Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Effective Revenge Movie
The plot for Storm Warning has been done before. Once again we have the stranded couple who are tormented and exploited by a group of degenerate, redneck, perverted sickos in the Australian outback. The difference in this movie is the atmosphere and acting are extremely effective and there is a chilling sense of forboding throughout the movie. Additionally the revenge and...
Published on December 29, 2007 by Kevin Brock

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars takes too long to get exciting
everything is really well done, from the ambient opening camera shots, to the acting, sets, and effects. its just too bad nothing happens for the first hour. the back of the case claims to be a descent into the darkest depths of human depravity or something like that. Texas Chainsaw Massacre, now thats depravity. this is just a father and his sons growing pot out in the...
Published on June 24, 2008 by Raul Duke


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Effective Revenge Movie, December 29, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Storm Warning (Unrated) (DVD)
The plot for Storm Warning has been done before. Once again we have the stranded couple who are tormented and exploited by a group of degenerate, redneck, perverted sickos in the Australian outback. The difference in this movie is the atmosphere and acting are extremely effective and there is a chilling sense of forboding throughout the movie. Additionally the revenge and sadistic retribution enacted by the female lead is starteling even to the seasoned horror addict. I found the director's first effort, Urban Legend rather lightweight but he has matured in leaps and bounds for Storm Warning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Storm Warning is a movie that is a lot better than it should have been, February 9, 2008
By 
Dave. K (Staten Island, NY,) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Storm Warning (Unrated) (DVD)
Going into Storm Warning I had very low expectations; the backwoods killer concept is something that became popular back in the 60s and since 2003 has made a comeback. Also since 2003 we've seen several movies that were remakes of or inspired by 70s exploitation movies and while I do enjoy some of the newer ones they lack compared to those from previous decades. Back in previous eras a lot of these movies were made to show the audience a twisted world others had some social commentary and others simply for shock value.

While that does apply today as well it seems now the majority are made simply to cash in on the success some of these films have had as of late. I didn't expect much also due to the fact the director was Jamie Blanks who did Urban Legend and Valentine, while neither were bad movies per se, they weren't very good either. So with Storm Warning I really wasn't sure what to expect, but I have to say it was quite the surprise. While it's nothing ground-breaking and we have seen this movie done many times and dome better Storm Warning was overall a solid flick and Jamie Blanks seems to be showing some potential.

Written by Everett De Roche who has done some cult classics apparently wrote the screenplay 30-years ago, but with the recent movies like this making it big he was finally able to produce it. The only major problem with his script is it offers nothing new and is like most of the other flicks out there right now like this. Even if produced 30-years ago Storm Warning wouldn't differ much from what was already out there, but would have felt a little more original. But the screenplay was overall well-done. The victims were alright; they aren't all that interesting and lack depth. But thankfully the action kicks in within the first 20-minutes or so, prior to that it wasn't boring, but it was getting there.

But once the main characters come across the villains things pick up and the script picks up and is overall well written. With movies like this even if the main characters lack depth we can still sort of feel for them since something like this is a lot more possible than say a slasher movie. The villains though are mostly very well written for and come across as totally insane.

Director Jamie Blanks really shows some great promise with Storm Warning the pacing is overall pretty good and he manages to keep things interesting early on even when the characters really don't have anything of importance to say. Once the plot kicks in though Blanks, is able to get the most out of every scene and makes a movie better than maybe it should have been. The only problem is he doesn't really have a style of his own. Urban Legend was the typical 90s slasher that follows the Scream formula and Valentine had a great and creepy opening act, but quickly becomes the typical slasher flick from that time. With Storm Warning Blanks may not offer anything different for this type of movie, but he does manage to create suspense and maintain it unlike his other two outings in the horror genre.

I do believe Storm Warning was a step in the right direction for Jamie Blanks and while he may not go down as one of the great directors of the horror genre he can build a decent reputation. He just needs to find his own style. Every filmmaker is inspired by someone, but the great filmmakers are able to inject their own style into the movie. Even if Blanks does that I'm not saying he'll be great, but he can be a solid genre director. Like I said he showed promise with the opening act in Valentine, but here he is able to maintain the suspense and actually put together some solid scenes. Jamie Blanks is able to build suspense and tension and keep it going till the end of the movie. I really hope he can continue this he really did show a lot of potential and made a movie far better than the two he is known for.

