Buy New
$15.43
Qty:1
  • List Price: $17.95
  • Save: $2.52 (14%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
Trade in your item
Get a $1.93
Gift Card.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Story of the Wind Children Hardcover – October 1, 2006


Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$15.43
$11.38 $11.38
100%20Children%27s%20Books%20to%20Read%20in%20a%20Lifetime


Frequently Bought Together

The Story of the Wind Children + The Story of the Snow Children + Story of the Root Children
Price for all three: $32.34

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Image
Looking for the Audiobook Edition?
Tell us that you'd like this title to be produced as an audiobook, and we'll alert our colleagues at Audible.com. If you are the author or rights holder, let Audible help you produce the audiobook: Learn more at ACX.com.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 17 pages
  • Publisher: Floris Books (October 1, 2006)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0863155626
  • ISBN-13: 978-0863155628
  • Product Dimensions: 8.8 x 11.8 x 0.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 14.4 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (12 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #395,856 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

'Born in East Prussia in 1881, Sibylle von Olfers' highly adept naturalist style places her work firmly in the vein of Beatrix Potter, Kate Greenaway and Elsa Beskow. On publication of "The Story of the Root Children" in 1996, Floris Books in Edinburgh made this classic of European children's literature available in the United Kingdom. It seems fitting that ten years following this they should reaffirm commitment to Olfers prestige in the children's literature world through publication of "The Story of the Wind Children". Autumn and nature are brilliantly personified in this beautifully detailed work' --Jake Hope, Achuka 'In each of her seasonal books, von Olfers' illustrations are painted in tones which perfectly match the mood of the time of year, and her cherubic Nature children speak of a timeless innocence. A joy for children and an inspiration for adults.' -- Juno Magazine, Autumn 2007

About the Author

Sibylle von Olfers' (1881-1916) blend of natural observation and use of simple design has led to comparisons with Kate Greenaway and Elsa Beskow. Her other published works include The Story of the Root Children, Princess in the Forest and The Story of the Snow Children.

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful By J. Bevilacqua on January 11, 2007
Format: Hardcover
If you haven't discovered this unheralded author, you are in for a real treat. She has her loyal fans, and hopefully many new ones will emerge in this generation to come. Wonderful story, delightful illustrations. All the imagination that a children's book should have! Adults like her books as much as children.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By S. Dietz on April 22, 2009
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This is a beautiful story and beautifully illustrated. Just what I'd expect from this author. We've been building a collection of her story books and enjoying every one. My son is 27 months and it's a bit over his head at the moment, but he enjoys the rich pictures while I read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Christopher Carbone on February 15, 2008
Format: Hardcover
this book will delight the core of your heart with its inspiration to imagine and seek adventure in the world. Sibylle Von Olfers is brilliant, I couldn't recommend her books more. My kids come back to her books time after time to read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Katarzyna Thomson on September 12, 2009
Format: Hardcover
The illustrations stir the imagination.....my little boy loves to soak in each page before turning the next page himself. Very good reading for calming down a hyperactive child before bed.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Maggie on February 10, 2008
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This is a very nice book from the series of books by Sibylle Von Olfers. It is a very beautiful story with wonderful illustrations. We love to read all the books by this author!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Jeff Shao on January 7, 2014
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I ordered a bunch of Sibylle Von Olfers books and had to return them all. The print quality is bad, colors were printed outside the lines and the overall feel of the books just is nowhere near the original versions. Very sad. I will be ordering used german versions instead and translating the texts myself - they are meant to have text in poem form, which is what makes these books so special. With the horrible English translation they just are not worth it ;(
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?