Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Indie for the Holidays egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grooming Deals Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Voyage Cyber Monday Sweepstakes in Prime Music Outdoor Deals on HTL

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars40
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: DVDChange
Price:$19.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Please note that this review is on the series which I saw on TV, not the DVD, so I can't speak to the quality of the video transfer.

This show is one of the most unique ideas in recent years, following the trials and tribulations and several groups of tornado chasers in "tornado alley." The video coverage of the tornados is truly spectacular, and they even manage to set up a little tension and drama in the competition between the two younger groups of tornado chasers. The modified and reinforced "tank"-like vehicle is cool, and I liked the fact that they spend some time going over the maps, looking at Doppler radar displays (or whatever it is) trying to figure out and pinpoint where the supercells are going to develop so they can get a lead on where to go.

Overall it's a dramatic and interesting series, and sometimes the chasers get close enough to these storms so that they really are risking their lives to video these things or to gather scientific data. The only reason for the four stars is that after a while, much of the coverage gets to be repetitive. Most of the time, you're not seeing actual footage of the storms since many times the tornados just don't materialize, and when they do they're often far off in the distance, with the chasers trying frantically to get closer before the tornado has already come and gone, since timing is critical. Much of the video is just "behind the scenes" stuff having to do with preparation and repair of the vehicles and equipment, poring over the weather displays, or driving to and from the storm areas.

Another thing I liked is the scientist and meteorologist, Josh Wurman, gets a lot of on-screen time and he often comments on what's going on and what they're trying to do, so you get the point of view of a real expert.

So all in all a very fine series with a unique concept which has drama and excitement, spectacular footage of the storms, and enough human interest to often keep you on the edge of your seat as the events unfold.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on March 31, 2011
My 12 year old daughter thinks Storm Chasers ROCKS!! She has watched each episode multiple times and can now give me a play by play of each episode and each storm as it is coming up. Great video of Midwest storms! Cast is great too and make the video entertaining. If you love tornadoes, you will love this series. Episode 8 has the biggest tornado they filmed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on October 1, 2009
The delivery was timely and in good condition, as I have come to expect with any Amazon supplier.
I had trouble finding this product and was looking for it to give as a gift. It was a relief to finally find it on Amazon. However, after it was ordered I found that the same product was available for about half the price from a different source, and that season 1 and 2 could be purchased for what I paid for just season 2.
I wrote this off to experience and my neglect in not shopping a bit more before purchasing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on January 15, 2010
The second season of the Discovery Channel's "Storm Chasers" covers the 2008 storm chasing season. Meteorologist Josh Wurman in the Doppler on Wheels (DOW), IMAX filmmaker Sean Casey in the Tornado Intercept Vehicle (TIV), PhD candidate Reed Timmer, and a scout team of chasers go all over Tornado Alley in search of twisters.

The series shows the way the TIV is put together, and the DOW and TIV are both improved for 2008. However, the teams are sometimes plagued by mechanical failures, by conflicts on where to go to find the most powerful storms, and of course by the life-threatening danger inherent in storm chasing. The teams do have some successful moments, however, in their efforts to capture data and pictures that will help meteorologists better understand these killer storms.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on February 8, 2014
According to my daughter this was a true 5 star because unlike the greatest storm chasers there was no cursing in it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2014
While I like this series, it focuses more on the Chasers and their troubles both with the equipment and each other as they seek out tornadoes on the Great Plains. This season showcases Sean Casey, Reed Timmer and Josh Wurman and their teams. Wurman and Casey are at odds over the agreement that they must stick together on the chase. However, Casey is anxious to chase against Wurman's cautions and temporarily tries to hook up with Timmer's team. Egos clash as Wurman feels others are not in the Chase for the science while Sean thinks Josh is too cautious by half. In the meantime, equipment is breaking down and that helps to put everyone on edge. Yes, we see the storms and they are quite spectacular, but they are mirrored on the ground when the chasers get together...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2013
i haven't seen this one yet. i will let everyone know how these series went :). i do recommend these series to everyone. everyone will realize how scary it is to go on these very scary journeys. i love this movie, because i can't find these movies in my area. i could only buy these series on amazon.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2015
Really great season if you love tornados and love to chase or dream of it, you will enjoy this. Gives you a good look into what is involved in searching for a tornado to get the ultimate shot of it. I've watched this one several times.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2012
I purchased the entire series of these DVD's; each of the 5 seasons. I enjoy them - informative and fast action. I am a weather buff so I do enjoy the weather information you learn when watching these DVDs.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on August 21, 2011
I was so excited when Discovery launched this show in 2007. It was so relieving that someone had finally made a proper TV Series about storms and tornadoes. Season 1 was good but only had 4 episodes. Great stuff but way too short. Series 2 has 8 episodes while both Sean Casey and Josh Wurman have new state of the art vehicles for the 2008 season. And while this season continues to follow Sean and Josh, it also picks up stormchaser Reed Timmer and his team. The addition of Reed is fantastic because ever since he's been on the show, he and his team have provided for some of the most exciting episodes and have gotten some of the best footage of tornadoes. This is one of the few TV Series where I can say I enjoyed every single episode on the DVD set. Seasons 3 and 4 of Stormchasers are very good but quite expensive and season 1, while affordable, only has 4 episodes. Season 2 has 8 episodes and is very reasonably priced so for fans of the show this is a good DVD set to start with.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Storm Chasers: Season 3
Storm Chasers: Season 3 by Sean C. Casey (DVD - 2011)

Storm Chasers: Greatest Storms
Storm Chasers: Greatest Storms by Dr. Josh Wurman (DVD - 2012)

Storm Chasers: Up Close And Personal
Storm Chasers: Up Close And Personal by Joel Taylor (DVD - 2012)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.