Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prof. Lott rings the bell again
John R. Lott brings real facts, logic and common sense to the gun control issue, as distinct from the misrepresentations and hysterical rantings of the left-wingers. All those who believe the founding fathers really did know what they were doing when they authored the Bill of Rights and in particular the Second Amendment therein will find plenty of support in Prof. Lott's...
Published on May 8, 2007 by Neil H.

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Article Compilation
In my opinion, the arguments in this books are very rational and show the pros and cons of gun control. However, I didn't like the structure of the book.

The book is not a succession of chapters where each chapter builds on the conclusions from the previous. Rather, it's just a collection of unrelated 2 page-long articles. No data tables. No graphs (I love...
Published on April 27, 2010 by Csar L. Coll Alfeirn


Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prof. Lott rings the bell again, May 8, 2007
By 
Neil H. (Middletown, CT United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Straight Shooting: Firearms, Economics and Public Policy (Hardcover)
John R. Lott brings real facts, logic and common sense to the gun control issue, as distinct from the misrepresentations and hysterical rantings of the left-wingers. All those who believe the founding fathers really did know what they were doing when they authored the Bill of Rights and in particular the Second Amendment therein will find plenty of support in Prof. Lott's books.

As the previous reviewer has noted, the first reviewer obviously meant to give this book 5 stars and not 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Check your facts, June 27, 2008
By 
This review is from: Straight Shooting: Firearms, Economics and Public Policy (Hardcover)
John Lott does an excellent job providing information on the gun debate. For those that feel that his facts are incorrect, do what I did and grab a calculator and follow the statistics. You will find that his research models, results and honest conclusions are FAR more accurate than the opposition. Those who feel that his work is inaccurate are those who cannot follow the math.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straight Shooting, April 19, 2007
By 
This review is from: Straight Shooting: Firearms, Economics and Public Policy (Hardcover)
I've read this book and it is excellent. I agree with the previous review, and think he must have meant to give it a higher rating and hit the wrong button or something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arm Yourselves with the Facts, January 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Straight Shooting: Firearms, Economics and Public Policy (Hardcover)
This book contains a collection of short articles which have appeared in magazines, newspapers, and media over the years. Mr. Lott is able to make his arguments on the hard facts of gun rights issues because he knows what he's talking about and he can point to publicly recorded numbers and results to make his points. This book is invaluable material for anyone who chooses to enter the public debate on these issues and chooses to use actual data instead of emotions and feelings. Buy and extra copy and share it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Article Compilation, April 27, 2010
By 
Csar L. Coll Alfeirn (Zapopan, Jalisco Mexico) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Straight Shooting: Firearms, Economics and Public Policy (Hardcover)
In my opinion, the arguments in this books are very rational and show the pros and cons of gun control. However, I didn't like the structure of the book.

The book is not a succession of chapters where each chapter builds on the conclusions from the previous. Rather, it's just a collection of unrelated 2 page-long articles. No data tables. No graphs (I love graphs).

I'm still looking for a well structured work on the matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Masterly overview of topical firearm control issues, April 12, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Straight Shooting: Firearms, Economics and Public Policy (Hardcover)
Professor John Lott has done it again, this time with a battery of most readable articles, originally intended for newspaper columns, where he debunks many theories advanced by naysaying newsmedia nabobs. The great thing is, he's done it from a great height, because Lott has an academic background which far eclipses that of all of his detractors combined.

He discusses the assault rifle ban, arming pilots and disarming Iraq as well as many other topics. It is all highly readable and definately recommended.

What a pity the opponents of firearms are unlikely to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I'm unable to see his citations and references., February 23, 2014
This review is from: Straight Shooting: Firearms, Economics and Public Policy (Hardcover)
I am a doctoral student and health care provider in Montana. We have many guns in our home. I hunt for food. We slaughter our own animals, at times for euthanasia. I am NOT an NRA member. My research is on gun policy. But I cannot purchase this book for use in my research. It has no citations or references that I can see here on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 93 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Trick Shooting, May 14, 2007
By 
This review is from: Straight Shooting: Firearms, Economics and Public Policy (Hardcover)
The world is full of people fighting to protect the second amendment. Some are unquestioned researchers and academics. Others take shortcuts and fabricate their supporting "evidence." The publicity seeking Lott appears to fall into the latter camp.

Too many questions surround Lott's work to take any specific data or citation at face value. For each chapter, one is left to ask, was that straight shooting or sleight of hand. The second amendment doesn't need friends like these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Straight Shooting: Firearms, Economics and Public Policy
Straight Shooting: Firearms, Economics and Public Policy by John R. Lott (Hardcover - January 1, 2010)
$23.00 $18.61
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.