Storm Warning is one of those movies we've seen done and seen done better, but despite being a bit clichéd and predictable the movie actually works well. Sometimes all of that will doom a movie and it won't work, but other times despite clichés and being predictable it can still work and Storm Warning is one of those movies that works well. The movie isn't as dark as it could have been. If you are looking for something extreme you won't really find it. The reason these movies worked so well in past eras was the filmmakers were willing to push the boundaries and go one step further. When making a movie like this I feel you have to go far even if it borderlines bad taste. You have to reach to the darkest places of your mind and not be afraid to go there. If the viewer thinks the filmmaker is some twisted person we won't know where the movie will go next. Sadly Storm Warning doesn't quite do that, but again the movie really works well and works a lot better than maybe it should have.

That's not to say what the characters go through is a walk in the park; put yourself in that situation it would be scary and it would be something that would haunt you for a while. But compared to other films like this it isn't as extreme what the characters go through. But again it's still rather dark. Maybe I've just seen too many of these movies and what was once twisted isn't as twisted now.

The victims Pia played by Nadia Fares and Rob played by Robert Taylor were alright. I liked Pia and thought there was a lot of potential, but the character still works well and Fares gives an excellent performance. What I like about these movies is it poses a good what if? Put yourself in the position of the characters odds are you're gonna die, but first you will suffer. Can you reach down into that dark place and do what has to be done to survive? The character of Rob was slightly annoying and a little too weak. While every so often he does put up a fight he comes across as too weak. The turn in Pia from victim to not being the victim works well thanks to Nadia Fares. With a lesser actress the turn wouldn't have worked, but she really sells it. She goes from victim to heroine and it worked out great.

The villains though were excellent and really elevate the movie. Jimmy played by David Lyons gives an excellent and creepy performance. David Lyons steals the show here for sure I really look forward to seeing more movies he's in. John Brumpton as Poppy was equally as good; he provides a very demented and creepy performance.

The final act is where the violence and gore kicks in and it's quite brutal actually. I won't get into detail because I don't wanna spoil anything, but trust me when the revenge scenes start it's quite brutal and gory and the makers of Storm Warning really deliver. The wait is more than worth it when the action kicks in its excellent.

Overall Storm Warning is a movie that is a lot better than it should have been. While there's nothing here you haven't seen before it works well and delivers on being a fun ride. Jamie Blanks crafts a movie with some solid suspense and tension. Again there's nothing here you haven't seen done before, but despite that Storm Warning works well and is quite the surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Violent and Horrific, February 8, 2008
This review is from: Storm Warning (Unrated) (DVD)
STORM WARNING is one of the most brutal and savage thrillers you'll ever see. The plot has been done about a million times, but the director and five actors manage to stand the story on its head and give it a few new spins that will make your hair stand up.

The conceit of the movie is simple: Pia (Nadia Fares) and Rob (Robert Taylor) are an upwardly mobile couple in Australia who go for a bit of sailing and end up lost in dangerous territory. Pia is an artist and Rob is a lawyer, and neither of them are suited for what they encounter in this film.

The screenplay was written over 30 years ago, but was thought too violent to produce, so it never got made till now. After viewing the film, I have to agree about the violence. This is mean, bitter stuff that will take a truly stouthearted viewer to watch.

I also had to admit that the scenery is breathtaking. The Australian setting is absolutely beautiful. With the way the director slowly pulls the audience into the madness that's about to erupt, there's plenty of time to enjoy the local flora and fauna. I have to admit that the pacing was, at times, almost too slow. But once the story got up and running, you couldn't break away from the screen.

While running from the storm and hoping to get their bearings, Pia and Rob reach a remote farmhouse. After breaking in, they quickly discover that there is nothing normal about anyone that lives there. Sex toys lay out in the open and pages ripped from skin magazines decorate the walls. I knew at that point that only bad things could happen.

Just minutes later, Rob discovers a huge amount of marijuana growing in the barn. He realized at the same time I did that whoever lived there couldn't afford to let them escape. And at that moment, the rough men they'd seen earlier arrived back at the house.

This is when the movie really ratchets up. I knew things were about to go south quickly, and from that moment until the end of the movie, I never took a relaxed breath.

The menace grows slowly, almost like the tightening of a vise, and it won't let the viewer go. I was mesmerized by what Pia and Rob had to deal with. One of the worst parts was the fate of the joey, the baby kangaroo. Although I could understand it, the idea of what took place is still stomach-wrenching.

One of the worst aspects was the gradual build-up of the violence. I totally understood how everything could escalate and be so bad. And I understood the steps Pia and Rob had to take to ensure their safety. Watching all of it was hard, and there was a definite mix of vindication and horror elicited on my part.

The fishing lure trap in the barn is going to set the teeth of a lot of viewers on edge. It was horribly hard to watch, and the subsequent beating later - complete with all the special effects - was difficult.

