Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straight on till morning
This is an excellent account of the life of an amazing woman. After a childhood in Africa untrammeled by convention and almost devoid of education, she went on to run successful racing stables and to achieve fame as a record-breaking aviator - flying the Atlantic from east to west - hence the title.

It is told with all this author's attention to detail and...
Published on January 31, 2007 by Jennifer Riggs

versus
18 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars White washed biography by an author duped by the subject
I had initially wanted to read about Beryl Markham because of the autobiography "West with the Night." I had expected to learn about an extraordinary woman, but after reading this biography, I realized that there was little to admire about Beryl. I suspected that this biography may have been a little negative, so I read another biography, "The Lives of Bery Markham," by...
Published on April 2, 2008 by Cindy Beard


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straight on till morning, January 31, 2007
By 
Jennifer Riggs (Brisbane, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an excellent account of the life of an amazing woman. After a childhood in Africa untrammeled by convention and almost devoid of education, she went on to run successful racing stables and to achieve fame as a record-breaking aviator - flying the Atlantic from east to west - hence the title.

It is told with all this author's attention to detail and personal involvement with the subject of the biography.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a hero of mine, January 24, 2001
By 
Esther Shaper "Rumrook" (Grafton, ma United States) - See all my reviews
So I was a 12 year old tom boy looking for a hero and stumbled upon this bio. What Luck! I honestly can't remember reading of a person more adept at living, more intrinsically intersting and eccletic than Beryl Markham. Those looking for a quick fix can look at it like a story somewhere between Annie Oakley and a Barbra Stanwyk character. I'm 23 now and she's still a hero of mine. PS read West with Night before you order this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, August 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Straight on Till Morning: The Life of Beryl Markham (Kindle Edition)
Ever since watching "Out of Africa" years ago, I've been fascinated with women who pioneered their way in Africa back when it was extraordinarily challenging to be a white woman there, especially one on her own. -Similar to Isak Dinesen, Beryl Markham blazed her own trail. -Certainly a flawed being, but tremendously interesting. And the writing is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better late than never to have discovered this marvelous biography., February 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Mary Lovell has written a terrific story of this incredible multi-faceted Beryl Markham. I loved West with the Night - perhaps because it was recommended to me by dear friend who had an auntographed copy from Beryl who met her at Santa Barbara's Coral Casino in 1944; Although I didn't meet her I too was living in Santa Barbara from '52 until 1969 and am quite familiar with and amazed at much of the Beryl's history- I too knew the people and places - during her stay in Santa Barbara.- so close and yet so far- ( I had no idea of the drama in her life at that time.) Particularly the rumor or suspicion that she had not written WWTN.- because of her (suspected) illiteracy : that her third husband had done so.
The author Lovell's exhaustive research puts this controversy to rest in my mind. She reveals more than expected or dreamed of regarding her much admired, subject -a fearless pilot, animal lover, horse trainer- a tall beautiful woman , promiscuous, exotic, rude, hated by some- loved by many- a beloved personality .It is an unexpected thrill for the biographer and Beryl to finally meet in Kenya in 1986. The book was written in 1987.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinarily well researched biography, January 18, 2011
If you like your biographies based on extensive research instead of opinion and gossip, this author is for you. Beryl is revealed, warts and all for your fascination. This is a great book to read if you feel like digging deeper into the Out of Africa (Beryl is portrayed as Felicity in that movie) colonial British East Africa period and way of life. Don't bother if you are seeking political commentary and Mau Mau material...the author purposely skipped all of that, since it is so well covered by so many others. The only thing the book missed, which I wish the author had included, is a few pages of maps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating subject, October 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Straight on Till Morning: The Life of Beryl Markham (Kindle Edition)
I read "West With the Night", Beryl's own story, so Straigt On Till Morning was a natural to fill in a lot of the blanks left by Markham for speculation.
Being a lover of horses and a female aviator, I am in awe of Markham's accomplishments, sometimes infuriated by her lifestyle, but overall, amazed with the period, the people, and the places. Read both books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well done, April 24, 2000
a book that only made me want to read more! on to read West with the Night and other Kenyan stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beryl Markham - An Amazing and Troubled woman, January 30, 2010
By 
Susan Ziehl (Cape Town, South Africa) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great book. Really enjoying it. Beryl was a maverick with a troubled and extraordinary childhood. The book by Mary Lovell confirms my theory that people who achieve great things usually have crappy childhoods.
Very impressed with efficient delivery of the book - Well done AMAZON.
Susan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Pilot, February 4, 2013
By 
A. Lopin (Redondo Beach, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Enjoyed reading her flight accomplishments in early Africa with unsophisticated planes, as well as the description of her life, surroundings and friends from the poor to the rich and famous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars White washed biography by an author duped by the subject, April 2, 2008
I had initially wanted to read about Beryl Markham because of the autobiography "West with the Night." I had expected to learn about an extraordinary woman, but after reading this biography, I realized that there was little to admire about Beryl. I suspected that this biography may have been a little negative, so I read another biography, "The Lives of Bery Markham," by Errol Trzebinski. In addition, I have read countless books about the "Out of Africa" cast of characters.

What I found, is that Lovell's version, as negative as it was, was a well written and informative whitewash. Most notably, I am astonished that she came to the conclusion that Beryl actually wrote "West with the Wind." The evidence, especially the early drafts of the book which have been uncovered, make it clear that it was written by her husband, Raoul Schumacher, an experienced ghostwriter. Even if these drafts were not available to Ms. Lovell, there is so much other evidence that Beryl was incapable of writing this book that it still hard to understand, except that she personally met Beryl, asked her point blank about it, and then believed the charming lie.

If you just want to read one book about this dreadful, although interesting woman, I suggest you read Trzebinski's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.