Stop Workplace Drama and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $27.95
  • Save: $9.44 (34%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Stop Workplace Drama: Tra... has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include companion materials, some shelf wear, may contain highlighting/notes, and may not include cd-rom or access codes. Customer service is our top priority!
Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for $6.15
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

Stop Workplace Drama: Train Your Team to have No Complaints, No Excuses, and No Regrets Hardcover – January 25, 2011

31 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$18.51
$14.00 $13.03

Best Books of the Year So Far
Best Books of the Year So Far
Looking for something great to read? Browse our editors' picks for 2015's Best Books of the Year So Far in fiction, nonfiction, mysteries, children's books, and much more.
$18.51 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. In Stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

Stop Workplace Drama: Train Your Team to have No Complaints, No Excuses, and No Regrets + How To Reduce Workplace Conflict And Stress: How Leaders And Their Employees Can Protect Their Sanity And Productivity From Tension And Turf Wars
Price for both: $29.28

Buy the selected items together


Editorial Reviews

From the Inside Flap

Stop putting fuel on the fire and take back control of your workplace

Gossip. Power struggles. Poor team coordination. These are all symptoms of workplace drama. They're the obstacles that can drain your company of its best talent, get in the way of true productivity and profit, and eat away at the effectiveness of your organization—that is, unless a leader steps up and takes responsibility for changing course.

Communications consultant and national speaker Marlene Chism has created an eight-step methodology that breaks through negative thinking that can contribute to drama in organizations of every kind and size. She has identified the gaps that drama creates—a gap between where your company is and where it aims to be and the psychological gap that occurs when people are faced with change and the fear that goes with it.

With Stop Workplace Drama, Chism shows how to change the way you and your organization confront and work through problems, implement effective management strategies in a drama-filled organization, and find new solutions that create positive growth for every member of your company. You'll learn how to:

  • Understand the different kinds of "drama roles" played in the office—and how to work through them

  • Create healthy boundaries, get your work needs met, and make the most of your valuable time

  • Seek viable opportunities and take responsibility for your efforts

  • Instill necessary changes without unleashing fear in your organization—which can lead to conflict

  • Cut through your personal drama so that it doesn't create further issues at work

In today's business world, where competition is fierce and economic challenges are more intense than ever, ending the drama has never been more essential. With fascinating case studies, illuminating insight, and workplace-tested strategies, Stop Workplace Drama will help boost the morale of your employees, maximize your company's potential, and put your organization on the road to success.

From the Back Cover

"Stop Workplace Drama does more than reveal excuses for the inclination to drama in the workplace; it offers a wealth of ideas to improve communication, trust, and leadership that will help eliminate the energy, time, and talent drain that drama creates."
Stephen M. R. Covey, coauthor of the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal bestseller The Speed of Trust

"This easy-to-read book is a must-have for anyone who leads others and wants to improve workplace dynamics so your people can enthusiastically say 'Thank God It's Monday!'"
Roxanne Emmerich, author of Thank God It's Monday!: How to Create a Workplace You and Your Customers Love

"Stop Workplace Drama offers practical ideas to improve communication in the workplace to eliminate power struggles, backstabbing, and office drama."
Michael Linenberger, author of Master Your Workday Now!

"Marlene Chism's no-drama approach is down-to-earth and effective, plus it's communicated with good humor and a very big heart."
Rick Hanson, PhD, coauthor of Buddha's Brain: The Practical Neuroscience of Happiness, Love, and Wisdom

"Stop Workplace Drama is filled with fresh strategies to help leaders navigate change, reach their objectives, and create a positive work climate—all at the same time!"
Jill Konrath, author of SNAP Selling and Selling to Big Companies

"Marlene Chism has given the Drama Zone its own zip code! This book is a brilliant approach to halting drama in the workplace—right here, right now—and at every level within the organization. No smoke and mirrors, just real-world tips, tools, and techniques to creating a 'no excuses, no complaints, no regrets' workplace. Count me in!"
Anne Bruce, speaker and bestselling author of more than 14 books, including How to Motivate Every Employee

"Any entrepreneur who wants to eliminate excuses and complaints and increase cooperation will benefit by reading Stop Workplace Drama."
Mike Michalowicz, author of the cult-classic The Toilet Paper Entrepreneur

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 240 pages
  • Publisher: Wiley; 1 edition (January 25, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 9780470885734
  • ISBN-13: 978-0470885734
  • ASIN: 0470885734
  • Product Dimensions: 6.3 x 0.9 x 9.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 15.2 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (31 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #242,102 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

5 star
81%
4 star
19%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
See all 31 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful By Jim Estill on March 24, 2011
Format: Hardcover
I hate politics - including office politics and this book attempts to come up with creative ways to stop them. Or perhaps - recognize that they will exist so make them positive.