STORM WARNING is recommended only for horror fans and suspense junkies that like blood and realistic effects. The tense atmosphere is amazing, but the violence is drastic. The director, Jamie Blanks (URBAN LEGEND), clearly knew what he wanted and got it. Although a lot of the low-budget horror films end up with a grainy finish, STORM WARNING looks slick and pretty. A top-notch thriller that draws blood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars takes too long to get exciting, June 24, 2008
This review is from: Storm Warning (Unrated) (DVD)
everything is really well done, from the ambient opening camera shots, to the acting, sets, and effects. its just too bad nothing happens for the first hour. the back of the case claims to be a descent into the darkest depths of human depravity or something like that. Texas Chainsaw Massacre, now thats depravity. this is just a father and his sons growing pot out in the wilderness, and when a lost couple stumbles into their little den, they know what they gotta do.

dang, didnt i see those same villains in another movie? oh yeah, Without a Paddle.. which is a comedy (ie these guys arent scarey)

the main characters are on a nice trip to see nature when a huge storm hits and forces them to dock their boat at a random spot and search for shelter, which leads them to said house. everything seems ok with these backwoods strangers, although a bit off. over time the situation begins to spiral out of control, as the couple is degraded and dehumanized. the movie ends in a bloody showdown, with 3 somewhat unique and very noteworthy gore effects(well 2, one is more implied, but still awsome)

so for horror fans that dont mind yet another backwoods family kills outsiders scenario with a really slow first hour, then by all means, check it out, deffinitely a rental though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Being Australian, I usually hate these things, but,,,,, July 18, 2009
By 
This review is from: Storm Warning (Unrated) (DVD)
Being Australian, I usually hate it when they try to make horror/thriller movies here, as they always try to implement it into being all Australian rather then what makes a good movie for anyone to enjoy.

Surprisingly, I really enjoyed this one.

Between the Australian states of Victoria, and Tasmania (which is that island down the bottom) there is two islands you can see on a map in between Vic and Tassie. One of those Islands is called French Island, which is where this movies story takes place. A couple go out to sea in a small boat for a day of fishing, but find themselves lost and first sign of land they see is French island, however they have no idea they have drifted that far.

Upon landing on French island, they seek out to find a farm or anything they can to maybe get a taxi or something back to where they came from. They find a farm and it seems no one is home, so they enter the house and look for a phone and find a few things they really shouldn't have seen. As the owners come home to find them, the movies plot starts to kick in as these 3 men have other ideas then to take the lost couple to any place safe.

After that, the movie sucks you in and you should enjoy the plot of this couple trying to escape the clutches of these 3 nut cases out in the middle of nowhere, and there little dog too.

I like to sometimes tell you if you liked such and such a movie, you might like this one, but the only one i can think of is one I didn't like actually, but if you did like "Wolf Creek" you may very well enjoy this one. I guess it's also a more realistic and less over the top approach to "House Of 1000 Corpses" too. Or any of the million horror movies out there where a lost couple stumble onto the wrong house to ask for help....however, you wont be hearing the Time Warp sung anywhere in this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much better than you think!, February 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Storm Warning (Unrated) (DVD)
I must admit I didn't have high expectations for this movie but boy, was I wrong. Finally, a female lead who takes these backwoods rapist wannabees by their balls and shows them who the real victims are. The kills in this movie are so over the top & so extreme that you have to love em. The contraption she builds is so gruesome and terrorizing that I actually cheered for her! Hooray for a new breed of women in the horror genre!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Revenge is a Dish Best Served BLOODY!, February 8, 2008
This review is from: Storm Warning (Unrated) (DVD)
"Storm Warning" makes me realize why I sit through hours of exploitation garbage: eventually you will find a movie of this genre that does work!

Such was the case for director Jamie Blanks' "Storm Warning." Mr. Blanks' first feature was "Urban Legend," which--although a little creepy at times--never really rose above the "dead teenager" boiler plate movie. In this feature, he takes his cast well above the cliche`.

Set in the mangroves of Australia, the story is simple enough: couple gets lost, are caught in a storm, and wind up at a backwoods house. They go in hoping someone is there who can help. While looking for a working phone, the husband goes out back to a shed and finds it LOADED with marijuana plants. By this time, the baddies have returned home and that's when the tension really starts. These three guys are so loathesome, you just want to constantly shower. And not only are they dirty, they are about as demented as they come. I'm not going to tell you anymore of the story because I don't want to ruin it for anyone. BUT, I will tell you this: this is a REVENGE tale. And "revenge" doesn't cover what happens!

