Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic that makes children think outside the box.
I grew up with Hugh Lofting's books and wanted my children to read them. As Dr. Dolittle learns to communicate with animals, we begin to think about feelings and habits of individuals very different from ourselves.
Dr. Dolittle did not fit in with many of the stuffier aspects of British society. Thus, he was a miserable failure as a human doctor. His animals...
Published on May 4, 2002 by Carol Watkins

versus
78 of 82 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Deceptive and Shallow "Politically Correct" Version
I am a huge fan of the original Hugh Lofting Dr. Dolittle and not this shallow abridged version. A good part of the story is cut and the history is mutilated. The illustrations are obviously not complete Hugh Loftings even though they still bear his name. Many of his illustrations have been cut and pasted blending them with some weird Victorian style prints. The...
Published on February 2, 2007 by BillyBobJoe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

78 of 82 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Deceptive and Shallow "Politically Correct" Version, February 2, 2007
I am a huge fan of the original Hugh Lofting Dr. Dolittle and not this shallow abridged version. A good part of the story is cut and the history is mutilated. The illustrations are obviously not complete Hugh Loftings even though they still bear his name. Many of his illustrations have been cut and pasted blending them with some weird Victorian style prints. The result is a jumbled mishmash. As a kid, I'm offended that they would take a wonderful piece of literature and trample it with political correctness jargon. There are things said in the original version that I understand would not be appropriate today. But it was a part or our history. And it gives a great opportunity for discussions with parents. As for this story, what is left? The character depth is ruined. The vocabulary is rudimentary. Utter trash. Don't waste your time. Original unabridged or nothing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware, this has been adulterated, February 1, 2002
This review is from: The Story of Doctor Dolittle (Paperback)
Dr. Dolittle has fallen afoul of the PC police, well before they were so named. This edition is heavily adulterated to maintain political correctness. Unfortunately, you must read the afterword to understand this. A great story, a bad edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic that makes children think outside the box., May 4, 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Story of Doctor Dolittle (Paperback)
I grew up with Hugh Lofting's books and wanted my children to read them. As Dr. Dolittle learns to communicate with animals, we begin to think about feelings and habits of individuals very different from ourselves.
Dr. Dolittle did not fit in with many of the stuffier aspects of British society. Thus, he was a miserable failure as a human doctor. His animals recognized his caring spirit and taught him to become an outstanding animal doctor. The stories contain suspense and adventure but there is little explicit violence. The animal characters, Jip the dog, Gub Gub the pig, Polinesia the parrot each have their own personalities and become friends with the reader.
Hugh Lofting was an Englishman of the early 20th century. As such, he used some troubling phrases that might be considered racist. Much of this seems to have been deleted or modified in the current version of this book.
I wanted my children to read all of the other Dr. Dolittle books. Unfortunately most of them are out of print. Thank goodness,I was able to find a number of the other titles in the Amazon.com used book section.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware, this edition is adulterated, February 1, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Story of Doctor Dolittle (Paperback)
Dr. Doolittle fell afoul of the PC police, before they were so named. This edition has been adulterated to maintain political correctness and there is no indication of this unless you read the afterword. Great story, bad edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Story of Doctor Dolittle, February 26, 2003
By 
RBhatt (Cerritos, CA USA) - See all my reviews
The Story of Doctor Dolittle
By: Hugh Lofting
Reviewed by: R Bhatt
Period 6
This book is about the life of an ordinary doctor named John Dolittle. He is a doctor for people but later on becomes one for animals. Dr. Dolittle possesses one unusual gift. It is the ability to talk to animals. He helps many different animals. He journeys to Africa to treat a sickness that is killing many monkeys. There he has many adventures.
I really liked this book because it is all make believe and adventure. I really like adventure books. They are very exciting to read. They never let you get bored reading them. It is also funny in some parts of the story too. This makes you not want to stop.
I also like the characters. They come to life in this book. They also become a part of you when you are reading. My favorite character was Jip the dog. He was a main character and sometimes he is really funny. I also like Polynesia the parrot because she helps the doctor many times in the book.
My favorite part is when the Barbary pirates are stuck on the old sinking ship. That part is really funny and exciting to read. Ben Ali the leader wants to kill Dr. Dolittle but doesn't succeed. He and his pirates have to become birdseed farmers on the Canary island. This I like this part because the animals help doctor Dolittle out. They are very nice to him because he is their friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A SUPER GREAT BOOK!, August 20, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Story of Doctor Dolittle (Paperback)
It was so neat how Dr. Doolittle was able to talk to animals! The push-me pull-yu is very funny because it has 2 heads. I loved the way the doctor figured out how to help all the monkeys! It was also cool how the animals helped the doctor too - like when Jip the dog helped figure out where the boy's uncle was.
I can't wait to read the next book (VOYAGES OF DOCTOR DOOLITTLE) and see the movie. I've only seen the one with Eddie Murphy so far and this is different!
(My mom loved reading this book with me too and she wants me to say that it's also lots of fun for grownups!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic for all ages, March 13, 2000
This review is from: The Story of Doctor Dolittle (Paperback)
Dr. Dolittle is definitely a must-read for people of all ages, for children and for those who are young-at-heart. It is the story of a generous old man who seems capable of doing anything! All he wants to do is help, and he doesn't care if he loses all his money just to save monkeys in Africa from an epidemic. But the best thing about Dr. Dolittle is that he can talk to animals -- and this is probably every child's dream. And so read this when you're very young, read this to your children, and read this when you've forgotten what it is to be a kid. Because the quaint British way in which the story is told will keep you amused, while the crazy adventures of Dr. Dolittle and his conversations with his animal friends will keep your imagination rolling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If I Could Talk, May 7, 2010
This review is from: The Story of Doctor Dolittle (Paperback)
Too many great books are being bypassed these days. The adventures of this delightful person who discovered his ability to animal-speak give young readers the opportunity to dream the impossible and have fun while doing so. How he moves from being an obscure country veterinarian to being able to converse with his patients (to the dismay of his sister) makes for a fun read. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Kindle edition is poorly editted, December 4, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The story is cute, but the kindle version of this book has numerous errors. For example, the first sentence of the fifth chapter reads "Now, for six whole weeks they werit sailing on and on, oyer the rolling sea..." In some places the 'n's are 'ri's and other weird things like that. It seems that perhaps automatic software was used to convert to an e-book version, but no one bothered to check it, which is kind of annoying since it claims to be "optimized" for larger screens, and there are cheaper versions of this book available. There isn't an error on every page, but there are enough that it is distracting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Pleased, November 8, 2009
By 
Scarlett (Tucker, Ga. United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Story of Doctor Dolittle (Paperback)
This was a favorite story from my childhood! I was so thrilled to receive a copy in the mail for my kids! The book is in great condition, as promised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Story of Doctor Dolittle
The Story of Doctor Dolittle by Hugh Lofting (Paperback - December 15, 1968)
$6.99 $6.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.