower work. But this simply isn't good. And I tried so hard to like...
Published on April 8, 2012 by Jen


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stone Temple Pilots baby!, May 25, 2010
This review is from: Stone Temple Pilots (Audio CD)
Well I can see alot of ppl dissing this record saying it's not heavy STP and so on, but if you let the material sink in after a few listens you'll get the genius that is Stone Temple Pilots. Personally I love this album from start to finish - it's mostly straight up rock n' roll with poppy melodies, of course STP songs have always been about the melodic hook that makes them so infectious... There are also elements of Velvet Revolver on tracks such as Peacoat complete with wah effect laden guitar solo. Speaking of guitars, the guitars on this album is phenomenal, lately Dean has become my favourite rock guitar player as I now truly realize how great he is not just on this record but on all the previous ones. He plays a really superb and thrilling slide guitar solo and ending on Hickory Dichotomy that blows me away. Hickory Dichotomy is a personal highlight, but every song is beautiful in its own right. Another great, lovely, aurally orgasmic slide guitar on album closer Maver which will make you smile, well I purchased the deluxe version which includes Samba Nova which is not new to me and it seems like they didn't re-record it for this release but it's a another fantastic, laid back track. Too bad they didn't release About A Fool which was advertised at first as being on the deluxe version. The three live tracks of Vasoline, Hickory and Between the Lines are nice to own and fun to listen to but I don't think they are essential. But still, I gotta say, if you're an STP fan and by that I mean someone who also likes the less grungy/heavy material on Tiny Music (Bagman would have fitted perfectly on that album) and Shangri, this album is recommended. And I hope people give this album a few spins first to assimilate and digest the work of art Stone Temple Pilots have produced for our listening pleasure, as I doubt many people will fall in love and totally get it after just one listen. Scott sings great, Dean is on fire, Robert is amazing as always, Kretz is banging, Stone Temple Pilots is the bomb! (Both the band and album) :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice comeback, May 25, 2010
This review is from: Stone Temple Pilots (Audio CD)
Okay, honestly, this is more of a three-and-a-half star review. As a fan of STP over the years, I love that they've stayed on course..... ironically meaning that they've released another album that sounds like none of their other albums.

That being said, there are some tracks that sound like what you'd call "vintage STP." "Take A Load Off," for example, has the soaring chorus (with Scott once again employing the use of the word "Yeah" in place of something with meaning....... I'm so glad he's out of Velvet Revolver......), with a grungy verse.

As soon as you move on to "Huckleberry Crumble," it becomes more obvious that the DeLeo's have been thinking 60's and 70's rock. While some people lament the fact that some of the tracks on here sound like old Aerosmith and Bowie ("First Kiss On Mars"), I ask "why lament?" Bowie and Aerosmith haven't done music as good as their seventies stuff since.... well... the seventies, so why not get some great music in that style done by somebody else?

"Hickory Dichotomy" has a great funky groove and is definitely among the best tracks on the album. Not surprisingly, they released the best tracks for streaming about three weeks before the album was available, so it's when you move on to the other tracks, the disappointment sets in. "Dare If You Dare" has a great, very DeLeo guitar riff and verse melody ripped from what could be an unreleased "Sgt. Pepper" song, but the chorus is so insipid both in lyrics and vocal delivery, that it's almost worth skipping altogether.

"Cinnamon" is a gem, though. Does it sound like good Oasis? It does. But note the word "good." (But Scott's back to his "I can use the word 'Yeah' for a full chorus!' thing....)

"Hazy Daze" has a similar problem to "Dare If You Dare" - it's got an amazing riff, good verse and bridge, but the chorus doesn't fit the music. (Am I being nitpicky? Yes. But I've had these opinions about all of Weiland's material...... back to when he ruined some great music on Contraband with bad melodies.)

"Bagman." Straightforward rocker. Another early streaming track and concert teaser that's great as a shout-along.

"Peacoat." The first truly forgettable song on here. I liken it to the songs on "Shangri-La-Di-Da" that I can hum along to but don't know lyrics or title, as they weren't impressive enough to learn. I will never know that this song is called "Peacoat."

"Fast As I Can" is not, as I'd thought, a recording of a song of the same name done by STP's former moniker "Mighty Joe Young." It's fun, but fits in the exact place as other songs of this type.... for some reason, his is the place in the album (third or so from the end) where all rock bands drop a track that's a forgettable rocker. It's not bad, and it's got a great beat, but it's placed on the album in a way that it disappears.

