Qty:1
  • List Price: $17.95
  • Save: $1.82 (10%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 10 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
The Story of the Wind Chi... has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: NO DUST COVER. In a good to very good condition. A copy that has been read, but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact, and the cover is intact (including dust cover, if applicable). The spine may show signs of wear. Pages can include limited notes and highlighting, and the copy can include "From the library of" labels. Shipping within 24 hours Monday-Friday. If you are not 100% satisfied with your purchase, please contact Ivy League Books directly before leaving neutral or negative feedback to give us an opportunity to rectify the situation.
Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for $2.22
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

The Story of the Wind Children Hardcover – October 1, 2006


See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$16.13
$11.12 $11.10

Summertime is Book Time
Make summertime book time with our featured reading lists for kids. Download our free Kindle app and bring your books wherever you go.
$16.13 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 10 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

The Story of the Wind Children + The Story of the Snow Children + Story of the Root Children
Price for all three: $34.03

Buy the selected items together


Editorial Reviews

Review

'Born in East Prussia in 1881, Sibylle von Olfers' highly adept naturalist style places her work firmly in the vein of Beatrix Potter, Kate Greenaway and Elsa Beskow. On publication of "The Story of the Root Children" in 1996, Floris Books in Edinburgh made this classic of European children's literature available in the United Kingdom. It seems fitting that ten years following this they should reaffirm commitment to Olfers prestige in the children's literature world through publication of "The Story of the Wind Children". Autumn and nature are brilliantly personified in this beautifully detailed work' --Jake Hope, Achuka 'In each of her seasonal books, von Olfers' illustrations are painted in tones which perfectly match the mood of the time of year, and her cherubic Nature children speak of a timeless innocence. A joy for children and an inspiration for adults.' -- Juno Magazine, Autumn 2007

About the Author

Sibylle von Olfers' (1881-1916) blend of natural observation and use of simple design has led to comparisons with Kate Greenaway and Elsa Beskow. Her other published works include The Story of the Root Children, Princess in the Forest and The Story of the Snow Children.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

"Big Brother Daniel" by Angela C. Santomero and Jason Fruchter
Daniel Tiger has just gotten a new baby sister! Baby Margaret is very little, and she needs lots of care and big brother Daniel is here to help! See more

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 17 pages
  • Publisher: Floris Books (October 1, 2006)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0863155626
  • ISBN-13: 978-0863155628
  • Product Dimensions: 8.8 x 11.8 x 0.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 14.4 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (16 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #470,862 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful By J. Bevilacqua on January 11, 2007
Format: Hardcover
If you haven't discovered this unheralded author, you are in for a real treat. She has her loyal fans, and hopefully many new ones will emerge in this generation to come. Wonderful story, delightful illustrations. All the imagination that a children's book should have! Adults like her books as much as children.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By SD on April 22, 2009
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This is a beautiful story and beautifully illustrated. Just what I'd expect from this author. We've been building a collection of her story books and enjoying every one. My son is 27 months and it's a bit over his head at the moment, but he enjoys the rich pictures while I read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Christopher Carbone on February 15, 2008
Format: Hardcover
this book will delight the core of your heart with its inspiration to imagine and seek adventure in the world. Sibylle Von Olfers is brilliant, I couldn't recommend her books more. My kids come back to her books time after time to read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Katarzyna Thomson on September 12, 2009
Format: Hardcover
The illustrations stir the imagination.....my little boy loves to soak in each page before turning the next page himself. Very good reading for calming down a hyperactive child before bed.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Maggie on February 10, 2008
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This is a very nice book from the series of books by Sibylle Von Olfers. It is a very beautiful story with wonderful illustrations. We love to read all the books by this author!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By DErin on September 24, 2011
Format: Hardcover
We bought The Story of the Wind Children as a gift for a 4 year old. It is a lovely story with wonderful illustrations. Immediately after the first reading, she wanted us to read the book again. The illustrations are such that the child really studies them, looking closely at the details of the artwork. We are really enjoying it. As far as the quality of the book itself, I was very happy with that as well. The pages are made of a thick paper, but it is not a "board book". Although it is a hardcover, it does not include a dust jacket, which I was happy about because we always remove the dust jackets so they don't get torn.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By treocyn on April 21, 2015
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Very short book. I will cop to being the only Waldorf mom on the planet who doesn't love Sibylle Von Olfers, however. We have this and the Root Children, and I keep expecting something comparable to Elsa Beskow, but no. Not much plot development, leaves the reader wondering what the point is. My daughter is 3 and she was disappointed.

However, very sweet, nothing to worry anyone (nothing much to it), very pretty illustrations. Will probably use as a nature table backdrop.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Jeff Shao on January 7, 2014
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I ordered a bunch of Sibylle Von Olfers books and had to return them all. The print quality is bad, colors were printed outside the lines and the overall feel of the books just is nowhere near the original versions. Very sad. I will be ordering used german versions instead and translating the texts myself - they are meant to have text in poem form, which is what makes these books so special. With the horrible English translation they just are not worth it ;(
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
The Story of the Wind Children
This item: The Story of the Wind Children
Price: $16.13
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?