Director Jamie Blanks managed to make the majority of this movie very tense. His style was very effective for this movie, and I felt a constant sense of uneasiness. The entire cast was very good, especially Nadia Fare`s. She is a great example of when push comes to shove, almost anyone will push back after a while. I wish others would take notice: if you have a plot--even the most BASIC of one--and introduce characters that a some depth, people are going to enjoy your movie! I recommend this one folks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Always check the forecast before you go boating., December 2, 2010
By 
The Straw Man "J.E. Hoppock" (Aloof October on April's Birthday) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Storm Warning (Unrated) (DVD)
I was seduced to watch this movie by two factors. The first was the premise of an edgy revenge flick. The second was some of the critical acclaim here in the Amazon forum. I was able to get my talons on this exploitation flick for a good price. However, after the movie was over I felt mildly let down. This movie was directed by Jamie Blanks, who directed the original "Urban Legend". I thought "Urban Legend" sucked, so in my very, very humble opinion promoting this movie with a conduit to "Urban Legend" did nothing for me. For what it is worth, this movie is leap and bounds better than "Urban Legend".

The premise of the film isn't very original at all, but that is okay. I didn't watch this film for the ground breaking story. Basically a couple rents a boat and ends up taking refugee on an island to avoid a very nasty storm. Once on the island they discover a house and a greenhouse that is growing some "wacky tobaccy", marijuana. The proprietors of this house are a father and his two sons. Needless to say this is an extremely twisted family and they end up torturing this couple. Then the couple must fight back.

My qualms with this movie is the pace, it is dreadfully slow. Going into this film I knew what to expect so the build up really didn't do much for me. I don't mind waiting for things to develop, but I felt the development was incredibly sluggish. As for the acting, it was pretty solid. The good guys were one dimensional but believable. The bad guys were disgusting and one dimensional. For this type of movie, I am totally fine with these types of characters.

The majority of the film the couple is locked up in a barn with myriad tools and what not at their disposal. This wouldn't have been a problem if they were tied up or if one of the villains stayed with them. However, leaving the couple alone with enough time to plan their revenge was lame. It was as cliché as when a villain tells the hero his/her master plan before he/she kills them, but forgets the knot on the rope isn't tight enough. As for how Nadia Farès' character became MacGyver is still a conundrum to me.

Notwithstanding, when the action happens it is gruesome and brutal. I did find this rather gratifying and I think any horror/gore junkie would agree. There is a scene with a kangaroo that is a bit amiss. However, with only five characters and the long-winded pace of the film the action and horror wasn't enough to make this a master piece.

I think that many horror fans should watch this movie, it has some great scenes and it is entertaining. However, for people who are new to this genre I would suggest some other films before seeing this one. "I Spit On Your Grave (Millennium Edition)", "While She Was Out" and "Eden Lake" are an excellent place to start. Overall, I am sure I will give this movie a spin again, who knows maybe I will like it more the second time. I will have a blast making my girlfriend watching this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Turn The Boat Around!..., September 15, 2010
This review is from: Storm Warning (Unrated) (DVD)
A couple (Nadia Fares and Robert Taylor) go out in a boat for a bit of fishing. Everything is just fine until they take a detour and get lost in an obscure channel, winding up in the middle of absolutely nowhere! Rather than turn around, they press on until their boat won't go any further. The pair happen upon a dilapidated house occupied by a psychopathic dad and his hell-spawn, and the fun begins! STORM WARNING is a grisly survival / revenge story w/ believable heroes and reprehensible villains. While basic, there are enough twists and novel turns to make things enjoyable. Ms. Fares turns out to be quite ferocious when she needs to be! One scene in particular still makes me cheer while I wince!...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly great, June 8, 2008
This review is from: Storm Warning (Unrated) (DVD)
There is nothing original about Storm Warning in the least, and it doesn't try to come off as being original either. Storm Warning revolves around a yuppie couple (Nadia Fares, Robert Taylor) that get lost and later find themselves being stalked and tortured by a backwoods group of sadistic killers. What makes Storm Warning rise above the otherwise cliche trappings is that the film is actually suspenseful, full of tension, and actually unsettling; and by the time the final act begins, you will literally be left with your mouth hanging open. Directed by Jamie Blanks, who fares much better here than he ever did with Urban Legend and Valentine, piles on some great gore effects as well, and really has the film paced quite well to boot. Yes, Storm Warning isn't original in the least, but it isn't trying to be either, and it succeeds much more than anyone could possibly hope. For horror buffs and gore hounds, Storm Warning delivers the bloody goods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Storm Warning (Unrated)
Storm Warning (Unrated) by Jamie Blanks (DVD - 2008)
$14.93 $8.82
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.