"First Kiss On Mars" is a Beatles tune sung by David Bowie. And it's awesome. I haven't listened to the lyrics enough to be sure that they mean absolutely nothing in relation to the title, but this one has it all - good 60's riff, good verses and a flowing chorus (which could very easily have been "Yeah, it's over," but maybe Scott's expanding his vocabulary).

"Maver" - the usual mellow finale to the album. Glam rock neuvo-country. Decent. Forgettable.

As I said, three and a half out of five. When it's good, it's great, but there's the usual amount of dead wood.

Worth a listen, though. And if you're open to something that isn't exactly like what you remember STP to be, it's pretty solid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now THIS Is More Like It, May 25, 2010
This review is from: Stone Temple Pilots (Audio CD)
For many years, I have craved for a rock record that is good and enjoyable. This is one of them. I want to listen to an album that is bathed with strong, vibrant melodies, chugging, colorful rhythm sections and lyrics espousing love, life and yearning. I want to listen to an album that does not merely serve as a backdrop for a few enticing singles. More importantly, I want to listen to an album that sounds pure and fresh every time I hear it. The Stone Temple Pilots' self-titled album fits all these categories perfectly. If this album does anything good, hopefully two of those things will be being a commercial success and restoring the reputation of a great, unfairly undervalued rock band who have not worked together since 2001.

Any idea that a band reforms and decides to make a retro record opens themselves to ridicule. We have seen many artists look to the past for inspiration and they have been castigated by critics and fans for being "nostalgic" instead of "making something new". Indeed, throughout the entire album, there are references to the Animals, the Zombies, T. Rex, Mott the Hoople, Joy Division, Speedy West, the Raiders, Led Zeppelin, Tom Petty, and of course, the two rock icons that the band admires and loves: The Beatles and David Bowie. This album makes no apologies in admitting that it is merely a retro record: the lunk-headed, delightful "Huckleberry Crumble" makes no attempt to hide that it features the guitar riffs of Aerosmith's "Same Old Song and Dance"; and the charmingly weird country ditty "Hickory Dichotomy" has so many Jimmy Page-like chords that one would be hard pressed to wonder if it is a Zeppelin parody the same way "Back in the U.S.S.R" was a Chuck Berry parody and "Why Don't We Do It On the Road" was a Little Richard parody in The Beatles.

But the Stone Temple Pilots are too smart to just borrow other pieces of music for the sake of making songs, a talent that was unfortunately overlooked by many critics when the band was around by the time Nirvana and Pearl Jam dominated the pop charts. Long dismissed as knockoffs of their grunge contemporaries, the STP were able to change things a bit by incorporating elements of psychedelic rock, 60's hard rock, jangle pop and power pop in their later albums, particularly the underrated Tiny Music...Songs From the Vatican Shop. Unfortunately, band frictions and Weiland's drug addictions stopped the band dead in its track just as they were growing out of that critical rut, and by 2001, the group was no more, at least at that time.

When Scott Weiland left Stone Temple Pilots, he joined ex-Guns N' Roses members guitarist Slash, bassist Duff McKagan and drummer Matt Sorum and Wasted Youth guitarist Dave Kushner to former super group Velvet Revolver, which resulted in two uneven but fascinating rock records Contraband and Libertad. Yet for all their virtues, Weiland felt lost with the albums' classic-rock sound, as if his sonic adventurousness and pop sensibilities were muted, which was not the case in his solo album, Happy in Galoshes. Weiland left the group in 2008 and returned to the Stone Temple Pilots and by listening to this album, it's quite obvious where he feels more comfortable in.

It would have been tempting to make a simple comeback album that merely captures the sound of their previous records, as was the case in the Verve's disappointingly pedestrian Forth. But the Stone Temple Pilots have done something better: instead of re-threading their previous records, they go to music of the past (particularly the 60's-70's classic rock) and use them as platforms for, to quote Stephen Thomas Erlewine, "Weiland's insanely hooky neo-psychedelic melodies" and "DeLeo's knack for catchy, monstrous riffs", two factors that were the cores of many of the band's songs in the past. And indeed, this album is dominated with searing guitar solos, riffs as sweet as a honey pie and hooks so plentiful that you won't get many out of your head. Hookiest of these songs is "Between the Lines", a catchy and irresistible Zombies-Animals crossover in which Weiland declares that all he wants to do is talk about love, even when he used to take drugs, a not-so-subtle reference to the summer of love of 1960's.