Her big point is it is about communications and much of that starts with listening. Much of drama comes from a lack of clarity. It can also come from the relationship or from resistance.

I have found most of my business career involves overcoming resistance to change. Selling change is a large part of success. Chism had a number of practical suggestions on this. EG - implement a trial period, manage expectations, challenge whether is a gap or is it as big as thought,

She talks about The Drama which is the situation and that does not have you be your Drama or reaction.

I actually like having a few complainers. They can be the ones that point out areas for improvement. Of course it helps if they have some tact about it but even without, it can be high value. I prefer to call them more positively the devil's advocates. People who are willing to speak their mind and point out challenges.

This is the same as customer complaints. They can be your best source of building future excellence.

It is a good book - essential for any leader who has drama issues.

I always tend to look at things from the leaders' view. Another view:

If you are afraid of your boss, this book will give you the courage to face that fear. If you are keeping things from your boss, you will look inward to ask yourself where your commitment truly lies. If you are letting the queen bee run the show, you will be forced to face the truth and ask yourself what you are afraid of losing or who you are trying to please--and at what expense. Excerpt from Stop Workplace Drama
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful By Scott Carbonara on March 4, 2011
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
When I got an advanced copy of Marlene's book, my intent was to do a quick scan and write a short, courtesy review. But I found it impossible to scan. I found myself reading it! When I finished, I reread it and made notes in the margins. Using shorthand, I indicated the initials of employees of whom I had applied Marlene's principles with effectively as well as those that I failed to use Marlene's principles...and ended up feeding drama.

I've recommended Stop Workplace Drama to many others. Why? Have you ever hurt your leg or foot or toe, and instead of going to the doctor, you got used to limping? Maybe you told yourself that you were too busy to see a doctor. Perhaps you thought the problem would clear up on its own. But over time, you got used to walking funny. Pretty soon, you couldn't even remember what it felt like to feel normal or not walk around with discomfort.

That's what drama is like. When viewed from a distance, it might appear to be charming, quaint, or even funny. But when that drama gets closer or begins to touch you personally, it becomes painful and draining, hurting not only at the immediate source of drama, but able to harm and damage other formerly-healthy parts of the whole system.

Marlene's book is a powerful how-to. If you've forgotten what it's like to feel "normal" because all around you is drama, stop hoping it will fix itself. Get Marlene's book, read it, apply it. Find out why it's destined to appear on the desks of every leader who is serious about creating outstanding results with people.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful By shawn d on March 5, 2011
Format: Hardcover
Stop Workplace Drama isn't like any other business or management book I've read. And that's a good thing. It approaches common issues in the workplace with insight, humor and practical strategies to eliminate the drain and strain that Drama causes. I love the way Marlene Chism explains the roles people play in creating Drama and her strategies for getting off the drama triangle and creating real results. This book takes a fresh look at the challenges of working and leading and makes it possible to cut through the chaos drama causes with grace and clarity--no matter what title you hold.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Henry E. Scholz on October 26, 2011
Format: Hardcover
My wife sent me a cartoon several years ago. It was a Family Circle cartoon. In it, Billy was pointing the finger of blame at his sister, to which the sister captioned: "Whenever you are pointing one at me, three are pointing back at you!" While I am sure I took the "suggestion" in stride (okay, maybe not) it was an apt point. When we start to blame others, we are really only pointing back at ourselves.

This book takes that premise and builds a great case that personal accountability is at the heart and soul of eliminating drama in the workplace. In a well researched, well written volume, Marlene takes us behind the scenes of the drama. Without preaching, she teaches how to re-construct the scenery that contributes to crazy behaviors in the workplace and provides a different script to read from. My favorite chapter was Chapter 5, Stop Relationship Drama. If you only read that Chapter, the book is worth reading.

Thanks, Marlene, for a great eye opener!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Edie McCann on October 15, 2013
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I would recommend this book to anyone looking to improve the workplace, your home life, or relationships. It's a no nonsense practical approach to having peace and prosperity in your life.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Ann Leach, Life Preservers on March 25, 2011
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
As a solopreneur I don't work in a big office or have a huge team of employees. But I am an active community volunteer for the chamber of commerce and other groups and, when time is short and project tasks are many, there can be some drama.

Fortunately, Marlene Chism's book has come along just in time to help us work through the stress, focus on the common purpose and release the drama so that our goals are achieved with fewer complaints or regrets. Thank you Marlene!

With insightful stories and inspiring case studies, Chism's methodology plays out positively time and time again as her tips assist all of us in creating a more purposeful workplace- whether in a cubicle or a community meeting room.

I'm glad I discovered this book and will share it with others in my network so that they too can work and live drama-free.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Stop Workplace Drama: Train Your Team to have No Complaints, No Excuses, and No Regrets
This item: Stop Workplace Drama: Train Your Team to have No Complaints, No Excuses, and No Regrets
Price: $18.51
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com