The issue of love becomes a central theme in Stone Temple Pilots. That yearning and lamenting for that optimistic feeling over cynical intellect is demonstrated not only in "Between the Lines" but also in "Take a Load Off", in which Weiland howls at the media pundits as thinkers while praising the artists as figures with feelings; the sweet, sugary love letter "Cinnamon"; "Bagman", where its seemingly fun, hokey acoustic vibes hide Weiland's dark lyrics of dealing with certain people of his past; the spiteful "Fast As I Can"; "First Kiss of Mars", (arguably the strongest track on the album), a pretty, down-to-earth ballad that recalls David Bowie`s "Space Oddity" and "Changes"; and the terrific album closer, "Maver", which features Robert DeLeo playing piano and Weiland singing about the title character in the same sighing heartbreak that recalls that other beautiful song the Stone Temple Pilots made, "Sour Girl".

Some people may groan over the songs' perceived hackneyed messages about love and comfort and indeed, there have been negative comments all over the Internet that this sounds like a record that belonged in the past. But at a time when people seem to have lost hope in their dreams and when rock n' roll seems to the greatest escape from this murk that is reality, Stone Temple Pilots is the kind of record that many of us today desire for, an album that let us forget our problems and be proud of ourselves, an album filled with optimism to quell our frustrations and anger and make us believe. As the exquisite Beatlesque ballad "Dare If You Dare" illustrates, the band dares us to be strong, to believe and to be something.

Despite the critical hatred, the Stone Temple Pilots were responsible for some of the most successful and harmonious singles of the 1990`s. Each of these singles ("Plush", "Big Empty", "Down", "Big Bang Baby", "Creep", "Lady Picture Show", "Interstate Love Song", "Days in the Week", "Sour Girl") were so good that they made you forgive the wadding tracks that filtered many of their albums like Core and Purple. But Stone Temple Pilots has become a charitable achievement in the Stone Temple Pilots' library: not an album with some strong tracks and some filler but an album in which every song is good and sparkling with life. It's a grower, indeed (as were the Pilots' previous records), but compared to Hole's tedious Nobody's Daughter and the miserable post-grunge sludge of today like Nickelback and Puddle of Mudd, Stone Temple Pilots shimmers with warmth, exhilaration and melodies so strong that even after you dislike a certain song, you appreciate it further after repeated listening. And what a concept, to make an album that yearns for the days of love in this dark age of angst-ridden adolescent rock!

Like Pearl Jam's Backspacer and Green Day's American Idiot, Stone Temple Pilots is more than a throwback to the past; it is a heartfelt attempt to converge the musical styles of the past with the feel and sound of modern rock. In going "nostalgic", the Stone Temple Pilots have "made something new": they have created a tight, sophisticated hard rock album that merges the sensibilities of their influences with a strong keen of melody for a tasty concoction in a contemporary setting. They want to bring classic rock of the past to the masses of today. And they have succeeded. This is one of the best albums of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really great album, November 17, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stone Temple Pilots (Audio CD)
Although many tunes may have similarities to other artists, the album is truly one of a kind. People who complain that it may have been influenced by other artists should think about the other bands who have done the same. The Beatles even sounded a bit like their predecessors, and during their later years were influenced by the new bands of that era.

If you liked their later albums like Shangri-La Dee Da and No.4, you will definitely like this album. If you are looking for a lot of Core type stuff, you might be disappointed. This is a band that is growing musically. They are not going to put out songs and albums with sophomoric lyrics. Silverchair grew up, too.

Like all new albums from any artist, it may take a few listens to really get into it, so don't pass judgment until you listen to it for a while. There are, however, some tunes that are really catchy right away, one being Cinnamon.

By the way, I saw them in concert last month and they rocked.

UPDATE:
2.27.14
Seven dollars! This album is now seven dollars! Wtf! I paid over sixteen dollars when this thing came out. Who wants to be a musician these days? Not me. I'd rather be a plumber.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent return to form - STP's best since 1996, August 17, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stone Temple Pilots (Audio CD)
It is all too easy to jump on the "Stone Temple Pilots is so yesterday" bandwagon. I admit that I had pretty much written the band off after the appearance of "No. 4" - they had a couple good tracks left in them, but not enough to fill an album. I never imagined their 2010 self-titled reunion record would do more than just raise a curious eyebrow.

But the latest from STP is a pleasant surprise! It is less of a gritty rocker than early STP - which will alienate some longtime fans - but the new melodic rock direction suits them well. What STP has managed to do here should not be underestimated - they still have some of their grunge influence (you'll hear clear derivations from 90s kings like Nirvana and Pearl Jam), but bring more of a modern powerpop sensibility to the songwriting. Scott Weiland sounds re-energized and Dean DeLeo has a never-ending bag of guitar tricks that can make a so-so song sound so much better. Catchy melodies abound on this CD, with highlights including the single, "Between The Lines", "Take A Load Off", "Hickory Dichotomy", and "Cinnamon". And don't miss "First Kiss On Mars" if you are a David Bowie fan - I did a musical double-take when hearing the first verse!

The record cuts right to the chase - it only takes the band 40 minutes to rip through the twelve new tracks. Even the rare filler is tolerable and not bad enough to hit fast forward. This is one of their most consistent records and can enjoyed straight through from start to finish.

In short, I think it is the band's best since 1996's "Tiny Music... Songs from the Vatican Gift Shop". Give it a shot. It certainly gets my vote for the most pleasant surprise of 2010 so far.

Best tracks: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 10, 11, 12
Bill's Music Forum review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome !!!!!!!!!!!, May 25, 2010
This review is from: Stone Temple Pilots (Audio CD)
Nothing is sweeter then one of the greatest bands in rock history, returning and delivering a stellar album like there self-titled. On paper Nine years seemed like forever, but I have to say in the end it has been well worth the wait as the guys In STP have gave you there best album since Core and Purple hands down. Here is the track by track.

1. Between The lines- 5/5 could have heard this on Purple or Tiny music, also this track has a Nirvana vibe.
2. Take a load off - 4/5 Has an AOA vibe going on meets the sound of Purple.
3. Huckleberry Crumble - 5/5 Sounds just like 70's Aerosmith!! Should be released as a single.
4. Hickory Dichotomy - 5/5 Awesome Groovin song!!! Should be a single!!
5. Dare If You Dare - 5/5 One word EPIC!!
6. Cinnamon - 1/5 - Way to poppy for my taste. Most fans will skip this one. Especially if your a core era fan.
7. Hazy Daze- 4/5 Nice rocker!!!
8. Bagman - 5/5 One of the best on the whole album. Should be a single. BAGMAN HONEY!!!!!!!!!
9. Peacoat - 5/5 Best song on the album IMO.
10. Fast As I Can - 4/5 If you liked Vr's Libertad album you will dig this track.
11. First Kiss On Mars - 4/5 Weiland channels bowie on this impressive track.
12. Maver- 5/5 Great ending to a great album.

All in all This is the best album the guys have put out since Purple. For the STP fans of Purple and Vr's Libertad album you should love this. Good blend of rock and pop with a nice nod to the 60's and 70's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wow, April 8, 2012
This review is from: Stone Temple Pilots (Audio CD)
This is not STP. This is a bad 70's cover band. What in the world happened to these guys. From Core all the way to NO.4 STP has made solid, catchy tunes. Even more so, music with an edge. This is just not the sound of STP. This is soft and worse over, mediocre music. I love STP. I always have. Even their slower work. But this simply isn't good. And I tried so hard to like this. And that's the problem. You have to try to like this. I never had to look for a reason to like an STP record. There has always been something about them that grabbed me and never let go. But this album has none of that. It doesn't even feel like the same band. I'm beyond disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SICK!! CAN'T GET ENOUGH!!, October 11, 2010
This review is from: Stone Temple Pilots (Audio CD)
THIS STUFF IS AWESOME!!! I Should have been a review guy but my eloquence (and grammar) is pretty bad. So i'll speak from the heart.
The first time i heard this album i was like OMG!...this is sick!!!! These guys never disappoint me. This album is like if they want to tell us "Hey people this is what we are!!!this music reflects where we come from!!"....:

* Take a load off: My favorite. This is a classic melody meets heaviness. I love heavy- harmony stuff, and this is what STP do best.

* Hickory Dichotomy: uuuuh! tribute to the sound of The Velvet Underground and more precisely Lou Reed...awesome!!!

* Dare if you Dare: god! Lennon still lives!

* Cinnamon: I love New Order. New Order's and STP's sound mixed together! genius

* Bagman: Oh man! right on 1:24 they make you go back in time with some of the best hair metal sound, i was like "oh sh..RATT?" Beautiful!

* The rest of the songs are just full of pure STP greatness.! This album is already a classic. Hope the beginning of the resurrection of Rock. We all know what happened this decade. It was like if there was a conspiracy to destroy rock, STP comes to the rescue brothers!

Thanks Pilots!!!! thanks a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars After nine years, no surprises, just good, straight-up Rock N' Roll, September 13, 2010
This review is from: Stone Temple Pilots (Audio CD)
I always figured STP would get back together again one day, provided Scott Weiland didn't have a fatal overdose before it could happen. So now the boys are back and the time away from each other seems to have done them a lot of good. In my book, their last couple albums (NO. 4, SHANGRI-LA-DI-DA) weren't too inspired. STONE TEMPLE PILOTS is closest to NO. 4 in that it's cut from a classic rock mold, but this one sounds much better in my opinion. It's still not as good as their first two (the grungy classic debut CORE and the more sophisticated and psychedelic follow-up PURPLE), still widely considered to be their best.

The music on STONE TEMPLE PILOTS is quite heavy, loose and swinging with plenty of Zeppelinesque crunch. Obviously, these guys have influences and they are quite evident on the album, but everyone has influences so I won't dwell too much on their similarities to other bands. No, STP aren't exactly innovators but they're great songwriters and they're very good at what they do. And they always sound like Stone Temple Pilots. They don't go for anything weird, experimental or particularly surprising here - just some good ole ass-kickin rockin out!

Breakdown:

"Between The Lines" - "You always were my favorite drug/ Even when we used to take drugs" - a heavy, streamlined opener with the fastest solo on the album from Dean. ****1/4

"Take A Load Off" - sounds like a rewrite of probably their biggest song, "Interstate Love Song," but they change it up enough to avoid irritation and it stands as an original, rockin song with a soaring chorus. ****

"Huckleberry Crumble" - Brings some old-school rock n' roll swing that they pull off in spades. As noted by another reviewer, this one sounds like Aerosmith. Has a great rockin swagger. ****1/2

"Hickory Dichotomy" - Scott Weiland sounds more than ever like Layne Staley on this album and this song is a prime example. But that doesn't mean he isn't a great singer in his own right, cuz he is. This one brings more old-school style mixed with something a little more modern. Dean turns in a laid-back solo. Great tune, if standard STP, especially at the chorus. ****1/2

"Dare If You Dare" - a heavy, slower song. Nicks a familiar melody (if you know it, you know it) but changes it enough for them to claim it as their own. Cool organ accompaniment. ****1/2

"Cinnamon" - This is a straight-up pop song, very sweet - possibly sickly sweet, depending on your tolerance for such things. I'd rather hear them rock out, but I know a good song when I hear it and this . . . well, it's not terrible. It sounds like a calculated bid for radio play and sure enough I've heard it on the radio (when forced to listen at work). Not bad but too "sing-songy" in places for my tastes. ***

"Hazy Daze" - very Zeppelin, one of the heaviest rockers here. "How much did you get for selling out my name?" The word "selling" or "sell" comes up quite a bit and Scott seems a bit preoccupied with the concepts of "selling out" and screwing someone or getting screwed over. They've been accused of being bandwagon jumpers from the beginning but that just never bothered me much cuz their songs are so good. And I certainly don't blame them for wanting to make money! *****

"Bagman" - good rocker. ****

"Peacoat" - good rocker that throws in some AC/DC-ish power chords. The chorus isn't really spectacular but this is some very good hard rock. Dean turns in another great, kinda laid-back solo. He can play faster (see "Trippin On A Hole Through A Paper Heart" for evidence) but the loose, natural feel he brings to this album works really well. ****

"Fast As I Can" - A faster-paced rocker, this one comes closest to being "filler," but it's good filler with a distinct STP sound, especially at the chorus. ***1/4

"First Kiss On Mars" - Acoustic guitars can be heard on the album but this is the first track where they take a front seat. A sweet pop song that rocks. Quite melodic, it also features some dreamy synths. ***3/4

"Mavar" - stands out as having quite a different sound than the other tracks, with a dominant piano and acoustic guitars that rock along with the electric. Also sports the best melody on the album. *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just shut up and listen, July 15, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stone Temple Pilots (Audio CD)
The musicianship on this recording is tremendous. Anyone who is dissing this record is not listening with an open mind (or ears for that matter). Scott Weiland proves time and time again (even on his solo records) that he is the best rock lead vocalist alive today. And, thank goodness he is still alive. The songwriting is top-notch and the sound is great. Considering that the music is coming from a super tight 3 piece is even more impressive. Put the cd in the player, crank it up and listen. Then you will get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Stone Temple Pilots
Stone Temple Pilots by Stone Temple Pilots (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.